How did I get back to Alcoy?

in Wednesday Walklast year

Some weeks ago the lonely green road I walked, with the bridges and tunnels, took me to the other side of the world. I'm not sure if it would be a memorable event for everyone, but for me, it was! After all, it doesn't happen every day that you enter a tunnel and end up in Japan. How cool it was, though there was a strange coming back to Spain on the same day that even I was not aware of. I thought I stayed there, and just started to explore around Tokyo but then something didn't fit in the image.

Yes, there were tall buildings but not like I saw in some images of the largest city in Japan. There were also lights and decorations on the streets... still, I had doubts about the place. I started taking photos in hopes that in the end, I would find out where I walked.

DSC_6245.JPG

One of the big buildings was the Cultural Centre, with the announcements of some concerts and performances. That day I didn't have a lot of time to stay and listen to a concert, I needed to find out the location.

DSC_6246.JPG

A new tunnel almost gave me the solution. A tiny one, actually just a passage. My feet led me there, the curiosity gave me the needed energy to pass through it.

DSC_6248.JPG

The result? Just a square with tables, chairs around and parasols. People taking coffee or other beverages... it wasn't really my point to spy what they drink but the thing is that I recognized a kind of square I usually see in medium-sized cities in Spain.

DSC_6249.JPG

The church was also somehow Spanish-like, with the blue dome and the bell tower with the clock. Although the facade was not heavily decorated as happens with some cathedrals in big centres... This must be a smaller city then. More evidence that somehow I left the exotic Japanese city.

IMG_20230412_134604.jpg

Another square, this time a wider one, featuring the City Hall building. Definitely Spanish colours on the flags! Yep. I just had to find out how I came back. My Nkion friend also knew it was the end of the story and refused to take more photos. Its battery died.

DSC_6253.JPG

It wasn't a big deal as I could continue taking evidence with the phone, that is how happened that I ended up with a bunch of photos of the buildings, streets, churches, schools, interesting windows, and more of those lights decorating the streets (not sure if it was always there or there was some celebration so to make the city nicer with the little light during the nights).

IMG_20230412_135410.jpg

IMG_20230412_135536.jpg

IMG_20230412_135146.jpg

IMG_20230412_140112.jpg

In all this walking and searching for the answer where I was, hunger knocked on my door. I say, stomach. To make the confusion bigger... it was a German restaurant and brewery where my lunch was served.

IMG_20230412_153756.jpg

It was tasty. Nothing out of this world, but a nice meal served in a cosy place. The curious thing is that like in Italy (and it happened already twice in the city of Vicenza) we found a German restaurant when everything else was closed.

IMG_20230412_143441.jpg

IMG_20230412_202857.jpg

A cute little snail. Fortunately, the waitress was helpful and pleasant, and not slow as a snail.

IMG_20230412_142813.jpg

Maybe the additional energy from the meal helped to find the answer where was the link between Japan and Spain. There were no tunnels, my Nikon's battery died and all around just proves that we are back on the Iberian Peninsula (after a short German food excursion)... The answer was more obvious than anything.

A huge wall with a mural by the artist Emilio Cerezo! It says Jairo en Japonés, and although I have no clue why this name for the mural or what it means, that is the only explanation of how I got back to this city, Alcoy.

IMG_20230412_160327.jpg

Well, the mural is still a bit unclear, however, it was time to leave this city. One of the bridges had to be crossed to head back home. This time by car instead of tunnels and murals ;)

IMG_20230412_161055.jpg

mipiano_-_MP.png

Sort:  

Things to make a walk memorable: a green road, a little bee at the entrance of a tunnel, and the tunnel that led the walkers to Tokyo. After that, anything is possible.

;)

Let's see if I can help you find clues... well, the camera stopped doing its job. Already that's a sign that something weird was going on... you might have just had déjà vu. Do you remember seeing a cherry blossom tree at the exit of the tunnel? Because what is clear to us is that you saw Emilio Cerezo with his mural Jairo in Japanese... well, I can tell you that maybe you were in that Asian city, but that spatial and temporal jump is tricky, that's precisely why the Nikon ran out of batteries.

If the waitress of the German restaurant was late with that empty place, I myself go and put the snail as a hat. hahahaha...

As always, an excellent walk, mipiano, confusing but delightful. You got the wrong blog footer.

The little bee 🐝 Maybe she also came here but I was too busy watching the buildings that I didn't notice her. And you are right, jumping from one to another place and time can exhaust the old Nikon. It already got one heart transplantation a few years ago, and these activities of mine are killing it slowly.

Hahah, the wrong blog footer, I know. 😂

Thank you, I am glad you liked these scribbles. 😌

It's easy to miss what we don't have. Reading your article made me miss Europe a little bit. = }

I mean Japan.

Then a hug is flying from Japan (wait, I have to go back and pass the tunnel that leads me in a second there) to you across the salty lake ╰⁠(⁠⁠´⁠︶⁠`⁠⁠)⁠╯

Are you calling me bitter?!?!?!

