Homemade Nectarine & Almond Chocolate

in Natural Medicine3 years ago (edited)

I am drowning in a huge tree full of nectaries. Sorbet. Stewed. Stood on and slipped on when they fall to the the path and fought over by parrots, they've been literally dripping from the tree. I adore them - they taste of summer.

IMG_20210213_195744_948.jpg

One solution has been to dry them. My dehydrator has been working overtime drying fruit, and the nectarines are delicious this way. I really don't understand how commerical dried fruit tastes of nothing, or just of sugar - do it yourself and the taste is retained. I love them as a snack or on my muesli, or even in a salad!

20210215_181300.jpg

But you know, if you put chocolate on anything it's even better, right? @trucklife-family this week inspired me to make chocolate again, which I haven't done in ages. It's so darn easy I don't know why we bother buying it.

Just think half coconut oil, half cacao. You don't even need a recipe! So say one cup of melted coconut oil, you'll need a cup of cacao. More cacao if you want to knock your socks off with some extra chocolate.

Flavouring is up to you. For this one, it was dried nectarines, a handful of almonds and a few drops of vanilla essence. I would have added chilli but Jamie's not a fan. A pinch of salt can be nice. This one has dried calendula on top because you know how much I love that on basically everything - it's so pretty!

And if you don't have chocolate moulds, just pour onto wax paper in a tray and pop in the fridge.

20210215_135955.jpg

My son and his girlfriend did a quick drive by last night to pick up a box of nectarines and drop off two jars of sugar free stewed plums (also from my tree). They were stoked to get some chocolate as part of the deal.

20210215_140226.jpg

Well, best be off - I've run out of coconut oil and cacao, and if I want to feed this chocolate habit, I best be up shop.

Do you make your own homemade chocolate? What's your favourite flavour?

With Love,

https://gateway.ipfs.io/ipfs/QmcGSZxvsXD8YbSCNAo6KWc4a9RjXyRCjWupZdPXJapkXk


CommunityIIDiscord
mindfullife2.png
Supporting Meditators on HIVE

www.naturalmedicine.io


Sort:  

Yum! That just looks delightfully decadent and delicious! We're a little too far north for nectarines and the store bought ones are so-so, at best; must be great to have such an abundance.

We do have a nice apricot tree that's a bit temperamental. It either gives nothing, or a bumper crop. Maybe 2021 will be a good year!

Bright Blessings!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

 3 years ago  

I hope you get some apricots! My apricot has never fruited sadly .. my Nana used to grow amazing apricots and I would love to eat them as I recall as a kid. Nectarines do well here.. I relish them more than peaches actually, so good.

I've never made my own chocolate like this, for snacking, but I do generally replace baking chocolate in recipes with cocoa powder and olive oil. I don't know if I've done it with coconut oil before, though I use that, too. I assume putting the fruit in it is the sweetener? I like dark chocolate, but also don't like fruit or anything in chocolate, so I would probably just use some cane sugar, since I like it plain. I know when you buy it at the store it tells you a percentage, like "70% dark" or whatever, but I don't know how that would translate into making it myself, now I'm curious to look it up and try! Do you think I could just use any silicone mold?

 3 years ago  

Yrs, any silicone mould. I put honey in mine... I'll edit post to reflect that. Any sweetener is fine! And less cacao.. I put more and it knocked my socks off...

untitled.gif

I literally lay awake for hours nights ago because I ate some pieces of dark chocolate ( 70+ percent around 8:30 at night ) haha

Honey sounds like a good addition too. I would prefer not to add any sugar.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

 3 years ago  

Hahah omg yes that happens to me as well!! I can't even drink TEA at night!

Yummy @riverflows and to think this is good for one! I just love chocolate but store bought ones bring on the horrid reflux, must give this a go!
Those nectarines look so good, great idea to preserve them like that.

 3 years ago  

Ah ah yes it's good for you! You'll have to give it a go now!

Very cool! Never made my own.... Adore nectarines.

 3 years ago  

Oh you'd find it so easy! You can use any sweetener you like and less cacao if you don't like it strong.

Wait, did you say FOOD? Foodie is in town on #HIVE!

Yum! Your post would look great with the #foodie tag. You have been curated @sirenahippie on behalf of @FoodiesUnite. We are a tribe for the #Foodie community with a unique approach to all things food and we are here on #HIVE.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

 3 years ago  

I love this post @riverflows as I know how satisfying it is to grow and harvest the fruit in our homes and then eat it, either cooked or raw. Where I live, the climate is very warm all year round and has long dry spells, which makes it difficult for a nectarine tree to grow properly, but it must be great to have one and one that bears so many fruits. A big hug and I congratulate you for making the most of the riches that nature gives you.

Este post me encanta @riverflows ya que sé cuán satisfactorio es cultivar y cosechar la fruta en nuestros hogares y luego comerla, ya sea cocida o cruda. En donde vivo, durante todo el año el clima es muy cálido y tiene largas temporadas de sequía, por lo cual dificulto que pueda crecer apropiadamente un árbol de nectarina, pero debe ser genial tener uno y que dé tantas frutas. Un gran abrazo y te felicito por aprovechar al máximo las riquezas que te da la naturaleza.

 3 years ago  

Thanks for the curation, cool you are a curator... I didn't know! You'd love this. We get dry spells too but the nectarines always come and a wet summer helped.

 3 years ago  

Yes, I have been a curator for about two weeks, well now you know that I am, hahahaha, that's why I am always aware of what the colleagues here publish about food because I know they do it in a great way. I would surely like nectarines very much. Right now I'm about to have a good harvest of "apple" bananas and another of topochos. A hug. Excellent and delicious post.

 3 years ago  

Oooh what are topochos!

 3 years ago  

🤤🤤🤤🤤

To both the chocolate and those nectarines! My mother would be in heaven to be your neighbor. Nectarines are one of her favorites. We're slowly but surely adding more fruit trees. Hoping for figs this year and we have some pear clippings to try to transplant. Always a fun experiment!

Posted using Dapplr

 3 years ago  

Oh they are a fave of mine too. Oh pear from cuttings? That'll be interesting! How much yard do you have? Can you use the front too?

 3 years ago  

Yes, we have small but pretty flat front yard, which I would be more than happy to fill up with fruit trees! That's actually where the fig tree is, so if we can get another starter we could easily put a few more figgies out front. The pear clippings we took from Dave's parents tree last year. They were actually starting to show some new growth before the winter, so hoping they are viable to plant. I'm sure they'll take a while before they come to anything, but I'll try to be patient if it actually works!

Hoping this week is the last of the really freezing temps so we can get going on the spring planting. Should be getting close to time to start planting some little seed babies inside at least.

 3 years ago (edited) 

Uhmmm, delicious @riverflows !!! I love it. Great!

 3 years ago  

It's all gone now.. need to make more! I like it with almonds...

The third chocolate making post I'm reading in a day or two. 3 times is... This sounds too yummy! Gonna get my hands on some coconut oil ( and hopefully cacaco as I only have chocolate powder with some added sugar ( not my thing ) and, if I can, I will make some chocolate tomorrow.

Nectarines sure remind me of Summer too. How awesome that you can harvest them in your own garden.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Uh oh my gosh! Nectarines falling from trees, parrots and chocolate. You live in paradise!!!

I guess chocolate can be not only tasty but visually appealing too. Nectarines are a fruit my family has never seen or tasted, but it's a goal for when/if we ever get to the USA. I can't say I've ever had dehydrated nectarines, but flavors always get concentrated when dehydrated, so I'm tasting them in my mind as I read this post along with this awesome dark chocolate you've prepared.

Thanks @riverflows for sharing this with us.

Your post is featured in our latest Plant Power curation post, Late Winter Seasonal Delights, Dark Chocolate Goodness, Dips To Die For, Oat-Sunflower Seed Crunchies, And More!!.

image.png
You've been curated by @justinparke for Natural Medicine's curation project aimed at supporting fruit, vegetable and grain recipes, dialogue about cruelty free eating, conscious eating for the planet, and quality meat free food blogs! We upvote, reblog and tweet your great #plantbased content.
Community | Discord


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io