Big Dream

in Outdoors and more4 months ago (edited)

I wish I could spend a year on the road, out in nature, visiting people all over the country whether they wanted me to or not, skating on every rink, hiking on every trail, walking barefoot on the shore of every sea.


IMG_3224.jpg
Taking the dog out on a night drive in the Utah Desert to look for night creatures. 28 degrees (F) outside.


I wish I could spend a week out of doors. At least. Longest I've ever gone is three nights backpacking up an endless incline only to have my tent and spirits fail when I finally got to the timberline. Didn't even get a chance to get eaten by a bear on that trip. Almost got eaten by a glacial stream, but that's another story for another day.


Encounter with night bison.
IMG_3225.jpg
We also saw three jack rabbits, one desert rat, and heard two different packs of coyotes, but you will have to take our word on that one, as we have no proof. Pilot will corroborate as well as attest to not feeling comfortable with the idea of being so near to wild canines that would happily cannibalize him without thinking twice.
IMG_3231.jpg


I want more time to do things. Big things. I want to live out these Big Dreams I have in my heart. It takes a frustrating amount of discipline to actually make dreams come true, though. And sometimes it takes a few uncomfortable learning experiences, as we like to call them, such as paying down a credit card debt that didn't have to be that big before I can wrack up more debt on another Big Adventure, hopefully a little more responsibly this time.


IMG_3232.jpg
VERY close encounter with a night dumpster roaming around just outside the campground. I'm guessing this beast had prior contact with humans, as it was not phased by my vehicle, and showed mild interest when I rolled down the window and spoke to it in gentle tones. I did NOT approach it.


That being said, it also takes a large supply of patience to make Big Dreams come true. Sometimes patience isn't so bad, though. Take, for example, the Big Dream I have to get a sprinter van and live on the road once I turn 65 and start collecting SSI. It sounds like a thrilling adventure, but I'm in no rush to be in a body that's 22 years older than the one I'm in now.


Hazy horizon on a morning walk that blended exhilaration and the external with rumination and the internal.
IMG_3234.jpg
Big Views and Big Dreams for miles all around. Little views and little dreams along the road, along the way.
IMG_3235.jpg


I'm also learning that there are times when I must sacrifice the little dreams in order to dedicate the energy needed to see the Big Dreams to fruition. Sacrifice, or at least set them aside. Little dreams like successful CrowTube channels or selling photography prints or skating on Lake Louise this winter. But the sacrifices of the little dreams must be made in order to preserve my access to the present. Leaving space for gentle afternoons with crows and the feather game with the dog and cat. Staying put long enough to work towards Big Dreams like becoming one of the names people get excited about seeing under the titles of travel articles and short stories and books.


IMG_3236.jpg


It's possible some of my Big Dreams will never happen, which may or may not be such a bad thing. Plans change. Sometimes from loss of interest. Sometimes because of new and exciting opportunities, other times unfortunate circumstances and events. But I'll be damned if it will ever be from lack of trying.


Another encounter with the same dumpster in broad daylight. I let it approach me, and when we had both determined that neither of us was a threat, I fed it by hand.
IMG_3239.jpg
Pilot stayed in the car.


CrowTube Channel
Crowstagram
NFT Crowroom
A percentage of this post's rewards goes back to support the community.
All the stuff (pictures, words, etc.) I put in this post and any of my other posts is mine (unless otherwise stated) and can't be used by anyone else unless I say it's ok, and no you cannot start calling me the Dumpster Lady.

Sort:  

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@pepetoken, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @corvidae and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/1 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

I bet you could domesticate that dumpster!

You know, I bet I could! Unfortunately I don't produce enough trash to be able to provide for it, and even if I could fit it in my studio apartment, getting it up and down those stairs once a week to go out to potty would be a nightmare.

You should get one of the flying variety. Then it could perch on your roof and fend off predators 😜

I just slobber-exploded on myself laughing as I imagined it snatching up robbers and rapists and sex traffickers (oh, my) into its gaping maw and gobbling them up.

I can almost hear the crunching and cracking as it chows down on them!

Oooooo how delightfully morbid!

That being said, it also takes a large supply of patience to make Big Dreams come true.

Well, that's what I need to learn, patience...

Ah, yes, patience. Sometimes I have it. Sometimes I forget what it is and that it even exists.

View or trade LOH tokens.


@corvidae, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Thank you so much!!

image.png
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ladiesofhive, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @corvidae and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (7/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Almost go eaten - typo and this is so beautiful it's worth it.

This one is a corker, Crow Lady :)

The photographs are breath-taking!

And Pilot is adorable <3

Oh... perhaps dreaming helps us to keep on moving forward?

And perhaps we are often living the dream, except that we aren't always awake enough to see it?

But dreaming is good. So go for it and dream big, "they" say!

Sending love always. And a message now to reply because apologies. I've been living the dream. It's just that it seldom plays out the way we imagined it!

Awww damn it I think the t got washed away in the glacial stream! Thanks for noticing that.

I think I dreamt this morning that I heard your voice, like a recording or something, or a chat or call. Maybe it happened whilst you were writing this comment..? Was I dreaming big enough? Let's ask "them," lol.

I've been living the dream. It's just that it seldom plays out the way we imagined it!

Just so long as you're not living the nightmare.

Well... you gotta have that as well or it's all a dream, isn't it?

Just life.

But thank you. Both and the nightmares are short, these days, and don't scare me much anymore :D

It may have been. I think we connect via the ether somehow. I guess we'll never know for sure!

I didn't send that message. Yet. I did think about it but I'm "hoosing" here. That's ZA Lingo for trying to get something going! :D

And I don't like to rush the good things in life.

Brb always <3

Is tyt a legit acronym? Take you time?

Never rush the good things. Unless the good things are hockey pucks.

You :)

There'll be more time in a day or so.

And you're totally right! Never rush the good things... :)

TFY . Is that an acronym? Thanks for you.

Awww, TFY! Ditto. Should be, so long as it's not confused with the more flippant thanks, fuck you, reserved for incidents of mansplaining...

Oh... I try to stay Equanimous, these days. And practice Equality.

I have a son, you know. The boys are brutal af. Not easy to man up and stand up against them. Especially when you're a boy!

The Masks We Live In - tearjerker and awful!

I say let them start complaining so we can fix that shirt too already <3

Just fuck that to the "it's your fault or you're just a crazy bitch" thing already. Y'know? 🙄

Gaslighting 101. Maybe they should add that class at Ed-Care centers.

Feeding a wild dumpster by hand? That's living dangerously, indeed! Be more cautious if you ever encounter a feral gazebo.

Yeah? I wouldn't even know what to feed a gazebo. A wedding party, maybe?

They lurk in parks and prey upon entire families. You think you found a spot for a nice picnic, and BAM! You don't eat lunch, you are lunch.

That sounds horrifying!!! Best to avoid parks. And probably the backyards of the upper middle class.

Just remember, the vicious gazebo can occasionally be mistaken for the gentle pergola, so bring a reputable field guide to North American outbuildings and shelters when traveling the wilds of suburbia.

Ugh, can't I just use Seek???

Do you trust an app when your life may be on the line?

Thank you, @appreciator, for helping support my Big Dreams. 🖤