In The Kitchen With Kat

in #ocd4 years ago

Zucchini Brownies


IMG_9707.jpg

Today I have something so beyond tasty to share! Over the years I have made piles of zucchini bread, salsa, cake, muffins, and so on, but the following recipe might possibly be my favorite zucchini dessert recipe of all.

These zucchini brownies are easy to whip up and taste like a chocolate lover's daydream!

When I fed them to the kids a bit ago, all I heard was....nothing. And let me tell you, if something is so good that it silences teenagers, then you know you've won in the food creating department!

Note of I've read too many recipe blog posts helpfulness: If you wish to just look at the recipe without looking at any of the accompanying culinary-tinged creative accompaniments, just scroll to the end!

IMG_9690 (2).jpg

An enlightenment selfie. I had to capture the zucchini awareness that dawned on me right before I went in to start grating the pile of squash that awaited me.

IMG_9694.jpg

This image encapsulates the current status of my kitchen counters, full zuke accessorizing phase. Only the most trendy August kitchens in the Northern Hemisphere are adorned with random piles of dark green squash in excess. Joking aside, I grated half of a small leg-sized zucchini for the brownie recipe.

IMG_9696 (2).jpg

After I shredded the zucchini for the brownies, I melted the chocolate into the oil. This part of the process was almost as lovely as the eating of the brownies part. Almost.

IMG_9697.jpg

After the chocolate and oil were melded together like a fondue ready to be dipped and dodged, I added the shredded zucchini that I had squeezed like an overly affectionate aunt. Removing excess water from the zuke is sometimes a good thing!

IMG_9699 (2).jpg

After thoroughly combining the chocolate, sugar, eggs, egg yolks, and vanilla, I stirred in the zucchini and then plopped that conglomeration into the flour, baking soda, and salt.

IMG_9701.jpg

I then spread the mixture into my prepared pan and plopped it into my preheated oven. Please don't look at the current cleanliness status of my poor oven. It's like 16 years old and um, yep, it's summer and I am outside a lot, not inside tending to my oven like a good person.

IMG_9703 (2).jpg

Ooh, after the brownies came out I poured the frosting on top of the yumminess! Okay, I also sang the Willie Wonka song as I did this part. I am ashamed of nothing.

IMG_9706 (2).jpg

Zucchini Brownies

2/3 cup of vegetable oil
1 cup of milk chocolate chips
4 TBSP unsweetened baking cocoa powder
2 cups of sugar
2 eggs
2 egg yolks
2 tsp vanilla
2 cups of shredded zucchini (I threw it in a colander and squeezed out excess moisture.
2 cups of flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt

Milk Chocolate Frosting

6 TBSP butter
6 TBSP milk chocolate chips
3 TBSP unsweetened baking cocoa powder
3 TBSP milk
1/2 tsp vanilla
2 cups powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Line a 13X9 baking pan with foil and lightly spray with non-stick spray.

Place oil, chocolate chips, and cocoa in a moderately sized stock pan and heat on low-medium, whisking occasionally, until the mixture is nice and silky smooth. Take the pan off of heat and whisk in the sugar until well combined. Then add the eggs and vanilla and whisk until even more well combined. Using a spatula, stir in the zucchini and then fold in the flour. DO NOT OVER MIX!!!

Spread the batter into the foil lined pan and toss it in the oven for 35-40 minutes. I baked mine for 39 minutes and they turned out splendidly!

About ten minutes before the brownies finish baking, place the butter, milk chocolate chips, and milk for the frosting in a small pan and place it on the stove at low heat. Once everything is melted together, remove from heat, add the vanilla and powdered sugar, and whisk it all until it is a nice, smooth chocolate dream.

Right after you remove the brownies from the oven, pour the frosting on top of the brownies and spread it over the top. The brownies need to cool before you cut them, so I popped mine into the freezer for about thirty minutes to speed the process up. Or you can wait patiently for them to cool before removing them, cutting them in squares, and devouring. Good luck with that.



