Cooking my favorite recipe: Fricassee of Sheep

in Foodies Bee Hive6 months ago

A necessary introduction

This is my first post in this community and it is a tribute to my mother who was a cooking teacher and turned everything she cooked into a delicacy. It is also the fulfillment of a debt of gratitude to @lileisabel who invited me to cook and to get rid of my fears because when I saw the tasty dishes presented in the community I was afraid to present my own.

For this first post I will present my favorite recipe that I learned to make by combining spices, flavors and other ingredients. This is the favorite dish of our youngest son and both of our sons' wives. Now I remember when he graduated from college our culinary treat was a sheep fricassee that according to the guests at the banquet was good.

It is a dish that I usually prepare on special occasions such as Mother's Day, birthdays of my youngest son and my wife because I know it is a guaranteed success.

Knowing that this dish is liked by family and friends I love to make it and I feel immense pleasure in doing so. But, not only with this dish, but with all of them I feel that my mother's love helps me to cook and, perhaps it is her flavor that is expressed in the dishes I prepare.
And this is what this publication is about, how I prepare this recipe, the variants that can be used in the absence of any spice or seasoning, the contributions that this food makes to health and I will address other topics of interest.

Finally, I will try to leave you a tip from my mother's kitchen that, perhaps known to many, but I think it is a way to help give flavor and color to what we cook.

What are the ingredients of this recipe?

For the elaboration process of this recipe it is necessary to use different spices that contribute to the process of giving flavor to the meat and eliminating the taste that for some people is unpleasant. In this case the preparation will be for four people.

These are the ingredients:

  • Two pounds of sheep. In some places it is known as mutton,
  • One whole bell pepper, preferably red
  • One whole onion, preferably purple
  • A head of garlic
  • Acid: It can be two lemons, a sour orange or half a glass of vinegar.
  • A glass of dry wine or a beer
  • Cilantro
  • Tomato. It can be tomato paste or two natural tomatoes.
  • Salt to taste
  • For this recipe I use little oil because this meat has a strong fat component. However, I use between 4 and 5 tablespoons.

Preparing the Sheep fricassee

In the process of cooking this recipe, I have learned that in order for it to have a pleasant flavor, there are keys that must not be violated:

  • The meat must be well tenderized, this is vital so that it releases as much substance as possible and is left with the best possible texture.
  • Do not add water under any circumstances because this meat releases a lot of water during the elaboration process.
  • It is vital to use acid to help counteract the characteristic flavor that this meat has.

I put the meat in the pressure cooker with the bell pepper, the acid, the salt and the oil. I leave the meat in the pressure cooker for 30 minutes. When it softens we will see how the meat has a little water. In the second part of the cooking process we remove the pressure and add the other ingredients, except the cilantro and the tomato puree.

In the case of the puree we add it when we want the meat to begin to dry because this ingredient has this characteristic of drying the food. When the meat starts to dry I add the dry wine or beer.

Once I see that the meat is releasing its own fat I turn off or remove the pot from the current and add the coriander and cover it so that the aroma of this aromatic plant takes over the meat.

Sheep fricassee

In this dish I did not use mashed pasta because this ingredient is harmful to my wife's gastritis, so I used salad tomatoes.

In the cooking process of this dish I use red bell pepper because it is richer than green pepper in vitamin C and a rich antioxidant that prevents anemia.

As for sheep meat, it is good for raising hemoglobin in the blood, fighting anemia and when a patient is operated on, it is one of the meats that the doctor recommends in the recovery process.

Advice from the kitchen of Tata, my mother

One of the things I learned from my mom is not to add water to the meat if it is not necessary because we should try to cook the meat with the water it releases during the cooking process. If you must add water, try to do it when the meat has been fried and the meat has appropriated the flavor of the spices and the fat that it releases.

A final comment

This is the recipe that is a must at some of the parties we have at home or that I am asked for when I go to a friend's house. I have even been asked to cook this and two other recipes for friends' birthdays and the final result has left me very pleased. When people ask me what is the essential element to make these dishes taste like this, I always answer the same: Put love in what you do and the flavor will always come out.

Note: All photos were taken with my Samsung J2 phone.
For the translation I used DeepL Translate.

Sort:  

Excellent tips on how to prepare the meat to obtain what appears to be a very satisfactory meal with benefits to health.

@tipu curate

Thank you very much.
On several occasions I try to cook recipes that are appetizing and that contribute to health.
From my mother I learned a lot of these things and the love for cooking.
Thank you very much for your kindness and nice comments.
Happy day to you and yours.
Cheers and greetings.

Cooking fresh every day with local produce is what my Dad taught me, a firm believer in avoiding tinned, frozen or other types of food.

Lamb over open fire, wash meat pat dry spice, place over not coals, use fresh lemon to squeeze over meat when flames rise thet smell and taste delicious. When fresh thyme is available, brush squeezed lemon juice using thyme locking flavour in. !LOLZ

A man tried to sell me a coffin today.
I told him that's the last thing I need.

Credit: reddit
@tonyes, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of joanstewart

(3/8)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

How nice what you tell me about your dad and his care to prepare nutritious food that will bring health to the body. Many people in the world eat junk food that does not contribute anything to the body.
Thanks for sharing that recipe about the lamb, I will try to make it and see how it turns out.
Happy journey.
Cheers and best regards.

Dad had a small garden planted many of our fruits and vegetables, never bought food that I can remember when growing up.

Lamb chops so expensive here of late I try treat myself to them once a month, leg of lamb I have not bought in over twenty years most probably.

His father was a wise man. Over here the prices of that meat and everything in general is quite high too. Thanks for sharing. Cheers and best regards.

Amigo que gran plato ha cocinado, si supieras tengo un plato de cordero asado que hice por primera vez nunca lo había asado, en unos días lo muestro pero este tuyo se ve fenomenal , no soy muy adicta a cocinar cordero aunque me encanta comerlo, que bonito homenaje a tu mamá , deberías pasar más a menudo por esta comunidad , se te da bien la cocina . Saludos , se ve delicioso 👋❤️

Friend, what a great dish you have cooked, if you knew I have a dish of roast lamb that I made for the first time, I had never roasted it, in a few days I will show it but this one of yours looks phenomenal, I am not very addicted to cooking lamb although I love eating it, What a nice tribute to your mother, you should visit this community more often, you are good at cooking. Greetings, it looks delicious 👋❤️

Thank you very much my dear and kind @lileisabel. I owe it to you to post in this community and I appreciate all the comments and advice.
I love to cook, especially proteins and rice combined, plus pastas and soups.
My Mother is in everything I am and do and the cooking thing so much more.
Thanks for so much and everything.
Happy.
Cheers and greetings.

Muchas gracias mi estimada y gentil @lileisabel. A usted le debo publicar en esta comunidad y le agradezco todos los comentarios y consejos.
Me encanta cocinar, sobre todo las proteínas y arroces combinados, además de pastas y sopas.
Mi Madre está en todo lo que soy y hago y lo de la cocina mucho más.
Gracias por tanto y todo.
Feliz.
Salud y saludos.