1996 - Random Movies include Space Jam

in THE 1990s3 years ago (edited)

Some blonds were Clueless. The world was covered with water in Waterworld. Muppets hung out with pirates in search of treasure. Gilmore was not so happy in Happy Gilmore. James had a peach. Wait. No. A giant peach. People chase tornadoes in Twister. Will Smith stars in Independence Day. Aladdin, the Brady Bunch, and the Homeward Bound animals are back. I enjoyed seeing Michael Jordan in Space Jam.


Random Movies

1990s | 1990 | 1991 | 1992 | 1993 | 1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999


I saw some of these movies in 1996 which was the same year I started making home video with family and friends. Arnold is back in Jingle All The Way, he plays a dad in search of a toy for his son for Christmas. Robin Williams plays Jack who was a boy who looked like Benjamin Button but in reverse and really quickly. Picard battles the Borg Queen in Star Trek First Contact.




About Me

Art | Articles | Audio | Autobiography | Contact | GIFs | Hobbies | Memes | Music | Photos | Support | Videos | Websites | Etc




1996 - Random Movies

Oatmeal Daily - 2021-06-08 - Tuesday | Published in June of 2021


Space Jam maxresdefault.jpg

1996-11-15 - Space Jam premiered in theaters


By Oatmeal Joey Arnold

Home | Directory | Accounts | Oatmeal Brother | Oatmeal English | Oatmeal Health | Oatmeal Joey | Topics | Timeline




Clueless

1996 at the earliest is my guess - 1995-12-19 - it came out on VHS | 1995-07-19 - Clueless premiered in theaters


I saw the trailer and I think I first saw it on TV as early as 1996 or later on in the 1990s at the latest. This was before the Legally Blonde movies. So, I found it to be funny, roll the blond jokes now.


Lawnmower Man 2: Beyond Cyberspace

1996-01-12 - Lawnmower Man 2: Beyond Cyberspace premiered in theaters


I didn't see it until years later but did see the first one on VHS or on TV in the 1990s. I actually didn't know about this sequel film until like the 2010s at the earliest.


Waterworld

1996-01-23 - Waterworld came out on VHS | 1995-07-28 - Waterworld premiered in theaters


I remember watching it at Bill Bailey's house on VHS meaning in January of 1996 at the earliest, I didn't see it in theaters as I was only turning eleven years old in February of 1996 which means too young to see a rated PG-13 movie. So, may have saw it when I was still ten. When I saw it, Bill and Janet were probably there. I don't know if Crystal was there too. Don't know if other people were there or not. It was a fun movie about the future. Imagine if climate change is real and the world becomes mostly water. I was probably not a good influence in that when the boob scene came, I was encouraging them to press pause or slow motion and to stare at her breasts. So, I did that as a rebel that I was because I was into the do what you are told not to do kind of thing. I think some or all of the other kids watching covered their eyes. Other than that one scene, the rest of the movie is either mildly adventurous and exciting or kind of boring like the Star Wars prequels with people sitting around talking in a monotone.


1996-02-02 - The NeverEnding Story III premiered in U.S. theaters.


Muppet Treasure Island

1996-02-16 - Muppet Treasure Island premiered in theaters


I saw it in theaters, I love the Muppet puppets and I love pirates, this was a fun movie.


Happy Gilmore

1996-02-16 - Happy Gilmore premiered in theaters


I saw it in theaters, my brother would repeat some of the lines from the movie like, "Gatorade sucks, water is better." I think that was the quote. A funny but motivational movie. Wait, maybe that was from a different Adam Sandler movie where he plays football. Oh yeah, the Water Boy. This is a movie about golf. I first saw this movie at my uncle Jim Williams' house that year. So, we were watching it then.


Homeward Bound II: Lost in San Francisco

1996-03-08 - Homeward Bound II: Lost in San Francisco premiered in theaters


I saw this in theaters and also the first film too back in 1993. It is a lot more sillier than the first film. It is funnier sometimes but also less dramatic in other ways.


The Birdcage

1996-03-08 - The Birdcage premiered in theaters


I didn't see it until many years later, was watching it since Robin Williams was in it, the movie is interesting but not a favorite. Kind of weird and kind of boring in some ways. But interesting to see Robin play that character since I'm into filmmaking and acting meaning I find the character development interesting now as I get older as I look back in retrospect into my life specifically and history in general.


