DIY NATURAL SKINCARE | ALOE VERA FACIAL CLAY MASK RECIPE 🌱πŸ₯₯

in Natural Medicine β€’ 4 years ago

clay-mask-10.jpg

Spa-day at our home. Woot-woot. Though my hubby was a little hesitant for the past few years, I finally got him into weekly clay masks to brighten, refresh, and soften our skin.

So today I want to share with you one of my weekly natural skincare routines. Though the basic recipe stays the same - clay and water - other ingredients might vary.

ALOE VERA FACIAL CLAY MASK RECIPE


clay-mask-9.jpg

BASIC RECIPE:


Mix 2 parts liquid (ex. water, aloe vera gel, oils, etc.) to 1 part clay.

TODAY’S FACIAL MASK (for 2 people)


2-3 T green clay
1-2 T fresh aloe vera gel
6 drops tea tree essential oil
Water as needed

clay-mask-1.jpg

To obtain the aloe vera gel, cut the bigger leaves from your plants, and carefully cut open with and knife and scrape out the gel-like substance.

Mix all ingredients to a smooth, easy-to-spread paste. If the mixture is too dry, add some more liquid.if to liquid add more green clay.

clay-mask-4.jpg

clay-mask-5.jpg

clay-mask-7.jpg

clay-mask-6.jpg

Clean your face with water and [at dry. Apply the mask and keep it on for 10 to 15 minutes.

clay-mask-8.jpg

Then remove the mask with running water and/or with a washcloth.

MOISTURIZE


To finish and provide extra nourishment for your skin apply your favorite facial cream or moisturizer.

Mine is a homemade balm-like salve made by a friend. It mainly consists of coconut oil and turmeric.

clay-mask-11.jpg

This is my go-to daily face cream. Let me see if my friend cares to share the recipe. I can’t promise anything as it is a little side-business of her. So I am totally fine with her not sharing her secrets…. As long as she keeps providing me with her golden skin wonder.

SKIN BENEFITS OF THE CLAY MASK AND TURMERIC SALVE


GREEN CLAY - can be used for oily, combination, and acne-prone skin to restore balance, energize the skin, and soak up the excess oils that clog the pores - this may lead to acne and imperfections. It doubles as a powerful deep cleanser to balance pH levels. Furthermore, green clay stimulates cell regeneration to leave you with a glowing complexion.

clay-mask-13.jpg

ALOE VERA - contains antioxidants, enzymes, vitamin A, and vitamin C. It possesses strong anti-inflammatory properties and can help treat burns, acne, and dry skin. It helps to smooth and moisturize the skin. Though it doesn’t reverse the aging process of your skin it can help prevent you from getting deeper wrinkles and lines.

clay-mask-2.jpg

TEA TREE ESSENTIAL OIL - thanks to its anti-inflammatory and antimicrobial properties tea tree is one of the go-to essential oils to treat and prevent acne. Furthermore, it is said to calm redness, swelling, and inflammation. According to some, it may even help to prevent and reduce the appearance of acne scars, leaving you with smooth and clear skin.

clay-mask-3.jpg

TURMERIC - one of the most powerful spices known for brightening your skin. Thanks to its potent anti-inflammatory and antibacterial properties, turmeric works wonders on your skin. It can help reduce redness from blemishes and calm skin conditions like acne, eczema, and rosacea. Furthermore, turmeric stimulates circulation, which can help reduce puffiness and dark circles under the eyes. Also, moisturizing turmeric-based cream or salve can improve the appearance of fine lines and brown spots caused by overexposure to the sun.

COCONUT OIL - another skincare wonder. Coconut oil hydrates the skin for 24 hours while improving skin elasticity and collagen production. Coconut oil has antioxidants - such as vitamin E and vitamin A - which help to slow down the aging process and prevent damage from free radicals and the sun.

clay-mask-12.jpg

STAY SAFE AND HEALTHY ღ ღ ღ


signature-new.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH NIKON D5600


LET'S CONNECT!


Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


πŸ₯‘πŸ“πŸ† FIND MORE YUMMY PLANT-BASED CREATIONS BELOW πŸ₯‘πŸ“πŸ†

QUINOA CASSEROLE WITH PARSLEY CAULIFLOWER CASHEW CHEESE SAUCE

#FOODISFREE - WHO'S WITH ME? (+ TURMERIC MANGO OVERNIGHT OATS)

SOBA WITH PARSLEY MINT PESTO AND VEGGIES (VEGAN AND GLUTEN-FREE)

VEGAN MANGO COCONUT PUDDING WITH MANGOES FROM OUR GARDEN

CLEAN-OUT-THE-FRIDGE CHICKPEA CRUST PIZZA (VEGAN AND GF-FREE)

ANTI-INFLAMMATORY, ANTICANCER, AND ANTIVIRAL SOURSOP MORINGA SMOOTHIE


DQmeghPGYhwUy1Bafh4LpeqbRKFykxNwtufJxJtMCCuCNom.gif

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmoBZUcHz58m3pP6QX7KjeCNfAsekinuSbJ8Snb8X4RZ5GchCZ7iRBkBC.png

naturalmedicine.png

Sort: Β 

haha... you're amazing Amy. I make & sell Thai herbal facemasks for a living. Do you know HOW HARD it is to get someone to photograph themselves doing a mask? πŸ˜†πŸ€£ I'm seriously impressed!! #noegohere 🀣 The green clay is great, hey? I use a mix of white mekong delta clay and bentonite, which is the bomb. If you're up for me sending you some free samples and doing me some pics, I'd LOVE IT. I'm also looking for a young Asian male to do the same. haha... The entrepreneurial struggle is real.

Hugs to you on an awesome, naturalmedicine #mindfulmonday.

Haha. Really? It was a no-brainer for me! Let me see if I can convince an Asian male too. My hubby wasn't up for a pic either but he is Western anyway. I love clay masks. Would love to be able to get a good source of different clays. Cambodia is not the best country to find ingredients food and beauty-wise. But the one I found does the trick. Are you in Bangkok btw? Once we can fly again I need to be there for a few days. A big hug and much love coming your way.

PEPPER!!!! LOL. Kampot is on our "wanna visit" list. What do you do in Kampot?

I run a mobile tuktuk bakery with a friend from Belgium. Apart from that, I have some freelance work online too. I can send you some pepper if you want. Kampot has lost most of its charm. Very different place than in 2014 when we arrived in Cambodia.

Oh and forgot to mention, I would gladly help you out with some pics. I honestly don't care. I think it makes funny pics... just for the sake of it I tried a commercial cat mask a while back. Couldn't resist. It had a cat on the packaging. It was shit but it was super funny.

DSCF3235-1.jpg

DSCF3229-1.jpg

DSCF3231-1.jpg

Oh my. LOL.... that's scary. But funny. Are you in PP?

I live in Kep and have a business in Kampot.

I'm in Chiang Mai, in the north. Have AC guestroom with Q size bed in our old Thai teak house, handy to pubic transport and 20 mins out of central Chiang Mai. In Mae Rim. Welcome to come and stay for a few days.... :) We could make face mask videos!!!! LOL.

That would be a lot of fun. I hope we will be able to fly again soon.... I actually just remembered that I have a Vietnamese friend/designer who not so long ago posted a pic of him with a face mask too.

When they say wear a mask if you mask go out, they don't mean this kind of mask. 😎

I sell herbal clay masks and have been soooo disappointed - had LOADS of "I wanna buy a lot of facemasks" messages 🀣 FAIL. They wanted the ones that stop people seeing your smile. 😭

You should but some face mask. Then you can sell your clay mask and give fre face mask.😎

Ohh no... confusing times indeed.

Haha... indeed. I have to wear both these days.

@porters here on behalf of @NaturalMedicine – Glad you're getting your spa day in and I appreciate you sharing your recipes where you could! Plus the breakdown of each of the ingredient's benefits!

curation.png

We'd love you to enter our Wild Edibles Challenge
, which you can read about here. There's 100 HIVE on offer & lots of LOTUS to win!

Thanks for the love and support xxx Happy to be part of this wonderful family!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks, fo the support!

I love green clay masks, I usually mix with apple cider vinegar, but I'll have to give this aloe mix a try. Thanks for the recommendation!!

Have fun! It is such a good facial routine right. I will definitely try to add some acv too. Never tried it before. Thanks fo the tip!

Congratulations @amy-goodrich! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 80000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 85000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Revolution - Mission 1 - Communication
Hive Revolution - Call for missions
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!

Hi, I looking you so great.

Hi Srey Pov. I hope you are doing well. Hope to see you all soon on the other side of the world! Big hug to Justin and the kids xxx

Thank you very much. I hope to see you some days too. We are sending you big hugs πŸ‘¨β€πŸ‘©β€πŸ‘§β€πŸ‘§xxxx

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @ashikstd on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.