Steemit Beginner Tips for Success #1

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

Steem on_Nation_NWJordan.png

Hello Steemians,

I've been on Steem for 2 months now and it's been great, but I've noticed a lot of you can use some help to so here's some keys to succuess. This perspective is partially shaped by my decade plus experience, Social Media Marketing Skills, Marco Economics, and my User Experience Design Background.
Steemit Separator.png

1. Content

In order to succeed on any social network you need content. Preferably your own original content that either came from your inner creative or thru documenting your journey.

I highly recommend you find your craft and let your creative flow onto Steem in order to create a nice grounding for your page and profile. For example, I've always been good at Art & Photography, so this became my base to start since it was the most natural and easiest for me. In my first month I posted approximately every 24 -36 hours of my own original content just to hit to ground running.

DQmWmEyBiNxkyiXiDthRKirH4Xz6J2jqQbF7YZLH82Q6ZLa_1680x8400.jpg

I've noticed some people like resteeming a lot, but on Steemit I don't believe this is the most beneficial to you unless you're entering a contest and following the rules to entry. You don't make curation rewards from resteeming. That orginal author gets possible higher rewards through higher awareness.

Some people resteem friends from the real world, which is great too, but you must remember in order to succeed on Steem's Social Network you absolutely either need original content or to document your journey.

There are other ways for a beginner to succeed, but this is the most beneficial way. Whether it was the infancy of Youtube, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and so on a vast majority of the big name influencers today got their start by showing their creative to the world and/or documenting their journey.

Steemit and the various other Steem Blockchain apps are backed by your creative content and increases in value as the number of valuable content grows alongside the number of active users. This means the your content will become more valuable over time as your reputation and following grows.
Steemit Separator.png

2. Community

DQmPVbGSujfrfwhHpVdWQrmf7DBnFoxQCCGmnz6itEBjFb4.png

The community has been my focus since I started Steemit because engaging with my following and the community means a lot both to me personally and the overall Steem blockchain. Here on Steem you will find Users ranked via Dead Fish, Red Fish, Minnow, Dolphin, Orca, and Whales. On Busy.org you can see this on any users profile page. Knowing the user levels will give you a better understanding of where you should focus some of your time.

If you travel, find a Dolphin, Orca, or Whale whose content you like and wish to model yours after. I'm not saying copy the information but rather the template or style of the post. This will make your own posting structure easier to create.

Still, the main reason to get behind a Dolphin, Orca, or Whale is that by engaging with their content you could even higher curation rewards by commenting and if that comment is upvoted by the Dophin, Orca, or Whale as well as the community.

image.png

It only benefits you to engage with the community and showing gratitude. If you just leave a comment like "great post" or "nice photos" you most likely will be passed over. That doesn't work well here on Steemit. Give maybe a sentence or two. Nice and sweet. To short comments do not provide value to the post nor community, so why should the poster give you a reward.

As for Self Voting many debate this, but I am more against it than for it. While I think it's ok to self vote your post here on Steemit I don't think it's ok to self vote your own comments. This is frowned upon in the community just as much asking someone to follow your or "follow for follow"

This is not genuine. This is not the Way.

Self voting your own blog post I consider more like a signature, whereas upvoting your own comment I believe takes from the community selfishly as well as you may not fully understand how the upvoting system works. It's ok. We've all been there.

You should be using your upvoting power mostly to upvote quality content in the community, not your own comments while asking someone to follow you.

image.png

Each Steem user initially only gets about 10 full Votes per day before your Voting Power can needs to recharge. Steemit gives you the option to choose the percentage of Voting Power once you become a Minnow (~500+SP). I prefer to use Busy.org in this matter because it immediately gives you the option to control your voting power. If you're running out of Bandwidth a lot this may be your solution other than Powering Up. You can go from having 10 full votes to 100 partial votes if you use lower Voting Power Percentages.

image.png

Besides the bigger fish I recommend hanging out in the #IntroduceYourself tag community. Everyday there's tons of people signing up and making their way to Steemit via the "Crypto Boat" as I call it. Many new users are most likely to follow you if you're genuine and provide them value while giving a welcoming greeting. Give them a helping hand.

Welcome Stemian.gif

Perhaps you tell them about the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Discord Channel or mention the Steem blockchain apps to help bridge the transition for them. Do it in kindness and generosity. Not for the upvote. Either way you're giving value and people will start following you.

