What I loved best was meeting you (TCSP #57)

The latest Coffee Shop Prompt got me smiling just now, so even though it's too late for another cup of caffeinated goodness, I thought I'd throw in my two cents' worth.

Right off the bat, you need to know I'm a very confident coffee maker. I love making coffee. Strong, great heady aroma, black and with no sugars. There was a time when I couldn't tolerate a single cup without a generous helping of milk. Now though, I'm frankly in awe at how much nuance I was missing by doing that!

So anyway, I love making my own, and since I moved into my own place, I love having people over for coffee. Because in terms of beverage alone, I find my homemade coffee to be pretty top tier, if I do say so myself.

But...

What do you enjoy about going out for coffee vs. making it at home?

Well, let's see.


WhatsApp Image 2024-03-23 at 20.10.05.jpeg
Might be breaking the rules a little here, since this particular uptown coffee shop didn't rock my socks off. I found it a bit pretentious and overpriced. But I remember the encounter, which I loved.

The free pass on illicit pastries

Most of my coffee outings tend to be in the afternoon, since I don't like people-ing very much when I haven't had my coffee. And with my afternoon coffee, I can't resist the urge of a little tasty something on the side. Though I make an effort to eat clean when at home, I tend to use any and every such outing as an excuse for a little croissant, muffin, pain au chocolat, cookie, or all those other wonderful little temptations that ornate most coffee-shops.

No one needs to know.

My healthy diet-meter is safely tucked back at the house, so while out and about coffee-ing, I take it as a free pass to indulge a bit.

To be fair, I don't go out for coffee that often, so what harm could it do?


WhatsApp Image 2024-03-23 at 20.15.07.jpeg
Also remember enjoying this chocolate thingy quite a bit.

The frothiness

It's strange 'cause I seem to be two separate coffee-drinkers - the one at home and the one who goes out. At home, I'm pretty no frills, as I said. A strong cup of black coffee is all I need. When out, my go-to is a Flat White, since it's still pretty strong and I just adore the taste, when done right.

So for me, a difference is also that heap of frothed milk that's customary in a Flat White. And it's interesting because, being a big coffee person, I've thought about investing in an espresso machine. You know, something that could take my coffee to proper barista-levels. But then I figure, that exotic little Flat White is only exotic because I only have it a few times a month, when I go out for coffee.

If I invested in a machine, I'd feel inclined to use it heavily, and it would probably lose its charm. It's tempting to over-dose on these little delights, but I figure the beauty lies chiefly in the rarity. In the "I'm treating myself today" mentality.

You

Finally, my absolute favorite part of going out for coffee is meeting a loved one. I don't tend to go for take-out coffee a lot when I'm on my own. Generally because my schedule allows me to make my own at home as I need to. So mostly, when I go out for coffee it's to see somebody, and I adore that.
Because it doesn't feel overly fancy - it's just a cup of coffee. So mundane. So everyday.
Because it's a little treat, a little catch-up, a little how are you.

banner.jpeg

Sort:  

I had to chuckle, love the new word created by you sweet @honeydue - people-ing

since I don't like people-ing very much when I haven't had my coffee.

Sounds like me, I need that strong cup of coffee before I'm ready to start people-ing. I enjoy mine with coffee creamer, milk makes it too weak.

One needs a treat when going to a coffee shop, it's the done thing after all ;)

Enjoy coffee-ing, alone or when people-ing, and have the odd illicit pastry, a gal has to live, right?

with coffee creamer,

Hmm might have to try this out :D

Enjoy coffee-ing, alone or when people-ing, and have the odd illicit pastry, a gal has to live, right?

Indeed! You too, my friend!

When I lived in the city it was over a coffee shop that served a divine Mocha. Now I'm in the sticks it's a cup of instant with a square of chocolate in it.

I love chocolate in coffee! I remember the first time I saw it in Italy somewhere...I remember being at once impressed and shocked that I'd wasted so many years not doing that xD

No, It was not just a cup of coffee, it's beautiful coffee. I like the art on the surface..
Thanks for sharing your coffee experience.

Going out for coffee means that you are taking it in a very serene environment and that’s what I love most about it

I like the idea of leaving the calorie counter at home- what is the point of life if we cannot let ourselves just enjoy things once in awhile?! The coffee does look great, and so does the chocolate thingy haha! I enjoyed reading your thoughts on this week's prompt 😄

Exactly! We only live once :D And life would be boring if we allowed no indulgences. Thank you! :)

 2 months ago  

You need to know I'm a very confident coffee maker.

That's good to know and I'll remember that!

My absolute favorite part of going out for coffee is meeting a loved one.

Because it doesn't feel overly fancy - it's just a cup of coffee. So mundane. So everyday.
Because it's a little treat, a little catch-up, a little how are you.

This is so honest, open, and true when you think about it, for for me too I should say.

What a refreshing post this has been.👏
General Banners-15.jpg

Thank you, lovely! Both for the comment and for the prompt! Had fun writing :D

 2 months ago  

You're very welcome.😊

Had fun writing

I could tell!

Enjoy the rest of the day:)))

 2 months ago  

Thanks for stopping by!-2.jpg

I can also say that I am very demanding when I go out to drink coffee, perhaps it is because we are paying and we have the mentality that the coffee we are going to taste is made by professionals.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us.☕

Good day.

Exactly! I don't see anything wrong with that mentality, to be honest. I don't know what it's like where you are, but here, I could get a pack of ground coffee for the cost of one Flat White or so...so with that in mind, I do expect to get good coffee for my buck :D

Thank you! Have a lovely day!

I also enjoy both hehe

!ALIVE
!LOL

@honeydue! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ phillarecette. (6/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

I told my doctor that I broke my arm in two places.
He told me to stop going to those places.

Credit: benthomaswwd
@honeydue, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of phillarecette

(5/10)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ

This is really beautiful, My dear friend, Honeydue. It's the simplicity in your words. The utter lack of pretentiousness. Gave coffee a whole new look. A whole new charm.✨

Hope your weekend is going well.🥰

Hey! Great seeing you here. I'm very well, thank you. Hope you are too! :D

No one needs to know

🤣🤣🤣

Congratulations @honeydue! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 8500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 9000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP