April's Journey ~ Part One (Dreem-WOTW S2-R3)

in Scholar and Scribelast year (edited)



The place where the world stopped was not so strange, but the vertigo was overwhelming. The girl could not decide whether or not it would be wise to jump until she saw the wave of water miles high coming straight toward her.

This is what she gets for wanting to go camping, April thought as she zipped up her thermal jacket over her backpack and jumped forward. At the same time, the Earth opened up, and a jet of warm steam shot poor April up farther into the air than any thought possible.



April was not afraid of heights but was now higher than any bird could safely fly. She knew this because as she was shot up into the sky, she passed a flock of Canadian geese flying North for the Summer.

She didn't know who was freaked out more when she flew past them. The birds didn't know whether to join or treat her as a threat. April almost lost her hearing when the startled geese started honking at her.

April finally reached a height where her upward trajectory seemed to level off. She started floating Westward on a gentle breeze. Time lost all meaning. Surrounding her was different shades of blue.

April did wonder if she had died and if this was her flight to Heaven, but as soon as the thought formed, it was rejected. Her flight made her black and blue from debris caught in the same air jet. Her skin was very much alive!





April's mind started playing tricks on her. Off in the distance, what had started out as a black dot off her horizon became more prominent as she stared at it? Panic set in. What if the blackness was a bolder flying straight toward her? She had no control as it was.

She had tried numerous ways to impact where and how fast she was going, all to no avail. Would her life end by being hit by a boulder while she was stuck in the air?

April watched the patch of blackness coming closer and soon realized she was going insane. The black patch had turned into a man standing on a flying carpet, yelling and waving his arms at her. Fairytales are good books to read, but everyone knew they were fiction.

She was twenty-three and knew enough to know what she was seeing could not be, so she closed her eyes to ignore it. Just as any adult would.



"Hello? Open your eyes! I am here to help!"

surrounded April as she floated with closed eyes.



April thought this could not be happening, but as she opened her eyes, she saw the most handsome man making loop de loops around her while riding on a flying carpet. She quickly closed her eyes once again. This was all getting to be too much. A girl can only take so much. Seeing a man on a flying carpet nudged her over the edge. She started laughing hysterically.

The man pulled the carpet to float alongside her and reached out his hand. He promised he was here to help, but she needed to trust him and jump on the carpet so he could take her to safety before it became dark.

Hearing the word dark was enough of a jolt for April to reach out her hand. In one fluid motion, April was pulled onto the carpet, and made to sit, while the man held her close from behind. As soon as they were seated, the carpet sped off back East at record speed.



image.png



April must have dozed off. The next time she opened her eyes, a vast city was before her, floating in the sky. It was so beautiful it took her breath away. The carpet seemed to be on autopilot and wound its way threw the city streets until it reached the castle gates that opened magically and let them in.

Once through the huge golden front doors, the carpet came to rest at the foot of the double staircase. April let out a long sigh to finally feel the solid ground again.

The End of Part One...



You can find Part Two written by @tengolotodo Here:

April's Journey ~ Part Two (Dreem-WOTW S2-R3)



Help someone smile today. It can not hurt you.


Snook



Thumbnail: Photo by Kristaps Ungurs on Unsplash

Blue Sky: Photo by Dave Hoefler on Unsplash

All photos are mine unless otherwise stated.



Gif made by @Snook



Sort:  

I want to commend you for your creativity and imagination. Your story is intriguing and captures the reader's attention from the beginning. I love the way you describe April's experience and the different emotions she feels throughout her journey. It takes a lot of skill to create such a vivid and engaging story.

I encourage you to keep writing and exploring your ideas. Your talent is evident, and I believe that you have the potential to create something truly amazing. Don't be discouraged by self-doubt or negative feedback, but instead use it as motivation to continue growing and improving as a writer.

Thank you for sharing your story with us
Happy to be !ALIVE

Are you my Angel?

Your timing is a tad scary!

and Thank you very kind Sir!

I'm just here to experience life.
Follow your dreams.
Have a nice day

This IS the best place I found to do that!!

and I do follow them....I just slow down once and a while when I wonder if it is worth it....knowing full well it is.....but yes, doubt happens.

:D

Yes a new opportunity has arrived with web 3 and we are early. Hoping this can give us the freedom to be our creative selfs and enjoy the journey. Earn some crypto along the way with what we love to do. ❤️
Happy to be !Alive

@snook! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @old-man-chu58. (9/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

This is a really cool story, and I'm looking forward to seeing how this continues into part 2!

It has a whimsical feeling too it, and at first I thought it was going to be a dream, but then she woke up as she reached the city, so I suppose that checks that idea off the list !LOLZ

I'm in the process of writing my part 1 entry to this colaboration contest; it's a lot of fun and a great idea to team writers up to work on one story.

!PIZZA !LUV

What do you get if you cross a bullet and a tree with no leaves?
A cartridge in a bare tree.

