🎵 Hive Open Mic Week 4 - Worldwide Live Music Event

in Hive Open Mic4 years ago (edited)

Hive Open Mic ( #openmic ) is a virtual music stage, giving musicians a chance to freely share their music with an appreciative audience.


Hive Open Mic

Week 4: May 3-8, 2020

A community of music lovers for music fans and musicians

Thanks to the fine musicians and music fans who participated in the first three weeks of the Hive Open Mic. So far, we've heard musicians from five continents, making this an international event. Our community is open, active, and free to join: Subscribe to Hive Open Mic.

I'm hopeful this will be a haven for creative expression and community connection. Hive thrives on the collective energy we bring, and I am delighted to see the social harmony happening here in the Hive Open Mic. Such a joy to share this musical vibration with all of you.


Invitation

"Song of the Sea"

The theme for Hive Open Mic Week 4 is this: Song of the Sea. The invitation is to ride a common wave, exploring, expressing, and experiencing music within the current theme. This way, it's a journey into new territory, discovering triumphs and treasures together.

Week 4 Theme - Song of the Sea

To enter this event, you'll express yourself creatively with a song that helps us to explore the current theme. Original songs and cover songs are welcomed equally, as long as the song suits the theme. All musical forms and genres are OK.

The classic open mic event is a dedicated stage, presenting live music. Our virtual open mic carries a similar energy, as a platform and a spotlight for musicians. Here, we focus our energy and find harmony as our songs ripple out and resonate.


Guidelines

  1. Produce - Begin your video with the words: “This is Hive Open Mic Week [1] and I am [@username],” substituting the current week and your own username, and then you'll sing your song.
  2. Present - Post your video on Hive, writing the story of your creative journey with the song, and tagging #openmic as your first tag.
  3. Promote - Share your link in the comments section of Sunday's open mic invitation.
  4. Prosper - Enjoy harmony with the Hive community by engaging with musicians and music fans.

Examples

Golden Sun even with the grey sky from my balcony by @lorenzopistolesi HiveOpenMicExample1.jpg

"This Pretty Planet" (Cover) - A Singalong Folk Song for Earth Day by @wildfamily HiveOpenMicExample2.jpg

The Verve - Bitter Sweet Symphony - Acoustic Version by @juliolunar HiveOpenMicExample3.jpg

"Heavily" (Original Song) by @cabelindsay HiveOpenMicExample4.jpg


Rewards

Beyond the sheer enjoyment of sharing and experiencing live music, there are ample incentives to participate here. Upvotes and replies are given as a "Tip Jar." Standout songs are celebrated. And a selection of these songs are showcased in a curated list, honoring the music magic.

This week, for the first time, I have the honor of adding $30 to the Tip Jar, thanks to a gracious offering by @montycashmusic—host of the HiveStreet Community. I highly recommend subscribing to HiveStreet and including the #virtualbusking tag in any live music posts for additional upvotes, comments, and reblogs.


Requests

You can help support Hive Open Mic by voting two times. First, help this post with an upvote, which will support the host in providing valuable upvotes to the participants. Second, upvote the link of your favorite entry found in the comments below, in order to reward exceptional musicians. Two votes is a win-win for the musicians.

Additionally, let's acknowledge the artistry being given so graciously. Let's support musicians by voting and commenting directly on music posts, showing our applause as if we're listening in a pub, a coffee shop, or concert hall. Let's keep this Hive humming and buzzing!


Acknowledgments

Beeing in harmony is what Hive is all about.

Thanks so much to the talented musicians and the generous listeners, bringing their gifts to the virtual stage. Hive Open Mic is stellar, with a brilliant blend of original songs and fresh remakes. We gratefully await new music in this 4th round, with the theme: Song of the Sea.

Looking back, we can still listen to the music from previous weeks: Open Path, Golden Sun, and Sweeter Than Honey. For those who missed last week's event, songs will be celebrated in a "Highlights" showcase, to be posted this Tuesday.

Enjoy Live Music - Subscribe to Hive Open Mic.

