Mindful Moments: Perfecting The Pause - Chapter Two (for Beta-Readers)

in #blog4 years ago (edited)

For those of you who weren’t aware, I made this announcement a month ago about my new book.

In That Original Post I Explained..

Over the next few months, I’ll be rereading all of the post comments, enhancing the posts, and crafting them into the final chapters. When these chapters are complete I’ll have an open call for beta-readers on Hive to read the manuscript and offer feedback.

What Is A Beta-Reader? (from Wikipedia)

Beta Reader: a test reader of an unreleased work of literature or other writing (similar to beta testing in software), who gives feedback from the point of view of an average reader to the author. A beta reader is not a professional and can therefore provide advice and comments in the opinions of an average reader. This feedback is used by the writer to fix remaining issues with plot, pacing, and consistency. The beta reader also serves as a sounding board to see if the book has had the intended emotional impact.

The Process Of Writing Mindful Moments

This book project has been like no other one I’ve ever worked on. First, it’s taken way longer to write than a book written in the traditional way. Secondly, it’s been so much more enjoyable to let the ideas for the chapters naturally bubble up into my imagination.

The first goal of this second chapter is to get the reader thinking about any fears that might be holding them back from achieving their true potential in life. Secondly, my wish is to allow the reader to become more comfortable with systematically challenging those fears. This is something I struggled greatly with when I was younger. These worries and fears inhibit you from living your best life in nearly every way imaginable.

I thank you in advance for your notes and feedback in the comments below. It'll be very valuable to me and help to create a book which, hopefully, helps lots of people improve their lives for many years to come.


Chapter Two ~ Worry & Fear

When I was in my late teens and early twenties I feared almost everything. It took me decades of struggle and countless self-help books, which only offered a temporary solution. I continued in my search for a tool to heal until I found the only thing that really helped, meditation.

I often wonder what my life would be like today If I hadn't begun a meditation practice. My best guess is I would have continued to take the "safe route" or the path of least resistance. It's very likely I'd still be working the same warehouse job I started after high school. The company I worked for regularly reminded us we were expendable and paid us just enough to keep us there.

I drove a forklift and heaved eighty pound boxes onto a conveyor belt for eight to ten hours a day. My writing was limited to whatever spare time I had left, which was very little. While I was lifting those boxes I would often daydream about winning the lottery and living the life I always wished for.

The problem with the younger me was I was being too passive and reactive. I was letting life events and those people around me dictate and define what my life should be. Instead, I should have been more proactive, making an actionable plan, and beginning my own individual journey to success and personal evolution. The moment I realized how empowering it was to step outside of my comfort zone my life began to radically change for the better.


“Persist - Don’t take no for an answer. If you’re happy to sit at your desk and not take risks you’ll be sitting there for the next twenty years.” - David Rubenstein.

[add illustration here]


One of the things I've learned from over two decades of meditation practice is fear and, its equally as toxic byproduct, worry are one of the biggest roadblocks to living our best life. If left unchallenged, fear continuously stalks us, nagging at us from the shadows. Unless you stand up to fear it will continue to grow stronger.

In actuality, Fear is - False Evidence Appearing Real.

Fear's influence can make us limit our potential by forcing us to live too cautiously and not take enough risk. It extracts us out of the present moment and into the realm of worry. Most of the time our worries and fears are irrational and unfounded but they can feel as real as life and death. Succumbing to these emotions can drastically limit our personal and professional potential and overall quality of life.

The truth is worry and fear have three things in common. Both of them are bullies, liars, and cowards. Like any bully, they’ll gradually loosen their grip on you each time you stand up to them. The opposite holds true as well, each time you give into them they only get stronger and more oppressive.


“Too many people are thinking of security instead of opportunity. They seem to be more afraid of life than death.” — James F. Byrnes

[add illustration here]


We often see successful people and think, “If I could only be as fearless as them, life would be amazing. I could do anything.” I’ll let you in on a secret, everyone experiences fear, some of us just hide it better than others. Always remember, courage isn’t being unafraid, it’s being afraid and doing it anyway.

If you want to truly change your life start to stand up to your fears. Begin by standing up to the smallest of your fears and build your tolerance over time. Once you start seeing results it becomes a very exhilarating addiction.

