1999 - Random Movies include Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

in THE 1990s3 years ago (edited)

Will Smith said no to The Matrix and decided to "Gettin' Jiggy Wit It" in The Wild Wild West fighting robotic spiders, making love inside water tanks, and partying on trains. There were Muppets From Space. Robin Williams plays a robot in Bicentennial Man. The Toy Story is back. Brad Pitt stars in The Fight Club. There was a South Park movie.


Random Movies

1990s | 1990 | 1991 | 1992 | 1993 | 1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999


I've included some of the movies I remember seeing from 1999. A major cult-classic film was Dogma. That movie would blow your mind away. The Matrix came out. The Omega Code is an eye-opening film. The most anticipated film for that year for me was Star Wars: The Phantom Menace.




About Me

Art | Articles | Audio | Autobiography | Contact | GIFs | Hobbies | Memes | Music | Photos | Support | Videos | Websites | Etc




1999 - Random Movies

Oatmeal Daily - 2021-06-11 - Friday | Published in June of 2021


1999 - Star Wars 1: The Phantom Menace - starwars-phantommenace-wallpaper.jpg


‘Star Wars: The Phantom Menace’ Celebrates 20 Years, and Many Fans Have Come Around to Love It


1999-05-19 - Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace premiered in theaters


By Oatmeal Joey Arnold

Home | Directory | Accounts | Oatmeal Brother | Oatmeal English | Oatmeal Health | Oatmeal Joey | Topics | Timeline




Cruel Intentions

1999-03-05 - Cruel Intentions premiered in theaters


I first saw it when I was babysitting Crystal's house in Portland around 2008 or possibly later on in 2009. I noticed Sarah Michelle Gellar who you may know from Buffy The Vampire Slayer is in it. The movie has some kind of love story that has Cruel Intentions. Weird things happen. I guess it is realistic as these things do happen.


Analyze This

1999-03-05 - Analyze This premiered in theaters


I saw Analyze This many years later and I might have seen the sequel which came out in 2002, Analyze That, but I forget. These 2 movies starring Robert De Niro who you may know from Taxi and Billy Crystal who I knew from City Slickers.


Doug's 1st Movie

1999-03-26 - Doug's 1st Movie premiered in theaters


I've not seen it but saw the trailers and would watch the cartoon on TV, I was a little bit excited that Doug was getting his own movie and I guess I was not excited enough to go see it. But I like Doug.


The Matrix

1999-03-31 - The Matrix premiered in theaters


I didn't see The Matrix until November or December of 2006 in South Carolina. The Matrix is a good parable of what globalists do and try to do to take over the world. I reference Neo and story archs found in The Matrix franchise. I can talk all day about it, some of the greatest fighting scenes ever. The idea of being stuck in a game or a dream or a Star Trek Holodeck is amazing. I think I saw all 3 films back to back for the first time like I said in 2006 and I could not stop watching all of it. I took some notes and I watched the subtitles while watching the movies to study the words and the spelling.


In 1999, I sort of remember the trailers for it but didn't think too much about it. I think I thought it was just a fighting movie. I think I started learning bits and pieces about it as time went by. Some years later at church, somebody shared an Internet article talking about how Neo was a symbol for Christ in how he came in to save the world. Looking back, I can somewhat agree but would also say there are other things too. You could argue Neo didn't totally save them. But I guess to a large degree he did.


American Pie

1999-03-31 - American Pie premiered in theaters


I might have seen it later on or bits and pieces. I forget when but probably on cable in the early 2000s during high school. But in 1999, I did see the trailers and it was interesting.


10 Things I Hate About You

1999-03-31 - 10 Things I Hate About You premiered in theaters


I've not seen it but the trailers had me thinking. I was wondering what those ten things might be.


The Mummy

1999-05-07 - The Mummy premiered in theaters


I've not seen it but the trailers looked exciting but scary. I love Egypt and was interested in it. I've not seen it but I love history and mummies. I love pyramids. I may have seen bits and pieces of this franchise over the years. It is somewhat thrilling but I think kind of boring.


Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace

1999-05-19 - Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace premiered in theaters


I've not seen very many movies more than once in theaters but did see this movie probably three times if not more the summer of 1999 in May and maybe June. Maybe just in May of that year. I would watch the trailers and was a big fan of Star Wars since I saw the Special Edition in theaters early in 1997. My favorite part is the fight between Kenobi, his master, and Darth Maul.


Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me

1999-06-11 - Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me premiered in theaters


I think I saw this Austin Powers sequel and also first movie too at Bill Bailey's house in the late 1990s at the earliest. Well, I do remember watching these two movies there. I don't think I watched both films at the same time. It is possible I saw the second film first and then saw the first film later on. I went on to watch these movies again many years later. I wrote my thoughts on the first film on my 1997 Random Movies article. This second film might have been the one where it opens up where Austin Powers is single and so he runs around everywhere naked and that had me shocked and I was horrified and yet entertained oddly enough. These movies has sexual humor, puns, etc. Those things were new to me back then.


Tarzan (1999)

1999-06-16 - Tarzan (1999) premiered in theaters


I may have seen this cartoon eventually but probably not in theaters. Well, I've at least seen bits and pieces of this film. I think I did see it on TV later on. I'm already familiar with Tarzan and the trailers looked like fun to see Tarzan and Jane too. Some years later in the early 2000s at Salvation Army Camp Kuratli as a camper, I remember singing a camp song about Tarzan and Jane. So, perhaps this movie made Tarzan more popular around that time or perhaps it was a very old camp song that has always been popular for decades or at least for many years. Hard to say which but I would say this movie helped popularize that camp song.


Big Daddy

1999-06-25 - Big Daddy premiered in theaters


I saw this Adam Sandler comedy years later. The trailers at the time were funny to see him with his own mini-me, a son. Funny to see the boy imitate him.


Wild Wild West

1999-06-30 - Wild Wild West premiered in theaters


I saw it in theaters because Will Smith was in it, I saw Independence Day in 1997 and Men In Black in 1998, so this was my third consecutive year of seeing Will Smith movies and Will Smith decided not to star in The Matrix. He turned down the offer. So, I ended up not seeing The Matrix until 2006.


Wild Wild West is a fun comedy wild west science fiction action thriller. It has theme music like as if it was a television at the beginning. It has women which got my attention similar to what you see in James Bond movies. There is a giant mechanical spider tank. The movie is not as cool or as exciting as Men In Black but it was somewhat interesting and funny and surprising.


South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut

1999-06-30 - South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut premiered in theaters


If I didn't see it in theaters, I probably saw it later on or I'm not sure but I've seen the television cartoon show a few times back in 1999, I've seen the trailers, and I've watched many episodes over the years, there are so many memes and quotes from it like, "You killed Kenny." My younger sister had a nickname around that time or possibly before she entered high school in 2003, it was Kenni. So, South Park is a cultural landmark.


Muppets from Space

1999-07-14 - Muppets from Space premiered in theaters


If I didn't see it in theaters, then I may have seen at least some of this movie later on. I forget which of the Muppet movies I've seen. But I sort of remember this one.


Eyes Wide Shut

1999-07-16 - Eyes Wide Shut premiered in theaters


I've not seen it but I would see the trailers. Either people said or I got the impression that this particular movie was going to be most Rated R movie ever in all of cinematic history featuring hardcore nudity and sex. So, I remember asking my brother about this in 1999 as we were walking and running to the Forest Grove Library that summer. I was obsessed a little with trying to guess how naughty the film might be.


Inspector Gadget

1999-07-23 - Inspector Gadget premiered in theaters


I saw this live-action adaptation in theaters because I was the fan of the cartoon television show, the girl named Penny, the music is fun, the movie is a fun action film for kids.


The Blair Witch Project

1999-07-30 - The Blair Witch Project premiered in theaters


I eventually saw the movie years later. The trailers were scary and thrilling. So, I made a parody of it in the summer of 2001 with some friends. So, I sort of knew about it at that point. I'm sometimes into spooky things like that.


Runaway Bride

1999-07-30 - Runaway Bride premiered in theaters


I've not seen this movie which stars Julia Roberts (who was Tinker Bell in Hook alongside Robin Williams who was Peter Pan in 1991) and Richard Gere, I sort of remember the trailers for this romantic comedy, looks like fun.