🌞 🌜 🌟 ✨

Sort:  

English: These lyrics are superb. Yes, a song about the ocean of emotions, moving in waves, rising and falling as the tides... The chord progression is exquisite. I especially admire that first barre chord you're striking there. Cool, yes, that totally works to say "Hive Open Mic" at the end! I'm glad you found a natural way that works for you.


Español: Estas letras son excelentes. Sí, una canción sobre el océano de las emociones, moviéndose en olas, subiendo y bajando como las mareas ... La progresión de acordes es exquisita. Admiro especialmente ese primer acorde de barra que estás tocando allí. Genial, sí, ¡eso funciona totalmente para decir "Hive Open Mic" al final! Me alegra que hayas encontrado una forma natural que funcione para ti.

Happy to hear your voice again, and I'm liking your guitar action too. I appreciate your thoughtfulness about memorializing the end of fascism—this song has a distinct Russian sound too it.

Thank you @cabelindsay! The original sound of this song is because the composer, Vladimir Vysotzky, was a revolutionary, he broke so many paradigms in the former Soviet Union. He was the first singer-songwriter there, and although he was no very well seen by the government, people loved him and turned him into one of the most important songwriters of all times in Russia. He had a very impressive way of performing because he was an actor, and so are his songs.

My Entry https://hive.blog/hive-174578/@kantos/openmic-week-4-or-la-negra-atilia-cover-by-kantos

I hope it's not too late to participate.
We are happy to share this song with you.

Another exciting collaboration, thank you for participating in Hive Open Mic Week 4. Excellent musicianship throughout.

Hi everybody. Happy to be here again! The song I'm sharing is currently untitled, because it's newly arrived—just this week. https://hive.blog/openmic/@wildfamily/ponto-de-yemanja-an-original-song-of-the-sea-for-hive-open-mic-week-4

Woo, what a high-energy song you're sharing here. Good of you to put some extra energy into the video, with that awesome green screen effect and original footage from the coast. What a fun way to enhance your presentation.

This is my first entry for this exciting event ,check it out :)

https://hive.blog/hive-148441/@jubei333/hive-open-mic-week-4-donegal-danny-song-s-of-the-sea

Yeah, this week's theme seems to be meant for you. Synchronistic for sure. Your storytelling is much appreciated here — I'm grateful for your introduction leading into this song. Yeah, the ocean is so rich in sorrowful tales, and mystical adventures. This song captures that sentiment beautifully. Thank you for jumping in and sharing something great!

Tune!! :) thanks for playing my song hahaha ;) jokes.. good stuff man, I've got a banger that i'm uploading later, stay tuned ......

"And yay but ill not have um!" ;)

You sound bloody natural, man. Glad to see you here!

The song I'm sharing this week is called "Luar," by Léo Artese. This is my first attempt at a song in a foreign language—Portuguese, which I feel is a sign of progress as I am getting to know my greater family around the world. https://hive.blog/openmic/@cabelindsay/hive-open-mic-week-4-luar-by-leo-artese

Oh friend, this song is very nice

This one is called There was an old man who came over the sea.

https://hive.blog/hive-148441/@danaidhbee/there-was-an-old-man-who-came-over-the-sea

Damn son ,your on fire!

Yes! This song stirs something in me emotionally—something that feels fresh and inviting, like family. Loving the storytelling element, of course, as well as the overall sound, and I like the way you build up energy around the 4-minute mark. I find that the stringed instruments generally carry that ocean vibration well, and I wonder if it relates to the wave form. Sound waves, oscillating like water waves? I dunno. Anyway, this song feels expansive and empowering to me as I open up to new possibilities as a song carrier.

Did your phone run out of batteries at the 4:17 mark? Classic way to leave us wanting more! :)

Thank you for your comments :)
Hahaha yes.. well.. i don't actually know why it cut off at the end, the memory ran out or something.
But hey at least it's here and uploaded, @jubei333 had to help me a little with where to post it, (thanks)
yes the song is quite a mover and i'm glad you enjoyed it.

Here is my cover song for this week Hive Open Mic Week 4 : No More Blue Sea (Tak Biru Lagi Lautku) Cover Song.. Check this out and enjoy!!

Thanks again for participating in last week's open mic. Feeling appreciative of your artistry, and grateful for your friendship.

hiveStreet.png

This amazing live-music Hive initiative has been cross-posted to the HiveStreet Community! A virtual hub for street performers and live music on the Hive blockchain!

