You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive-Naija Weekend Engagement #38 - "Paradigm Shift"

in Speak Peace2 years ago

Quite an interesting topic
As Stephen Covey said in his book
7 Habits of Highly Effective People

To change ourselves effectively, we first have to change our perceptions.

This made me realize that if I ever want to be a different person, first I have to change the way I see the world and my perception of things. I remember during the pandemic in 2020 when the whole world was shut down, schools were closed, all activities were put on hold and hospitals were the ones working the most. I must admit I felt scared and vulnerable because I didn't know what was the next step for me. This was supposed to be the year when I would finally become a graduate and get to do what I want. But no, COVID-19 just had to show itself.

During this phase, I went into something called a personality loop, where I got to question my existence and my purpose in life. I must say this was bad. I felt guilty about not doing anything meaningful than just sitting at home and watching the news, which didn't make it any better. But after a while, I knew this was going to end up badly for me because come on, I'm still young and I'm already feeling helpless and lost.

Then I finally decided to use this spare time covid-19 had given me to read books that I wouldn't read on a normal day because of the workload I had to handle from school and my courses. I started with The Subtle Art of not giving a fuck by Mark Manson, which happens to be my favorite book and my favorite author. Don't worry guys, soon I will do a book review on this book and you will get to see why I love the book so much, first, just give me a little time to read it for the third time. If there was one lesson the book taught me was you can't give a fuck about everything that goes on in this world, if so you will just get all worked up quickly. Rather you should focus on things you can solve if you gave a fuck about them.

As funny as it sounds, it's true. Imagine being worked up about things that you cannot solve for example the problem of insecurity in the country. No matter how hard you try or how bad you feel, with time you will come to notice that insecurity is something that's everywhere and can only be reduced through the collective effort of everyone and not just one person. Rather, why do you worry and think about those immediate problems within your reach or have to do with you, like your attitude towards challenges? Like how do you see problems that hit you, do you see them as something that can be solved or do you see them as something that has ruined you forever? If you are not aware, there is a saying,

if you want to change the world, start first by changing yourself.

With time and through the help of several self-development books, I have come to understand that in this life, there will always be problems but our attitude towards these problems determines if we can solve them or not.

So guys this is my Paradigm Shift and the new way I've come to see this world, thanks to books and life struggles.

Sort:  

Thank you for this wonder piece. I must say, it made my day and raised my hopes.
To change the world, it begins with the individual, embracing what had been missing, discovering the purpose for existence.
But beyond all that, we should be able to come to that point where the welfare of our immediate environment is paramount.
A time when what becomes of humanity is as important as living.

The grammar in this comment is many 🙄

Shey they say you can write in pidgin ni 😂😂

Mr English is not favouring us that are Non-miss English o 😝🏃‍♀️🏃‍♀️

0mg!!!
I do mistake write English for where my obodo nails people full grand berekete.

🤣🤣🤣🤣

Please try to correct your mistake quick before person like me stop by again

Head dey burn 😂😂

@merit.ahama Bia, you came to look for trouble today ba?

😂😂😂😂

Only troublemakers recognize themselves

Hope you're doing well in your trouble area too 😁🤣

Hahaha yes oo 😂😂, we recognize ourselves, hehe.
What's up? 😎😎.

Hahaha, you guys should not worry at all, I'm here now

Ah!! Abeg them nor dey mistake this kind of mistake oo, it's the Mrenglish in you that came that's why, hehe.

Ahaahaha. I don hear. E no go happen again.

Okay, I trust you 😆😆.

hahahaha, you dey everywhere , dey tackle people,according to his name so he must speak his english
😁

😁😁😁

Shey they say speak pidgin or any language others will understand

I nor dey understand he English 😂

Hahaha, me self, I think say I dey understand English before but as Mrenglish speak I confirm say I nor Sabi speak nor to even talk of understanding am 😆😆.

I nor dey here sha
Because your trouble come be double 😂😂

🤣🤣🤣chai , there is God o

As in ehn, it's her way oo, confirmed trouble finder 🤣🤣. @merit.ahama the topic of discussion today na about doing something differently, you better do things differently 🤪.

