Confronting my fears //April #LPUD

in Hive Learners16 days ago

Sometimes when I sit down for a moment to think about life, there will be lots of "what ifs" that run through my mind, and most of these thoughts end up compounding with my fears. We have been told several times that our greatest enemy is fear, but fear remains the one thing that most humans have in common, which we face almost on a daily basis. I think it's normal for humans to be afraid of one thing or another at different points in their lives. Personally, I can't control every thought that flies into my mind, but I try not to allow negative thoughts to stay and cause me fear, which is why I am becoming courageous and taking actions to face my fears.

woman-1867715_1280.jpg


Over the years, my greatest fear used to be failure and death, but not anymore. The fear of poverty has been what I have been dealing with, and I call it a "mental obstacle". This fear started after a terrible financial crisis I encountered with my family in the past. Do you know the feeling of starting a family on a good note financially, and along the way, everything went down the drain? And you are left only with the option of beginning afresh with nothing to fall back on? That was the picture of my past experience. When I was growing up, I never experienced a luxury kind of life with my parents and siblings, but I have never experienced abject poverty. Still, life was just a little bit fair but not rosy. However, this experience I am talking about here was a practical feeling of severe poverty.


I remember discussing with a close friend all that was happening around me and my family, and in the process, I took a selfie and sent it to her. She screamed and asked if I was suffering from a terminal disease without telling anyone, but it was far from it. Nothing like terminal disease but a taste of poverty and a definition of from grace to grass. I think what made me look so horrible then was the kind of thought going on in my brain that made me feel worthless and lost hope in life. I really wouldn't want to dig deep into this experience, but when my family and I finally break out of that ugly poverty experience, I wouldn't think twice without thinking of "what if" I should experience such again, or "what if" I can't find my husband tomorrow and then experience such a kind of poverty and I am made to take on responsibilities all by myself? There were lots of negative "what-ifs" I dealt with before I took the bold decision to confront my fears. See below the actions I took:

1713186709156.jpg


Cultivating a positive mindset was the very first action I embraced in confronting this fear. Before then, I usually had this self-doubt about my abilities, looking down on myself for what I could or could not achieve, but gradually, I developed a clear vision of what I wanted in life and focused my goal on achieving that.

My husband happened to be the last child of his mother but also the only child who shoulder the responsibilities of his siblings and his family at large. And then I told him that sometimes you need to take drastic action and plan on standing firm financially, escaping drawbacks for a moment, to build a business so you can be able to handle the unending responsibilities of your family. Otherwise, building a business and facing financial drawbacks at the same time might linger such a business to God knows when. This was how he agreed for us to build a business, which is currently in progress. I told myself that establishing a business and securing assets gradually can be a good step to facing this fear of poverty while employing more strategies to achieve financial stability. So far, I have remained focused and consistently working on my goals, and to a large extent, I do not feel this fear like before.


Finally, talking about building financial stability as a way of confronting the fear of poverty, I participated in #LPUD today. Gradually growing this second layer token and anticipating a better future.


Screenshot_20240415-132347.jpg


This is my response to the #hivelearners contest on the topic titled Facing my fears and also my entry to #Aprilinleo monthly topic Day 15.Please check out the announcement post to get involved.

Image 1
Image 2 was designed in canva

Thanks for reading ❤️❤️❤️

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 16 days ago  

It was a great story that reminds me about the harsh reality of life. Obviously poverty is a "mental obstacle" that always kill a person from both inside and outside. But we should not give up. We should work hard and give all our focus on our work so that we can overcome our poverty. There have lots of opportunities to income we have to find a way.

 16 days ago  

Glad you could relate with the post and it gave you life reality check. I agree with you that opportunities are out there and needs our discovery for a better life
Thanks for visiting

 14 days ago  

You're most welcome.

 16 days ago  

See this looter has joined everything together in her post 🤣🤣🤣 Don't mind me, I did the same too.

You see that experience of falling from grace to grass isn't a palatable one that I don't wish for people around me. It is that point one would feel hopeless the more and different doubtful scenarios will start coming in.

People will say it is better not to have tasted financial stability than enjoying it then going back to zero. May God help us.
Taking that action to build your business together is a good one. All will surely be well by God's grace.

 16 days ago  

Nonsense girl 😃😃

You know I am following your footsteps 😌😌

You are right with your viewpoint here. And when someone has had such experience, it becomes easy to nurse such fear, however facing the fear will lighten the burden
Thanks for visiting

 16 days ago  

One thing that induces fear the most is the possibility of reliving a terrible past experience. Whenever I remember some difficult times I passed through, the fear of a repeat grips me very badly.

Learning from my mistakes and doing everything possible to stay away from a repeat of ugly incidents helps me tackle fear whenever it comes.

 16 days ago  

Whenever I remember some difficult times I passed through, the fear of a repeat grips me very badly.

This became a nightmare to me for a long time..but it doesn't solve a problem rather facing the fear
You are doing well with your approach
Thanks for visiting

 16 days ago  

Seriously failing in life and disappointing my parents is my great fear the thought of it most time make me more afraid.

Currently been poor is also enough reason to be afraid the fear of not being able to take care of your children need. Is really Scaring

 16 days ago  

Your fears are understandable too
I think you should brace yourself and keep working hard to make yourself and your family proud
So many fears are just scaring here..lol

 16 days ago  

Very very ma

 16 days ago  

Poverty is just one of the biggest fear of everyone. It’s so sad reading about your experience with extreme poverty. But I am grateful you were able to overcome it.

I also love your motives towards fighting your fears.

