Sort:  

with a view to extort the community members, but luckily for us, the Community stood strong and we informed a good number of people via discord dm and on threads as well. With this, the hackers had one of the worst days of their lives.

2/

Whereas our community was strong to repel the attack, but in some other cases the hackers would have struck a gold mine.

Thus, it is important that we try to be informed and educated not to fall for these hackers anytime.

3/

  1. Phishing Scams is one of the popular hacking techniques. It involves creating similar website to deceive uninformed users, such that when they enter their private details, the hacker would get the details and can use it at will.

4/

To guard against phishing scams it is important to avoid visiting untrusted sites or clicking unverified links. Also try to verify if you are in the right website, and don't reveal your private passwords easily.

5/

Ponzi schemes come with high return on investment such that if you allow your greed to direct your path, then you will fall flat. But they rely heavily on the influx of new investors to pay old members.Where no new investors it crashes

6/

In order not to fall victim to such schemes, it is important to always checkmate your greed level, because oboi, it can lead you astray. Also, don't get carried away by mouth-watering claims,always do your own research before investing

7/

You should also be aware of Pump & dump, or rug pull projects because many of them will come with false hypes to attract investors so that when people invest in them, they sell off and tank the value of the low-market-cap token

8/

Don't fall victim to these schemes. Always do your own research by reading the whitepaper, checking the roadmap, the development team, technology and the use cases of the token before investing.

Don't fall victim!

9/

I was truly surprised by the recent Discord hacking incident in Leofinance. Fortunately, the amount of damage was minimal, but I never thought that such a scam would occur so close to me. We must be cautious and vigilant.

Yes, that was really a close one and something I believe should never have occurred. But, hopefully, I believe we should be really careful at all times henceforth.

I think the best thing you can do is to keep your keys offline first of all. If you want you can also have a cold wallet which will help and use burners for anything u not so familiar with. and always DYOR and ask close friends to confirm

Yea, this is a good one. I am actually guilty of the keeping keys offline, because I know that if I do that it will get lost at some points. I really wish I can find a better place to keep it offline, if not... still on my drive for now

Um you could put it in a safe with a key? I think banks have a safe deposit box or you can have your own safe or something . well it's up to you haha if you want to be truly safe!

😂 Yea, that's so true.

Well, maybe I'll try the safe box in banks someday, but now that my crypto wallet is worth a total of around $1,000, maybe I haven't gotten to that stage yet... lol

oh that's not too much . if you're ok with losing that much then it's totally fine :P

haaaaaa

No naaa 😂😂😂😂

I didn't say I am okay with losing that much. 😂

I'd try as much as possible to get it sone!

I see no worries lol. Hopefully you get it settled soon. That 1000 dollars will be more in the coming years :)

Some people's direct affiliation with crypto is through ponzi project, I'll directly add that it's important for people not to show greed, and do a lot of research as well

Actually, my first encounter with crypto was through ponzi, those Ethereum smart contracts of 2020. The likes of Forsage, Millions Money and Authoetherbot.

Some of my friends got up to 2 or more Eth, but because of upgrading to get 14..

I know forsage back in the day. I think they never expected eth to blow up like that. Some people still don't know the potential of Crypto. Them still dey listen to the SEC up and

Maybe they did, or maybe they didn't.

But then, these smart contract made many people hate crypto. I know few of my friends who've said they don't want anything to do with crypto... say crypto na scam. While their greed was the scam

Hahaha obviously their greed was the scam, people actually approach without doing their due diligence, to be very honest. Na them come later lose

hahaha

Yes, you know say Ponzi dey sweet those days. During the time of MMM and the rest, omo, I benefitted a lot from those smaller ones like Claritta. At some point,e be like say the system fold in my favour.Over 30 people sent me 1,500

Na you be the real Robinhood. I spent 3k in Claritas and only made back my 3k the thing too pain me

Mhen, it was just like say God answer my prayers. Although I didn't know that it was the system folding. In fact, I did Father Christmas to people and told them to register with the money I gave them. lol

Hahaha Omo, I think this is why someone we need more better projects, so that the mindset of people fit actually change you know.

But it was with the Millions Money and Authoetherbot that I understood the Ponzi psychology, because I tried to do all calculations in order to win it, then I discovered that it is unwinnable, unless you invite like 100,000 people or more

100,000 people, they don know say, una no fit achieve am. I never really knew any Crypto project except spin and win BTC

or more Eth, they lost all.

Right now, many just wished they had bought and held for a longer time, because Eth was just around $100 at that time. Imagine buying 10 Eth, na wa ooo...

This life just be like tom tom.

I think the best way to be sure is to have the money in the trezor, if they are good amounts, only then can we sleep peacefully knowing that our keys are not in danger #brownlios

"Trezor"

I don't know what that means actually.

Also, creating a separate account for airdrops is actually the best, so that you don't fall victim.

The best I think is not clicking on suspected links and most certainly keeping your keys offline.

Yes, not clicking links is the best, na just temptation and greed dey carry people go where dem no know.

😅 that one is true. Immediately you see click to earn 50 dollars, your hands dey shake

As in eeen, and that time the devil is actually fast in his doings. Baba no dey carry last for that kyn matter 😂

😂 baba never go carry last. It’s just best to switch your phone off #blacklions

The power button no wan gree off again oo.

you know when these things want to happen to someone, it will just be as if them plan everything. Everything will happen concurrently, that you will not know whether it is your village people😂

😂 it is always our village people. Them suffer for our mouths oo #blacklions

I avoid any url that I don't know and scan my pc with 3 anti virus frequently. This helps a lot to not get hacked or something else.

That is actually awesome.

Using antivirus actually helps us reduce the effect of these scam stuffs. We need to be protected at all times.

They don't make your pc slow? Which ones do you use?

I just have one installed in my pc, and it's kaspersky. The other 2 i just scan without installing, they are ESET online scanner and Trendmicro House Call. You can scan with kaspersky without installing too i think

oooooh I didn't know that you could do that. Thanks!!!

I also noticed the alarming rate in scams these days, and I have also made few preventative measures myself. I have learnt a few other measures from your post in which I will implement. Thanks for sharing!

Yea, it is as if the more advanced the digital world get into, the more we have more digital and advanced hacking techniques.

Let's keep getting informed, and informing others so that we grow and overcome them.

There are always backdoors to these things, that's why knowledge is power. I'm happy I stumbled on the post

Yea, that's true. But it is only for the well informed people, those who are'nt informed or knowledgeable on this will not be aware!

Yep totally agree we must verify the urls well even if it is from someone you trust. I already learned it LOL

hahaha

Yes, even if it is from someone you trust. Because who knows, the person must have been compromised, or his account has been.

I hope we don't fall into such situation

exactly what happened to me last friday. I totally thought it was legit and I didn't checked the url, the images, nothing, I just thought it was part of the campaign LOL

Honestly, the timing was actually critical, because many people don't want to miss out on getting points, so without checking they jump in immediately.

I'm glad the community informed many others.

yeah that was really great, that helped a lot of people. And it actually showed that we can have an extra layer of protection on threads

Yes, unlike some other communities where their only means of communication is discord or medium. There will be no way to reach other members, except lets say Telegram

yeah or on twitter, sending some kind of warning, but telegram is not a bad idea because everyone has their phone and you can text them directly

We need to avoid clicking on unsafe links and should not enter the key anywhere unless we are not sure of the authenticity.

#brownlions

Exactly, it is indeed paramount. so that we dont end up saying had i known!

you need to do your due diligence. #1 tip when in doubt, stick to Hive!

That truly seems to be the most sensitive course worthy of high level attention , from the crypto world.

And same should be an individual sense of security related discreet over his or her holding crypto currency.