Foothills Parkway in The Great Smoky Mountains Of Tennessee

in Pinmapple3 years ago

Rather than congesting the blockchain with rabbit hole findings and finger pointing, the stunning @puravidaville and I flew fingers (middle) at rabbit hole sources like "election shmelection!" What the world could use a lot less of right now anyway is :squawk: parrots. So we rabbit-holed mother nature instead.

img_4769.png
Little Tennessee River Unenhanced images - iPhone 8+

Since arriving in East Tennessee a little over a month ago, it's been suggested to us on three separate occasions to check out Foothills Parkway. "You have to see it," they said. "The views are spectacular!"

Foothills Parkway is a 72 mile national route, winding through the Great Smoky Mountains that's been connecting US 129 to Interstate 40 since 1944. The drive is about as scenic as they get; gorgeous, breathtaking, inspiring, insert your favorite adjective here: ______________.

The entrance (or exit) to Foothills Parkway runs perpendicular to Little Tennessee River, a 135 mile run-off of the Tennessee River—a location immune to bad photos.

img_4772.png

img_4774.png

Before touring the parkway itself, we spent a few hours on foot enjoying the natural landscape carved into the earth courtesy of Little Tennessee River. At one point we were welcomed by a suspension bridge with services to the side less traveled.

img_4775.png

img_4776.png

img_4777.png

We decided to make our way up the parkway with a handful of turn-outs conveniently located every few miles. Many artists were in attendance with their canvases and brushes in hand while appreciating natures inspiration.

En route to the paved Parkway, we ventured down a single-lane gravel road distanced from society. At one point, that joke about the chicken crossing the road became a little clearer to me. They're not chickens at all, they're turkeys.

img_4778.png

img_4779.png

img_4780.png

As seen on Foothills Parkway

We stopped at several turn-outs to take it all in, no wonder more than one person suggested we make our way there. A common phrase I'm sure you're familiar with goes: 'A picture's worth a thousand words' and, although I agree with that statement, a picture also presents its own unique challenges when attempting to capture the same beauty on film as seen by the naked eye—you just have to open them.

img_4781.png

img_4782.png

img_4783.png

img_4784.png

img_4785.png

img_4786.png

FF68705CAC6D4BDBB1CDBD15A84A01C9.jpeg

4649350B-ED00-4720-9AF1-DF0F8ECC6F96.jpeg

Sort:  

So you let supper walk across the road in front of you and didn't shoot it?

Dude I killed it! With an iPhone. How many times we gonna do this, remember? My weapon of choice is a cannon! Wait, damn autocorrect, camera. Canon only has one Nnn. It did it again!

I'm telling you, if you want to eat good you need to use something a little more high velocity than one of those one n canons!

I didn't laugh out loud at all just now, was that supposed to be funny?

Nah, just testing to see if you was out of kush yet or not.

Out? I didn't know that was an option, out like out-out. Pft. You see the humans we're surrounded by, how else we supposed to deal with'em.

Eh, since I still got you, ain't it frikkin great the way sarcasm is portrayed virtually? There's no gray area, I end up having to explain myself or just keep messaging the same people.

I assume it happens to people occasionally. I always preferred not to deal with them but I know what you mean.

You mean there's a way to indicate sarcasm virtually? I usually end up having to explain or deal with angry people. Then again that happens to me offline too... What happened to people's sense of humor? Or was I mistaken in assuming that they had one?

!BEER
for @dandays

Much love @eii. Thank you!

I always love to explore such kind of national park, it's very refreshing to explore. Love that wooden bridge, quite adventurous... Everything seems peaceful... Love your photographs too...

Well thank you @priyanarc, and thanks for dropping me a line. Funny how some of the best moments in life are the ones that didn't cost anything. Or was it the ones we don't remember? 🤔 Nah, gotta be the free ones.

Well, the best moments are not costly I think, I don't remember a 5-star hotel dinner but I remember a nice park instead...

Very well said. The food was probably good, just not sure what I had. But views and nature and the feeling of free tastes way better than that meal.

I just checked out your recent 3speak video. I can't even pose for pictures! Kudos to you being so comfortable in front of the camera.

Hahaha , see you remember the beauty of the park rather than food :D... Yes, I have been making videos for a long time, almost 2 years but still, I struggle talking in front of the camera with a proper accent like other vloggers :D

Be proud of your English. I've toured many countries, 13 to be exact and I'm always so impressed with how well everyone's English is. I'm American so, you know, I only know English thanks to my indoctrination system but I've managed to pick up a little Spanish and Greek.

An accent is expected but your English is spot on. Good for you @priyanarc.

Thank you so much, now I am practicing to learn Russian as I Iive in Ukraine and it's quite an interesting language as well. Slowly, I am learning and kinda enjoying my slow language learning journey :D Nice to meet you :)

Not too shabby there chief. I'll take a wild turkey over a parrot any day. Some fine exploring there. Might have to add that to my list here, too.

Posted using Dapplr

I'll take a wild turkey over a parrot..

Only thing that woulda been cooler than that is if I said it myself. Good one.

It's gorgeous here, not far from you either. The difference between Nashville and Knoxville is all over the place. The terrain, the weather, the pace, we'll see you when you get here Plants. Better hurry though, Pura's ready to split!

Dang, tell her to hold on until after the holidays! 🤣 Weekends around here are starting to get a bit jammed with the season getting into full swing. Not that we're over here partying or anything, just banking on some time with the fam.

Looks like my kind of place, don't ya just love the mountains in the fall.
It WAS so colorful here just a few weeks ago but now our last tree, a big old oak , has finally dropped the last of of it's leaves.
Winter is just around the corner, we are already losing the light.

On my birthday, I jokingly said to the sweed, wouldn't it be nice to have a wall of glass out the side of the house that gets the best winter sunlight? It's a big thing for me, to have light. Last year he built a big window box for a fairly large window we have on that side of the house, worked great to germinate our seeds, it was getting great sunlight most of the day and he installed grow lights also. Love it.

Back to my birthday...just mentioning this whim of having more light coming into the house put the sweed's brain into overdrive.
By the time I awoke the day after my b-day bash, I saw drawings of an addition on the table and Bob's truck gone. Within an hour he pulled into the driveway, truck loaded with cement and other stuff .

Robin's Sunroom was a go!!

Ya gotta love this guy!!

I love'em and our relationship is purely digital. You're a lucky gal.

He's been mentioning the bedroom addition sunroom for about a month now. I'm not surprised by the construction, I'd be shocked, however, if he didn't do what makes you happy.

My kinda guy

Yea, the fall colors and the leaves and the way the leaves twirl through the air as they reach their final destination is impossible to catch on film. I know you know what I'm talking about but where I come from, there isn't even grass. These trees, the grass, beautiful nature, I'm surrounded by it and there isn't a sky scraper anywhere near me blocking the sunlight.

'Normal' has shifted

Thanks for checkin this one out @farm-mom, I'm glad you liked it and I appreciate the reblog. Now go pack that man a freshy, he's got work to do!

Great photos. I like the ones of the view from up top. Looks like a beautiful spot with the leaves just starting to change colors. The turkeys would be cool to see as well. I like that sort of thing

Hey @leaky20, thanks for stopping by. Yeah that location really made it difficult to snap a bad shot, I'm glad you liked them--thank you.

Those turkeys were running alongside the car. I stopped to grab a picture and they began crossing the road right in front of me, about 10 of them. :flash: :flash: : flash:

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

We are giving away 2000 Hive for reaching 1000 travel digests
Anyone and everyone can join!
Join the raffle and check the 1000 contest post

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Nice to see you @pinmapple!


Hey @dandays, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Here's to you @beerlover. 🍻

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.io/diyhub!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

This is my first time hearing from you @diyhub, I'm pleasantly surprised, thank you!

You're a sweetheart @priyanarc. ❤️

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1028.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

I really appreciate this @pinmapple. @livinguktaiwan, much love from me to you.

It seems like that area is growing on you. What's not to love. Many of the great pictures you included in this post remind me of Upstate NY. The picture of the bridge is cool.
Wild turkey, mountain streams, farm equipment, rolling hills, spectacular views, dirt pathways through the woods, and loads of PRIVACY, dam I feel like I'm at home.

Great link, and to think I've never heard of this outfit, how is that even possible?
Already the biggest broadcaster in the country, Sinclair is poised to make its biggest move yet. If the FCC approves Sinclair’s $3.9bn purchase of an additional 42 stations, it would reach into the homes of almost three-quarters of Americans.

Have a wonderful day and give my regards to Pura.

It sure is cool you pay attention to the links I attach. You'd be surprised how many people I know have never heard of Sinclair, I had no idea. seems like 90% or more never even heard of them, they're good at staying hidden aren't they? Silent killer.

So when I continue hearing the same fed lines from everyone's mouth, I feel obligated to introduce them to their source.

Sir, I already have an outstanding reason to count on a visit to Upstate, you mean to tell me the scenery is equally as beautiful?! Man, when's this Covid shit gonna end?!

Happy Friday from us to you guys. Have a great weekend @thebigsweed and thanks for keeping an eye on me--much appreciated the reblog.

Check out Pura's latest piece:

img_4879.heic

Wow, I love it.
It looks like Blackbeard's Queen Anne's Revenge appearing out of nowhere, poised to terrorized its next victim.
Great choice of colors, different than what you would expect. In my eyes, the colors add a feeling of impending doom.
That girl of yours sure is talented!

The links that folks include are interesting for two reasons, 1st they usually turn me on to something educational, and secondly, they give me some insight into what other people are interested in.

Enjoy the day, talk later. Sunrise here 6:43, time to done the tool belt, shit I'm 2 minutes behind my hobbitazional schedule, it's hell being retired.

I didn't know she could paint! Fun fact--neither did she. In her mid-30's and even her mother didn't know she knew what a paint brush was.

One day I was doing my digital and she said she wanted to paint. 'Uhm, ok.' Went down to the craft store and picked up the items I pictured and within days she did that flower blossom tree. Now she's got 5 pieces under her belt including the one we sent to you guys and they just keep getting better.

Enjoy your weekend man, don't be a stranger.

Arts

Excellent work Pura, beautiful!

"Awe! Thanks @farm-mom, you're beautiful!"

That was a quote