From three to nine!

in Succulent growers10 months ago

There is no problem if some plants rot. Well, there are obvious losses and we can be upset about that but at the same time, that is the opportunity to get more cuttings and more pots.

I arrived home yesterday evening from a journey and at first sight, all the plants were fine. The community pot was already so nice and full of plants and I anyway planned to take out some of them, those that would grow too big. I also knew it would be tricky not to damage any plants while taking them out so I was postponing this reorganization of the plants in pots for a while. It seems that the time has come to do the repotting, as I saw the following...

IMG_20230729_104625.jpg

I saw the sticky white cotton-like thing in some plants, which is a clear sign that mealybugs came to a longer visit. They were on the little pots and in the community pot too.

IMG_20230729_104804.jpg

The best and only way of getting rid of mealybugs is to touch them with a cotton swab soaked in alcohol. This is everything you need to fight them.

IMG_20230729_104608.jpg

I also started to take out some plants from the soil. As I was not here my friend was in charge to water the plants. They got a bit too much water, so apart from these white sticky cotton spots...

IMG_20230729_105100.jpg

...we had also the combination of rotten parts of the plants and mealybugs.

IMG_20230729_104403.jpg

One by one, all the plants got checked and taken out. The number of rotten leaves and roots was surprising...

All these plants had rotten leaves!

IMG_20230729_111154.jpg

IMG_20230729_110903.jpg

IMG_20230729_110526.jpg

This was a disaster. All rotten roots

IMG_20230729_125238.jpg

IMG_20230729_125224.jpg

The top of the plants seemed ok but apparently, they had no roots anymore

IMG_20230729_110809.jpg

IMG_20230729_125309.jpg

I took out every single plant from the community pot, cut off the rotten parts, put aside the healthy cuttings (some had roots and some not) and planted everything again, in different pots. These were fine, saved from the rotten parts and ready to get a new home.

IMG_20230729_105909.jpg

They jumped into the soil. Let's hope that all of them will get roots and survive the surgery.

IMG_20230729_122653.jpg

I also had two other pots with Echeveria that needed some care. I cut off the good stems, some with a root and others without it and all went to the pot where just some hours ago we had all those different plants from the first photo.

The result?

From three pots of plants, we get nine.

I am not sure about all those Echeveria cuttings I put in the two bigger pots. Time will say if they want to survive or not.

IMG_20230729_122850.jpg

mipiano_-_MP.png

Sort:  

Now you have more succulents to look after ☺️.. I wish I could grow here as well.

!LUV them

@mipiano, @jane1289(2/4) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Hahah, that's why I have so many of them already 😂
Every time more and more pots and plants... They are nice to take care of but also, a bit of work when these things happen. I was at least two hours this morning with this work 😅

Hello dear friend @mipiano good afternoon
What a pity that the pigs have passed through there, I was unaware that alcohol was good to cure this
you have done a great job, hope everyone can prosper
enjoy the weekend

Yes, if mealybugs, you just need to soak a cotton swab in alcohol and touch the bug or remove that white sticky cotton mass. And thanks, a good weekend to you too 👋

Yeah, mealybugs can be a pain in the butt. Right now I've been concentrating on my monsteras and Dieffenbachias which are more indoor plants. But I do have a small balcony with some succulents. I think I'll work on them as soon as I get the indoor garden figured out :)

Hope all your new babies make it!

Good luck with your gardening :)

I don't have indoor plants, but the balcony is already a world of succulents. Thanks for the wished, I do this they will make it 😇

Good afternoon, mipiano, good to hear that Spain has you back. And well, you've arrived as a surgeon, but I guess the plants will be fine. You should have told your friend that they didn't carry that much water.
Poor things.
Were you angry?
Don't worry, everything will be fine. Put some music on them and they'll start dancing and the roots will come out.

Yep, back in Spain.

I was Dexter this morning haha 😂

My friend comes every summer when I am not here and she knows, I explained to her to water them just once a week but still, I think she is afraid that the plants will be thirsty. Of course, I am not angry at her, just the opposite. Now I have more pots of plants 😉

Dexter, tengo las mismas plantas que tú. Creo que hay que ir pensando en hacer un post de suculentas para pedirte consejos. 😅

Oki ;)
A ver como han crecido (son las que te dejo tu hermana, verdad?)