That is eggzactly what I'm doing na
Is like you pipo shu start seeing things differently o 🙄

Who is this one? So this is your differently? Then we need to change it 😪.

Change it ke
Come and force me to change it na

At first I thought you were exaggerating but when I read through I got to see things from your side 😁.

Infact, maybe one of these days we will make it a complete naija language engagement, it will be as a challenge, @samostically what do you think?

Hahaha dah one go hard o. Few people can write in their language.

I understand two local languages but I can barely write any

I'm not really talking about their native language, I'm talking about pigin English, hehe.

Well, it would just be for fun, kind of a challenge.

Abeg help me beg am o
English is killing me 😫😫😂😂

I have begged him, lolz. Hope you have taken injection sha, I don't want to hear you are sick of inglishes, hehehe.

😂😂😂
No problem, I'm well and good

That's almost relieving to hear sha 😪😁.

Eweee🙈🙈🙈🤓🤓🤓.... You are si funny... Too much English de cause person headache.

Haha as in ehn... And I hate headache 🥲

@mrenglish Change definitely begins with the individual involved. Be the change you want to see. You cannot under any circumstances expect a change when you're doing things the exact same way.

Exactly. We need to first change our perceptions before the expected change would come.

Confirm! That's why we were told that change begins with us, the more we renew our minds the more we see things clearly.

That's right, Albert Einstein defined insanity as doing something over and over and expecting a different result.

Absolutely.

I won't agree with you any less. ✊

Yes, he has spoken really well.

Hmm, that last part is confusing me one kind oo, please add more light inside so that I go see wetin you dey see well.

Good morning Mrenglish 🥰.

🤑People's welfare should be in the heart of the leaders. That's what visionary leadership is all about.

Oh right! I totally understand you now and I agree with you. It will come to a point where the welfare of people will matter most and we can only get to that point if we do something differently.

That's it. We need to begin now. When the problem of the people is solve, society becomes a good place to live in.

You're right sir. We really need to start now and start getting good results.

The next election will be a litmus test for us all.

@blackavalon this comment is so short that it was a quick read for me 😢 and honestly, it's so cool to see someone seeing things in better way from reading books.

If you want to change the world, start with yourself... So true.

Somebody say na President wey fit change channel for house when he wife dey around go fit do small thing for him country 🤣🤣

We can't make great changes without making little changes 😁

Thanks, and it's cool when someone agrees with me.

Awwn, it is a really good feeling when you know you are not alone 🥰.

Hmm, you are right, for us to make great changes, we have to make small changes first.

🙌🙌🙌😁😁

Your hands in the air are not clear oo 😉, raise them higher 😒.

@merit.ahama they talk about long comments. Come and see one.

😂😂😂😂😂
Wahala be like wetin again?

Wahala be like long comment.

😂😂😂

Be here laughing, is it not you that is looking for short comment 🤪🤪.

As in ehn 😂😂.

Wahala for comment 😃
Kuku make it as a post @blackavalon 😂😂

Abi o

I support too because it seems like he just controlled himself from doing more than he did, hehehe.

😝😝😝😝😝😝
I just got lost in the comment

I like that you poured out your heart as e det hot 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥

Yes oo, that's what we should be doing here sha, it's what will make the engagement more merrier and effective, hehe.

That's a really good one, I could feel it that you got lost, that's why I will also love to agree with them that you should write a post about it and get lost well 🤪🤪.

That's a really good advice, @blackavalon hope you are considering it sha?

Hahaha, madam short comment, even your own was short 🙄.

😂😂😂

As in ehn, sometimes is just hard to control the length of our discussion except we don't want to be true with it. But it's not small thing @blackavalon is doing sha 😪.

Thanks for your contribution @blackavalon

For that long comment so

You run speechless once 🤣🤣🤣

Which one is thanks for your contribution 🤪🏃‍♀️🏃‍♀️

It's obvious this babe came prepared today with bags of troubles 😂😂😂

And anyone she says, she will pick race 😃😃

😁😁😁😁

I thought you pipo were missing my trouble 🥲

Missing wetin 😂😂😂
Abeg, calm down oo
Chill with that troubles 😂😂😂

🤣🤣🤣🤣

Okay, I've calm 🙄😝

Not yet sha? I'm really for you this weekend 😁.

