Sort:  

Did you see what Boris Johnson announced in the UK? All electric cars, no exception within ten years. Let's see how that goes Boris. If they said that here I'd hate to be the one to prise me out of my diesel. Lol.

I just did, thanks. It says Branson is on board and named a few other rich people. I heard something like that about here but all I could find is by 2040 1/2 the vehicles will be electric.

That's gonna piss off the oil guys.

I'm not against electric, but in a vast country like Australia, with not much in between towns and cities for thousands of miles, it is problematic. If they can produce off-roaders that have the range then all good, if not, it dino-fuels for me. :)

Knock it off. I already haven't been able to shut up about diving GBR for two weeks.

Lol...

This is how they do it over there...

You see that?! Who the hell rides on top of the car these days without the recliner extended?

Rookie!

Mr.Bean is a bit of a clown...Clearly no idea! Everyone knows you have to open the recliner!

It's the same here. Big spaces between places. A 300 mile range (480 km) is enough here on the road, the charging infrastructure is catching up, but off road? Better pull a trailer with solar panels on top and a generator inside :)

Yeah, it's the lack of range, and cost of infrastructure to put in stations, that's the problem. My LandCruiser has 1100km driving range from a single tank (highway cycle and towing my camper), so I'd want that sort of range from an electric off roader. I think they will do it. I like electric and support it, but they have to get real with range and charging time.

Charging time is happening fast. Charging your Tesla at a Supercharger will take about 50 minutes from 10% to 95%.

Range is a factor of how much battery you can carry. It'll catch up, but it's going to take a little time.

It's the same with motorcycles. To get me to even look it needs 250 miles and that really isn't there yet.

Making batteries more lightweight options will help also. There's some good stuff coming through on that front, the Lithium Polymer types for instance. It'll get there.

He's not going to pry you out of your diesel. That's new cars only.

He is, however, going to make it just stupid damn expensive to pour any diesel fuel in your tank.

UK is perfect for EVs. Not overly large and already with restrictive speed limits.

 3 years ago (edited) 

He's a scruffy bastard, old Boris Johnson I mean. Lol. Brush your hair you bell-end!

I haven't heard the parameters of the concept - I don't watch the news. And considering it's in the UK and not here it won't matter to me. We'll be a long time away from all electric here in Australia and I'll be dead by then so it's all good. We'd like to buy full electric for our next town car though, but I also need a rig that's going to off-road, haul loads and is capable of running 1000km without stopping so I can travel this big-ass land of ours. I think they'll make it happen.

And he was born in New York.

Boris the rag-arse? I didn't know that.

Man I was really surprised how many Brits didn't know that.

They know a hell of a lot more about American politics than I do, I didn't even know who Nancy Palosi was before England (if you don't know who she is, don't worry, I was better off when I didn't know) They got that shit down.. but they don't know Boris was born in Manhattan.

Lol...I'm an Aussie, All y'all are crazy buggers to me! 🤣

Not really.

From what I understand many Americans are unaware of much outside their circle...Maybe because the country is just so huge and there's so much going on?

Us Australian's tend to have more of a handle on things from around the world as we look outwardly a little more. Maybe the same for the UK being close to EU? I don't know.

Personally, I tend to be selective with what I absorb as most of it is shite. I know who Pelosi is though. I get my information directly, I seek it out myself, rather than the news/propaganda machines so I like to think I'm getting a cleaner version, but who really knows.

I'd like an electric 'town car' too. But...

There is a Chinese import now available in California that sells for $12,000 USD. It's really tinny and cheap but the price is LOW.

We were talking about it today and about the costs actually. You know, the cheapest all electric vehicle here is around $45,000AUD so pretty costly. My town car, current Ford Escape, only cost me $28,000 so it's a big jump. That's why more don't do it.

$12,000 sounds cheap. $16,450AUD.

It's basically this car that has been altered to meet California requirements.

image.png

It's the definition of a disposable car :)

Lol...Looks like a roller skate.