#virtualbusking

I call forth some fantastic musicians from the wells of oblivion!
gettyimages828151930612x612.jpg

@autobodhi and @sketch.and.jam

I command you to participate! (in the nicest possible way of course! 🤣)

Yeaayy It's open up again. I'll jump at it soon. BTW, I'd love to say thanks to you @cabelindsay for the last "Tip Jar". Hope this @Hiveopenmic will be existed for long time to support Indie musicians and everyone who love music and willing to share their creative works here. Long live the hive blockchain and its all content creators.

My pleasure! Thanks so much for your gratitude. I feel grateful too. I am honored to celebrate live music in this way. I'm glad for your participation, as you've brought some good energy and artistry here. Yes, Viva the Hive! Viva the Bees!! Viva the Music!!!

Here is my song for this week! Enjoy!

https://peakd.com/hive-174578/@montycashmusic/tpobncnd

@montycashmusic Did you post wrong video? I've just checked it and found no song at all. Only tutorial how to purchase something.

This is playing as my song, in my country.

I don't know why it's coming up as a tutorial to purchase something. I promise I couldn't give two shits about what you saw instead of my song.

Here is the peakd.com link instead? https://peakd.com/hive-174578/@montycashmusic/tpobncnd

Let me know if it's still not playable through the peakd link. Personally, I can play my video through the above linkhere no problem.

Maybe it's a 3speak thing at the moment. What's happening @theycallmedan?

@cabelindsay @jubei333 @rezasofyan

Oh yep, there it is. How interesting—the lady I walk with creates artwork almost exactly like the designs on your guitar. Liking this song here. Feels like the soundtrack for a medieval knight story or something. Or yeah, an explosive end to the world as we know it. I checked out your studio recording too, enjoying the additional violin, voice, and drum.

Judging by the international collaborators on your album's page, I see that you're well accustomed to joining forces with musicians across borders. Deep bow to you for that. I'm so glad you're here in the Hive Open Mic, drawing people together, making a major impression, being exactly as you are.

Thank you man for your kind words and compliments!

Respect reciprocated. I made a mention of the #openmic in the description of the HiveStreet community page.

ps, have a link to that ladies work? I'd love to see.

FYI, your video here still seems to be experiencing issues. Even when I went to view it on your page I encountered a Lexus ad. Somethings quirky there. YouTube still seems to be most reliable, as far as I see. Anyhow, I'll try embedding on our "Highlights" post and see if it works, and if not I'll have to exclude it. Just know that I appreciate you and still feel grateful for your entry.

Ok man, thanks, I'll tag a few 3speak heads to see what's going on:

@theycallmedan @threespeak @sisygoboom

btw, I made another contribution for the next tip jar. I noticed you gave some back for the tip of the previous week but it was only 1 Hive. Well, I'm not sure how you're splitting it or whatever, but there should be more than than if you've got 30 plus all the takings from the other posts divided by the amount of entrants.

So what's the go?

Edit: I made a mistake looking at the wrong week. All good, sorry

Anyways, I've put 10 Hive, not HBD, into the tip jar via a tip for week 5. Just remember there is a difference between Hive and HBD, I noticed you mentioned I donated 30 dollars in the weekly post but actually it was 30 Hive. Hive is worth 32 cents right now and HBD is worth about 97 cents. So there is a big difference. You gave 2.5 Hive Dollars (HBD) in the other week to each entrant, not sure if that was intentional. Anyways, Good on you for keeping it going! All the best, Monty

It works now. You did such a great job man.

Thank you man for taking the time to listen.

I did not change the link to the 3 speak video. So this is very strange... do do do do .. [creepy music goes here]

That shows 2 mins of something called steem ninja and no song is that a mis-post or is it something weird on my end?

Yeah, will you double-check your link here?

I'm so glad to see you here. Welcome. Thank you for jumping in. We'll excuse the missing intro since you're a newcomer. Yes, and your entry is perfectly suited to the theme, so I'll go ahead and add it to the highlights post, to be published tomorrow. Thanks again.

Thanks so much! Lovely being included. 😄