Hahaha, you are running from her trouble, hmm, well I came prepared as well, hehe. Where is she?

Hmmmm
Let me take hot tea ☕ first so I can have energy to fight this battle 😂

You are absolutely right, she is here very prepared, I know she is just starting sha, if they give her chance it's obvious she will get some spanking before Sunday 🤪🤪... @merit.ahama you know that is not what I meant to say, I just want you to know is the truth that I was just saying 😏.

Hahaha, I feel say na only me thought this way oo, lolz.

yea changes starts from oneslf. and your attitude and beliefs towards a thing also matters to getting changes in life or whatever

you suppose to just create post with this your comment

That's right, sometimes our beliefs and attitudes are very harmful to how we respond to implementing changes.

Hmm hmm, shey they said charity starts at home so that it

Exactly! You got that right.

Wow! I'm totally impressed with your approach to answering the question for this week. Sometimes we just worry ourselves so much that we want to be a superman or woman even when we know we can do little or nothing about a situation. Knowing our boundaries on what we can or cannot do will really help a lot in helping us give our best to our country.

That period of Covid 19 made so many people feel really helpless but like you said, sometimes there is just a few thing we can do to improve our lives and that of others and I think like you have said, having the right attitude towards things will be of great help.

The name of the book you read really got my attention, I think I will love to read the reviews on it, I will have to wait for you to finish it the third time, hehe, don't worry, I'm going to wait Patiently, I just pray I don't miss it.

If we can only change our attitude and mindset towards things, it will really help us in doing something differently and I'm very sure it will bring about the change we seek. And one thing we can do differently in the aspect of changing first, is by believing that there is something good in our beloved country and also that we can be better especially because we are involved.

Thank you so much @blackavalon for your amazing comment for this week's discussion, hope you are having a great weekend?

True sis... The little things we do for others go a long way...

Yes ma'am it does, we just have to be true to whatever we choose to do and it's a matter of time before we see the results.

Thank you so much for your contribution 🙏.

The of not giving a fuck by Mark Manson

I started reading this book early this year but I am yet to finish it, it's indeed a very interesting book but I just haven't found the time to complete it.

During the COVID-19 lockdown, most people saw it as an opportunity to rest and have some fun, just watching movies, roaming around social media, playing games, etc. I was also like you back then; I just woke up one morning and started questioning my existence and what the future held for me (I guess being cooped up in the house for months have started to get to me). I saw the lockdown as an opportunity to better myself, instead of just wasting it by watching movies and catching cruise on Twitter. I needed something meaningful to keep me busy and give me a sense of purpose, so I chose to learn graphics designing and that step alone took me out of the mental cage I created for myself.

You're totally right about focusing on things a person can solve. One thing I have learned from Mark Manson's book is that; if you can't do something about a problem and you see that it's beyond you, then why worry about it? Worrying won't solve it, you should rather focus on the things you can do on your own to make things better. Thanks for this wonderful piece, it's filled with lots of advice and tips, anyone wise enough will be able to pick them

It's a good thing to see a seconder of the book, I don't really like buying books because I might just end up not reading it but I do try to read some that I see.

You have learned a really good lesson from the book and it's really so nice that you shared your lesson with us. It's very foolish for anyone to want to change what they know they can't change, it only makes us feel more worthless the more we try.

I don't really like buying books because I might just end up not reading

You can just download the PDF version of it if this is what you're afraid of, that's why I did 😁

Oh right! I'm not sure I have the time to read all of it sha, I will wait to read the review from Blackavalon.

You're obviously a reader🙌🏾 I used to think I read a lot until I joined Hive 😂😂.

Funny I have this book and as catchy as it sounds I've never opened it, but as you don ginger me laidis, make I go read am.

You can't be more right, some changes just have to start from within. Whenever I see someone I admire, that's what I tell myself, it starts from the mind.

It's a good thing you have the book, do well to also make a review when you are through with the book if you can.

I'll sure look into that, thanks😊

That's true... Every form of change begins with each of us.

So right.

Change begins with us first.