Same, Same But Completely Different

in LeoFinance2 years ago (edited)

7.png

hr.png

I gave up on social media in around 2020, I think.

I deleted my Facebook account after some years of being disgruntled with the platform. People seem to think you have to have a business page up there to have some kind of web presence proper these days.

Perhaps they're right but I've never had many business leads, from Facebook, that were worth the annoyance of having to spend time there promoting myself.

Still...

I ended up having to return to market a new business in 2022 because people seem to think if it's not on Facebook, then it's not authentic or trustworthy.

If you don't see the irony in this then I don't even know what will make you smile wryly.

hr.png

F*ckall had changed in the year(s) I'd been gone.

The same posts were being recycled and nobody was being themselves in any way whatsoever. Still.

Some of my connections, who'd also been fed up with the way the platform was going, had also disappeared. But, beyond that, absolutely nothing had changed. Bar some new pretty stringent bots and the random shutting down of accounts if they were provoked.

I found it only made me irritable having to deal with all of it again.

Because that is how it's been designed and what it has been designed to do. !

hr.png

I began an art installation for my profile, to voice my distaste without actually saying anything because, f*ck knows, you can't share honestly on Fakebook.

But it's more than enough to express things without words, at times.

Sometimes words don't work very well anyway.

The statement was aimed at the artificiality of the experience on Facebook. And most mainstream social media, in fact. As well as Facebook's shift to "Meta", the implications of this and the intention motivating it. Of course.

Below is the transforming profile over some weeks. The goal of which was to leave the profile up on completion of the transformation, to sit idle permanently and to use the business page anonymously.

I was busy with an NFT project behind the scenes ([meta] Verse), that I'd then use the transformed profile to market...

as my new, purely digital self - Met[t]a Me...

who everybody seemed to find far cooler and far more acceptable. until I found Hive ❤️

 


1.png


2.png

No. I had not yet heard of Hive or seen the logo... "synchronicity"?


3.png


4.png


5.png


 

It was during this transformation, and slow exit, on Facebook that I discovered Hive as the Facebook profile moved towards its completion.

 


6.png


7.png

 
Done.

hr.png

I can only say, when I first joined Hive, that it took over a month to decompress from mainstream social media and to start trusting that any of this was real.

That this wasn't some kind of scam, and that there wasn't some clever thing rigged behind the scenes, to f*ck me over and take as much as could be taken from me.

Maybe two months of decompression, in fact.

hr.png

A few months into Hive and this happened...

 


8.jpg


9.jpg

 


For Art's sake

 

art.jpeg

@andreart99 I've been following you for some time with interest! And @akida I came back to complete my purchase!

hr.png

@traciyork, I said I would and today's the day ❤‍🔥

sb-hr-2.png

Eternal Seeker
Hardened Dreamer
Mother
Warrior
Determined Dancer
and Stargazer

still...

Beyond fear is freedom

And there is nothing to be afraid of.

To Life, with Love... and always for Truth!
Nicky Dee

sb-hr-2.png

All images created with GIMP

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @ladytitan ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Gosh, I loved this! Nicky, I am so glad you ventured onto Hive (love the little honeycomb elements in your transitioning FB overflow pic haha)... and decided to stay❣️ I'm sorry I haven't been around for a bit. I was away for a couple of weeks from Mid-October and then spent most of last week working out how to survive jetlag and sleep deprivation. When I take a break in the mountains... funny enough... my whole being tends to go into R&R mode and then I don't want to spend much time at all writing or on Hive... !LOLZ ... I just want to enjoy the moments in my happy place. I literally wrote 4 posts in October and they were 3 related to Dreem-WOTW and 1 for #speekpeece. The only ones I wrote while away were my #speekpeece post and my entry for Dreem-Wotw 🤣See what I mean? hehe

I love how authentic and honest you are - what you see is what you get... a kind, compassionate, intelligent, and beautiful human being - you lay yourself on the line - no bullshit... It's refreshing! tbh I hardly ever look at Facebook these days. I am so much more fulfilled on Hive in terms of engagement and support. I still keep my profile active though and drop in maybe once a week to see if any of my actual friends and family have put any new photos up of their shenanigans... but my FB visits have become fewer and farther between.

I saw your message Sunday on whatsapp and listened to it 🤗 - what a nice surprise it was to see your name in my notifications. I started sending you a voice reply more times than the fingers on one hand, and each time I was interrupted by the kids or the hubby doing their thing through the house... who knew that taking out the recycling would take that long or be that blimmin' noisy! Anyway... I will drop you a proper reply after I get a few hours' sleep and get the kids to school this Monday morning... I am still awake at 5.30 am YES!!! Because I slept 20 hours between Friday night and Sunday morning... it was sheer bliss and so very much needed. And now I know I am gonna be a little tired today... but hopefully my body clock will swing back into place from this evening for good... until the next time that I go away that is!

I have had a number of blogs open for the past week (including yours)... and just have not gotten to them because I've been so exhausted... so I've just been getting through my commitments here. But I am starting to feel a lot better and more refreshed, so fingers crossed I will be more visible and available again🤗I'll catch you on whatsapp a bit later today🤗

!LUV !ALIVE !LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@samsmith1971, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @nickydee and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/2 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

@nickydee! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

What is it called when a writer is sick of writing?
Authoritis!

Credit: reddit
@nickydee, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @samsmith1971

Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(1/4)

Hello! 😁

What a lovely long comment as always and you just bring a whole ton of sunshine along with you. Even when you're jetlagged!

Special lady 🥰

I know in full how busy you are and never pressure from me. Ever. Honest. Because no bullshit 🤓👍

Also hit a hump here. Relate. It's as though when you rest you suddenly realize how tired you are! I've also been laying super low to replenish a bit. We need that as creatures, I think so it's all good

As you can tell. Everything has been delayed so take your time and no rush. I'm busy looking for a stable base to work from for the next 3 months. So busy with that and can then create again.

Sull season has begun and its going to be difficult to find accommodation for the next bit. So life admin first

Meh

But it must be done

😘

Oh, I do hope you find something soon. That must be a little exhausting and stressful in itself, needing to sort that out. I will say a little prayer for you that things go smoothly, my lovely.

And isn't it crazy how tired we actually get before we fully realise it!!! I need to look after myself better too, I know that 🤗I'm getting there... it's a constant battle of the wills... and I do love the late hours hehe ... but I realise how much I love my sleep too 💗 - so I'm rooting for a good balance to be found. I dropped your a VM on whatsapp... big hugs xx !LUV !ALIVE

@nickydee! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (5/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I saw your message and look forward to hearing you!

I'm going to listen with I can give it my full attention :) On the go here. Of course... but towards a bit of a rest stop for the next bit, I hope.

North or South is the question now... 😊

untitled.gif

I say go where the sun is shining and the people are nice 💗

Sadly Hive has no permanent accommodation available so let's see what we can find out here!

untitled.gif

You will find something perfect for you and your son - don't lose hope - you got this mama ❣️😊

hehehe i was out of town and had this open on my computer to read - and FINALLY got to it! (i've become a teeny tiny eensy weensy bit addicted to this NaPodPoMo challenge LOL but today is my get-caught-up-ish day to read, post, tabulate, check, comment.. and la la la) hehehehe

so much of what you said resonated with me - i left in 2017 and came back for a tiny stint in... hmmm 2020? because we thought we needed to try facebook to generate some interest in a project.

har de har har.

i left again about 39 hours later laughing and thinking... seriously? what was i thinking?? LOL It is just the worst place ever. I don't mind that some of my family members are still there - cuz I know they'll eventually see and make the change haha. I'm just glad that I'm not sucked into the banality of it. yuck.

It always makes me happy to hear that someone has found healing through connection on a platform like Hive. Its the community really. when you find your space - its just a little slice of home.

i hope you're having the best time with some horses hehehe enjoy being out in nature and get in lots of laughter and lots of breathing fresh air! come back to us refreshed :)

love to you!!!

Hey hey

I am finally only (trying) to relax today. I think it's taken me 7 days to actually slow down 😆

Funny thing

When you take a break you realize how darned tired you actually are. Now thinking of heading into the mountains for a proper disconnect and silent retreat on my own for a couple of weeks.

I haven't had a break or holiday for almost four years with these last years and man am I tired. Let's see what happens next.

The horses are divine. More to follow...

Please tag me in one of your podcasts so I can listen? :)

Chris has joined us with interest in them so nicely done.

Or I'll come and find you on the weekend to support. So slow here today it took me 15 minutes to reply here

(Not really but you get the drift)

Love you back! 😘🥰

I’ve just fallen in love with you over the last few days! You remind me of friends made in protest camps, fellow travelers looking to get lost whom I’ve crossed paths with in national parks…

Your soul shines out with a brutal truth that somehow filters through the lens of your fabulous personality to uplift. You are just a star!!

I wish I could make you a cup of tea and offer some hugs and food when I hear of your experience with the police. I know we live in different circumstances, but I feel is it universally true that police are a corrupt entity that insures class warfare and brutality.

PTSD sucks, overcoming trauma, healing generational issues… even relating to the earth is a journey in these modern times. From what I know of you, I think you are excelling at overcoming the things that could’ve broken you. I am proud of you, sending hugs from across the ocean :)

What a simply awesome and happiness making comment you utterly beautiful woman!

Come and live over here and we'll start a village! 🥰

I'm really touched by your support and appreciate the validation so much. This is how we heal, by the way. Just hearing each other. Thank you for hearing me. Even when it's hard to ❤️❤️❤️

So much love to you and thank you for... well... for you! 💥

I am so happy you found your way on here. You bring so much to the platform and I really appreciate all the support you have given me.
I didn't last long on Facebook, few months I think, it was just sucking the life out of me really, that's how it felt anyway.
There is a wonderful community on here, yes it has it's pros and coms but that's life really, it's what we add to it that counts xxx
Love that re entry image xxxxx

"Sucking the life out of me".

That sums it up pretty well!

Thank you and ditto, fellow traveler. It's been really inspiring to find you and see you just doing it and making it work.

Stepping outside the little boxes and finding your own way.

You're brave and wonderful.

Keep on keeping on 😊💗

seeing the moral outrage, personal judgement and bickering of people who have never met the people it's all about.

The very reason I too quit Facebook a few years ago. I stayed away from social media and focused on my boys then Hive came! Hi there, @nickydee. 😃😃 So you blog on Medium? I've been giving that platform a side glance and wondering how it works there. Of course, I do this because this place has made me a little bold as a blogger.

Happy to have you on Hive and good to know you are finding your way around. No system is perfect but Hive is a far better improvement to Facebook. Truly, it doesn't come close at all. Facebook is a killer 🤣

Happy Hive PUD and thanks for sharing your inspiring story 😊🤗

Loading...

Muitoooo obrigada and many thanks for mentioning me. Aaaw super nice post. Wowowow. Have to rehive it. ❤️🤗✨🎶💕🎉🎨✨ Hive hugs tooo yaaaaaaa

Thanks for the time, comment and rehive.

And for the gorgeous art!

It's for my daughter. It reminds me of her ❤️😊

🤗❤️💕🎨✨ Thats soo kind and cute of you. Thanks back to you for supporting my art. Muitoooo obrigada.

Hope it will give the best memories and hope that your daughter will like it. 💖💕💖💕💖💕

Actually it reminds me of my little chosen family ...

Very special piece 👏

Ohana. 💕💖💕 This Hawaiian word says it best 🙏🏼✨🤗💕 family is everyone we carry in our hearts 💖🙏🏼✨🤗💕ʻOhana Means Family and friends and Means Nobody Gets Left Behind or Forgotten.😊🐝🐝🐝🐝🐝🙏🏼✨

May it be so 😊

Ohana ❤️

🙏🏼✨💕OHANA 🙏🏼✨💕

OMG, what a surprise I find myself I feel very honored because I did not imagine that someone was interested in my art after so long, I am infinitely grateful for your support and I hope to be closer in the future, many greetings.

I LOVE your work 😊

Never stop making art 💥

Congratulations @nickydee! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 50 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 2 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-10 - Winners List
Be ready for the 11th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2022

thank you very much for appreciating my work, it would be an honor if you could collect more of my pieces, I appreciate the support, best wishes to you!

I totally will.

Adore you work. Keep on making art <3

!LUV