1993 - Random movies from that year includes Turtles 3

in THE 1990s3 years ago (edited)

What made these green demons so appealing this time around was the combination of fighting which reminds me of The Karate Kid and time-travel which reminds me of Back To The Future. I was super excited when Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III came out in 1993.


Random Movies

1990s | 1990 | 1991 | 1992 | 1993 | 1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999


A boy frees a whale named Willy. A man lives the same day again and again each day in Groundhog Day. Mario fights Bowser. Rambo is climbing up a cliff and hanging around. An old guy resurrects dinosaurs for his Jurassic Park. Witches try to find immortality in Hocus Pocus. The Addams Family are back, Wednesday has fun at a summer camp. A man dresses up as a woman to be with his children in Mrs. Doubtfire. There was a nightmare before Christmas which looked kind of scary. Some dogs and cats get lost and must find their way home.


I saw some of these movies in 1993. I've included some of my favorite movies which came out in theaters or on VHS that year. I have not seen all of these movies.




About Me

Art | Articles | Audio | Autobiography | Contact | GIFs | Hobbies | Memes | Music | Photos | Support | Videos | Websites | Etc




1993 - Random Movies

Oatmeal Daily - 2021-06-05 - Saturday | Published in June of 2021


Turtles 3 download.jpeg


Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III: Turtles in Time


By Oatmeal Joey Arnold

Home | Directory | Accounts | Oatmeal Brother | Oatmeal English | Oatmeal Health | Oatmeal Joey | Topics | Timeline




Homeward Bound: The Incredible Journey

1993-02-03 - Homeward Bound: The Incredible Journey premiered in theaters.


I'm a big fan of Back to the Future but I don't know if I knew Michael J. Fox was one of the voices for the cats and dogs in this movie which was an adventure I enjoyed watching. Before watching this movie which we saw in the theaters, I remember seeing a Benji the Hunted which came out in 1987 and I eventually saw it for the first time in the late 1980s or at least by the early 1990s at the latest. So, I saw Benji many times on VHS. And that was part of what peaked my interest in seeing this movie.


Watch Benji here.


Groundhog Day

1993-02-12 - Groundhog Day premiered in theaters.


I saw this movie like on my computer in like the 2010s I think and only saw it one time but I think it was really cool. I like the idea of repeating a day over and over again. Tom Cruise was in a movie like this which I also saw years later. I also saw a Star Trek: Next Generation episode where they repeat the same day over and over again. Oh, I made a mistake in what I wrote above, I may have seen bits and pieces of Groundhog Day the movie in the 1990s as it was sometimes showcasing on television. But when I did see it for a few seconds here and there, I had no idea what I was watching and I just didn't know the full story and context of everything. So, I was kind of weirded out or at least confused.


Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 3

1993-03-19 - Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (TMNT) III: Turtles in Time premiered in theaters.


I remember seeing it in theaters, I was so excited to see the movie and it may have been the first movie I was waiting a long time to see. Before seeing it, I watched a show which went behind the scenes of the making of the film. I already saw the first 2 films in the franchise. I turned eight in February of 1993 and I didn't really think ahead to movies before this as far as I can remember. So, this was one of the first films if not the first film I could not wait to see in theaters.


When I got lost at Hagg Lake in or around the summer of 1993, I ended up at a random person's house. They helped me find my family. My family came that Sunday night to take me home but while I was waiting, they had this third turtles movies playing on their TV meaning it was already out on video cassette meaning I must have got lost in July of 1993 at the earliest.


1993-07-14 - Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III was released on VHS.


Like I said already, when I got lost at a lake, I was at a house and they had this movie in their VCR meaning it must have been the 14th of July of 1993 at the earliest or some time after that.


1993-04-02 - The Adventures of Huck Finn premiered in theaters, I don't think I've seen it but did see the trailers which were interesting.


Super Mario Bros.

1993-05-28 - Super Mario Bros. was released to video.


I eventually saw bits and pieces of it on TV in the 1990s a few times, I kind of remember watching it, I love Nintendo and grew up playing Mario video games. I think I did make myself watch this movie in the 2010s or something like that and it is not a really good movie even tho it is about characters I really adore.


Cliffhanger

1993-05-28 - Cliffhanger premiered in theaters.


1993-11-24 - Cliffhanger came out on VHS and we saw it eventually at home.


I remember seeing Cliffhanger at home, my brother must have rented it out and we saw it in his room. A few people were there on his bed. We were having like a movie night or a movie day. I remember seeing Sylvester Stallone shirtless while going up an icy mountain. I was quite impressed. So, we must have seen this movie in November of 1993 at the earliest or at least eventually in the 1990s at the latest.


1993-05-28 - Made in America premiered in theaters starring Will Smith, Whoopi Goldberg, Ted Danson, it looks like a comedy hit piece on how bad white male Americans are (I mean, are not in reality), but I've not seen this movie before.


Jurassic Park

1993-06-11 - Jurassic Park premiered in theaters.


I saw it in theaters, my love for dinosaurs drew me to seeing this movie. One of my first experiences with dinosaurs was at the OMSI museum and I was pretty horrified the first time I saw the dinosaur bones or it might have been something that like it was a real dinosaur. I might have been three years old when we were at OMSI which was in Beaverton at that time in 1988 or close to Portland, Oregon, USA. Well, OMSI might have been near the Portland Zoo at that time.


I do remember watching Jurassic Park in theaters like I said, it was exciting and scary to see watch the movie of how they brought back the dinosaurs. I remember when they go to the island and see the dinosaurs running around for the first time. I remember when chaos begun at the park as they were on the rides. I remember as they went through trying to escape and fix the problem. I remember as she was trying to eat the jello as the T-Rex was coming. That was the main highlight, the T-Rex.


1993-06-25 - Sleepless in Seattle premiered in theaters, I've seen bits and pieces of it on television over the years, I sort of remember it. It stars Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan.


Free Willy

1993-07-13 - Free Willy premiered in theaters.


We saw it in theaters that summer in July or August of 1993 at the earliest. I was interested in the big whale and it was a fun story.


Turtles 3

1993-07-14 - Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III was released on VHS.


Like I said already, when I got lost at a lake, I was at a house and they had this movie in their VCR meaning it must have been the 14th of July of 1993 at the earliest or some time after that.


Hocus Pocus

1993-07-16 - Hocus Pocus premiered in theaters.


I saw it in theaters. I remember it being a Halloween story of kids who go door to door, trick or treat, smell my feet, give me something good to eat. Well, not good to eat but you get my drift, the famous song we would sing. These witches go after children as they were seeking immortality or something. In the end, the witches turn to stone or at least some of them did. That stuck with me as a kid, I thought about the witches either turning to dust or to stone. I was feeling a bit shocked, excited, weirded out, surprised, curious, and I still get a funny feeling about the idea of such a fate for humans. Oh, some of the characters in Narnia were turn to stone as well. I also saw the British Narnia films in the early 1990s.


1993-07-23 - Coneheads premiered in theaters and tho I've not seen this movie, I did see the trailers and was pretty curious about their tall sharp heads. I found it to be weird but funny. I kind felt like they must be aliens as they would eat up sandwiches so fast.


1993-07-30 - Tom and Jerry: The Movie premiered in U.S. theaters.


1993-07-30 - So I Married an Axe Murderer premiered in theaters, I've never seen it but I'm a big fan of Mike Myers who you may know from Wayne's World (his first movie in 1992), Austin Powers, Shrek, etc.


1993-08-06 - The Fugitive premiered in theaters and I eventually saw it many years later and enjoyed it.


The Secret Garden

1993-08-13 - The Secret Garden premiered in theaters.


I don't think I've ever seen this but I think I saw the trailers and was curious as to where a secret garden might be. I remember pondering this. So, I wanted to know as I was a kid was fascinated with secret trap-doors which are not to be confused with treasure maps and treasure chests hidden secretly in the sand as seen in Pirates of the Caribbeans which didn't hit theaters until 2006. Well, I love Jack Sparrow but he wasn't the first pirate I've ever seen as there were other films and such including Peter Pan. Oh, don't forget Indian in the Cupboard and Narnia as well which both feature magic closets or cupboards or wardrobes or whatever which reminds me of trap-doors and secret gardens.


1993-10-01 - Cool Runnings premiered in theaters. I don't remember ever watching this movie but do remember seeing the trailers for it and it looked exciting to race bobsleds down ice. Oh, wait, maybe I have seen bits and pieces of this film on TV and I love the Jamaican accent some of the guys had in the film.


Aladdin

1993-10-01 - Aladdin came out on VHS. 1


If I didn't see Aladdin in theaters in 1992, then I at least saw it after it came out on VHS in October of 1993, I remember seeing it at my neighbors house, space 164, Bhakti Sa, it was either in 1993 or 1994 as they were only living there those 2 years or closer to a school-year from around August of 1993 to June of 1994.


I mentioned Aladdin in my post about movies I saw in 1992.


The Nightmare Before Christmas

1993-10-29 - The Nightmare Before Christmas premiered in theaters.


I don't remember seeing it in theaters but have seen bits and pieces of it over the years. My neighbors, Bhakti Sa and Juya, they were talking about it. I guess they saw it and I was a bit scared of it and kind of wanted to see it and kind of didn't want to see it. I saw the trailers for it on TV all the time. It was a curious film but also full of gloom. Oh, I did go see Coraline with Matt Smith in 2009 in PDX. Coraline has a similar style of animation as of this movie, kind of scary in some ways too. Oh, both films were directed by the same dude. That explains it.


Double, Double, Toil and Trouble

1993-10-30 - Double, Double, Toil and Trouble came out on video or something.


My younger sister would watch it. I don't think it premiered in theaters and went straight to video. I saw it and found it interesting.


1993-11-05 - RoboCop 3 premiered in theaters and if I didn't see it in theaters, then I eventually saw bits and pieces of it like on television in the 1990s at the latest. In 1993, I do remember the trailer being really cool as he flies in this movie.


1993-11-12 - Ernest Rides Again premiered in theaters. I don't remember seeing this but I've seen some of his other movies over the years and I'm a big fan.


Addams Family Values

1993-11-19 - Addams Family Values premiered in theaters.


We saw this in theaters, it came out around Thanksgiving of 1993. I don't totally know if I saw the first film which came out in 1991. I don't have memories of seeing that one in theaters but did see that one as well. But this sequel film was a lot of fun and my favorite character was Wednesday as she was pretty but also a mystery to understand. She was at camp and by the time they got her to smile, it was a creepy I'm going to kill you grin similar to the Grinch who had the same smile or something awfully aligned to it. I love the uncle who was played by the actor who also played the doc in Back to the Future. Speaking of that, Michael J. Fox was in some other movies too over the years and I didn't really see too many of them. I kind of heard about some of them but were not into some of the movies he was in in the 1990s. I love the Addams Family because it can make anybody with a weird family say, "At least I'm borderline normal when compared with those weirdos, ahahaha."


Mrs. Doubtfire

1993-11-24 - Mrs. Doubtfire premiered in theaters.


I saw it in theaters. It was yet again another Robin Williams movie, I probably saw one of his movies in the theaters at least one of his movies each year in the 1990s. I can't confirm that yet but it would be almost every year if not every single year in the 1990s. He pretends to be a woman to be with his kids and he was not no drag-queen dancing half naked with children and babies riding him like he was Free Willy trying phone home like E.T. Well, even I have dressed up as a lady meaning I can't say men should not. Haha, I do love that one song, Dude Looks Like a Lady.


