A Dash of Sult N Papper 04/06/20> Duck, duck, duck, and … duck.

in #dailydose4 years ago

image.png

I was going...

I was going to just skip today’s Dash because number one, I'm tired and sore from the weekend. Secondly because I was so busy this past weekend I really didn’t have time to prepare anything for today. (Yes, I really do prepare these Dash posts). So this is just a little recap of why I’m tired and sore.

I mentioned to...

I mentioned to a couple folks around here that before the “stay at home” orders went into effect I sent the wife and girls to buy some ducklings so the girls would have something new to occupy their time in this lock down period. Well, those four little suckers are growing fast so Saturday afternoon I took a trip up to our local lumber store and picked up some treated 2”x4” and 2”x2” lumber to construct a duck pen.

Having spent the...

Having spent the better part of the last three weeks doing virtually nothing except phone calls, emails, and HIVING my energy and stamina has declined so to say. So actually getting out and doing something physical in nature,( like work) exposed just how out of shape I’ve become in a short period of time.

Blondie and I...

Blondie and I spent Saturday afternoon and Sunday afternoon building the duck pen for “her” ducks, I guess the other kids got excluded from duck ownership, since it was an idea of hers to get ducks she had hinted to me back in the winter. I’m good with that because it gives her exclusive responsibility to take care of them, which I think she will regret sooner or later.

My having a...

My having a bum knee recently had me protecting that knee while we worked on the pen and instead of squatting down or sitting down I found myself bending over quite a bit attaching the screening to the pen. That was a huge mistake on my part, as my back is sore as when I used to shoe horses for a living. Luckily, I still have a bottle of horse liniment and put it to good use on my back. It say’s not for human use on it, but I don’t really care, the stuff works damn well.

Although however; I did wake up wanting some Quaker oats cereal for breakfast which is unusual for me.

If that pen...

If that pen building wasn’t enough for the weekend I had to dig a grave on Sunday evening to bury Shortie’s old guinea pig named Squirt. He had been in pretty good health but I guess he may have caught something or just died of old age. He went pretty quickly though and it was pretty devastating for Shortie so we had a dusk burial service for him on Sunday night.

Well that wraps it from here, time for some more liniment and a hot bath.

Until next time,
Sult

Sort:  

Sad to hear about Squirt:(
But I'm determined to go find some horse liniment as soon as our lockdown ends! The only shops that are open are grocery stores and pharmacies, nothing else! All other businesses are closed!
We're on a severe lockdown yet only 0.00003% of our population have Covid19!!!
PS that duck pen looks very neat Sult!

Thanks for the condolences, I 'll pass those along to Shortie as well. She knows you well from all the cooking & baking recipes of yours I've showed her over the years so she'll know exactly where they came from when I mention "our baker friend, Lizelle"

I use a brand here in the US named "Bigeloil" it is made by the Bigelow Chemical Co. and it is great stuff. It really is deep penetrating and "hot". If you put it on then put an elastic wrap over your skin you have to be careful because it will blister your skin in no time at all.

it is the brand that race horse trainers here swear by for treating their horses with tendon problems, which is quite common in race horses.

The duck pen turned out well, I still need to add some wheels to one end and I lift handle on the other so Blondie can move it everyday when the ducks are in it so she can keep them on "fresh grass". Plus build the "roost" for them but it's been raining and just don't feel like moving it back under the carport to finish it at the moment. I can do those things right were it sits right now,
Thanks for the comment and continued support, very much appreciated.

Thank you Sult, will be careful with the liniment, will test it out on a small patch of skin first as I tend to have allergic reactions to a load of stuff! Will see what's available once this lockdown's over.
It feels like I know your family personally, especially the girls. Hope you're all keeping well!

We all are doing fine or as fine as we can expect for the current conditions here.

That would be wise to a little "test patch" with the liniment.

It Easter Sunday evening here, hope you and hubby had a good Easter . We sure did.
The girls are quite the characters and Blondie just today read a post of mine for the first time, it was this one since it "featured her and her ducks" , so she said "I didn't think you could write this well."
I said not only can I write this well people actually pay me to it. Thankfully this post had gained a big upvote so it is over $20 HIVE right now so she was halfway impressed.
Thanks for all the support, God bless,
Sult

DUPS! Except for the wear and tear of building the pen it looks like a really worth while project.

I hear the part about 'declining physically'. I pulled a muscle in my chest picking up a half gallon of milk and making a turn. Bothered me for about 3 days.

My 'bender over' hasn't worked well for several years. I have a motorcycle lift (think waist high) and a former office chair for scooting around without having to get to my knees. A rolling table for the tools and parts and I'm good to go. Sort of :)

Sorry to hear about Shortie's Guinea Pig. It's tough to lose an old friend...

Motorcycle lifts are life savers for sure, nearly every guy I know who has a bike has one even if they don't even do any mechanic work on their bike and just polish and detail their bikes.
Our bodies are like tools, if they just lay around they "rust up" and eventually will need a good overhaul or get a new one.... which where the body is unlike tools in that we can't just go get a new.
So I don't go do 'work outs' for the sake of doing works , if I'm going to work I want to see some results from the energy expended, like a duck pen.
The ducks came at a good time, it's never easy on a child to lose a old friend like Squirt, but now she can focus her time on "dups" without the burden of cleanup since those are Blondie's pets, and Shortie is good with that plus she still has her turtles.
Thanks for the continued support, very much appreciated!
Sult

Nice piece of carpentry work on the duck pen. I know what you mean about the aches and pains, we've been doing quite a bit of spring cleaning outdoors. To the tune of powerwashing the siding on the house, the front porch, and the concrete drive way. Too much stooping and not enough poker playing!

It isn't perfect by any means but it is sturdy and should keep the coyotes out from the ducks. Plus when I put the wheels on it Blondie will be able to move it by herself so the ducks can be on fresh grass everyday.
The back is good now, it just was really tight Sunday night and all day Monday. Liniment works wonders for sure, if ever need some , look for the "Bigeloil" brand made by the Bigelow Chemical Company. It is the best there is, and I tried a bunch of them back when I was shoeing horses for a living.

Woke up wanting oats! lol...very funny stuff sir sultnpapper. How'd you know how to build that pen, did you draw some plans up yourself or find on online or something?

The plans came from Blondie and I talking about what she was wanting in "her duck pen" so we didn't get them online and I also didn't draw them up.
I do a lot of CAD drawing but only in 2D , I have not a clue to be able to draw in 3D. I had a picture in my mind... but no way in hell I could ever get it on paper.

So it was just figuring it out as we went along. I did have to go back to lumber store on Sunday morning because I miscalculated the number of 2"x 2"s we were going to need in order to have both ends be where they could raise open on the hinges; which are where the sheet metal / screen top meet.

You guys sound like a good team!

Yes, I think we do...she might have a different opinion but the end result was just what she was looking for.

That's super cool. Those are some great memories you guys created.

Woke up wanting oats! lol...very funny stuff sir sultnpapper. How'd you know how to build that pen, did you draw some plans up yourself or find on online or something?