Chained Together

in Reflections4 months ago

While currently attending an in between session where I just get to listen to others speak, I thought I would start writing for the day. It might be that I don't get to finish.

Should I just press publish?

Probably not.

IMG20230809190818 (1).jpg

But since I haven't missed a day in 6 and a half years, it would annoy me to miss due to a mundane reason, like work. The day I next miss should be something amazing.

Like being elected president.

That would be something, since I can't even vote for president here. I am not even sure if a foreigner can be president in Finland.

But, short of being elected president, I am not planning on missing a day any time soon. Ideally, what I would like to do is expand my footprint, rather than contract. I would live to be able to sit down with all the time in the world on my hands and just write. Though, all the time in the world is meaningless, unless it is filled with something meaningful.

Time is just a marker of movement.

If we aren't filling our time with action, we are essentially dead for that period. Dead time.

I wonder how much dead time we have in a lifetime?

A lot of us talk about not wasting our time, yet we don't often have clarity on what good use of our time is. We are always looking for easier and faster ways to do what we do, but not thinking much about what we are going to do with the extra time. As a result, the additional time resource gets absorbed into our daily activities, without adding to our quality of experience, or the impact we are making on the world. It is like getting a pay rise and instead of investing it, just letting it get whittled away on nothing of consequence, so that a short time later, it is like we never got more at all.

Of course, people have different philosophies and approaches to life, and opinions on what constitutes a good life. For the individual, it is very subjective, but for what moves us forward as a society, perhaps it is less subjective. It is just the opinions on the ways to get there that might differ a lot.

At least for most of us, we want safety and opportunity. We want an environment that enables and supports us to be our best. I sometimes wonder, if we were all the best versions of ourselves, what do we think of and how do we treat others? Are we competitive and looking to near others, or are we competitive and looking to improve ourselves? Are we competing to see how good we can be, or competing just to win?

Which do you want for yourself?

Our strengths as a species has been through our ability to collaborate and solve issues at larger scales. Two people can do what one can't, a hundred can do what 2 can't. But, the larger we scale, the harder to manage, and the easier it is to fall out of alignment and have competing activities, working against each other, rather than with each other.

At least in my own experience, the best and most important parts of my life, has come through actions with others, not where I was alone. And the most enjoyable, are the ones where I have won, and so have others.

Win-win.

I think this is why I enjoy the facilitation process, even though it is challenging at times and people don't always appreciate the value.

Which are you?

Sadist? Masochist?
Collaboratist?

I don't think the last one is a word.

It should be.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

Ability to collaborate and to adapt are two key factors of us humans and that's right! It would be a pity interrupting 6.5 years of publishing even if soon or later.......... 😀

It would be terrible to have work get in the way!

sit down with all the time in the world on my hands and just write.

Now wouldn't that be nice! About time I get caught back up with actifit and back on track with the brawl reports. Would make sense to submit for those weekly Splinterlands upvoted articles too. For sure if I had dedicated more time to write, I would be creating more content for Hive!

Are we competing to see how good we can be, or competing just to win?

I never thought about it like this before. I definitely love to compete to win, but I've always struggled to motivate myself to self-improvement. Reframing it in this way is a great way to think about making self-improvement, especially if some tangible goals are set in place that I can "compete" for.

For sure if I had dedicated more time to write, I would be creating more content for Hive!

I think that this is part of it - the other part is taking notes through life, so there is something to write. In some way, I see it like when I put a macro lens on the camera - it makes me look at what I would otherwise walk by.

You may be, or do you know those people who win at everything, but have nothing of what they really want or need? I know a couple of people, always competing, but never happy.

It's hard to be happy when competing because most people I know hate to lose and you can't win em all. But those people who gain enjoyment from the challenge of the competition are the ones I find to be happier since their happiness is somewhat disconnected from the result.

If we aren't filling our time with action, we are essentially dead for that period. Dead time.

I disagree with this. My moments of stillness and silence bring me to a peacefulness, and connection with all, that action distills.

Which are you?

All three, if I am honest, all three.

But since I haven't missed a day in 6 and a half years, it would annoy me to miss due to a mundane reason, like work. The day I next miss should be something amazing.

I suspect that I will only miss posting if my pc will stop working. but even then normally I have a post scheduled for the next day.

I am not even sure if a foreigner can be president in Finland.

You dream to small. you should aim to be president of the world.

President of the world - sounds American ;D

How come you still can't vote for president election there? In fact, I am not sure about whether a foreigner should vote in another country and affect the future of it.

How come you still can't vote for president election there?

I am not a citizen. I can vote in the local city elections because I am a permanent resident though.

If an alien flying saucer lands near your house, then please do not write a post on that day, this is a reason to stop for a couple of days :)

That would be some great content! ;)

Big what is that thing motivating you to keep writing everyday for year?
God knows I need that kind of energy right now but I’m being consistent even more than before
I’m happy about that

Big what is that thing motivating you to keep writing everyday for year?

The benefits I get from writing daily. It is a mental exercise.

Do you feel that obligation is detrimental though? I mean you always put out good content, but what if that wasn't the case one day. Knowing that what you were about to publish was potentially trash, would you still press the publish button? Just for the sake of saying you didn't miss a day? I've been there before and I've probably went both ways different times quite honestly. Just curious!

Do you feel that obligation is detrimental though?

Not really. It is more motivating. It is rare I don't feel like writing, so it isn't a chore at all.

I mean you always put out good content, but what if that wasn't the case one day.

While not every piece is gold now, if the majority was crap, I wouldn't write. There are times I am unsure whether I should publish, but it is more about content, than quality.

Hmm- click publish and edit a few hours later? :D

Haha, yeah, you could do that. Then you would be as bad as the mainstream media throwing out facts or claims and then having to backtrack or edit them after the fact!

Collaborating is good and builds teamwork as things get done. Odd you cannot vote for president.

I am not a citizen. Not sure what it is like over there.

@tarazkp I really like your articles, they always make me think about my own existence. Thank you for that. You say you've been writing daily for 6 years, that's huge!

But above all, it shows that small, regular actions can lead to big, long-term achievements. By "great achievements" I mean "helping people to ask themselves questions".

Our time must indeed be filled with something meaningful. It's important to find a balance between completing daily tasks and pursuing activities that fulfill us personally and professionally. I tend to get bogged down in completing my daily tasks, even though I've already planned activities that really fulfill me. But it's easy to fall into this trap, at least for me.

I'm going to think about what motivates me and how I can make a positive contribution to society. Thanks for writing!

I mean "helping people to ask themselves questions".

If an article I write has a couple people think about their own lives a little, it is a good article :)

I tend to get bogged down in completing my daily tasks, even though I've already planned activities that really fulfill me.

I think we all fall into the rhythm of daily tasks, forgetting that some of those tasks should be acting toward where we want to be, and what we want to be doing. We live time hand to mouth too often, without investing to feed us later.

Yes, that's exactly it. And do you have any strategies to avoid falling into this trap? Introspection I guess?

It blows me away you have not missed a day in 6.5 years. That commitment that something I could only inspire to try to do. I just find it hard to write everyday. I feel like I don’t have enough to talk about.

I feel like I don’t have enough to talk about.

The periods that are the hardest for me, are the times I am at home a lot, either bogged down with uncollaborative work, or sick. For me at least, getting out with people means having interesting conversations that bring new thoughts.

That’s fair maybe it’s lack of motivation sometimes it can be hard if lost don’t get engagement since it feels like I’m just talking to wind. Either case I’m trying to be better brocade the more you wrote the more engagement you get so it’s a snowball effect.

I can't even vote for president here

I'm surprised by this. Are you not a citizen yet? My sisters became citizens in the US and they can vote just fine.

You brought a good argument to proper time management. I think people should have a major goal and some minor goals. Major goals can be buying a house, getting a promotion, or becoming president. Minor goals can be learning to play an instrument, learning a language, or doing charity work. If there are some free time from pursuing the major goal, then that can be spent working on the minor goals.

I'm surprised by this. Are you not a citizen yet? My sisters became citizens in the US and they can vote just fine.

Nope, I am not a citizen.

I think we have to discover say 1 or 2 major goals that are long term, and then 10 minor - then reduce the 10 to about 3 :)

Nope, I am not a citizen.

Oh that's interesting. I thought one usually becomes one after getting married in the country. Unless, they didn't want to relinquish their original citizenship. I guess you just have permanent resident status? You don't have to answer these if you don't want to though. I'm just airing my thoughts on it.

Yeah. Reducing the minors should be good since they are easier to accomplish. One can then add more eventually.

I couldn't help but nod along as I read your reflections on time. Especially now, when the world is so connected, yet individualism is at its peak. Collaboration indeed seems like the need of the hour.
Do you have any personal examples of activities you consider truly impactful and fulfilling?

A perfect example of the effectiveness of collaboration can be seen in what researchers are currently doing. When they come together to seek for solutions it is easier to find. We humans are stronger, smarter, and more capable when we unite in purpose. And I dare say I'm that sort of person.

On a lighthearted note, I want to say, you may yet get to be Finland's President one day, don't rule that one out, anything is possible in the realm we occupy. And if it eventually happens you get to enjoy the thrill of missing a post on hive in over 6 years of consistency. Your dedication to the platform is commendable, thanks for writing and have an awesome day, @tarazkp.

Your description really fit you: continuous writer.
Some I miss out of your contents though I promised to be following always, because you wouldn't stop writing. I wish I could create articles like this. You are not just writing, but writing quality.
For this one it's superb. As if I was flowing along in your mind.
💪Well done!