Nope, on the contrary ;)

Are you saying I'm sweet as a lime?! <3

Actually, I thought of a tangerine :))

Which tunnel am I in now? I thought I was going to Japan, but, it seems like Europe! The portals are such an excellent idea. Where to next?

Stunning scenery and the bridges! I stayed in Vincenza when I went to Venice. It was a quick little bus ride and saved lots of $$.

Dear passengers,

We just stepped out from that mural and left the tunnels and Japan behind. The next destination and portal are still to be born in mipiano's mind, and when it happens a free ride will be given to the readers ;)

Vicenza became our usual stop as there is one hotel we really like, and indeed, the price is a bit more affordable. 😉 Last year we didn't manage to get a room there so stayed in Padua. It was nice too.

I liked Padua also. One of my favorite stops was at a small town called Nove where they had the most incredible porcelain pieces. Italy in general was an amazing country and I was so privileged to have spent almost a year there.

Wait!!! Don't close the portal on me!

Wait!!! Don't close the portal on me!

Hahaha, no worries, even if this one accidentally closes, a new one will come :D

One year in Italy? That is cool, one can really feel and learn about a place or country if there is more time for that! I would like to meet the local people, traditions and little villages like that, spending several months (when I retire or leave my job haha), going from town to town but you know how? By a motorbike. But it will never happen as first I have to get my husb like bikes haha.

To Lichtenstein! People don't even know it exists!

I was working when I was in Italy. When a company sends you to a foreign post, you make more money and spend less, so saving it the best! Playing the long game, it is doable to just quit work while you are young enough to travel everywhere or set your standards lower for not buying everything you want and just buying what you need. Or working per diem. That works great.

It is more than possible! :)

Haha, Lichtenstein. Indeed, so small, but would deserve a visit, at least in the imagination. 🎶

You basically went to the three states at once. 🤣

Did you managed to use your German?
At least with snail? 😋

Love the endlessly wide squares, seems like a nice place to grab a mid day coffee.

Hahaha, I forgot to use my German vocabulary, but I think the little snail understood me 😇

He posed calmly!

Midday coffee, maybe ice cream, and not forgotten order for a certain meal :) 👌

You will never forgive them that forgotten order🤣

Never!!

lol

I loved this slightly drier version of Tokyo's Japan... That and your idea about bridges and tunnels as portals to other dimensions... Very novelistic :)
Long time since we spoke, we must have been in close, parallel tunnels 😂

I hope you're doing well 🌻 Have a good Wednesday !

Oh @anttn

I know, like you say, like in parallel tunnels. 😑
Hope we will get into the same one again soon, haha.
You remember when we talked about work and tasks and time? well, it is now even worse 😂

I am glad you liked the bridges and tunnels and murals that act like teleports to other dimensions and places. Now I didn't involve time and time machine, as I sometimes do.
Hope you are also doing well. What about your community? will we collaborate again? let me know if a new idea comes 😇

Indeed, it happens from time to time, but like in a family, it's not a reason to don't think about others ^^

I remember that very well 😂
Ouch ! I hope and wish you still have some free moment for you ! On my side there's enough, but it's because I'm not in Paris those few days ;-)

See you next time for the time travel hehe ! About the community, it's kind of a dead zone haha 😂
What I say here in not a general law but more an personal impression and feeling, but I feel like some were more interested in the rewards as when I propose some prompts without incentives, well... the participation was super down ! But before blaming anyone else, it's more than I didn't have enough time to organise things. Maybe (for sure) I'm also not a super community leader, not leader at all tbh !

But I would definitely be enchanted for some others participations with you 🌱

Have a good day dear @mipiano 😘

Oopsie, a dead zone? No! Let's see it from a positive side. Maybe the community is just hibernating :D
But I know what you mean... the thing about the support in rewards. It happens many times, it's not you who are doing something wrong. In our little music writing corner, we sometimes ( but very rarely) launch challenges or writing prompts but we don't promise a reward, as indeed, it is not granted. When we can - we support the posts, but it is not promised. So, it is a few users that post regularly as they like the niche but not a lot of posts are coming in. It's because we could also announce writing prompts more regularly, but you know - the issue with time. This weekend we spent time making a new logo, it took two days to choose one among the many attempts haha, and there will be some slight changes and preparing a new challenge. But until the weekend just simply impossible. Or maybe next weekend, or the next one lol 😁 Leading a community is not easy but at the same time, it can be fun and enjoyable. Actually, no sense to do anything if there is no pleasure in it! And, time ;)

Thanks, dear @anttn for your wish for a good day, a great evening to you too! I hope to visit some of your posts asap 😇

Everything you say is true and I'm far from feeling bitter about it, but it's true that often, everything is a bit of a choice and I think I've rather chosen to dedicate myself to other things lately... But you never know what the future will bring 😇 !

Take good care and have a good Friday and a pleasant weekend ahead 😘

And I have to agree with you, everything is a bit of a choice, there where we can make it ;)

Thank you and I hope for a good weekend for you too. It was raining today here (but we managed to take a nice walk in the morning) so yes, choosing to see the glass half full and not half empty hahaha :D

Haha, we too had a lot of sun when we left and we came back in heavy rain !

