They looked like torture devices

in Holos&Lotus3 months ago (edited)

I am sure many of you know what this photo shows. It was me who saw these for the first time today...

Don't be fooled by the title - these are not modern torture machines, although they do look a bit like it. We see a table and ropes, vertical bars, pulleys, and sticks... But, no one was taken under torment here, without its will. A bit of suffering, maybe, as those who were not in shape had to make a bit more effort.

IMG_20240202_115612.jpg


So, I had my very first Reformer Pilates workout this morning. My physiotherapist recommended it to me when I visited him the last time. For a few months my neck and back hurt, and my arm too, but after two sessions with him, I improved so much that I am already very well. The thing is that I have to stay flexible and strong and strengthen my muscles to be able to keep up with the pace of life that we all lead, with more ease and without those neck and back pains. Also, for general physical and mental stability, we need to be well-prepared for any surprises that life can bring us.

This type of workout combines physical and mental aspects. Breathing is very important, that is why we started the session today with a few breathing exercises. We were asked to put one hand on our chest and the other hand on our belly. We had to recognize what moves first, the chest or the belly, and later inhale and exhale in the way we were asked. I didn't know we could fill the lungs with air in four different ways (chest, belly, both at the same time and back). It was all to start to control with our mind what our body does.

The instructor was guiding the three of us (and it was the maximum of participants for one group as there are four reformers in this room) showing examples and doing also the exercises at the same time. It was not difficult even though I had no clue what we would do here. Pull the bar with your toes, flex the knees, stretch them, curve the back, or stretch the arms, legs, and spine in one way or another... Everything was helped with this apparatus and guided by the instructor.

IMG_20240202_115802.jpg

He was also checking on our posture and corrected us when needed. We had relaxing music in the background and the one hour of workout passed so quickly. Being the first lesson we had the resistance of the machines on a low level. I would not be able to make more effort for the first lesson, and also that is not the idea, of going home "destroyed".

Practice will be needed, that can't be denied. Each week we will get a bit deeper into the way of doing the exercises and make the most of it. I felt like a beginner who just got the opportunity to meet a way of working out, this mind and body discipline that hopefully will bring just benefits in the future. I can't say that I did a lot today for my body.

IMG_20240202_115658.jpg

Yes, it was the first step and it is important, however, the joints and the muscles will work more each time and get flexibility and strength over time. I just can't give up on this now. I stayed in this fitness studio for a few moments more, to reflect on my first Reformer Pilates workout and booked my next lesson for next Friday.

mipiano_-_MP.png

Sort:  

Bien hecho Mipiano!!

I have always heard that doing Pilates is wonderful. You are on the right track, the first step is important, the rest is keeping the will and not giving up.

Feliz fin de semana.

Thank you, dear @mdrguez.

Yes, the first step is done, and with it here is the hope of not giving up. Time will say :D

Gracias, solo quedan ocho horas para llevar a Mipiano junior al aeropuerto 😶 🛫 (mientras tanto habrá que dormir un poco jaja)

Espero que Mipiano junior tenga un buen viaje y que muchas cosas buenas le suceden por allá. Abrazos.

Gracias por tus deseos, seguro que será una experiencia inolvidable para él 😇

My former yoga teacher also learned me how to breath (u potpunosti razumem osećaj otkrića).

Perhaps it can be good for migraine!

I am more than sure it is essential for everything, so for the prevention of migraines too 😇

{pakujem dete} 🤐🏮

{pakujem dete}

😱 za gde?

Otisao. 🥺 Guten Morgen

Ah, sei du nicht traurig 👀

There are certain activities that may seem like voluntary torture, and I find them to be quite dangerous as they can lead to addiction. However, the words "addiction" and "dangerous" often carries a negative connotation, even though there are also positive addictions and dangers. 😁 😜 In this instance, I am referring to my bike. I enjoy the feeling of physical exertion (and pain) and the mental challenge of pushing myself to the limit, even when fatigued.

I am thinking philosophically 🤣

Commit to not abandoning this and to also continuing with the planks.😐

Oh, planks. 😣 It was October I did the last one haha. Yeah, they should come back too, but step by step ;)

That positive addiction you mention is a legit one! Vamos, Nanixxx biker 🚲 👏 🌞

Welcome to the Reformer club :))
Well done for doing this for yourself! We started this summer with @fotostef and it has helped us both very much, so I hope it will help you a lot! Enjoy your sessions and your new relationship with your body, breathing and workout mindset :)

You too? It is great to hear about your experience, and that both of you are doing it. So, officially, we could form a Hive Reformer club 😃

Thank you for your encouragement, indeed feels good to hear firsthand that there are benefits from this activity!!