The Sixth Sense

1999-08-02 - The Sixth Sense premiered in theaters


I think I saw it in theaters or later on, I can never forget when the boy said, "I see dead people" and he looked right at Bruce Willis, hint hint, spoiler alert. So, it turns out Bruce Willis was dead and I didn't really know that when I first saw it.


The Iron Giant

1999-08-06 - The Iron Giant premiered in theaters


I saw some of this years later. At the time, I was captivated by the trailers of a boy making friends with a giant robot. That's interesting and pretty original. Clifford The Big Red Dog is rolling in his grave with jealousy, "Ruff ruff, why don't you come play with me instead? Is that a big can opener?"


Fight Club

1999-09-10 - Fight Club premiered in theaters


Mike Kurtz introduced me to Fight Club in 2007 or 2008 back when I was working as a counselor for Salvation Army's Camp Kuratli. The story blew me away. Did the buildings blow up at the end? Did he do that? Was that Brad Pitt or the other guy? Oddly, this movie came out one day and two years before 9/11 in 2001 where 3 buildings fall.


American Beauty

1999-09-15 - American Beauty premiered in theaters


I saw it later on. I remember the trailers being appealing in some ways, different, pretty, and yet kind of creepy or something. The movie is insightful intellectually but kind of boring and weird.


Drive Me Crazy

1999-10-01 - Drive Me Crazy premiered in theaters


I've not seen it and I'm not even sure if I've seen the trailers. Not only that but I've known about this movie but didn't even know it was a movie because I only know about it thanks to Britney Spears who had a music video and song for this movie called You Drive Me Crazy. Because that song was so popular, it went so viral, the name of this movie was changed to Drive Me Crazy, it was originally called Next To You. This movie stars Melissa Joan Hart who I knew from that television show from the 1990s called Sabrina The Teenage Witch. The plot is about creating jealousy. They go to date each other to get other people to like them. Reminds me of a Wishbone TV episode where they cover a story of a man who wrote letters saying he was somebody else to get the girl to like the other guy and then she ended up figuring it out and falling in love with him instead. I ended up trying that same thing on Tiffany Cumbo with Bill Bailey in the 1990s and it didn't work.


The Omega Code

1999-10-15 - The Omega Code premiered in theaters


As a family, we hopped on bus 57 or bus 58 and went to a big Regal cinema in Hillsboro. I believe a pretty new theater, possibly built that year. Not the theater near the large trees by the courthouse downtown but a theater that is towards Aloha and Beaverton. I saw this movie at least one time in theaters, maybe a few times. I enjoyed watching it a lot.


This movie is about what may happen in the future and it is not to be confused with Tom Hanks in the Da Vinci Code. The Omega Code is about finding codes written in the Bible and then using the codes to predict the future. There is also a sequel called Megiddo: The Omega Code 2 which premiered Friday, the 7th of September of 2001, just four days before 9/11. So, that sequel movie in 2001 was buried underneath globalists taking away our freedoms via knocking down 3 buildings in New York City. Talk about distraction.


Dogma

1999-11-12 - Dogma premiered in theaters


I eventually saw this movie but maybe not in theaters. So, probably later on in 2000 at the earliest. Dogma is crazy awesome cult-classic with an idea of how Satan wanted to do something in order to make God and Christ into a sinner in order to contradict who God is as sinless and therefore make the universe self-destruct to never exist in the first place through the paradox of a sinless God sinning. Well, I may have some of the details wrong regarding the plot but this was my thoughts when seeing the movie on VHS or on TV or wherever it was.


Passport to Paris

1999-11-19 - Passport to Paris was released directly to VHS home video


My younger sister had a VHS copy of this movie and I've seen it a few times, Mary Kate & Ashley Olsen go to Paris and find love, they find boys, and they also were the executive producers. It is a nice kids film.


The World Is Not Enough

1999-11-19 - The World Is Not Enough premiered in theaters


I don't know if I saw this James Bond movie or not. I do remember this movie title and I am a fan of the franchise in general.