Braveheart

1996-03-12 - came out on VHS | 1995-05-24 - it premiered in theaters


I saw it after it came out on VHS in March of 1996, Mel Gibson's character said, "They shall take our lives but they shall take our freedom."


All Dogs Go to Heaven 2

1996-03-29 - All Dogs Go to Heaven 2 premiered in theaters


I think I saw the trailers a few times but I don't think I've ever seen this sequel but I am pretty sure I saw the first one in theaters back in 1989. Yeah, I was only four years old when the first one came along. So, it is a funny comedy cartoon movie with an interesting idea of having dogs in Heaven.


James and the Giant Peach

1996-04-12 - James and the Giant Peach premiered in theaters


I saw this movie in theaters, maybe at the theater in Hillsboro, because it was a curious cartoon movie that caught my eyes. Like, it is about a peach. Oh, like that song, millions of peaches, peach for me, millions of peaches, peaches are free. That song is funny and fun. Let me say that again, that song is funny and, wait for it, fun. Yeah, See, they have a fight in that music video, watch out. So, this has nothing to do with the movie since that movie has like no fighting and is kind of boring but it was like Coraline without the scary parts which is cool in some ways.


It Takes Two

1996-05-07 - It Takes Two came out on VHS | 1995-11-17 - It Takes Two premiered in theaters, it stars Mary Kate & Ashley Olsen


I saw it around the time my younger sister was watching it after it came out on VHS in 1996, the movie stars 2 actresses which we knew from the television show, Full House.


Twister

1996-05-10 - Twister premiered in theaters


I saw it in theaters, I was captivated by the drama, the action, as they chase tornadoes. I enjoyed the actors, the performance, I was on the edge of my seat. I was eleven years old and this was one of the first films I've ever seen with that level and type of drama. The movie is based on a true story or on things that would happen. There were scientists and such chasing tornadoes in order to study them. Realism adds to the level of the drama to make it more real.


Mission: Impossible

1996-05-22 - Mission: Impossible premiered in theaters


I probably didn't see it in theaters but did see the trailers. I was slowly beginning to become a fan of Tom Cruise and the Mission: Impossible franchise which premiered in 1996. I don't think I've seen Top Gun, a 1980s classic cult film, in 1996 and that means I didn't know about Tom until 1996 I think. I went on to see Top Gun years later.


Dragonheart

1996-05-31 - Dragonheart premiered in North American theaters


I probably saw it on VHS later on but not sure when exactly. But I was captivated when I saw probably the first movie dragon ever in my life.


The Rock

1996-06-07 - The Rock premiered in theaters


I didn't see the movie until many years later and it is a cool movie and I love Nicholas Cage. I didn't even see the trailers in the 1990s. I didn't even know about the film until I saw it on TV one day. I think I only saw the last thirty minutes of it or something. Well, it is possible I watched it on VHS as well a different time.


The Cable Guy

1996-06-14 - The Cable Guy premiered in theaters


If I didn't see it in theaters, I saw it later on, I love how Larry, played by Jim Carrey, hops onto a man and then to dunk a basketball. I probably saw it on cable some years later or bits and pieces of it at least.


The Hunchback of Notre Dame

1996-06-21 - The Hunchback of Notre Dame premiered in theaters


I saw it in theaters because I found it to be curious when watching the trailers, a weird while man with a hunch back and he is not a whale. It is a funny cartoon.


Eraser

1996-06-21 - Eraser premiered in theaters


I saw it many years later, it stars Arnold Schwarzenegger who plays a guy who fakes deaths to help protect them, I think like a form of witness protection but at a whole 'nother level.


The Nutty Professor

1996-06-28 - The Nutty Professor premiered in theaters


I think I saw it in theaters or saw it later on, funny a bit, interesting story. I did see the other version of this story, Flubber starring Robin Williams.


Independence Day

1996-07-03 - Independence Day premiered in theaters


I saw it in theaters. It was fun to see Will Smith say, "Welcome to earth" to the aliens. Fun to see him fight alongside that man, Jeff, who was in Jurassic Park. This was 3 years before the premiere of Men In Black in 1999 starring Will Smith and Tommy Lee Jones. Oh, the U.S. President in this movie is played by the same actor who was in Newsies. I think my older sister met him or somebody. I think that is cool. I find these connections interesting.


