The Adventures of Ramon Letondu, Part I

in The Ink Well4 years ago (edited)

To the readers: Do not hesitate to indicate spelling and/or style mistakes.


The_Adventures_of_R_Letondu.png

I

Ren du Lot Ramon Letondu had crossed the border. But it had not been easy. He did not expect that the Bordurian border patrol would be so persnickety.

Several times he had been tempted to distribute some money, but he knew that the customs officers were not all corrupted and that he could end up in jail for a long time.

First, they examined his passport. While he was told to stay in his car, a Trabant with a Volkswagen engine, they took his passport inside a building. After twenty minutes, they came back and told him to park his car and to follow them inside the building.

He was interrogated by two men in civilian clothes, who never told their names or their titles.

First, they wanted to know the reason for his visit to Borduria. He was prepared for this question. He replied that he was an economist and a journalist and that he was interested in people's happiness.

They also asked him how much money he was bringing. He replied that he had one million Bordurian kopeks, the equivalent to around five thousand US Dollars. He had much more, in the false bottom of his brand new toolbox.

After an hour, they let him go.

Ramon Letondu had crossed the border.


Read the next episode


The adventures of R. Letondu, a serial shitposting fiction inspired by Torundel the Shitposter! by @katharsisdrill. This is the sequel of Ren du Lot, the shit lawyer

Rules are:

211 words - Starting with the words "Ramon Letondu" - First and last sentence are identical.

As I am not a native English speaker please inform me if something is misspelled, wrong, or just horrendous English, and I will see if I can fix it.


Vincent_Tahiti_1972_02.jpg

Sort:  

The tale of the fugitive. There's always a good drama in that. I am contemplating what the second album of Phill should be called (as I have to write it on the last page). You were right that it needs another title and it will probably have something to to with being a fugetive... We'll see what i come up with.

Some corrections.

First line, "But it has not been easy." "Has" should be "had".

Third section "the took his passport" - "they took... "

"or" has been split by a line break in fourth section.

For some reason I envision all this as if it was a page in L'Affaire Tournesol.

Thank you. Corrected.

Dear @vcelier,

Sounds like an interesting story. I wonder why he is bringing so much money to Borduria... I guess I will find out soon 😃.

I also love the picture you put at the bottom, it makes me really enter the story and imagining this guy.

Sinerely,

@vlemon

The picture is a painting of myself in Tahiti in 1972 when I was 22 years old and I still had hair.
The painter was a petty officer on the French ship that was my first posting as a Navy officer.

Wow 😯 that is a nice painting and story !
You are looking sharp ! You still do obviously 😉.

Nice addition to the story in any case.

that is a nice painting and story!

If you are interested in the story of my life, you could read it starting here.

The adventure continues! I thought things had dried up. Not sure if I have the ideas to go on, but happy to have more to read.

Love that word "persnickety"
How nice to know Ramon's whereabouts. Now what is he up to?

Now what is he up to?

Nobody knows, even me. Yet.

Hey....

  • After an hour, the let him go
  • After an hour, they let him go

Thank you. Corrected.

You are welcome

Thank you for posting in The Ink Well.
We are running two Summer Challenges for original creative writing.
See the Fiction Challenge and the Poetry Challenge for the full Entry Rules and Curation Policies.
We hope you will join us!