About the glass, I believe I now choose to skip it and to drink directly from the bottle 😂

😘 Happy evening to you

Well those tunnels are really cool because they take u to beautiful cities like this one and even if the camera doesn't work you can use you cell phone and take good pictures of all those great streets , restaurants and squares I really enjoy them 😎

Yes, you remember these tunnels, I am sure :)) And now murals also came into the story. Who knows, when you paint one, you make a portal to arrive at one place you would gladly go 😇

I would wished it!!! 😅😅😂😂

Start painting :P

Arm yourself with some magical brushes, colours and imagination ;)

🐱😎🖌️

What a beautiful route, the streets look familiar hahaha they look like the ones here.

I really liked the cafeteria and the final picture, of course the tunnel that leads to Japan.... to me that takes me to Egypt, straight to the pyramids.

Hugs @mipiano 🤗

Yeah, I imagine the streets look familiar :)
The same happens with little villages, right? the narrow streets and white houses, with flowers and chairs in front of the doors.

Now Egypt, it must look completely different than the Spanish surrounding, but I have never been there, so I don't really know ;)

Yes the villages too, I have been to several of them and they are lovely.

I've always been fascinated by Egypt because of the pyramids above all, one day I'll go there... I'm sure it's very different, but only for a visit hahaha

Yeah, only for a visit. Though there are places we visit and like and then wish to stay there.

Well for many I was visiting Spain and I stayed here .... in fact I fell in love with this city. That's right.❤️

loving that little snail, and I trust you imbibed a nice Weissbier? in japan, France Outer Mongolia or even Spain

Even I don't know where am I :D

Need to find a new portal soon for a new journey, but with a better GPS 😂

🥂

😂😂😂🚀

Very beautiful photos!

Thank you 😇

That would be little difficult, but it okay that you find the way to capture the photos. Yess the snails looks so cute. It something that I was looking for this restaurant is so quiet.

Yes, I found the way to take some more photos, the phone was there, with a better battery level :)

Beautiful!A clean blue sky and very sunny day to enjoy there in some of those squares... 😉

It was a clear and sunny day, indeed. Well, most days it is like that :))

Ahhh jaja exactly, a very sunny city right? 😎

☀️☀️☀️

I like the architectural design of the building, and also the bridge which looks nice and beautiful. And the hall of interest to me is the mural. It looks like an abstract painting. Everything looks beautiful mam.

There were several bridges there, unfortunately, I missed taking photos of them 😅 The mural was interesting, yes, it seems that it was my gate back :D

Yes mam. The mural image looks abstract, thus creating multiple interpretations in its meaning.

I salute the neat buildings there, the arrangement is really great, especially the bridge that you share at the end of the photo, it looks very beautiful.😍

I liked it too, the bridge I mean. The city was ok, not really special as the shops and restaurants were mainly closed, it was midday, and I think everyone had a break (siesta). I guess during the evening and night are nicer but we headed home in the afternoon!

Yeah, maybe the excitement will be different at night, it's different during the day.

That's true.

This winter we travelled for a few days and the cities during the night were so beautiful, with Xmas decorations and lights. It stays a really nice memory!

Yes, I totally agree, even though I live in a small town, I feel comfortable adapting at night, the atmosphere is very cool.

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you @brumest 😎

This design of a bridge become common nowadays..been seeing like this kind in photos taken from different parts of the world, even in our country and here in HK 😅..
Those buildings are enormous..it would have been great if you entered the cultural center.
I was at the Cultural center one weekend but wasn't able to watch cultural shows as well because it was already night..
!LUV

Haha, well I took a similar photo also in another city, that I still didn't post, so more bridges from that angle will come :D

The cultural centre. We didn't enter, more time would be needed to visit everything, like museums and cultural events, but we spent just one day there, in the afternoon we already headed home.

The buildings amazed me, I am so amazed at how perfectly built. Walking in this kind of street will surely make you feel alive throughout the day :)

Nice buildings, that's true, although not the most interesting place... still, it was nice to spend a day there (well, half a day as we were also in nature before the walk in the city)
Thank you for coming with me here @teacherlynlyn ;)

Doubling up because I'm moving slowly now...

Happy #wednesdaywalk(s) 👀 👣

You are walking a lot, all around, green paths, tunnels, bridges and Tokyo, I mean Alcoy streets ;)))))

Thank you @nickydee, happy Wednesdaywalk to you too ☀️

😂

Well... it looks beautiful there!

And I do Iove a good t-shirt!

such a fascinating walk I loved looking at the cool detail of allt he architecture

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk, its my pleasure to host it and see all the posts each week from all around the world, including yours, if you have time visit some of the other walks this week there are so many interesting ones

Thank you @tattoodjay

Glad you liked it ;)

The weather looks great. Thank you for sharing!

Sunny and bright :))

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1882.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you @ybanezkim26 😇

The way all these emirates are built I really like their maps, they are old fashioned but they are very strong.

These buildings indeed look strong, we could trust in them more than in the newly built ones.

Congratulations @mipiano! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 25000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 26000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal