My Two Cents on the Rounding Down of Votes

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Today I have to share an important message regarding comment/ post payouts.

This is mainly geared towards newer Steemians, and Plankton and Minnows that vote with $0.01.

My friend @eonwarped shared this post by @timcliff with me this morning, and while it covers a lot of opinions and information on various aspects of upvoting content and how to not reward spam, which I will not get into here, I was very surprised to learn one thing.

Comments and posts awarded less than $0.02 receive no payout. The amount is rounded down to $0 at post payout.


Currently if a post/comment earns 0.001 to 0.019 SBD worth of rewards - this is rounded down to 0.00. If a post/comment earns at least 0.02 SBD - then they receive their reward.
-@timcliff

This is a big deal that I don't think a lot of Steemians know, especially not plankton like myself.

This affects how we should be voting if we want others to receive any payout from our votes.

As I appreciate that people take the time to read and watch what I have to share, currently I try to respond to and upvote every non spam comment on my posts with 10% vp which equals $0.01...

Or so I thought. It's actually not rewarding them at all unless their comment is upvoted by someone else too, raising it over $0.02.

In my case I'm actually "wasting" my voting power giving out ten 10% votes on comments which could be used to give out one 10 cent upvote (or five $0.02 votes etc)

Going forward I will keep this in mind when upvoting comments and always make sure it's set to 0.02 or over.

If your vote is less than $0.02, still vote as you please of course, but keep in mind that there will be no payout unless the post receives more votes.

A fellow Helpienaut suggested using @tipu to maximize their plankton vote, which others could look into as an option to reward content with more than you are able to on your own.

Did you know about this rounding down of 0.01 cent votes?

Will you change your voting strategy in the future?

Do you have more info regarding this subject?

Please let me know in the comments below.

Take care,
@amymya

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Thanks for the info @amymyaI had no idea. Granted, I've been pretty pre-occupied with offline things and have missed a lot, but I doubt I would've figured this out were it not for you. Sounds pretty shitty to me. Way to make it even harder for plankton to grow. :(

I'm lucky to have learned and happy to be sharing! I really had no clue and it totally baffled me. Trying to spread my votes to as many worthy Steemians as I can was voting comments at 1 cent for quite awhile, now I know better and will do better. All we can do really.
I do feel bad for those that cant adjust their votes though, this rounding down does seem like people will have to rely on the higher ups even more to get a footing in the Steemiverse.
Thank you for your comment Zippy <3

Thank you for the information.😊

You're welcome :)

Hi amymya,

Did not know this. So, I will keep in mind when upvoting to vote with at least .02 like I did here when upvoted your post.

Yeah I think a lot of people didn't know...

Woah I didn’t know that! Thanks!!

You're welcome!

I never knew that. That is a really big deal. Good to know. Thanks for sharing

You're welcome!

Thank you for this. My 100% vote is only worth $.02, but I usually only vote at 40%. This is very important.

You're welcome :) Make these votes count.

This is an important information. Thanks for sharing. I would like this to be different because my vote is usually 0.001.

Keep on growing :) and remember the little votes add up!

Wow, this sucks, I forgot for a second that a comment is also a post, so... this is kinda abusing for poor minnows :s

Yeah it's not the best news I've heard!

Even worse for those whose vote at 100% is worth barely 0.01 T_T
Better times will I come, I still belive We are the early adopters.

Good to know. I had no idea. That is kinda crap, because it's basically saying screw you peasants. Lol

I know that's a bit how I felt too :(

Damn! I didn't know this, either. Thanks for the heads up!

You're welcome! Its weird news isn't it!

Did you know about this rounding down of 0.01 cent votes?

I had no idea.
I think Steemit moderators and controllers need to find more official ways of communicating these changes. Sure, individual users will post about the updates, but it's not readily available unless you look for it. Then of course we have to discern if all of it is correct.
I do not think this is a favorable rule for minnows. For the longest time my vote was $.01 until I bought Steem to fund my account. This means it will take a longer time for new users to gain traction and this may discourage new users even more.

Yeah I don't really like it either. Very discouraging. I don't think this was an update though, I think it's always been this way, just hardly anyone knew!

Do you a specific source for getting Steem news and updates?
Btw. You have a very interesting blog. I am now following you.

No specifics other than my very knowledgeable friends in the crypto empire discord group :)
https://discord.gg/vx9ZZs3
Thanks for the follow!

Thanks. I will be joining to check it out.

edit: ah... I was wrong. I should read more carefully ;)

There has been a misunderstanding. That post is a proposal, to get feedback if it would be a good idea to round it to 0.00. But it is not implemented at the moment. And I doubt it will ever happen. There must be better ways to fight against spam than that.

I'm pretty sure the 'dust threshold' is in place now at 0.02, the proposal is to raise it even higher, closer to $1 or more.
Raising it is unlikely, we can hope!

