Finding Inspiration in Young Bloggers

in ThoughtfulDailyPost19 days ago (edited)

The reasons for blogging on Hive are as varied as the human condition. For me, the most compelling reason is the inspiration I receive from other bloggers.

I just finished reading a post in the Inkwell Community. The author lives on another continent and is generations younger than I am, and yet I saw myself in her piece. Or at least I saw my youth, my young self reflected in her ambition, her drive, her determination to overcome obstacles.

The theme of aspiring and overcoming obstacles appears frequently in Inkwell blogs. In most cases there are limited opportunities. The way out of a grim present is advanced education. For a youth of sparse material resources, this is the glimmer of hope. Achievement is not dependent on powerful connections or monetary resources. It is dependent on initiative, hard work and determination. The young people prepare for an exam and based on the results of that test, a door opens or closes.

Exactly 60 years ago I was that young person. I had been a rather indolent high school student, achieving success with minimal effort. Doing well was good enough for me. I didn't need to be best. Then, when I was a senior, I faced my future.

1920 (Even I'm Not That Old!) Picture of My High School
Bayridgehighschool1920 public post card.jpg
Bay Ridge High School, Brooklyn NY. Public domain (postcard)

There really wasn't much of a future unless I went to college (oh, how that sentiment is echoed in the words of my young Inkwell bloggers). I had no rich relatives or friends. My family had no money. The future would be a low-wage job and dim prospects if I didn't go to college. But there was an exam, one exam, that could open the door for me.

In New York State students were offered something called the Regents Scholarship Exam. Anyone could sit for the test, no fee attached. If one passed that exam, a stipend for college would be provided. This would not cover tuition entirely, but winning a Regents Scholarship might draw the attention of other grantors, who would add to the pot.

The day of the exam the room was packed. I recognized the proctor. She had been my chemistry teacher. I did well enough in chemistry. My typical casual approach to the subject had earned me an 85. I think the teacher was more amused by my attitude than offended, because I was actually interested in the subject. I just wasn't interested in working hard.

That day in the exam room everyone bowed over their papers when the proctor said, "Begin". We were told, it's fine to guess. No penalty for wrong answers. That was good for me, because, as an avid reader, I had an approximate familiarity with a lot of subjects and could make intelligent guesses.

After a while, people started to leave. I wondered, "How could they have finished"? There were so many questions. It was discouraging, but if I'm anything, I'm stubborn. So I kept working.

More people left. How did they finish so fast? I put my head down and kept plugging away. There was no time limit. I was going to read and answer every single question in that long exam book. I was completely absorbed. Then I realized I was the only one in the room.

The teacher wasn't looking at me. And I tried not to look at her. I was tired, but wasn't leaving until I had thought carefully about each question. My future, my college possibilities rested on the results of this test.

Finally, I was done. I rose sheepishly from my seat, handed the booklet to the teacher and apologized. She looked at me with a benign expression and said something reassuring.

Months passed. Then the mail came. An official envelope with a return address from New York State. I remember opening the letter and reading the notice. I was a Regents Scholar. I had the sense, my whole family had the sense, that in one moment my future had changed.

The results, with scores, were posted on the school bulletin board. Cutoff for winners was 110. I had scored 114. Only four students in my graduating class of 980 students had scored over 110. I thought of those extra minutes spent puzzling over questions. That's what made the difference. Not giving up.

Washington Square Park: I Walked Here Every Day That I Attended Classes at the University
Washington_square_park  Vladtheinhaler public.jpg
Vladtheinhaler. Public domain.

As expected, the Regents Scholarship award attracted the attention of my school college advisor. She started hunting for other sources of money. There were several. She submitted an application to a highly competitive university and that institution gave me a scholarship to augment what I was already receiving. The path to a promising future, to at least a middle class life, was open.

So, when I read my young bloggers' posts in the Inkwell, and learn of their hopes, their anxiety over a potentially life-changing exam, I see myself. I'm in that classroom again, bent over a book, refusing to give up. When I cheer for my young bloggers, it's not as an onlooker, an objective observer. My heart is moved. I wish for every one of them the gift of good fortune that was given to me.

Sort:  
 18 days ago  
"Achievement is not dependent on powerful connections or monetary resources. It is dependent on initiative, hard work and determination."


I was excited to see your words in my community. After being a witness to the many actions "behind the scenes" at TIW. It was ticked to see someone who helps to elevate the awesome, of all those who are trying to get their foot in the door. Or at least even have a door, in which to put said foot in... The quote I used, is from your post. It blasts out waves of positive, as well as truth. You could have given up... You could have just done "whatever". But if we give up? Well, that's on us. I appreciate your sharing your mindset; as I mentioned in the post I wrote several weeks ago... So many seem to be focused on funds, upvotes, and reblogs. But not about the energy behind the content. So... thank you. Thank you, for helping remind everyone of the real notion of our blockchain... Community.


Wes...
TDPBlinkie-anim.gif

Opening quote from your blog, of course...

!LUV
!LADY

Or at least even have a door, in which to put said foot in

🌟🌈

I am so conscious of this, especially as our community has reached into areas of the world where there is little opportunity. Hive offers a door. It may take time, but diligence will open that door.

I appreciate your warm welcome. Posting this blog in almost any other community would have seemed inappropriate. This was the perfect place for sincere, heartfelt expression

Thank you!, @wesphilbin.