1993-11-24 - Cliffhanger came out on VHS and we saw it eventually at home.


1993-12-10 - Wayne's World 2 premiered in theaters, I've seen bits and pieces of this film over the years, sort of, but did not see this film nor the first one in theaters. But I am a big fan of the franchise. I think I did watch through the 2 films recently in the past few years or something. I would have to go check to find out.


1993-12-10 - Sister Act 2: Back in the Habit premiered in theaters but I'm not sure if I've ever seen this movie outside of maybe a few scenes here and there; and I do remember watching bits and pieces of the first film when it appeared on television from time to time. Back in the early 1990s, I knew the star, Whoopi Goldberg from one of my favorite TV shows, Star Trek: Next Generation.


1993-12-17 - Beethoven's 2nd premiered and I saw bits and pieces of this film and/or the first film as this is the sequel film and/or others out of a total of eight in the Beethoven franchise. We might have only seen the first movie in theaters and not the others or we might have saw one of them in theaters but not sure which one but I think it was the first one. I don't think I saw too many of them. I might have saw this second one, it looks vaguely familiar.


Tombstone

1993-12-25 - Tombstone premiered on Christmas Day of 1993.


The plot of this movie takes you back to 1879 to a Mexican town. Before there was Ocean's 11 which was an ensemble cast of movie stars which came out in 2001, there was this movie in 1993 which also had an all-star lineup of famous actors. Oh wait, I take that back, the 2001 Ocean's film was actually a reboot version of the 1960 film by the same name. So, Tombstone would not be the first nor the last ensemble of famous actors on the big screen.


I don't think I've ever seen Tombstone but I did see some of the trailers and there were also pizza commercials with a slogan of what do you want on your tombstone and yet I can't say of those commercials came out to help market the movie or if they came out in following years. It may have been a combination of both meaning the comercials may have returned in following years as well.




Child of the 80s

1993 - Sister Act 2 - Back in the Habit - Joyful, Joyful

Turtles

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III VHS Release Ad (1993)


Sort:  

Dam i love the 90s. Ninja turtles were my absolute favorite. Loved the cartoons and movies. Still have a few collectables like the turtle van in box.

 3 years ago  

And don't forget the Power Rangers.

All time favorites man. I was a blue ranger for halloween one year. I was like 4th grade. Had some people talkin smack at the time too, had some buddies remember it years later, like wth lol. Good stuff. Loved the megazord toy. I had it and i think we got rid of it at a garage sale or something. What a mistake, wish i still had it. Thought about buying on ebay but super expensive now.

 3 years ago  

I remember getting the movie version of the Power Rangers action figures, it must have been for Christmas or my birthday, they were the action figures that were shiny and sparkling and I might have buried them in the yard or something. Well, all I can say is I've lost them, they're buried treasure you could say.


I think about buying the toys and things I used to have and I still may but my starting point desire is to at least collect photos and such of the things I have so I can at least have that which can be a lot lighter to carry with me if I ever have to pack up everything I own into a single backpack.


On one hand, I'm a pack-rat in collecting things and on the other hand, I like to be light where I could own everything in a backpack like a turtle. I was sort of like that when I was living in Vietnam and at other times in my life as well. I find it a big balancing act between being a pack-rat and being a turtle and I go back and forth between the two. I don't want to be too dependent on my pack-rat things. I want to be flexible enough to be as free as a turtle if need be and whenever I need be and that is always an ongoing goal, that balancing act.

 3 years ago  

Oh the turtles had a master who was a pack-rat, Splinter as seen in the third movie with all the cool things they had in their new lair. The best of both worlds.

 3 years ago  

I had the turtle helicopter.

Dear @joeyarnoldvn , I love thundercats!

 3 years ago  

Is that cartoon show from the 1980s? Looks like fun, I've seen it a little and yeah I like cats.

Yeah, Men in their 40s like me love Thundercats.😄

 3 years ago  

fun