You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's your comment to post ratio like?

in Ask the Hive ā€¢ 3 years ago

Your ratio is looking juicy šŸ‘€

Mine is nowhere near that, but still feeling pretty good about commenting about twice as much as I post. Especially bc when I first started I was all about over-posting for the first year or so and nearly never commenting on other posts.

331EBEA2-0609-4285-9210-3B9CBEDADFEC.jpeg

One thing I thought would be useful is if our profiles had a percentage of how often we reply to comments left on our own post. I know youā€™re saying commenting on other posts is just as (if not more) important than replying to comments left on our own posts. I would love for viewers to know that I am 100% likely to respond to them if they say something on my post.

Will be interesting to see every one elseā€™s ratios for post/comments.

Sort: Ā 

I know youā€™re saying commenting on other posts is just as (if not more) important than replying to comments left on our own posts.

I think this depends on the persons post and what their posting nature is. If they are a blogger writing a blog and are here on Hive for the Blogging experience only, (to spread their message), then staying in and on their own blog is not a real problem, they are here for the business aspect, not the social aspect.

Fair point. It varies from person to person. Ideally Iā€™d hope for somebody who is only here to post their own blogs to at least interact with people who are commenting on their post. Doing that should result in a fairly high post/comment ratio.

What sucks to see is really awesome content getting posted here and absolutely zero responses to any of their comments. Itā€™s as if Hive is just being used to milk some extra crypto. Then thereā€™s also the possibility that some are solely posting here to have a place to safely store their content. If thatā€™s the case then rewards wouldnā€™t matter to them at all most likely.

There is no set in stone way of knowing how much to post/comment. Every single person is going to go about it differently and Iā€™m all for that. Variety is the spice of life.

What sucks to see is really awesome content getting posted here and absolutely zero responses to any of their comments.

That can be a problem, eventually though people will ignore them, stop commenting on the post, and those that are not auto voters will stop voting, then we all get to sit back and watch the woe is me post form them the rants and raves of being ignored and how unfair Hive is.

Haha yes thatā€™s already happened before and surely will continue to happen.

Yeah more stats would be nice on the profile, maybe also how many unique accounts you vote with your vp, etc.

This one is at least something that would help curators determine who's actively engaging rather than having to look at their comment history constantly.

Yeah more stats would be nice on the profile, maybe also how many unique accounts you vote with your vp, etc.

Steemchillers system is available on and for Hive https://hivetasks.com/ You can get your voting CSI info there:
vote csi.png

I am still not sure how I feel about hivetask and it being based on another work, but it is based on the open source one steemchiller did and he does seem to be keeping it updated.

That site never loads for me on any browsers.

I wonder why that is? Your vote numbers are similar to mine - 239 upvotes, 144 accounts, last 7d - and a Voting CSI of 16.8. I am not sure of how it is all figured but it is at least a guide, like the REP level of people.

@acidyo I've been reading so much of your comments and seeing ideas that are lovely when put in place.(ideas like profile stats, "controversial" e.t.c) I haven't quite figured out how this ideas are implemented. So it's kind of a question, How do these suggestions get to take effect on the hive platform? The witnesses?

Any developers can submit changes to the front-end and Hive itself as far as I know, I'm not a dev myself so most of the coding stuff goes over my head. @blocktrades himself mentioned yesterday that a change like the comments+post divide could be a good starter for new developers to commit and then the core devs can accept the change once they review it. I believe @quochuy works mostly on condenser (hive.blog) and is in charge of a lot of changes that occur there and would be able to accept this one.

I'm only contributing to code changes to the Condenser. It's another team that reviews and accept the changes (including mine). I can definitely help with reviewing and testing new contributions.

Okay thank you. At least I know this now.

The numbers already exist, itā€™s just a matter of making them easier to find, yet not get in the way of the less in-depth information displayed on our profiles.

lol, not even 1:2?

No slack šŸ˜®ā€šŸ’Ø oof
= 1.97
Iā€™m doing far better now than I was this time last year. Tough to compete with the higher ratios though. Itā€™s a full-time gig.5 being a social butterfly on here.

Letā€™s see if anybody has a worse ratio than me šŸ¤“
Iā€™ll be waiting by my keyboardā€¦

untitled.gif

Letā€™s see if anybody has a worse ratio than me

I suspect there are some post spammers who might. ;D

I see it as the responsibility of an account to engage with their audience, especially if consistently rewarded. The ones that don't, I don't support. I would rather see trash content with lots of engagement and people interacting, than "quality" posts of silence.

You are one of the highest rewarded accounts on the platform - which means you are visible and set an example for others.

I agree that adding real human interactions to an awesome post is just as important as having a dope post to begin with. Hell, even something as simple as a meme image post could lead to a life-changing conversation down in the comments.

Thankfully, Iā€™ve seen much higher engagements over the last year or so. No just with my own posts, but with pretty much everyone who is active. A sense of community is much more apparent now than it seemed to be 2-4 years ago, pre-Hive ā€” or maybe I was just too new then and couldnā€™t see it. Either way, the way things are going now has encouraged me to take the time to read other content and branch out from my shell. Still, I would be much happier if I had the time to leave a nice lengthy comment on every post on my feed that is dying for some extra engagement (and certainly deserves it too). For now I chime in as often as I can with something genuine.

Plusā€¦ I know I can count on hivebuzz, poshtoken, and gangstalking to stop by and say something. untitled.gif