You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Testing Times

in #life2 years ago

A hot toddy, extra strength, the Irish kind ;). Used to curse my mother (in my head) every time she'd bring that when I was sick.

Bloody 21st century and it's end of world ailments!

LOL! A pox on them all!

Rest well to roar with full strength.

Sort:  

I am drinking beer as we speak. I won't lie down for this nonsense! Your mother had the right of it 😀

Beer! Pear cider here.

Your mother had the right of it 😀

In her mind, yes (but it did work). She'd stand over me like a drill sergeant, saying "drink it", eyes staring holes through me. A do it or else situation, lol. Only problem is that it left me with such an aversion to all things brandy or brandy flavoured, just the smell brings on feelings of illness. In adult years, she never understood why I didn't like brandy, didn't want it ever.

I dont mind a pear cider now and then although am more a straight up regular cider man. I had to stop drinking it though as it started hurting my belly.

I can totally get that aversion to brandy from that. I will count myself lucky I have not suffered similar!

I wonder why your belly didn't like it. Might be the process of how it's made. They went nuts here with flavours of ciders, so I've tried several. I have them when it's really hot sometimes, but a lot of them are way too sweet.

I don't think the aversion was her intention, lol, but what a way to turn a person off of alcohol...associate it with sickness.

I think it is the acidity. As I got older white wine and Cider (not together lol) have tended to give me heartburn which is a pain in the chuff. Although I haven't tried them for a while because of it so it might have been a passing thing.

Yeah, sickness is bad. Dont want that associated with drinking!

So you're basically saying you'd function well as a car battery, just need to be charged up and you're ready to go go?

Acidity, oh boy, I can relate to that. It's high temperatures that increase acidity with certain things, from what I've experienced.

Yeah, sickness is bad. Dont want that associated with drinking!

Never! I ruined white rum all by myself though.

I ruined Sambuka all by myself!

A car battery, yeah, that is a good analogy! :OD