Finally got my new kit

in Drumminglast year

I had to wait a while for this. I ordered this Roland TD-07KX kit from GAK in Brighton at the start of last month as they had the best price. When I mailed them to see why the order had not been confirmed they told me the data about it being in stock was wrong. I decided to wait for it anyway. The last I heard from them was that I would get it about the 10th of February, but then I got automated emails this week to say it was being sent.

Kit

They do different configurations with the same module, but this one offered larger pads and an extra crash cymbal. That 12" snare feels huge after my little Yamaha unit. It took me at least an hour to put it all together. It arrived in two big, heavy boxes with lots of parts. It did amuse me when I got an email from the delivery company telling be that Elvis was the driver. Seems that is his name. The metal frame is very sturdy and items like the kick drum pad and high hat pedal are heavy on their own. It does not come with a kick pedal, but I already had one.

Boxes

I am still getting things set up. I was having issues with the sound through my mixer to the interface, but it seems my other half had been twiddling knobs she should leave alone. You can run a USB connection for audio, but I do not have a lead long enough right now. I recorded a quick demo anyway. I am still moving things around to get it all comfortable. I am not at all used to playing a real kit, so this may take a while. This kit has loads of settings, but all I did so far was to turn the bass drum down a little. You can tweak EQ, virtual microphone types and even the types of drum skin. You can play along to audio from other devices via Bluetooth.

I think I shall be having a lot of fun with this.

Rock on!

Sort:  

That looks and sounds like a really nice kit Steve.

I think I made the right choice to go for the more professional option. Parts of this could be upgraded, but I think I'll be okay for a while.

!BEER

I totally agree. If you intend to continue with an instrument, there's no point going for one of the cheaper options if you can afford to buy something that will last you. Most of the time you only use the snare, hi-hat and bass but it's nice to have more options. Mine is much more basic kit than yours but then I don't use it enough to warrant something bigger and better.

Maybe I should have a go at doing some recording on mine when I get some time to myself.....maybe in another life eh? 😂

I was lucky to have some money to spend on it. Now I need to justify that. I aim to keep up the Drumeo lessons and possibly get some in person ones too. I'll do more videos.

The kit is not too portable, but it would be viable to take to a gig if I took some of it apart. I'll use my smaller one for the band sessions for now.


Hey @purplesinger, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

That's awesome! It looks like a really nice setup! I'd love to have something like that in my house. It would probably drive my wife crazy. I always remember the scene from Empire Records where the guy has his kit in a little room where he can just go to escape.

I need to look at a bit more soundproofing of the study as there is only one door between me and where my wife watches TV. She complains about even the tapping noises from my old drums. Real drums would be so much louder, but I don't plan to have those at home. This will do for now.

Yeah, I was thinking even if you could use headphones there would still be the impact noises.

Yes. The cymbals will clatter a bit, but the actual drums should be a little quieter than the old rubber ones. I have some ideas on reducing how much sound gets out.

That is cool. I hope it works out for you.

Wow, that's brilliant!
I'm tempted to pop over whenever I feel the need to let off some steam.. today? 😁
Are you going to take it out some time or is it likely to be quite a task?
Have fun with it! Looks great!

You are very welcome to come and play it some time. It is not very portable, but could fold up a bit if you take some parts off. It is heavy. I will keep the old one as I can carry that to sessions.

!BEER

Ooh, that sounds good! I'll take you up on that sometime! 👍
It does look a bit big and chunky to get around..


Hey @anna-newkey, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.

Nice one mate! It's good that they were able to get it to you earlier than expected, you should done an unboxing, I'd say you were delighted tearing into the boxes.

It looks great, I was going to mention the size of the snare, I'd say it's much more comfortable to play is it?

Weird that it doesn't come with the peddle, I assumed they would come with everything. You could have done some double bass if it did haha

Sounds really good man, and responsive. We were looking into potentially getting an electric kit for gigs, but then my dad found one, a traps kit. They're about 580 euro from thomann with no symbols, so we were thinking of getting that, since it's about half the size of a regular kit, so would be handy for travel.

!PIZZA !LUV

I need to adapt to the new kit, but it should make it easier to transition to real drums. This thing is not especially portable, but you could take a few bits off and fold it up.

!BEER


Hey @killerwot, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

We love your support by voting @detlev.witness on HIVE .

Looks like fun. I've been thinking of picking up an electric kit for my son who seems to show an interest in them. He banged on my acoustic kit a lot when he was very small but I sold it before he really got big enough to really use it. Electric kits have really come a long way, and you can turn them down or put some headphones on, which is a big deal coming from an acoustic set.

Electronic kits seem to have got better and cheaper. The mesh heads are standard now and more like real drums. I hope your son enjoys playing.

!BEER


Hey @stephen.king989, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

If you like BEER and want to support us please consider voting @louis.witness on HIVE and on HIVE Engine.

Bloody hell dude, that's a step up and a half!!!

And Elvis, hehe

I could have gone with something slightly more basic, but decided I didn't want to be upgrading again in a year or two. I hope this will serve me well.

I agree with that tactic. Never be apologetic and don't scrimp because it ends up costing more in the long run I think. Especially with musical kit

There's so much choice with these kits. I think they deliberately price them so there's always another one that is just slightly more expensive to tempt you to pay more. I think I got a good deal though. I do tend to regret it when I sell stuff, but I am keeping the Yamaha as it will be good to take to jam sessions. I may just get rid of stuff that is duplicated such as the old kickdrum pad.

I have seen that with music products before where you can buy a variety of incrementally better products that sort of lead you further up the path of upgrades!

That's awesome I'm sure yr gonna have loads of fun indeed!

Gives me more incentive to develop my skills.

That's looks nice , I don't know much about these. But i'm sure you are going to have much more fun with these new toys @steevc

Wish you best of luck.

Boom very nice new kit!

Same thing happens here when we order something online, the date is given too much in advance but the item is shipped after few days. I have also been fond of playing drums since my childhood but till now I have not been able to fulfill it. I am also trying to buy them in the next few days and then go and learn from someone. I will also subscribe your YouTube channel.

You may not learn much from me and I don't tend to post public videos on YT anyway these days. Find a good teacher.

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@killerwot(5/10) tipped @steevc (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Congratulations @steevc! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 50 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 2 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the February edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal