Bishops and some Spring season babies!

in Feathered Friends4 years ago (edited)

128.JPG

This young guy is called a "Southern Red Bishop" (Euplectes orix)

We hope that all Hivers will have a good new week!

"The southern red bishop or red bishop (Euplectes orix) is a small passerine bird belonging to the bishop and widowbird genus Euplectes in the weaver family, the Ploceidae. It is common in wetlands and grassland in Africa south of the Equator. North of the Equator, it is replaced by the northern red bishop or orange bishop (E. franciscanus) which was formerly regarded as a subspecies of this species".

Source

We nipped out again during a break in a cold, rainy day and got some lovely surprises on our rushed outing. On our way to the sea, I saw some lovely storm clouds and we made a detour to take a photo of the clouds. On our way back, we stopped at a dam and I took some photos.
Come and see!

105.JPG

Here above we have a "Cape Weaver" (Ploceus capensis)

096.JPG

And here you can see their community nests at the dam!

Now for something else!

057.JPG

They were born together as babies and now as teenagers they still huddle together in the cold!
5 Egyptian Goose youngsters here. (Alopochen aegyptiaca)

030.JPG

Look! And the best thing is that they all came directly towards me with the mom going "erk,erk,erk"
Maybe she meant; "jerk, jerk, jerk" 🤣

034.JPG

All of a sudden, the dad also popped up at the right to come and have a look if this "Jerk" was going to be a threat to their kids!
The baby at the front was teaching the other two babies the "Jerusalema" dance!

046.JPG

There were four of them, but the top one here stuck close to the dad and he must be a male.
The three females were searching for some treats in the tree routes!

048.JPG

Real cute little ones and not scared of me and not even worried about the cold, or the coming rain!

This to me is the way of mother nature. She often surprises us with some most unexpected sights. Our Egyptian geese here "Harry and Sally" lost all of their spring babies to local cats and other predators and here we were shown even teenage survivors.
I think that I should talk to Harry about having their next spring children here at this dam Lol.

And That's All Friends!

Note: All photos are my own, unedited and cropped for uploading!
Camera used: Canon Powershot SX60HX

We hope that you have enjoyed the pictures and thank you for visiting the blog of @papilloncharity

Disclaimer:
The articles, trademarks, and photos appearing on this @papilloncharity site may not be used in any advertising or publicity, or affiliation with any product or service, or for private purposes, without the author's prior written permission.
All posts are placed without prejudice!
PLEASE DO NOT COPY

Sort:  

Oh you have some adorable birds there.

Thank you kindly and I am glad that you appreciated the post my friend!

Blessings and have a good week!

Beautiful natura:-)

Thank you kindly!

Congratulations @papilloncharity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week
You made more than 26000 comments. Your next target is to reach 27000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Introducing the Power Up Helper!
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!

Thank you kindly for the notices!
All strength and blessings!

Beautiful shots here.
They're lovely

Thank you kindly for the appreciation!

That Bishop is gorgeous, such bright plumage, you really have a gift to capture our feathered friends looking their best! That wet and cold has now reached us here in KZN, it's like a second winter!
Keep warm and stay blessed my friend:)

Hahaha, second winter also over here Lady Lizzie, so hopefully you guys can bank on more rain, as another cold front is hitting us on Wednesday.
So, tomorrow is our only semi dry day for this week lol.

Thank you for the kind words and all blessings also to you guys!

Thank you kindly!

Wow, amazing colors - these birds are beautiful, especially the Red Bishop 😃 and the baby geese are really cute, just as you say 🤗


Cheers and !BEER
!tip
!invest_vote

Thank you Hannes,

Amazingly the Red Bishops only appear in the south of the equator. In the north they have the Orange Bishop.
The youngster in the photo here will gradually start to turn a deep red color.

I think the school children feed the babies, as they were not scared of me and I was glad to see the teenager geese, as it means that they can survive there. Although only 4 babies means that some have been taken already by the raptors.
I will be going back to that dam in better weather to see what lives in the water lol.

Cheers an thanks!

You're welcome Zac,
it's always amazing when I see the colors and the beauty of the birds and other animals you have there 😃


Cheers and !BEER

Thank you Hannes,

In between sorting out the police victim support unit with supplies this morning, we also went to the big hardware store to buy the materials that I am going to use to revamp our carport.
The material store is near the sea and I had my camera in the car, so you can guess where I took some photos today lol.

Glad that you find our animals amazing my friend. So do I 😃

Cheers and Thanks!

Good morning Zac,
I haven't been much online yesterday and I think in the next days it will be about the same. I'll do some voting and my #AlphabetHunt post, but I can't promise much more.

So you're upgrading your carport and adding a new roof? I think I can remember you said something like that a while ago.

I will have a look at your posts s soon as I have time and I guess you have made nice photos of the ocean and some birds I guess 😁


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Good morning Hannes,

No problem from my side, as you have to do what makes you happy my friend. So you can never expect pressure from me, as that's not what friends do.
Looking forward to your post.