Credit: reddit
@snook, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @killerwot

(1/10)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

Thank YOU!! I am so happy to hear you like it :D
It was a lot of fun to write!

and Yes, it is a ton of fun. We use to do it in the Freewrite group all the time. It is always fun to see how others use your story :D

I can not wait to read yours too!

It's the first time joining into something like this on Hive. The closest to it I've gotten, is with the Psyber X lore team; a bunch of us write for a couple of characters each, and kind of pass the torch to the next person, as each chapter is intertwined with the next.

Oh, that sounds like fun too. Hard but fun :D

It's a lot of fun, and yeah it's kind of hard in a way, because when you're writing by yourself you have a solid idea for where you want to go with something, but the idea can change from person to person, so you have to be able to adapt and work as a team.

I am so glad you are writing again! I love this story. It's full of such craziness and imagination, sounds like a bad dream, then sounds almost real, then impossible. I love the part about the geese! Can't wait to read the rest of this one!

OOh a modern-day Arabian Nights... how wonderfully imaginative and delightful... only you would have dear April (and her backpack) rescued by a dashing young man on a magic flying carpet hehe. I love it! I wonder where on earth (literally!!!) our friend @tengolotodo will take this now? You have me wondering all sorts of things... about where she came from and what she was doing/escaping when she ended up in the great big blue carried on the wind... and how the magic of this wonderful new land has collided with her life... awesomesauce!!! Let's see what Ed can do with this hehe... Thank you for joining in the fun, my lovely !LUV !ALIVE !LADY

hehe no less that what I expected, now I am under pressure 🤣

Thank you so much Sam!! I was so happy my brain was working this morning! Then tonight all I had to do was some finishing writing and editing, so everything worked out and for me right now that is saying a lot LOLL

Thank YOU for asking me too!! It was fun to just write a story to laugh.

HUGE HUGS!

hehe I LOVE it!!! THANK YOU!!! 💗Laughter... always the best medicine. Big loves xxx

@snook! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Beautiful 😍

April's skeptical nature really tickled me, when she saw him on the carpet you made me laugh. I love when a main character isn't just experiencing, but has an opinion on what's going on that doesn't just go along with it all. Super fun :)

You're amazing, thank you for sharing! Excited to see where @tengolotodo takes this flying pair 😁

Hugs at the edge of the world!

Thank you!!

just woke up comment

Love you!

hehehehehe!!!!!!!!!! Your stories are always so wild and inviting!!! and always with a touch of humor at the most unexpected places

closing her eyes to ignore it as any adult would made me BARK with laughter!!

TOMORROW is gonna be so fun to see all the stories coming into dreemport to collaborate and spin tales together!!! so happy that Sam did this! hehehe

now i'm off to read hers - and then... your part 2 for her toO!!! hahahaha

This really was so much fun!! I am very happy Sam did it too :D

plus I got to write 2 stories LOLL

The second story just for fun :D

I wonder what wonders await in the castle!

It's a cracking start Snook and now I will have to get my quill sharpened!

I can not wait to see where you take it :D

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@killerwot(1/10) tipped @snook (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Congratulations @snook! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 52000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 53000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2023
Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
The Hive Gamification Proposal

and... soon tengo's part 2 for you! LOL

I keep looking for it loll

So imaginative and fun. That’s what I love about your stories; the ever present element of fun and magic. Your story transported me back into my childhood fantasies and that’s an excellent place to spend an hour or two. Hehe 😉 wonderful!

Your story transported me back into my childhood fantasies

Best compliment ever! Thank You!!!

an amusing denouement, I was not expecting a flying carpet. and it gives your co-writer such a terrific start point for part two.

just a small point, you start nearly half of your new sections with the MC's name and by telling us what she thinks, sees, or does.
As we know who it is seeing or doing (as until the end she is the only character, you could just tell us directly what happens, instead of telling us April is doing it.

but a great hook, well done

Thank You!!

and I agree with you on using her name so much but I am not good with grammar because American schools in 1970's we very....... not good. So I use Grammerly to help out once I have the story written and it loves names........

Usually, it is just how I reword things, meaning the proper way, I can get it to how I want it to be ..but the day I wrote this I did not have the time or brain power to figure it out. But the program has taught me a lot about grammar in the last 5 years that I never knew. I learn slowly but with each story I write I learn a little more :D

Thank YOU for your great comment!!!

I love this. I was seeing a cartoon in my head though as I read. And I love it. Off to part two!!!!

Thank You!!!

I read this a couple of days ago and I wanted to comment so badly but I decided to wait for the second part. @snook this is an incredible writing and story. My gosh. It went from what I thought was a reality to a sweet fairy tale. The way the story flowed so effortlessly was everything. I can't wait to read about the adventures in that city in the sky.

Well done. You took my breath away.

THANK YOU so much!!! That means the world to me!!!

I know you will love part 2 :D

I'm curious who her hero is! Could it be Aladdin?!?!

!LOL