Pasé un buen rato más por la tarde con otras plantas - Aloe Vera, Aeonium, Jade tree, y Ruby Blush... son grandes, incluso el árbol de jade tendría que plantar en una maceta más grande, pero ya no tengo mucho sitio 😅

No worries about the roots, they grow back very quick once in a new pot and you have many more pots now too 😁

I’ve collected so many succulents over the years and grew many more from fallen leaves and with many pots of orchids and other plants I’m running out of space on my windowsills, so I need to reduce them somehow 😁

I like those long, skinny ones you have ☺️

!ALIVE

@mipiano! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @fantagira. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.

Same here, many of the little plants grew from a leaf. They get roots so easily, when they like the place 😊
And I am also running out of space in the balcony 😂

Orchids - now, that's where I am weak 🥴
They need a different treatment than the succulents hahaha

I'm terrible with plants. I don't have green fingers and it happens so often that I give them too much water. Let's hope yours survive 🌱

Now at your new place you can try with some succulents. They like the Spanish weather, and if we are not very generous with water 😁

I will give it a go!

Surviving the surgery made me chuckle 🤭
A job well done and nice tips on taking good care of our plants. Now I see that I do a very bad job in taking care of my Aloe vera plants. Thank you💕

I also have one big Aloe Vera, though some little bugs attack it often. Then I spray the leaves with a liquid (1 litre of water mixed with one little spoon of dishwasher soap) and later shower it with water. It works, but the little bugs come back from time to time 🙄

What a pity about the mealybugs, it happened to me too, thanks for the tip about the alcohol!

Sometimes they run out of roots but if you plant them at the right time they grow, they are very resistant, so I made new plants like you.

Cleaning and division, new plants. I loved it @mipiano ❤️

There are sensitive plants, so the alcohol can be mixed with a bit of water. You have to try and see what works. Just the bug and these sticky cotton-like things are what you need to touch with alcohol.

Yes, they are resistant and really grow well even from a leaf or a cutting :)

I'll try it with one I have that has the same problem, I'll mix it with a little water.

Thank you very much!❤️

They all look very pretty in their new home, hopefully they will survive the operation, I think they will because the doctor has good hands.

I didn't know alcohol was good for that, good advice thanks, I'm glad you got home safely from your trip. @mipiano 😘

I think they will, they are resilient guys :)

The alcohol is just if there are mealybugs, these little white creatures. For other bugs, I spray the plant with dishwasher soap and water (and later shower the plant). I learned many things about plants here on Hive ;)

You certainly have green fingers, lets hope they all take root

They will - and it means more and more plants in my balcony. Soon, I shall move to a bigger apartment because of the plants 😂

This is such a good reminder to check out my plants and make sure they are all good, lol. Should move some of them in bigger pots though!

When I don't have a lot of time I don't check my plants often, just once a week. Now this was emergency situation with these mealybugs and rotten parts of the plants. Happy gardening to you 😃

I can feel it 😁
Happy gardening to you too! ❤️

They look gorgeous now. I think it will become a healthy plant. I never solve the plant with this process before, but I so see my neighbors teach me about it .

We learn constantly, so I will also learn something from this plant surgery 😁

Wow You are an expert gardener, pianist and gardener - great combination! 😸🧑‍🌾

Hahaha, that's some combination indeed 😆

Wao! @mipiano, you have taken much of your time to study this plants to be able to know what needs to be done to make it a better one. You have actually invested more time into this one, kudos to you on that

I have succulents for several years, not an expert but it is a process of learning :)

Wao! That is a good practice tho. You might not be an expert tho, but what you have done here shows you are more than just an expert. 😂 Maybe you will give me some training someday lol

Happy gardening

Taking care of plants is not easy as you can see in these pictures you are also working hard to keep them growing properly, they need to be watered on time and many things need to be taken care of. I keep it the same way.

It is not easy, but not that difficult either, when we learned what and how to do ;)

I'm so sorry to hear that your plants have been affected by mealybugs and root rot. It sounds like you've been working hard to care for them, but sometimes even the best care isn't enough to prevent pests and diseases.

I'm glad that you were able to salvage some of the plants by taking cuttings. It's always a good idea to have some extra plants on hand, just in case something happens to the main plant.

I'm sure you're feeling a bit discouraged right now, but I hope you'll keep trying. With a little care and attention, I'm sure your plants will recover and thrive.