And as of now most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's newly christened with a nice flour dusting iPhone.


Sort:  

That's a fine looking brownie recipe. I will be bookmarking this!

Why, thank you MeesterB! The teenage heathens who dwell with me ate half the pan last night, so I think they are semi-tasty lol!

Perhaps a brownies and beer pairing shall be a thing in your future? I’d love to see that post lol!

Hope you’re all having a marvelous weekend!

I've had many a brownie beer but never a beer with a brownie so you never know!!

Kids eating things is always a great litmus test!!

LNnew1.jpg

This post will be highlighted in my weekly Curated Collection posting.

Thank you so much!!!

!CTP

!PIZZA

Thanks for sharing this recipe. I'll definitely have to try it.

Read from ListNerds

Thank you so much for stopping by! I hope you like it!

!CTP

Zucchini is one of my favourite vegetables. We eat carrot cake, why not Zucchini cake? Chocolate too! Nice work!

Isn't zucchini just the greatest? I cannot believe how many ways I have used it over the years and I still discover awesome recipes all the time! Thanks so much for stopping by!

!PIZZA

!CTP

It just goes with everything! And is so tasty too! One of my reliable go-to vegetables! 😃
!PIZZA !CTP

Nice selfie picture.
The brownie looks delicious!

Thanks so much!😊 I am going to bake some more today lol!

!CTP

!PIZZA

I love Zucchini cake! And this one looks awesome!

Thanks so much Raven! I hope you find a piece to nosh on!

!CTP

!PIZZA

The image made me click, I was hoping to be vegan. BUT it does look wonderful and tasty. 😀

Thank you so much! I have so many vegan friends, and right now I am reading The Vegan Cake Bible and learning a ton about crafting baked goods that my vegan pals can enjoy, so hopefully in the future there will be a few recipes in that department! Thank you so much for stopping by!

!CTP
!PIZZA

Z-U-C-C-H-I-N-I Brownie? Or COURGETTE as we Europeans would call it hehe.
Anyway...WT?? I have NEVER in my life heard of anything like it!
But I guess it's easy enough to just dump anything really, including zucchini or carrots in a cake or brownie mix. Huh. Quite interesting. Thanks for this my friend.
This is really great.

Oh I do so love the word courgette it's so elegant! Heck, around here we just call em' zukes lol!

And I am thinking I might scare you a bit if I disclose all of the things I have put zucchini in 😆

And I had a thought as I know you are vegan, I think aquafaba would work in place of the eggs just fine, I am currently reading a book called The Vegan Cake Bible as I have a ton of friends who are vegan or have allergies (or both) so I am sure some experiments in that realm will show up on here soon!

Thanks so much for stopping by! Hope all is manifesting marvelously down your way!

I bet I could make a dairy-free version of this with the right chocolate chips. I recently baked an old favorite chocolate zucchini cake recipe using fake sour cream, and dark chocolate chips on the top. It was fine, except those chips didn't melt at all. Weird. So I wouldn't use that kind in your recipe!

Now you're just torturing me with those pictures of brownies!
Your post has been featured in the Lotus Garden newsletter, which will be published tomorrow.

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @minismallholding.


The Lotus Garden is a newsletter supporting content relevant to Homesteaders & supported by Natural Medicine. Earn LOTUS & HIVE for your #homesteading content!
About II Discord II Community

Thanks for sharing. I'm overloaded with zucchinis too. I made burgers with them the other day: https://peakd.com/hive-120586/@atma.love/hellofoodiesbeehivecommuni-uakflpfw36ngrtnxsujhvboagyrwxqjn

Do you have the zucchini bread recipe? Please

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
generikat tipped namelessnameless (x1)
@generikat(4/15) tipped @mypathtofire (x2)
generikat tipped ravenmus1c (x1)
generikat tipped lisamariesworld (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Zucchini and chocolate I would have never thought they would be good together but it looks super yummy! Also I love the line "Okay, I also sang the Willie Wonka song as I did this part. I am ashamed of nothing" haha.