Whether because of the base foundation of content you've made for your blog, for your gratitude, or even your insight people will slowly become your ally. Trust me my friend. Everyone wants to lower this learning curve as fast as possible and your helping goes a long way.

Engaging with the Community while simultaneously playing for Legacy and not money will take your account to the Moon in the long term.
Steemit Separator.png

3. Consistency

NWJordan_Smile of the Gilded Wonder_Blue heron Studios.jpg

Consistency is something each one of us must find, but I will say unless you have some amazing plan posting on your blog once a week or once per month won't cut it. Social Networks always favor posting daily.

Whether the algorithms prefer this or the community it's has become very clear over these years heavily immersed in social media that Daily Posting is preferred. I mentioned earlier in this post how for my first month I aimed to post one post every 24-36 hours ideal. I believe this is a doable goal for most. Especially if you're already on other social networks.

image.png

Why do you need to post so frequently? Well, simply because your account won't nearly grow as fast. I've noticed many Steemians following the 1 post per day rule or having daily topics that rotate each weekday. This may aid your cause. My favorite are the contests from @juliank and others who aim to gamify Steem thru your photographic contest experience.

Remember, humans are simple creatures. We like simplicity and familiarity. If you post on a schedule your following on a subconscious level will start to inherently look forward to your posts. Some even seeking out more of your content to help lay them over. This is why Content and Community are very important keys to success of Consistency.
Steemit Separator.png

4. Bots

image.png

Bots are a highly controversial part of the Steem ecosytem. Many see them as either inherently good or bad for the community, but the are just tools and like most tools they can be used for both alignments. I personally have been using bots off and on since the early 2006 Myspace and Youtube days. So I have a really good understanding of how they've been leveraged for success as well as what type of bots to look for.

Still, I've noticed on Steem not all bots are created the same. There are Contest bots that aims to gamify Steem but building your XP and tag trails. Some are bidbots that help give you promotion and Trending/Hot/Active/ Community visibility like @Appreciator or @BuildaWhale.

Others like @Qurator is a curator that gives back to quality content daily while bringing along it's curation trail. A curation trail being a following of people that will support a post just because the Head Curator did.
image.png

Some bots are nearly independent roaming the Steemian world like S.A.H.R.A. which through algorithms they're try to predict highly valuable content, upvote, and aim to bring it's curation trail as well. Then there are bots like Cheetah which through its AI programing seeks out plagiarism and unoriginal content.

Still, most have a purpose and I would not consider spam being that they are following their programming while providing some form of value to the community.

Now I am not saying all bots are good or provide you with an ROI, but they are not holistic bad. Some are just at different stages in their development like the experience/reputation gain with humans as we age.

I'll go deep into the ROI and details of Bots later on another blog, but when chosen correctly they work. You just have to make sure the bot has enough voting power to do the task you want it to do.

For now what I want you to remember is that bots aren't purely spam. Spam is invaluable content and most bots from what I've seen are contributing or trying to contribute by following they programing. The same as us human. Still, you must be different.

Be Original. Bots have their place here, but so do you my friend.

You're a human. Be human.
Steemit Separator.png

5. Investing in Steem

On Steem you have the opportunity to invest your Time and/or Money to build your Steemit account. While just investing your Time is good I highly recommend you accumulate more Steem. Steem is beyond undervalued.

We are the faster blockchain cryptocurrency backed by a social media experience utility while still being the most scalable and one of the most secure in the world. Be proud of that and acquire as must SBD and Steem as you can afford.

Most people will tell you to Power Up all you can as fast as you can to achieve this.

DQmcdTK6rMmF5bnRMNg96pvgVy1NrbEoXhAnTrM9v1UnMxo_1680x8400.jpg

I don't fully subscribe to that train of thought. While I agree that you should acquire as much SBD, Steem, and Steem Power as possible you need to think bigger. Like with business or like a brand. Steem gives you the chance to make your money work for you. While I will be going into my methods later I will give you a brief synopsis of how my SBD/Steem works to my favor.

DQmX8KoPuYupunVcEGPtA1B3ZMUyup3cFMnETSpgJrfEFj4_1680x8400.jpg

Let's say I have $25 SBD. Instead of Powering Up immediately I use the $25 SBD to boost my articles to get more visibility and the higher chance to be put on the Trending/Hot/Active pages. Many of post have made it on these pages multiple times and this was intentional.