Meditation

Throughout the course of your day today, pause, and try this simple centering meditation. Begin by sitting upright in a comfortable chair then:

  • Inhale for a count of 5 (sniff the flower);
  • Hold the breath for a count of 5;
  • Exhale for a count of 7 (blow out the candle); and
  • Repeat for as long as you like (at least 3 repetitions).

Putting Words Into Action

Now open your eyes. After this pause, take a mental inventory of your worries/fears. Zero in on just one of your fears that you feel limits your potential and quality of life. Find a way to stand up to this one fear even if it’s in a seemingly small way.

Keep working on that same fear, standing up to it in some way every day for the next five days. It may even take more than five days, if so, it’s okay. The important thing is to stay focused on it until it’s sufficiently released its grip on you. Once that first fear is slain and laid to rest, just move onto the next fear, and so on.

Once you begin to, systematically, stand up to your fears your life will begin to expand and transform in wonderful ways. Be sure to use the Notes section at the end of this chapter to chart your progress. In no time at all you'll be able to proudly add, “fear slayer” to your resume.

[Insert 6 blank “Notes” pages]


In Gratitude,

~ Eric Vance Walton ~


I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

My meditation book, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

Sort:  

Hello dear friend @ericvancewalton good evening.
I am not a good book critic, my comment will not be of much help in your novel.

I would never have imagined that when you were young you worked in a store, I did too, and had in common the low salary.

It is good that you have started to meditate and have been able to change your life, meditation is a pending matter that I have,

I loved this second chapter. Successes dear friend

Hello! Thank you my friend. I worked several jobs growing up --- lawn care, restaurant work, warehouse jobs, newspaper route, etc. All of those were lower paying. I think I liked doing lawn work the best because I worked for myself.

of all the jobs you've had, I did all of them except work in a restaurant, in canbio I used to shine shoes in a large pedestrian area
I really appreciate that you let us know this information dear friend @ericvancewalton
Happy start of week

Restaurant work was usually very hard, it's a young man's job for sure. It taught me a lot of useful things though. Have a great weekend!

This is so motivating. I almost literally started thinking of a 'll my fears and i am just hyped to face stuff.
The quotes are wonderful too.

The chapter feels real and gives me a reason to believe I can be great if i try harder.

I think it gives the motivating feel.

I will try the meditation too.

I'm glad it resonated with you @bhoa! Let me know how your meditation practice goes. Sometimes it takes a while to begin to see the benefits but if you stick with it it will work. Good luck!

Chapter Two ~ Worry & Fear

I would tend to use “and” rather than an ampersand here.

Also, once you have a “final” draft of the entire book, do a search for generic dagger-type apostrophes and quotation marks and replace them with the curly kinds.

Thank you for that feedback, @preparedwombat! This is exactly the kind of advice I'm needing now.

Nice job! I feel like this was a really good follow up to the first chapter. I'll hold off on the critique this time. It actually looked really good. I think I did notice some small things, but I am sure those will be caught in the actual beta read. This is coming together really awesome! Did I ever tell you about the work my wife started doing with her students where she has them put a stuffed animal on their belly and practice belly breathing? The kids love it apparently.

Thank you @bozz! Feel free to critique as much as you want, it'll only help the book in the end. I'm very happy with how it's turning out. The illustrator should be sending the sample drawings soon. I've worked with her before I know how good she is so I'm stoked about that. You didn't tell me that about your wife. I'm so glad she's doing that, children need tools to destress more than many people realize...especially today. I can remember how nervous I was as a child and could have really used something like that!

So far , soooo gooood! I'm moving on to chapter 3 as well.

What a wonderful chapter 2, thank you so much for this Eric!
Some real nit-picking here:
...today if I hadn't begun practicing meditation.
...making an actionable plan to begin my...
...toxic byproduct worry,
The truth is that worry...
...everyone experiences fear; some of us...
...able to proudly add “fear slayer”

Thank you, @lizelle! I really appreciate the notes! I'll be incorporating these into the final version and will post chapter 3 very soon. I hope you and the family are having a wonderful Sunday!

Promoting Hive on Twitter.