Yes, the wind is busy demolishing it, as it is based on wooden poles with 3 poles across at the top to from the frame. The guy that built it used ordinary nails and no bolts.
So, the rain swells the wood and the wind pulls the poles loose from the joints.
I will now strap it down with metal hoops and we will replace the shade netting with a waterproof canvas cover.

Hahaha, you are right about the ocean, but no birds my friend. Rather something else that I plan to do in 3 series over 3 days. First one today!

Cheers and thanks!

Good morning Zac,

lunchtime means Hive time 😉
I'll reply as much as I can and might be back on the Hive later in the afternoon.

Sounds like a lot of work to do for you, but if it helps against the wind the work will be worth it.

I'm curious looking forward to these posts then 😊


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

🎁 Hi @papilloncharity! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @johannpiber!

@johannpiber wrote lately about: First Snow In The Mountains Feel free to follow @johannpiber if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you kindly @johannpiber

Your southern Red Bishop is a very pretty bird, and those Egyptian geese are very friendly, nature does have its way of letting a new generation to make it to adulthood. Always love your adventures friend.

Thank you and totally agreed that nature always works itself out.
Glad that you liked the post my friend!
Blessings!

Wow!! I love!!
What a beautiful and very cute!!😍😍😍
Southern Red Bishop is rare bird?

Thank you my friend.
They are indeed beautiful birds and no they are not rare, but only found in the southern parts of Africa.

Great!! I hope that their beautiful form is protected!
Thank you for telling me!!🙌

Oh yes, they are indeed protected by all nature lovers my friend!
My pleasure to answer you!

Bishop birds near water with reeds always an amazing display, build really solid nests and Oh boy the ladies! Noisy affair attracting ladies to inspect, the more the merrier... now I am not giving you any ideas!

Egyptian geese have multiplied throughout the country I do not believe we had so many twenty years ago, they are popping up on the beaches and inland quite amazing Stephen.

Hahaha, one lady is more than I can handle lol.
And besides a tribe of ladies will sound just like those Bishop birds.

An interesting story that an old farmer told me today.
He farmed near the Botswana border and bought two camels for R16000 each.
So the one day, the one camel disappeared and he started searching all over the farm. A neighbour called him to tell him that the camel was on his farm. He went there the following day, but the camel was gone.
So gradually over the months, no camel and he started to forget about it.

One day the provincial authorities called him to say that they have spotted a camel at the Botswana border and they were told that it was his camel. So he loaded his farm foreman and drove to the border of his farm to collect the other farm workers that were fixing a fence. His idea was to take all of the workers to catch the camel after he had chased it tired with his truck.

He was also worried that the camel would walk in the road and create an accident. So when they arrived at the spot where the camel was last seen, same story, the camel was gone.
He sent all of the workers out to search and he sat forlorn in his truck.
The thought came to him that he should pray and he started to pray aloud in the truck.
Guess what? When he opened his eyes, the camel stood looking at him through his drivers window.

He jumped out of his truck with a wire clipper and started cutting his 2 meter game fence open. Pulled his truck through the gap and the camel followed him. He radioed his farm foreman to come back with the workers to fix the fence and they could not believe that he caught the camel single handed!!!

A great story methinks!

Thank you for the kind share Lady @joanstewart

Wonderful photos! The nests those cape weavers build are fascinating! They have created an entire neighborhood!

And those geese, calling you a jerk! Made me laugh! 🤣
!tip

Hahaha, do you know that you are the only one that picked up on the "Jerk" issue milady?
We really are desperately short of real readers here on Hive!
Many comments on the tag picture tells me that people concentrate on the tag , place a short comment and then vote.

Look at how clever the weavers are as no cat or any other land based predators can get to those nests, except for snakes and if one appears they attack it fiercely from all corners.
I am always so amazed at the ingenuity in nature!

Blessings and thank you for the kind tip!

Unless it is something 8 am truly interested in, I do admit to skimming those really long or poorly written posts, but I usually enjoy the words just as much as the pictures. But I am a reader and I love how much I am able to learn about the world here.
!ENGAGE 25

Oh yes, I agree with you milady, that fist paragraph makes my mind up. Read or ignore!
Fortunately there are some scribes here that makes it a pleasure to read their content. Like you, if it falls within my interests I read them, but if it is gobblygook, then I simply sail past lol.
Yes, you are right, as one gathers friends from all of the wind directions and their is a wealth of information here on Hive.

Blessings and thank you for the kind token!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

🎁 Hi @papilloncharity! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: First Contest For The Ladies Of Hive Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

ocd_curation_comment.gif

Thank you kindly for the great assistance here Lady @barbara-orenya and the #featheredfriends team!

The suspended nests look so cute! The first bird has such a great colour! Nature is indeed wonderful!

Thank you milady.

Clever how they plan the placing of their nests and the reeds also serve as wind breaker.
The first bird is still a youngster and later on he turns into a deep red color.
I will go back to get one of them in full color during late December.

They are so beautiful, thanks for making these nice pictures to brighten our days!

My pleasure and I am glad to have brightened your day milady!