So, officially, we could form a Hive Reformer club 😃

Definitely 😁

Many benefits, you will feel them in time! My only advice (that came from my physiotherapist and then confirmed by my experience) is that it would be best to practice twice a week if possible :)
Enjoy dear @mipiano!

That is what mine also suggested, twice a week. Hopefully, I will find the way for that second workout in the week in the following months 😇
May you have a peaceful weekend, @traisto! 🌼

Bravo!!! Any form of exercise or work out is worthy for the body and mind , the humans been needs movement and strength to be healthy, congratulations keeping going with this you will not regret!!

Felicidades, ahora el piano si se va escuchar bien fuerte señorita Mipiano 💪😄

I hope I will keep on, I must! Even though it was planned to start in January, it was a bit busy month, so I am late already with my decision... but I am happy I finally started. :))

Haha, a lo mejor voy a tocar con más fuerza? Pobre mi piano, va a temblar bajo mis dedos - hasta que no le ajuste los tornillos jaja

Jajajajaj 💪💪💪

Great!! Keep on doing it!! your health will be better!!

Thank you, I will try not to give up with this one 😇

My mother went to pilates for a long time and it helped enormously. She has had spinal surgery and has osteoarthritis there and in her hips, plus tendonitis in one shoulder. I can assure you it has worked magic for her. Pilates is very good and that first step you took is the first step towards change. Hugs @miapiano!

Well done to your mom!! I also hope to feel the benefits of this activity, I am sure they will come. Thank you for this feedback, it seems that Pilates was a good choice! :))

She was happy to feel good and I was relieved for her, it's the truth, I feel happy!

Ohhh, so this is a really good workout hearing how well you are already with just few times of doing this. I am not really familiar with such exercise, there are really more to know in this world no, just like this. And I'm not sure too if this is also available in some places here in our country, now I'm curious 🤔.

More benefits are to come, I am sure. I am not sure either if this is available everywhere, probably yes, I just started it so not really sure when Reformer Pilates workout started.

It must be really painful if you have to sit too long when you're on the piano, hope the sessions will help to speed up your recovery

Piano and teaching are both sedentary activities that are not good for the neck and back, so this activity will really come in handy! And then, planks have to come back too! 😃

Have you heard about Chiro therapy? It's aligning misaligned body parts, especially the spine..
That is what I want to try this month or next.. Will cost a lot for sure, but better than enduring my back pain for quite a long time now..
You can search for it in your area if there is one.. One session is enough to fix your body...but choose the best chiropractor..

Check the videos of these chiro . Satisfying

https://youtube.com/@Drtylerbigenho?si=kwHnhHSLKbmEHsoG

https://youtube.com/@DrAlexTubio?si=KOkAUssOfumSMz8B

Might help you deal with whatever your body is suffering now..

Yes, I have heard about it, actually tried it too. Once my physiotherapist had to do it and wow, the feeling in my neck and shoulders later was - freedom! But the thing is that I have to change some habits (too much sitting) and add some activities - this should go long-term :)

I have to go back to the physio and do exercises.

It looks like a very good facility

Let's see if I can find something similar in my city, as my bad back is going to end up hurting.

Better prevent any pain and injury and start doing exercises :)

I was postponing already for a while, unfortunately! 🙄

Do you know how Jesus became so fit? He combined Pilates & CrossFit.

(the joke loses a bit when translated into Spanish as you call the guy Poncio Pilato)

Ahahaha, what a joke. 😂 But the terminology indeed matches :D

I hope you are having a good Saturday, maybe with a glass of beer? :D

I indeed am :) How did you know? :))

Maybe I managed to read your mind haha

;)

🍻

Wow! This is not an easy workout but as they say, no pain then no gain. So keep pushing hard and achieve that healthy lifestyle! 💪

Thank you, I will try to keep on, I see it as an important activity! :)

You're welcome @mipiano you are inspiring a lot of people to commit in a healthy lifestyle. :D

That's what we all do, right? Hopefully, always inspire each other to do good things 😇

Hello mipiano!

It's nice to let you know that your article will take 4th place.
Your post is among 15 Best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by szejq

You receive 🎖 2.2 unique LUBEST tokens as a reward. You can support Lu world and your curator, then he and you will receive 10x more of the winning token. There is a buyout offer waiting for him on the stock exchange. All you need to do is reblog Daily Report 197 with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START