1996-07-03 - Phenomenon premiered but I've never heard of it until now. Oddly, I made a movie in December of 2001 by the same name with my family in Oregon. I find that to be kind of funny. But the plot between the 2 films are not that similar I don't think.


Harriet the Spy

1996-07-10 - Harriet the Spy premiered in theaters


I think I saw it in theaters, it was a fun James Bond like movie but imagine if it was a girl instead. Well, Mary Kate & Ashley Olsen made some movies with this theme meaning it was kind of like that.


Kazaam

1996-07-17 - Kazaam premiered in theaters


I think I did not see it in theaters but sort of saw bits and pieces of it later on or at least saw trailers about it and it looked really cool to see a live-action genie in a movie.


Matilda

1996-08-02 - Matilda premiered in theaters


I saw this in theaters. I decided to watch it because I was curious with a girl who appears to have powers and was in a tough situation.


Jack

1996-08-09 - Jack premiered in theaters


I saw it at Cinema 7, it stars Robin Williams who plays a boy who looked like a man when he was 10 and then he was an old man during high school or college. He was going to die soon. Bill Cosby is in the movie. Bill helps Robin. Robin or I mean Jack was aging quickly. Well, that is fantasy as we do not age in reality. See, in the real world, aging happens due to sickness. So, there are remedies and ways to reverse aging. But this movie does not talk about that. Jack should have tried to extend his life. So, it is an interesting movie. It is crazy and I was captivated but it was also a very depressing movie at the same time.


Aladdin and the King of Thieves

1996-08-13 - Aladdin and the King of Thieves came out directly to VHS, no theaters


I saw it on VHS eventually, not sure when but I first saw it in 1996 and it was an interesting movie but not as cool as the first movie which was the best of the Aladdin trilogy.


A Very Brady Sequel

1996-08-23 - A Very Brady Sequel premiered in theaters


I saw it in theaters and also saw the first one in theaters too back in 1995. This one is even funnier and sillier and parts are kind of hotter. I was eleven and I saw it, a PG-13 movie.


The Mighty Ducks 3

1996-10-04 - The Mighty Ducks 3 or D3 premiered in theaters


I forget which if any of the three Mighty Ducks movies I might have seen in the 1990s, I thought it was cool and exciting when I would see the trailers on and off in the 90s.


That Thing You Do!

1996-10-04 - That Thing You Do! premiered in theaters


2002-06-24 - I first saw it in the early 2000s on cable. Well, I think it was after 2000 and most likely around the time Tom Hanks was getting a AFI Life Achievement Award: A Tribute to Tom Hanks which aired in 2002. I recorded that onto VHS most likely when it premiered on television. They showed a few Tom Hanks movies and that is when I saw it for the first time I think. There may have been other times I saw the movie too.


The movie is fun and motivational as the band comes together and try their best to be famous and stuff. What stuck with me, my favorite scene, is when they hear their song on the radio and they run around telling each other and begin to dance and sing along.


The Ghost and the Darkness

1996-10-11 - The Ghost and the Darkness premiered in theaters


I saw this movie many years later in like the 2000s or 2010s, I remember it was about these guys capturing lions or something, it was interesting and dark and scary.


Ransom

1996-11-08 - Ransom starring Mel Gibson premiered in theaters


I remember watching bits and pieces of Ransom on TV later on but I also remember watching the trailers and found it to be very interesting and I was pretty new to Mel Gibson at that time and was quite impressed. I went on to become a big fan of Mel Gibson.


Space Jam

1996-11-15 - Space Jam premiered in theaters


I saw it at Cinema 7 because I love Michael Jordan, basketball, the NBA, I love to play basketball myself, I love cartoons, I love Bugs Bunny, and it looked like a fun movie based on the trailers. So, I was hyped up to see it and then went to see it and had fun watching a comedy adventure.


Jingle All the Way

1996-11-16 - Jingle All the Way premiered in theaters


I saw it in theaters, it is a fun Christmas movie of a father played by Arnold Schwarzenegger who has to get a toy for his son.

Star Trek: First Contact

1996-11-22 - Star Trek: First Contact premiered in theaters


I saw it at Cinema 7, I remember seeing the Borg in the Next Generation show on television in the early 1990s during their seven seasons on and off. It's not like I was watching the show all the time but I did know about the Borg and could not wait to see this second Next Generation movie and the last one was Generations from 1994. This movie is a lot better than Generations and it has a lot of drama and is really interesting with the time-travel element.