Toy Story 2

1999-11-24 - Toy Story 2 premiered in theaters


If I didn't see it in theaters, then I saw it later on. I saw the first one in theaters in 1995. This sequel is exciting but perhaps not as groundbreaking in some ways than the first film. But I am a fan of the series nonetheless.


The Green Mile

1999-12-10 - The Green Mile premiered in theaters


I didn't see it until many years later, it is story starring Tom Hanks and a black guy who is like executed or something. The movie is like 3 hours long and kind of boring at the beginning. I think the black guy was able to make a mouse immortal.


Bicentennial Man

1999-12-17 - Bicentennial Man premiered in theaters


I saw it in theaters, it is a fun film until Robin Williams the robot becomes a man and then dies at the age of like 200 years old. They say he was the oldest man ever but people used to live longer than that a long time ago. This was a semi-depressing of a film but a lot of is kind of interesting. But still a depressing undertone. I don't regret seeing it in some ways as I found it insightful at what it would be like if Star Trek android Data were to fall in love with a girl and then like marry her grand daughter or whatever it was.


Stuart Little

1999-12-17 - Stuart Little premiered in theaters


I might have seen this in theaters. This movie stars a CGI mouse. A fun film.


But I would prefer Mouse Hunt which I saw in 1997.


Galaxy Quest

1999-12-25 - Galaxy Quest premiered in theaters


I remember watching it in around June or July of 2013 at my house in Saigon, Vietnam. That might have been my first time seeing this movie, it stars Tim Allen who is on a Star Trek like television show. But then real aliens think his show is reality. The bad aliens try to get them. The good aliens kidnap or abduct Tim Allen and try to get him to save them from the bad aliens. In the end, I believe they had to fake out the bad aliens using lore from the show to trick them since they believed the show was real. I believe that is how they won in the end. It is a fun and exciting movie. I recommend the movie, it is very unique and surprising and full of twists and turns. Great acting. The drama left me on the edge my Vietnamese seat. I would need to check to find exactly when I saw the movie, I probably wrote it down somewhere, but probably the summer of 2013.


Contact Me

Address | Contact Log | Directory | Email | Facebook | Links | Phone | Social Media | Timeline | Twitter | Websites | YouTube | Etc


2015-01-26 Joeyarnoldvn Oatmeal Aino Joey Arnold Oregon JSA Ojawall JA Forest Grove OR FG FGHS WOLBI SA TSA The Salvation Army Vietnam Saigon Hanoi Joseph Scott Rasp Morehead Hara  lv 18 Cunningham Mitchell Hunter Smith Hocking Hawk Lincoln Hawks WA Washington Shelton New York NYC Word of Life Bible Institute ABC YouTube Facebook 5 6 asian Twitter Google Alex Jones Bill Gates Informationwar Infowar Ironic Mystic Pickett Pickell Joeyarnold Joeyarnold7 JoeyarnoldTV iJustine Metal 347a Gear USA United States of America 1900's 2000's stefan molyneux clam conspiracy theorist donald john j trump soros hitler Cool Kid Ghetto Joe Jo high school revolution hawaii ea pab l4oj l4ojsa l4r hope over dope infowars west virginia vn asia American English Teacher Add Me 1980's 1990's 2010's 2020's 2016 Michael Jordan Jackson Jesus God Devil Satan Nationalism Over Globalism Bowl Soul Oats Battle Star Wars Trek Matrix JA GROUP YEAR END PARTY PIC.jpg


Who is Oatmeal Joey Arnold?


Please consider joining my groups & communities


The value in telling the truth in a world of lies


Feature Film, Released between 1999-01-01 and 1999-12-31 (Sorted by Popularity Ascending) - 3.971 titles


Beowolf movie in 1999, this was years before the Angelina Jolie adaptation


Shandra: The Jungle Girl (1999)


A movie in 1999 named Virus about aliens trying to turn humans into cyborgs or I would interject similar to what we saw in The Matrix


1999 Retrospective: The 23 Movies That Define One of the Best Film Years Ever


A Dog of Flanders is a VHS tape we have


End of Days stars Arnold Schwarzenegger who has to try to stop Satan who is trying to get a bride in New York


Google Search