What is your favourite place from your travels in your country? This is mine!

in GEMS4 years ago

WhatsApp Image 2020-05-01 at 1.11.36 AM.jpeg

Looking at some of the positive sides to this lockdown situation, in hindsight I feel happy to have traveled 22 States and 6 Union Territories of India over the last 15 years. Totalling 28 out of 36 entities that forms the Union of India.

19 states + 6 union territories by motorcycle, and 17 states + 5 union territories by car. I have missed visiting the Indian states of Chhattisgarh, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Nagaland, Manipur, Tripura as well as Lakshadweep and Andaman Islands which are union territories.

93665955_10158280435161798_2233662355772801024_n.jpg

WhatsApp Image 2020-05-01 at 1.11.36 AM (1).jpeg

These pictures that i've shared are from a place called 'Kudremukha.' It was a former mining town located deep in the tropical rainforests of Western Ghats in coastal Karnataka and to this day it remains one of my favourite places to ride as its also closer to home taking under 4 hours to do a quick roundtrip of 210-220 kms.

966806_10151673108206798_1208209875_o (1).jpg

It has always felt like a backyard race track early in the mornings with great weather and some nice views. The route itself is quite technical but the traffic is sparse allowing for a fast ride up and down the hills if you know when to brake and when to go throttle wide open.

I've been there over a hundred times owing to its proximity from my location and the beautiful drive it offers and know the route like the back of my hand which made it fun and safe to ride this route.

16797233_10154993788276798_6924502941193592321_o.jpg

WhatsApp Image 2020-05-01 at 1.11.37 AM.jpeg

Looking back, very early into my travels it seemed like a big risk, saving money and then spending it on travel and experiences but definitely worth it in hindsight, considering I can't even visit the local beach right now due to the lockdown.

However, Kudremukha is amongst several places that are close to my heart across the length and breadth of my country. However, this is special also because of my love for motorcycles and cars.

16835769_10155000259011798_8055008500159668157_o (1).jpg

WhatsApp Image 2020-05-01 at 1.11.37 AM (1).jpeg

I will try and share more pictures from my travels in the future if possible. Meanwhile, I'd like to know about your own experiences.

Have you traveled around your country and do you have a favourite place that love visiting. I look forward to your comments with some pictures and any info you'd like to share.


If you like my post please re-hive it. You may also show support by voting my Hive witness node.

Sort:  

For me its Kodaikanal, I happen to visit it twice and I would love to go back to the same place again and again. I have been to Madikeri, Mount Abu, Ooty and some other hill stations but Kodaikanal is my favorite Hill Station

image.png

I also loved Udaipur for its rich culture, would love to travel once again there

That's great to hear and it's a fab place as well. I've really enjoyed Munnar in ghats out there. I've a favourite spot where I've been a few times to take some pictures in the past with a great view of the dam below, it's enroute to Top station but little known place where pretty much no one goes usually. Nice pictures btw.

Very sharp pictures! So you love Yamaha! Great!

Yes, I like vehicles from Ford as well as you can see my car in one of the pictures above. :)

Yes that's too but i am kinda 2 wheeler fan! Hope you have enjoyed Kolkata!

Yes. I've been there twice and also on motorcycle. I love the food there. :D

Yes no doubt Kolkata is well known for its foods.. specially street foods!

Love the bike 😍 Awesome travel pictures. Reminds me of our road trips 😊

Thanks. The blue car is also mine which is also awesome to drive around the corners in this place. :D

Love Blue, I miss my blue Subaru BRZ 🙃 hope you having lot of fun out ther 😁👍

You ll love this little girl 😉
u5cpuj.jpg

g5g313.jpg

Great post @firepower, I envy you the locations

Thanks :)

I meant that, so you're welcome

Guess every Manglorean rider loves Kudremukh the most.. Always been the long ride spot for most during college days..

Western Ghats 😍😍😍

Here is my favorite one also Western Ghats from Maharashtra this is specifically special Naneghat

8wccle.jpg

Oh nice! Seems like Monsoon time.

22 countries? it is amazing. I really want to go to Japan to feel snow and see various cultures there. but that is impossible. the cost of traveling and settling there is huge.

by the way I have chosen you as a witness.

Thanks for the witness vote.
Btw, I think you misread the number of states as countries. But infact I have also traveled 24 countries. But that's for another post hehe. But since we're on the topic I want to go to Japan too. Big on my list. I was really hoping to do it this year but maybe in another 2 years.

sorry I was late to reply your message.

sorry, yeah read it wrong😆
Japan is a very beautiful country. from culture and nature. all look beautiful there.

My all time favourite place from my travel is Konkan. I fall in love with the beauty of their culture, and obviously the beautiful landscapes.

Yeah it's pretty awesome. Lots of places and food is great.

Yes, bro, I heard that Kudhremukh is a place enriched with green. Please share your more traveling pics and waiting 😊

My favourite states in south India are Karela and Karnataka. Both states I visited once or twice but would like to explore more places in both states.
Which cities you have visited in Rajasthan? Ever visited Udaipur?

Yes. I have been to Jaipur and Udaipur amongst other places. Both in car and motorcycle multiple times over the past decade. I haven't been to Jaisalmer, Jodhpur, Bikaner areas yet unfortunately. Every winter I plan and something messes it up. Hopefully in a year or two i will finish off the pending places in Rajasthan. :)

ryypjt.jpg

the love jaipur, because of the forts there. I feel kind of amazed after seeing them. the architecture, space and the thinking of that time.

Oh yeah, these forts are Majestic. I like Jaipur and i've had some good times traveling there on a few occasions.

yes it is indeed I have a office your this January that was a great trip.

So cool @firepower. Amazing pictures. I miss McLeod Ganj, was planning to go in july this year as well but sadly the Pandemic is upon us.

Thanks :D

Don't get me started on my love for Himachal, Uttarakhand, Kashmir and Ladakh and these mountain areas in general! I miss my travels through them terribly back home down south now. I think you will like Dharamshala, McLeod Ganj. I also rescued a puppy once in Manali and drove it to Dharamshala overnight once for treatment. :)

I have really planned this year to travel after saving good amount, but turned out nothing!!
My favourite place to travel is Kashmir and ladak ...along with trekking on Himalayas ..hope I go there as early as possible😅

Just awesome images 👍👌

Great post @firepower. For me the most amazing place is the northeast India. Arunachal , meghalaya , nagaland have so beautiful landscapes. But some of the local gangs are of much worry there. But meanwhile the place is so heavenly.

Really it s great place..In my country we have many lovely and awesome places..
This is one of it...
!94473735_576880203179158_7306325779560792064_n.jpg]()94262211_779484729246598_532149475926343680_n.jpg93966789_1127343154265342_3571402706922766336_n.jpg

Very nice pictures. One of them isn't appearing though.
Which country are you from? :)

Really I really appreciate your opinion I am from Tunisia in north africa

That's great. I have a friend from Tunisia from back in college. But i haven't been to any African countries yet. Hope to do it in a year or two.