101 Dalmatians

1996-11-27 - 101 Dalmatians premiered in theaters


I saw it at Cinema 7 with siblings and the Bailey family. It was a cloudy day. May have been some rain earlier. We were walking through our neighborhood towards the theater or something. Lisa Evers, the older sister of Janet and Bill Bailey, I think she was the one driving their parent's truck. She came out of nowhere. We hopped in and drove over to the parking lot near Safeway which is where the theater is near. We hop out to see the movie. I don't know if my older sister saw the movie or not. I don't know if Lisa saw it. I don't remember my brother. So, I imagine a minimum of four people saw the movie, me, Bill, Janet, and Crystal who is my younger sister. These are my memories, I think it is fairly accurate, we must have saw it right after Thanksgiving of 1996 meaning late in November or early in December. It may have been a Tuesday or I don't really know.


I remember seeing the trailers, I tend to like cats over dogs but was curious and wanted to see the film. Also, the main villain was interested. So, we ended up seeing it in theaters. The dogs were interesting. It was a fun movie and reminds me of Home Alone but with dogs.


Mars Attacks!

1996-12-13 - Mars Attacks! premiered in theaters


I saw it at Cinema 7, a fun alien movie where the aliens come to take over the world like villains would attempt to do in Power Rangers. The aliens in this movie look crazy freaky. I thought The Mask was pretty demonic early in 1995 and about 2 years later I found myself watching a movie full of demonic masks or what they call aliens.


The Preacher's Wife

1996-12-13 - The Preacher's Wife premiered in theaters


I've not seen it but saw the trailers and was moved, Whitney Houston plays the wife who may be an angel or at least angelic and destined to help the pastor played by Denzel Washington.


Beavis and Butt-Head Do America

1996-12-20 - Beavis and Butt-Head Do America premiered in theaters


I remember seeing this in theaters with my brother I think or I at least saw it on TV or VHS later on. I'm pretty sure I saw it in theaters, my brother would always quote Beavis and Butt-Head in the 1990s and beyond. I first saw the cartoon because of my brother and then the movie came out and I remember being excited about going to see it. Oh, speaking of cartoons, they go on to create King of the Hill which has characters based on Alex Jones. I also remember Daria which was on MTV.


Scream

1996-12-20 - Scream premiered in theaters


I would see the trailers but didn't see it until it was on TV in 1997 at the earliest. Scream was the first of that type of movie I've ever seen or heard about I think. I think Scream is a semi-comedy horror thriller. Well, I think it is partly not serious. The masks stood out to me.


Michael

1996-12-25 - Michael premiered in theaters


I've not seen this movie starring John Travolta as the archangel Michael as found in the Christian Bible but I remember watching the trailers finding it really interesting and found him to be a really cool actor. I made a short film with friends




Random Notes

A quick rant.

There are some things I need to write about some of this and it may take a while to write. I have the thoughts and I should write some articles relating to some of these things and there is always more to come where that comes from.


I wanted to note that some of the movies I would see in the 1990s for example were inspired by the trailers I would see on television. When seeing movies in theaters, I would see trailers there which would lead me to want to see some of those movies as well. So, it creates a chain-reaction. It is like dominoes. I find this to be interesting like a web and ironically that is not to be confused with the world wide WEB. But I understand some of this is not new information in some ways but I am mostly connecting dots and laying the foundation to the study of my life. The reason being is I consider studying anthropology, sociology, psychology, the study of people, study of human behavior, the study of how people interact with other humans, the study and science of individuals, the study of how the mind works, etc, etc, I find these things to be great to study and yet dangerous if we are not aware of our own inner workings. It can be harder to understand others if you lack a foundation of you. Now, I've written a little about that too in previous posts. So, I am still not totally saying new things right now. Well, I am using different words in my attempt to say it. I have more to say but I will stop for now.


Sort:  

Holy shit! When you line them up like that, it really does a good job of reminding us what a GOOD movie year looked like 25 years ago. There are so many great movies here... some clear stand-outs for me are Braveheart (obviously), WaterWorld (underrated), Dragonheart (loved it) and the first Scream movie (pop horror pioneer). Thanks for doing this. Very, very cool! :)

 3 years ago  

Yeah, Hollywood is declining and I felt that decline in the 1990s and I was just a kid and I couldn't put my finger on it at that time. So, may the rise of indie films continue to expand and flourish.

 3 years ago  
 3 years ago