1992 - Random movies from that year includes Newsies

in THE 1990s3 years ago (edited)

Home Alone but this time New York. The Lawnmower Man jumps into the Internet. Rock-a-doodle rooster sings like Elvis. Batman returns to battle Penguin. Aladdin was showing Jasmin a whole new world, one of my favorite songs. Buffy was slaying vampires. That glasses-wearing father blew up the baby. The nerds had their third revenge.


Random Movies

1990s | 1990 | 1991 | 1992 | 1993 | 1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999


I've seen some of these films in 1992 and some of them after that year. These are the movies I can remember watching, I watched some of them at the cinema. I've listed a few movies I probably didn't see in 1992 and some of them I may have never seen yet.


Newsies was my most favorite movie of 1992 in the sense of I've been singing their songs ever since. Newsies stuck with me much more than even Home Alone 2 which was ironically also in New York.




About Me

Art | Articles | Audio | Autobiography | Contact | GIFs | Hobbies | Memes | Music | Photos | Support | Videos | Websites | Etc




1992 - Random movies from that year includes Newsies

Oatmeal Daily - 2021-06-04 - Friday | Published in June of 2021


Disney Newsies, Christian Bale newsies-disneyscreencaps.com-6740.jpg


Newsies, Home Alone, My Lost in Transition


By Oatmeal Joey Arnold

Home | Directory | Accounts | Oatmeal Brother | Oatmeal English | Oatmeal Health | Oatmeal Joey | Topics | Timeline




Wayne's World

1992-02-14 - Wayne's World premiered in theaters.


I remember watching this movie with family and relatives of my dad's side of the family in December of 1992 in California around I think it was Los Angeles. We were down there seeing my dad's biological mom, Mary Margaret Hocking. Or is it Hockings? I can't remember the exact spelling but I probably wrote it down somewhere. We saw the movie via home video at my dad's mom's house or I at least remember parts of it. I don't think I saw it in theaters when it came out on Valentines Day in February of 1992 just three days after my 7th birthday. I think I first saw the movie in December in California like I said. I don't think I saw the sequel movie in the 1990s but I think I did watch the sequel in the 2010s or something if I remember correctly.


The Lawnmower Man

1992-03-06 - The Lawnmower Man premiered in theaters.


But I don't think I saw it until the second half of the 90's for the first time like on TV and it was a shocking story. It was crazy and awesome. I knew very little about the Internet back then but the idea of becoming so smart was tempting and funny and scary and mysterious and full of surprises. I didn't see the sequel film in the 90s but went on to watch the sequel in the past year or so.


Rock-a-Doodle

1992-04-03 - Rock-a-Doodle premiered in theaters in the United States.


We saw Rock-a-Doodle at the Hillsboro theater. It was dark outside when we got home. When we got home, I was dancing, singing, on and over the blue couch in the living room. I was hyper, all over the place. Dad was telling me to calm down, to cool down, he said as he would sometimes, "Settle down." He was usually the less strict parent when compared to mom but he would sometimes want people to sleep at night or no socks in his bed as our socks were often pretty dirty. This Elvis starring cartoon movie was pretty fun.


1992-04-03 - Beethoven premiered in theaters, it's a movie about a family dog getting in trouble. I might have seen it in theaters with family. I don't think I've seen the sequel films. So, we may have seen this film in April of 1992. If not in April then after that then.


Disney's Newsies

1992-04-10 - Disney's Newsies premiered.


I saw this movie at the Forest Grove Theater with my mom, brother and two sisters, probably that April of 1992. I enjoyed the music, dancing, and I was singing the songs as we walked through the Pacific University, pass the big tall trees, and as we walked to the bus stop near the library and that Plaid Pantry store with those tall trees.


1992-05-29 - Sister Act 1 premiered and I think that we saw in the theaters, I vaguely remember something like that and I also saw it on TV too.


Batman Returns

1992-06-19 - Batman Returns in theaters.


This was a sequel to the 1989 Batman film.


I wrote in my 1990 review about my thoughts on the 1989 film.


I mentioned how after meeting Tiffany Cumbo, she went on to show me either the 1989 or 1992 Batman movie and I want to say it was the 1989 movie. I am trying to remember which year I met Tiffany and I would always say it was 1990 and her dad, Don, might have said they didn't even move there until 1991 or 1992 apx meaning I couldn't have met them before that most likely. Well, I asked him in I think it was in 2008. Maybe he didn't say that or maybe he misspoke. Maybe he forgot which exact year it was or maybe my memory is inaccurate. I'm going to try to continue to get to the bottom of that.


I have vague memories of these 2 Batman films. I sort of remember The Joker and I kind of remember The Penguin a bit more in the early 1990s meaning maybe she did show me the second film in 1992 or after that year. To this day, I've only seen bits and pieces of these 2 films. I did not see these 2 movies in theaters I do not think.


Revenge of the Nerds III: The Next Generation

1992-07-13 - Revenge of the Nerds III: The Next Generation premiered in theaters.


My brother would watch these movies in the 1990s at home and I would watch them sometimes or at least bits and pieces of whatever he would watch. I don't remember seeing any of the four films, the last one being in 1994, in the theaters but did see them in the 90s at random times. I thought it was kind of cool. I can kind of relate as I wore glasses too. I didn't always see myself as a nerd but sometimes would.