 16 days ago  

Yea...the goal is to fight it and not allow it stay within us.. like I said, it's a mental obstacle
Thanks for visiting 🥰

 16 days ago  

A pleasure ma

 16 days ago  

Whosoever is not scared of poverty and death is not is not alive or has never tasted it before. The sting of poverty is worst than terminal disease.

I feel for you because it's not easy to start life well and then find yourself all of a sudden in a terrible situation, if it were something you once experienced it would have been better but hmm.

I am glad you scaled through, I believe with your experience now, there is nothing that can freak you in life anymore.

 16 days ago  

My dear...I hope not to face harder experience anymore because you know this life is quite unpredictable..lol
We can only trust God while doing our best

 16 days ago  

Reading through your post actually made me had a reflection about life, seeing as I've also gone through a similar experience, I also have this fear and mine was even right from childhood, I'm glad you overcame this fear of the unknown, especially with a positive mindset, All is well!

 16 days ago  

All is well my dear...no one you pass through a similar experience and wouldn't fear poverty but it's well indeed

 16 days ago  

I tell people, you can't know fear or poverty by reading its definition, it can only be understood when you experience it. Life has a way of taking a drastic turn despite our hopes and dreams for the future. I have no idea what you went through but it must have been horrible. I'm glad you were able to bounce back from it because not everyone could.

 16 days ago  

Experience is indeed the best teacher
I hate to remember the experience myself but I have moved past the issue.. glad to have bounced back my dear

 16 days ago  

Fear of poverty,
That fear knows how to engine-set the brain and makes it go away from this world, the reason why so many people go into dubious act in order to escape.

It's good you pulled out of that phase👍.

Was expecting to see the screenshot of your LP. I knew it's going to dim by eyes but you you refused to.

Let me save my eyes by not walking to your wallet to check.😅

!BBH

 16 days ago  

Haha 😂
Monitoring demons🤣
Let me not see your legs on my account or else...
Hmmm

 14 days ago  

!Lolz 😅

Me that my eyes were blurry while looking the figures

Why can’t you trust an atom?
Because they make up literally everything.

Credit: marshmellowman
@nkemakonam89, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of kingsleyy

(1/2)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

@nkemakonam89! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @kingsleyy. (4/20)

I think life would have been a bit bored without fear. Sometimes we need fear to boost us into working hard to conquer it.
High cost of life is increasing everyday and demand for needs arises at this point we don't have to put our eggs in one basket, engaging in many work that will help increase our finances.
We all pray for a better future.
Wish you success in all you do. Amen

 16 days ago  

Yea.. sometimes, fear can be a source of motivation and a push to work hard
Your viewpoint is valid.. thanks for the contribution

 16 days ago  

The fear of poverty is actually worth thinking about, especially when you have texted goodness and not anymore. In fact, this fear has taken so many people to heaven. This fear of poverty is what some of us are still facing, delaying us from getting married. I just pray everything goes well for us all. It is good to be able to face one fear. weldone nkem.

 16 days ago  

Haha 😆😆😂😂
Delaying u from what? Haha 😂
More money...I am coming for you and @vickoly 😌😌😌

 16 days ago  

We should send Grandpa to get married anytime soon.

Hmmm, we have the same kind of fear my sister, I fear poverty and death so much but that's now in the past, as I am working so hard never to be poor, and with God's backing I never will, it's good you are growing your second layer tokens too as they are steps to securing a better future.

Happy Leo Power Up Day Sis❤❤.

I popped in from Dreemport because I am an awesome #dreemerforlife.

 15 days ago  

It's obvious that you are working hard and it's great to prepare for the future and overcome this mental obstacle called poverty

I'm glad, that bad experiences are all in the past now, look at how far you have come and conquer. Overcoming your fear by building financial stability. !LUV

Is one thing to not have enjoyed money before and it is another thing to not have money anymore and that feeling is worse.

#dreemerforlife

nkemakonam89, funshee sent you LUV. 🙂 (3/4) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

 15 days ago  

That feeling isn't pleasant at all
And I fear experiencing it the second time which is why I am making every effort for a better tomorrow
Thanks for visiting my fellow dreemer

May God always crown your effort 🙏🥰

I can completely relate to your story. And that was also how I started having negative thoughts about myself and future. Always afraid.

I'm glad I'm putting all that away now.

Thank you for sharing, I hope those who are in this stage get to learn from you.

#dreemerforlife

 15 days ago  

It's not always easy but with such experience, the determination to break out will be there
Thanks for coming through

Yes.

You're welcome.

This is a very common fear for sure. The thing is that fear of poverty is not just about poverty, but about what we cannot do when we are poor. Both my wife's and my biggest fear is that we will not be able to take care of ourselves or our parent's medical needs due to lack of money at a time of emergency. And the way medical costs are going skywards I don't know if this fear will ever really go away. All we can do it work towards mitigating it.

Cheers from a fellow #dreemerforlife

 14 days ago  

The thing is that fear of poverty is not just about poverty, but about what we cannot do when we are poor.

Exactly my fellow dreemer
Just like I found it difficult to take my son to the hospital when he fell ill those days and after the whole experience..the fear of poverty and it's effect became a nightmare.
Yea.. working towards mitigating it is the goal
Thanks so much for your well thoughtful comment

I think the fear of poverty would only be pressing when you're lazy but you work tirelessly to have a better life for yourself and your family and I strongly believe that you've already conquered it as a whole. You're doing marvellously, Nkem. Keep it up!✨

#dreemerforlife

 14 days ago  

Indeed jhymi... it's more severe for lazy bums, hahaha 😂
We will keep working hard to conquer it my dear
I appreciate your nice feedback