The Shadow Oblong, That Longs. (An Original Poetry)

in The Ink Well4 years ago

images (4).jpeg

Image source

The Shadow Oblong, That Longs.



When dusk devours the day,
in one voluminous gulp,
like a whale out to pounce,
we're left, scattered as ants
scampering into diverse path
slithering in zigzag motions
to avoid the wrath
hitting like landslide
to them with impure hearts

Oh you transgressors,
frightened of the howls,
that parades your corridor,
at the stillness of the dark
or the eyes that treks
in your night terrors
keeping your breath at bay
like the turmoils at sea
will your run forever in succour?

If dawn is pain's harbinger
will you trudge peacefully
as the scariest troll yelps
threatening to engulf you
in one fell swoop?
or will the tiniest of drops
unsettles your resolve
like a humble quake
gently threatening to tremble?

Oh Universe!
Our deeds are dotted in dirt,
and our palms are tainted
with ungodly acts
save us! For we are ensnared
by trepidation
and our Waterloo looms
at every odd hour
like an explosion in our very eyes.

Like feathered things,
crashing through our thoughts,
seeding unpleasantness
our voices are now drowned,
and our footstep too far gone
to retrace into goodwill.
who shall save us;
from the horrors?
for shadows oblong,
plunges for our throats
and craves our larynx.

In middays, peace thrives,
but tranquility is temporal!
our sufferings are rekindled
and our soul is once again!
haunted by vain things!
our lives are cyclical
like boomerang hitting
through thistles, through thorn
and salvation is past our clock



Written by @Josediccus

22/6/2020





Interested in some more of my works?

SATURDAY'S VLOG: A Trip To The Barber's Shop
What Is Worth: What Determines Worth In A Vastly Competitive Market Such As Nigeria?
Capturing A Building And It's Skyline At Different Stages Of Evening
The Sun Has Glistened (An Original Poetry)
The Inexplicability Of Death And Why People Often Chose To Be In Denial Of It.
What Constitutes Difference In People Irrespective Of Being Exposed To The Same Things In Life?


PicsArt_03-21-07.26.22.jpg


My name is @Josediccus, a young Nigerian student who is a Vlogger, A Psychologist, Poet And Sports Writer/Analyst. I'm using my contents as a process to create shared meaning as well as create expressions through which people on/off hive can relate. I believe content is a process to be enjoyed and relished and I'm up for any collaborations in my field stated above. Cheers


@Josediccus, your brother-in-pen & heart


I'm hoping to reach more people who are broken at heart and spirit, so share on any platform or rehive


My Twitter handle

Sort:  

Nice poem. How do you get the inspiration to write all these things?

Naturally I'm a writer, I major in poetry originally when I came here but over the past two years I've diversified into having 3 to 4 niches, but normally I'm an all round writer and my life and experiences are my inspiration

Thats so nice