Honey, I Blew Up the Kid

1992-07-17 - Honey, I Blew Up the Kid premiered in theaters.


We saw this probably in the Forest Grove Theater. I find the father to be an interesting and funny character. Wow, the microwave helped the baby get bigger. Then the power-lines super sized that kid. I remember the baby picking up the car, wow.


Oh, by the way, we also saw the original film too, Honey I Shrunk The Kids which came out in theaters on the 23rd of June of 1989, we saw it at the Forest Grove Theater, I saw it with my family, I was four years old and it was interesting to me.


Buffy the Vampire Slayer

1992-07-31 - Buffy the Vampire Slayer (film) premiered in theaters.


But I've not seen it. But I went on to see the television show instead a little bit in the late 1990s and early 2000s. I went on to binge-watch all seven seasons in around April of 2012. I'm a big fan of Buffy, the lore of vampires, the actress who played Buffy, Angel, Spike, other characters, the fighting, and especially the theme song is like a rock song.


3 Ninjas

1992-08-07 - 3 Ninjas premiered in theaters.


I think we saw this in theaters and it was a fun karate based movie which featured the trainer who is the father figure in the Karate Kid franchise. Wait, no, that was a different actor, a different Chinese man. My bad I guess. My brother is a fan of The Karate Kid and I am too.


1992-10-02 - Of Mice and Men premiered and I saw this during high school, I think it was tenth grade English, 2001-2002, or I saw a different version of this story.


1992-10-02 - The Mighty Ducks: D1 premiered and I saw bits and pieces of this movie and/or the other two films in the 1990s and after that too.


Home Alone 2: Lost in New York

1992-11-20 - Home Alone 2: Lost in New York premiered in theaters.


I saw it at the Forest Grove Theater with family and relatives around Thanksgiving of 1992. May have saw it opening night, like maybe it was the 20th of November of 1992 which was a Friday night, there were many people in the theater watching it with us as in hundreds possibly, probably 80% of the seats were filled. Wait, maybe not hundreds but like 300 or less. Many dozens per row and dozens or rows I think.


I don't think I remember seeing the first Home Alone movie in theaters but I do remember the second film. I am a big Home Alone fan I remember when shelves fall on them, pain fall on them, they get electrocuted like cartoon characters it seems and so many people were laughing during scenes like that. I would sometimes observe the crowd laugh together at these scenes. I would study and observe them and I was kind of shocked and surprised and I would sometimes laugh too at some of the scenes.


Aladdin

1992-11-25 - Aladdin premiered.


If I didn't see it in a theater then I did go on to see it at my neighbors house, Bhakti Sa and Juya, later on in 1993 or 1994. Well, they moved away in 1994. So, I definitely saw this movie the first time before that as we did see it at their house. Not sure if I spelled their names right. I love Aladdin and the genie too. I love Jasmin. I love the story, music, songs, characters, the video games, the lava, the tiger, the adventure, the fun, the concept of having three wishes, the gold, the Middle East, and especially the awesome Magic Carpet. One of my favorite songs of all-time is Whole New World.


1992-12-11 - The Muppet Christmas Carol premiered in theaters but I probably didn't see it until years later. I've seen some of the Muppet movies in theater over the years but probably not this one and I love the Muppet puppets.


Toys

1992-12-18 - Toys starring Robin Williams premiered.


We might have saw this movie in theaters in 1992 at the earliest. If not, I at least saw it later on on TV. Very cool to see all the toys and I was always a Robin Williams fan. The previous Christmas season, in 1991, Robin starred in Hook. He was in so many movies over the years and especially in the 1990s.


1992-12-25 - Chaplin starring Robert Downey Jr. (Iron Man) premiered in U.S. theaters. Chaplin is a 1992 biographical comedy-drama film about the life of British comedian Charlie Chaplin. I've not seen it yet.


Sort:  

Dear @joeyarnoldvn, Your movie watching history is interesting. These are the movies I enjoyed watching a long time ago.
By the way, I don't know why Americans like Japanese ninjas. To Koreans and Chinese, ninjas are perceived as evil assassins. 😳

Koreans and Chinese view bare-handed fighting as a more wonderful action than killing people with weapons like ninjas.

So, Koreans love the bare-handed fighting scene in Mortal Kombat. The fantastic bare-handed fighting scene between the Chinese and Americans still admires Koreans.
They say it's the best fight scene! 😄

 3 years ago  

Great. Love Mortal Kombat which came out in 1995. Yeah, bare-handed fight scenes are exciting. Americans like ninjas because they have anger issues and want to fight to solve problems, yeah, kind of funny.

Perhaps Americans like ninjas because of the Japanese manga Naruto.
Naruto is not very popular with me.

Most Koreans like Dragon Ball. I love bluma!😄

99b983892094b5c6d2fc3736e15da7d1_1.jpg

e5362738ede39f3636b7c61b1543c16f.jpg

 3 years ago  

hahaahahaha that looks like fun

Congratulations @joeyarnoldvn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 4100 posts.
Your next target is to reach 4200 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!