Yes. Thank you. I was reading it more carefully now. You are right. sorry ;)
Reading at the comments too, yes it seems unlikely that this proposal to rise the threshold more is going to happen. But it is good they are thinking to fight against spam at least :)

I was really surprised to hear this too @amymya i thought there were 5 decimal places and it always accumulated. I happened on the post you mentioned too. On another note...congrats on rocking dLive! Still need to check out your video. But, got super excited to touchbase! Do you use your phone to video and share on dLive? Please tell me yes! And, if you can point me in the right direction to get on there too!! Much Love 💙💚💙💚 Peace!

I use my phone and my webcam, you can edit and upload from your phone but I like to use my laptop to edit now because I have a better program on it. But both ways work! I would check out the DLive discord group and the website, lots of faq and help there https://discord.gg/4QXY6hA
https://help.dlive.io/en/
Much love ♡♡♡

Many Thanks 💜💙💚💛❤

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #110 (4/20/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thanks for sharing this. I hate to think of all the comments I've upvoted that no one has benefited from. This really is a big deal!

When I first saw the post and the plan to raise it even higher was like WTF are you thinking!

It is so hard starting up and most redfishes/planktons dont even know this/ Hell I have been here in the platform for 6 months and didnt know this as I would not look at the github.

So this practicaly tells the little folks to screw you since you don't have money your post is not worth it so it is going to be rounded off to the zero you are.

Most folks don't ebven know how to keep their VP up so all of their votes are useless.

Just goes to show if you dont have money then you are a zero here.

Yup pretty much. Its hard to think of them raising it even more, like are you kidding...

Well I already knew that since day 1 when i got my steemit account...

Awesome, you're one of the few!

It's two cents or nothin'! So odd... I'm definitely changing voting comment behavior.

yas me too

WOW I didnt know that, is that new, thanks for sharing this needs to be common knowledge

you're welcome, I don't think many know!

Oh my gosh, I had no idea!! Thank you, resteeming. Makes a huge difference in how I will vote.

Same for me! Thanks for sharing the word ♡

Wow that is effed up I did not know that lol!! Thanks, I will not be giving anyone 1 cent anymore.

So strange huh?! I was blown away haha. I will be upping my comment votes as well!

Wow I was not aware of this and it is a big deal! I usually do what you used to do, which is give every one that comments on my post at least $0.01. I normally like to give more than that but it does change when the value of SBD changes. From now on I will give at least $0.02 for comments. Thank you so much for bringing this awareness. Resteeming to get this message out so others can be aware.

I noticed that today. I were kinda confused, but I guess I just have to get more SP.

yup, we gotta keep on growing :)

Very good information, I do a lot of new user content voting, I always try to keep it at least two cents, (my two cents worth), and to comment. I will in the future keep an eye out for the new users commenting on each others work in support and if I see a vote and no pay, will try to vote for them also. Thank you for the information.

Thank you for helping spread the word :)

Wow thanks @amymya, what a bombshell you have dropped and so happy you did!
I have been doing what I thought was right for my fellow steemian starters and apparently it hasn't helped one iota!
Why on earth would a value be rounded down to zero?

to deter spammers getting payout by posting repeatedly and upvoting themselves, but I think with bot usage that this is pointless and hurts the honestly hard working newbies more.

Agreed, so identifying, tackling and eliminating the spammers should be a priority!
Thanks for your wise words.

How does someone change the percentage of their votes?

when you have over 500 sp you get a "slider" and can adjust your vote :)

Thanks. I'm not there yet, so no wonder I didn't know how to adjust the amount. lol

I mean, it does definitely help keep down spam accounts that would just be posting countless one-cent posts otherwise.

Perhaps, but I think if spammers are keen they will just bot their posts. In my opinion it does more harm than good over all...

I had no idea, thanks for the info. I'll make sure to give mofos at least 2 cents :)

As will I <3

This is frustrating. I have been trying to comment actively, but there are many out there who see comments without upvotes as spam and will downvote you for it. When I discovered I could use the vote slider if I went through Busy rather than Steemit, I began doing so. It's been nice being able to upvote the comments of those who are supporting me and even if it's not a lot, at least it's something. I really will have to think about how this affects my voting. Thanks for sharing.

you're welcome! it's hard to know what to do thats for sure. on the one hand the symbolism of the vote still stands even if it doesn't end up reaching payout... but then your actual vote isn't being used because you've used up your sp giving out tiny votes...

Thanks for that information...I am still trying to wrap my head around it all. I'm confused though at how I have a choice at how much I give. Am I missing something?..lol..probably

💖

When you are new you have no choice in voting strength until you reach 500 sp, at which time you get a slider that allows you to adjust the voting weight and amount :)
I'm glad I could share some info with you♡

Ok..makes sense ..I did see that somewhere in researching around but because I know it will be a while before I get that much power and because there is so much to take in that I guess that went right over my head.

💖

Well this only applies on steemit. on dtube and dlive you get to choose your voting power regardless of how much steem power you have