 18 days ago  
You are most welcome! I am honored that you feel our community is a place for you to feel like home...

!SHARE

@agmoore, @wesphilbin Sent You a Share for the DrawMatic Lifetime Prize Draws!

The new share balances will be effective in the upcoming prize pool draws from now on, forever and ever...
DrawMatic shares last a lifetime!
The more shares you own, the higher your chance of winning in each and every upcoming draw! 😎
Drawmatic_cmtBanner.jpgJoin DrawMatic on Discord To check shares and other information, or if you want to gift any amount of shares you own to others.

agmoore, wesphilbin sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

It surprises me that you were an indolent student while I thought you'd be the opposite. That you answered every question on the exam paper sounds more like the person I imagine you to be. I would have done exactly the same myself.
I stayed in New York for a few months years ago and spent many happy hours in Washington Square Park watching the chess players.

Washington Square Park watching the chess players.

Somewhere I've always wanted to go and something I've always wanted to do.
I love chess but awfully average at it😂😂

Ah, sure you're young yet. I'm sure you'll get there. I love to play chess but I'm pretty lousy at it.

Hello my friend, @deirdyweirdy

I did not feel engaged by school. I felt school robbed me of my free time. So much of what transpired was a waste. And then, homework! It seemed an intrusion. School had already stolen my days. I simply refused to give my afternoons and evenings up also.

When a subject, or a teacher, did engage me, though, I was tenacious. I was even competitive. Then, I had to have the best grades. I'm very goal oriented, but it has to be my goal, not one superimposed on me.

It would be hard to overestimate how stubborn and independent I am.😂

I'm not surprised to hear you would have answered every question. When you want something, you go for it and get it.

P.S.
I'm happy to hear about your experience in Washington Square. I have many happy memories of those days.

Thanks for that wonderful story, very inspiring!

Thank you very much, @one-eye 🌈

We all learnn through our experiences. I'm sure you and we all get to learn from everyone be it a small thing or a life changing lesson. We just have to keep our eyes open.

Great write up, keep writing buddy 😁

Thank you very much, @noorkh. What you say is very wise. We have to keep our eyes open :)

@agmoore, @yaziris Sent You 3 Shares for the DrawMatic Lifetime Prize Draws!

Your new share balance will be effective in the upcoming prize pool draws from now on, forever and ever...
DrawMatic shares last a lifetime!
The more shares you own, the higher your chance of winning in each and every upcoming draw! 😎
Drawmatic_cmtBanner.jpgJoin DrawMatic on Discord To check shares and other information, or if you want to gift any amount of shares you own to others.

TY--ThoughtfulDailyPost.jpg


We appreciate you taking the time, to either use #ThoughtfulDailyPost, or otherwise help this Community grow. So...

Thank you!!


Wes & Grindan


Curated by wesphilbin

Thank you! It is a lovely community :) I felt free to 'speak' freely, and with warm emotion.

You have An amazing journey there @agmoore and thank you for the inspiration. As I read through each passage, it made me turn back in time when I was taking up the exams and I find the hardships, instead of doing what you do I did the latter part which is to give up immediately.

Though I know that the reward is better than the task at hand I do not possess the tenacity to pursue it till the end thus creating half-baked results. I had some regrets, but crying over spilled milk is unnecessary. I just take whatever lessons that I had with the past and move forward with greater hope for the future.

move forward with greater hope for the future

Yes!!

We all have a past, with regrets. Mine is a long past, with many regrets. I can let them weigh me down, as you say, or I can move forward and learn. I choose to learn.

Thank you for reading and for your kind comment, @tpkidkai.

No worries Agmoore it was an inspiring post a great way to start my day today.

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @wesphilbin suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏

@agmoore, you are most welcome!

Please Support Back

Here is !ALIVE token gift for you

@agmoore! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ hivecurators. (5/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

I can imagine you with your long skirts, white blouse looking down at your chemistry test in annoyance 😂😂

My chemistry teacher was one hellbent in me learning the art of the elements..
Our back and forth, which always ended with me getting extra detentions were fun😂😂

This like all your posts was a lovely read.
Inspiring, educative and entertaining.

!BBH

@agmoore! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @seki1. (1/5)

You're right, we did wear skirts. Pants were not allowed. But hemlines were going up. We were on the cusp of the mini revolution. After that skirts went all the way up. I don't think they've ever come down. Funny how clothes reflect a cultural perspective.

I'm glad you enjoyed the post. It was a trip back, way way back, to remember these events.

Hope your exams aren't driving you batty :)

Hope your exams aren't driving you batty :)

Naaaa I'm still here...
Still having a writers block for stories mostly because I've abandoned the creative bit of me in preparation for the exams...

Creative wordplay won't help much when writing formulas and solving problems of liquid thermodynamics and probability statistics 😂😂

The Young folks are really talented you'd be surprised what they could create when it comes to blogging and writing

Congratulations @agmoore! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 16000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 17000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List

Thank you for the notice, @hivebuzz 😇

Awesome job @agmoore! Keep pushing yourself and you'll reach your Hive goals before you know it.

BTW, we noticed we miss your support for our proposal. Mays we ask you to check it out and consider supporting it?
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

It's just like when time passes, memories remain and whenever you visit this place, all things are remembered. I also have the same desire to visit such beautiful places. Go and see these sights with your own eyes.