One funeral and more lessons to learn

in Personal Development2 years ago (edited)

One funeral takes me on a journey of self-reflection—reassessing what I had been doing.

I remember it vividly. It was a smoggy morning when mom received a phone call about my uncle's death. I could hear a teary-cracked voice on the other line since the phone call was on speaker. So we came for the funeral to pay respect and console the bereaved family. At the burial site, the tombstone reminded us that some people lived long lives, and others were gone too soon. After the burial ceremony, people lived. For a close family, it will never be the same. The funeral made me think of so many things.

Every day we are getting older. Our parents are getting older. So I'm trying to accomplish goals sooner, but I ended up burning out, again and again, like a fool who never learned a lesson. Burnout did not come out of the blue. It was self-imposed. Four months ago, I decided to pause a few activities to accomplish immediate goals. But after attending a funeral, I asked myself, Am I living life?

garden-4-flip.pnggarden-1.png

Life is fragile and short. We often take our health and lives for granted. I never failed to see the importance but as stubborn as I am, I choose to be blind about it until it's unbearable. There are only twenty-four hours a day. And we need to give a sizeable amount for sleep and rest. It is a hard lesson to learn that I almost end up in the emergency room due to fatigue. To finish my graduate research, I pushed myself to the limits—trading sleeping hours and rest. I'm doing it not just for a couple of months, but it's already over a year. So out of necessity, I paused everything to heal for a week or so. It was a hard lesson, but I needed it to grow and make more meaningful decisions in the future.

It is not just sleeping and rest that I traded. I give up some work and possible financial gains. I also declined some family and friends' invitations to hang out and dine out. Most of the time, I am in seclusion working with graduate research in which I'm unsure if it is worth it or if it turns out to be life-changing. While I reach a point where I traded off things in a losing game, I better reflect and reassess what I have been doing and give myself a little empathy to sort out things. We owe ourselves to discover and rediscover what can sort out our lives. There is nothing wrong with pushing ourselves, but we should know our limits—the none negotiable.

garden-3.pnggarden-5.png

Everything we ever did in our life is a little dash between the dates of birth and death regardless of how temporally apart. The story of life begins with one celebration and ends with one mourning. How are you writing it? The answer to this question revolves around what choices we make and what we truly desire to live. We make the most out of life and make good memories while growing and thriving. So I decided to slowly get back to the things put on hold even if my research is still in progress. It's a way to at least be a gentle reminder that I can do it now than later. It is just a matter of finding time but not sacrificing again health and life. As we aspire for growth, we grow and live life—I failed to do so and trying to sort it out now.

There are good stories to hear at funerals and wakes—stories of good deeds and how someone affects the lives of others. Undeniably, it is heartbreaking to lose a loved one, yet it is reassuring to know that a person influences others beyond expected. We never know how profoundly our words and deeds affect others. That taught me that life isn't all about ourselves. Every action we make affects everyone around us and may have profound repercussions for them, particularly those who love us. Our dreams and goals account for the people around us, and our journey to achieving them must not neglect them.

garden-2-flip.pnggarden-2.png

Life is happier when we are grateful—even if the only reason is breathing. Something unique and outstanding does not happen every day. Sitting in front of the laptop for long hours and overthinking our life decisions doesn't become better. Each daily moment is like a vivid motion picture of phasing youth. As we grow older, adulting life crept up gradually. The days were shorter, the party began to taste stale, and the evenings were no longer as enticing as they always were. Above all, there are still reasons to be grateful. Growth includes finding happiness in the little things that happen every day.

Not long ago, we dream of what we become when we grow up. We were in that shoes, and we can still remember the daydreaming. When high on our youthful audacity, we always seek a fresh start and more adventures. But not too long, life overtakes us, and adulting starts drowning us so that we can barely swim. We then forget to live a life. It takes me to one funeral to rethink what I have been doing and reflect that fulfilling a dream does not mean not living life. Life can be crazy and complicated. I'm trying to live life and may stumble from here and there, but trying. How about you? Are you truly living life?

Author's Note: This is the first post after four months of hiatus. Real-life had drowned me and the burnout started earlier this year did not help. I paused to take a break from writing. I'm still unsure if I can regularly post, but I'm trying. By the way, how are you? I hope and pray your doing well in life. It's nice to be posting again. See you around in the comment.

All featured digital illustrations are created by the author.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @juecoree ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I think it's important for us to stop and check our habits, as this can help us to see areas in our lives that might be unbalanced. You seem to be very self-aware, so I'm sure you will work on all the areas that you deem to need some improvement.
Yes, I do agree that funerals are a good place for reflecting, as life is so fragile, and if we're not careful it just slips away.🙏

Nice hearing from you , @millycf1976. I have a good self-awareness but my stubbornness makes me dumb about it. I'm starting to sort out things and improve little by little. I do hope everything falls into right places. Just as you said, if we're not careful, things that are important will slip away. Wishing you great day ahead!

My deepest condolences to the bereaved family, @juecoree. I hope it doesn't take a death in the family for us to be reminded how fleeting life is. May we cherish it and make use every second as if each is the last.

We missed you! I've been looking forward to reading your post and here's one. Glad you are back as I'm a huge fan of your art and writing, too! Take it easy from here. 🤗😁

Cheers! 🍻

I hope it doesn't take a death in the family for us to be reminded how fleeting life is.

Indeed. It was a hard lesson but necessary. Life is fleeting and every second should be spend well. I'll take easy from here on out. I think going back to arts and writing can eventually remind me not to over do things. I'll look forward to reading your content too.

Thank you for the kind word and good to hear from you, @patsitivity!

Dear @juecoree, Welcome back!
Death is the inevitable fate of all living things.
I felt that you were dissatisfied with your current situation through the funeral.

Not long ago, we dream of what we become when we grow up. We were in that shoes, and we can still remember the daydreaming. When high on our youthful audacity, we always seek a fresh start and more adventures. But not too long, life overtakes us, and adulting starts drowning us so that we can barely swim. We then forget to live a life. It takes me to one funeral to rethink what I have been doing and reflect that fulfilling a dream does not mean not living life. Life can be crazy and complicated. I'm trying to live life and may stumble from here and there, but trying. How about you? Are you truly living life?

I agree with your assertion that life is like a short dream that passes in an instant!

I felt that you were dissatisfied with your current situation through the funeral.

Good to hear from you, @goldgrifin007. Actually, I am dissatisfied. It started when I lost my journal in the typhoon earlier this year. The journal contains all the ground works that I had to redo. Also, somehow being tired of the situation that eventually resulted to being detach from what I used to do for months. I just realized that I need to change things a bit.

Dear amigo @juecoree, Natural disasters such as typhoons cannot be prevented by human strength. I felt that you should be more tolerant of yourself and rest!

I pray that your situation gets better!

Of course, it can't be prevented. Yeah, I need to give empathic towards myself and have ample rest. Perhaps, I was just pushing my limits to rework what was lost and gladly, I did but to some expense. Thanks!

Welcome back!

I hope things are looking better for you.

!discovery 29

It started to fall in places again. I do hope it will eventually and don't messed it up again.

Nice to hearing from you, @enforcer48!


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @juecoree! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 56000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 57000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Dear @juecoree, we need your help!

The Hivebuzz proposal already got important support from the community. However, it lost its funding a few days ago and only needs a few more HP to get funded again.

May we ask you to support it so our team can continue its work this year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Your support would be really appreciated.
Thank you!