Show Me A Photo Centest Round 36 - Bird Eye

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

Sight - What Birds Are Capable Of!

White-faced whistling duck (Dendrocygna viduata) sub-Saharan Africa and South America, waterfowl retina is most highly developed in nature. Enabling crisp images through colour-receptive cones within eye, night sight is poor (partial trade-off) for excellent daytime sight.

3843-Eye_White-faced Whistling duck.jpg

Spur-winged goose (Plectropterus gambensis) sub-Saharan Africa, geese and ducks see a wider range of colors to guarantee survival like all waterfowl, sight is ten times better than ours. The Spur-winged goose is fast in flight, but not in diving speed.

0827-Eye-Spur-winged_Goose.jpg

African fish eagle (Haliaeetus vocifer) sub-Saharan Africa, swooping down of high branches scooping up sizable fish to enjoy on the river bank.

0631-Eye_FishEagle.JPG

Brown snake eagle (Circaetus cinereus) West East and Southern Africa, sankes slithering through grasses this eagle will take up to three meter long snakes, it's favourite meal.

0523-Eye_BrownSnakeEagle.JPG

Peregrine falcon (Falco peregrinus) massive pupils allowing them to cope with ultraviolet light, sight is approximately eight times better than humans, at speed special filters, super adaptive.

0593-Eye_PeregrineFalcon.JPG

Huge thank you Feathered Friends @nelinoeva, @oks2crypto and @melinda010100

SA_Hive_LineBreak.png

All photography is my own. Any queries or requests please drop a comment below or make contact with me, have a wonderful day! Photography without tripod, go with the flow wherever life takes you. NB: Amateur photographer and bird watcher, keep smiling!

Thought for Today: "If love is a sickness, patience is the remedy." - African Proverb

Combination_PapillonCharity.png How To

80pli5.png

by @barbara-orenya

joan.gif

Sort:  

Oh how I would love to have eyes like an eagle, because then I wouldn't need my glasses to see if a photo I have taken is sharp or not 😁
I would love to once get as close to a bird of prey as you, but as I have already told quite a few times: I'm too slow for birds 🤣


!BEER and !WINE - both make a nice dinner with !PIZZA :)
!invest_vote

Getting rid of glasses would be spectacular, excuse the pun.

Birds do rest in trees, need stealth mode and patience sometimes, I know you don't enjoy waiting too long!

!ENGAGE 10
!PIZZA and !BEER Actually coffee time that can come later....

Oh yes, I never believed how valuable sharp eyes are when I was younger, but I wished I had known it.

I'll do my best in future to sit and wait - my parent's garden would be perfect 😁


!ENGAGE 30
!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

Parents garden would be ideal with trees and water close to hand, must be plenty of bird life in there, patience it takes time.

We really don't appreciate young healthy bodies and eyesight, then it is too late with glasses perched on the end of the nose!

!ENGAGE 15
!PIZZA

Yep, it's kind of ideal, but we don't have as many birds around as you have.

Our parents have told us that it's not good to read when it's too dark, and I was told later that sitting at the computer monitor all night long will ruin my eyes. I didn't listen because my eyes were sharp as eagle eyes. I am telling my kids the same and they don't listen ... one day they will know.


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

Plenty of birds in Austria, one has to stop long enough to wait for them.

Perhaps coffee each morning in the garden, wait, listen, look, photograph.... just a suggestion LOL!

Glasses only for reading, yes years behind computer screens I am sure did not help nor reading books in half-light, but we knew better right!

I should "stop long enough" and "wait" LOL 🤣

But yes, having a coffee while enjoying the morning is able to let even me sit down for a while and be somehow "patient" 😉

I need them also only for reading, but it's getting worse.


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @joanstewart, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that you can use BEER at dCity game to **buy dCity NFT cards** to rule the world.

@joanstewart! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @johannpiber.

Did you know you can spend $PIZZA on games in the $Pizza Store? (12/20)

@johannpiber! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @joanstewart.

Have you voted for Pizza teams Hive witness (pizza.witness)? (1/10)

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@joanstewart! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @johannpiber.

Did you know you can earn $VFT through the PIZZA farm? (10/20)

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.

@johannpiber! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @joanstewart.

Did you know you can earn $PIZZA daily by delegating HivePower to Hive.Pizza? (1/10)

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Congratulations, @johannpiber You Successfully Shared 0.300 WINE With @joanstewart.
You Earned 0.300 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 3/3 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINE Token Discord Channel
WINE Current Market Price : 0.230

@joanstewart! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @johannpiber.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (6/20)

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Nice shots, Brown snake eagle does looks like his been eating lots of snakes though.

Sure has that evil eye that looks like it never misses, apparently the head is off the snake before delivery to the nest.... Impressive huh!

That's absolutely impressive as a predictor, no pity on the snake though as I fear snakes than any other animals

Give them wide berth, they do good in keeping other creepy crawlies at bay. Funny when we out in the bush you look down for fear of them, yet seldom look up in the trees 😂...

😃😃😃 yes am scared of those creepy creatures you've got no idea I'd rather confront a lion.
Bring a snake near me and you will see me run faster than Usain Bolt

Hiking Cathedral Peak up Baboon Rock years ago encountered my first snake, went straight up the walking stick and flew about ten meters...., not so bad now....

😳 did you just say not so bad! I will for ever have that memory with me and if happen to pass there again I will be thinking it's still there waiting for me 😃

Awesome photos. Funny how your snake eagle is soo similar to the portuguese one!

Similar traits in hunting ability, many birds only have slight differences between continents, if there is enough food why migrate?

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Amazing how birds adapt and develop their sight. When I see the raptors high in the sky I know they see pretty well their prey on the ground.
Wonderful shots and information.

Thanks for visiting, yes their eyesight is exceptional having to rely on sight to eat.

Beautiful, @joanstewart! It’s so wonderful to see them up close. That’s amazing about the falcon’s eyesight!

Precision sight for hunting is interesting, considering speed used during encounter.

You have a lot of photos of beautiful birds!

Peregrine falcon are one of the amazing birds and their better eye sight makes them more unique among the other birds, really love to see these photos..

Birds are amazing, to me the waterfowl seeing in so much colour, one can imagine them picking just the right grass due to being able to see better.

yeah that's totally right I agreed with you..

Great shots here.
Love the eye of the Peregrine falcon
Looks a bit scary.

Hypnotic was the word that came to mind when I first saw them 😄

Hmm cannot disagree with you there. 😁

Would hate to be the target it's aiming for.... Speed and accuracy both we lack of late.

I once had an eagle aiming for my pup, I ran for cover like I've never run before. So I can imagine.

My son has to be careful with his cat, he walks her and keeps an eye open since locally small animals have been lifted out of gardens. Scary watching them swoop down close ready to take 'prey' or pup.

Yeah, they are way too fast and lift their prey in a swift move.. giving you hardly any time to react.

Congratulations @joanstewart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 27500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 28000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 15

You captured some great eyes, especially the last one of the falcon.

I really like the Brown snake eagle because of his abilities. :)

Tip

Thanks for enjoying, my preference is the waterfowl having ability to see four colours to our three, dynamic!