-I give 25 SBD to a Bidbot like @Appreciator or @Buildawhale. The Bidbot knocks up the value of my blog post to about $55 SBD.

-Now about 25% goes to Curators for their reward.
-My Authur payout would be $41.25 SBD, which already gives a ROI (Return of Investment) of 1.65X.
-Meaning I made 1.65 Times the money I put in.

-I rarely do 100% Power Up because it isn't worth it as long as the SBD is above Steem. Why? Because you can by Steem with the SBD and with the SBD at a higher value you will always get more Steem.

-For our $41,25 I do the 50/50 pay out. Half turns to SBD and other Converts to Steem Power.
-Creating $20.625 & 6.21 Steem Power..............if Steem = $3.32 USD

-Let's think about that for a second. 25 SBD @ $3.32 Steem is only 7.53 SP.
-With the 50/50 Bot Circulation you get 12.42 SP ($20.625 SBD + 6.21 SP)

I get Visibility, Awareness, AND you get an additional 4.89 SP = 16.23 USD to my account for FREE essentially. This is one of the many ways Bots can be used to help grow your account. It only benefits you to use some of these tools. Use bots with time out older than 3 days at your discretion. If you use a bot on a post after the posts 4th day you could be flag by a Whale or the Community. While I don't think the flagging is right per say I understand it.

Post for bots should be mostly original content though or you may be blacklisted (banned) for abusing the bot.

I hope this helped your journey and made you that much better of a Steemian.

Until next time my friends. Much Love.

-Nation




(C) NWJordan, Blue Heron Studios, EyesOfNation

Steemit Separator.png

// I N F O //

KatsuBlessedlamb.gif

image.png

Name: Na'Shawn Jordan
Alias: Nation
Age: 28
Location: New Jersey, USA
Specialty: Art & Design, UxD, Photography,
Music, Gaming, & Emerging Technologies

image.png

DQmcGTgE9ztQ7QmWESyE7uVqLrUqfbAa1fsTCod6dmsFYjP.gif

Steemit Separator.png

Blue Heron Studios
http://www.BlueHeronStudios.org

Store
http://bit.ly/2g1Lje4

Gumroad
https://goo.gl/LvpLnn

#BlueHeronStudios
#BHStudios
NWJordan
http://www.NWJordan.com

Facebook
http://bit.ly/2ygoo9u

Soundcloud
http://bit.ly/2gfL42V

Paypal Donate
http://bit.ly/2yh4JWS

Pinterest
http://bit.ly/2ycp7Ji

Recent Blog Posts:
[DSound - Original] Nation - 🦋 Butterfly Effect 🦋

[Dream / Short Story] Rocketman & The Orange Blitz

Black Lamb ☠ Rogue Assassin

A Succulent's World Away

[DSound] An Introduction to Lucid Dreaming | Welcome to the Journey Within

[Mixtape] The Archive by Emotive Gone Over

Sort:  

Fantastic post. The payout paragraph was extremely useful. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks. The math is sometimes confusing, but hopefully this broke it down a bit better. @Buildwhale, @Appreciator, and @PostPromoter as of now and as of the last I check via Steemworld.org have the highest ROIs I've found.

I like @Buildawhale and @Apprciator most since the promote quality content and ban those abusing the system.

Thanks for the useful info. Going to try your strategy. It is logical when I apply your reasoning. Appreciate your reply. Most thanks!

Thank you for explaining how to use the bots. I'm still trying to find my way around here and I feel really out of place knowing nothing. This article helps explain some things to me I was wondering about.

No problem. Glad this helped a bit. You'll get it in no time. I plan on bringing more tips like this either weekly or biweekly.

These are some great tips to help out new users on Steemit. I need to look more into the bots and community sections. I feel like I am posting LITERAL FIRE but am only getting 2-3 views a post.

Don't worry about the views. You more want Upvotes, Follows, and Comment engagement. You need to use tags Photofeed and use the tags of the @photocontest bot so you can gain XP. Both will increase your exposure. You're tags to to generic. I use no more that 2 maybe 3 generic tags per post.

In this post I'm contributing to the #photofeed tag, #photocontests tag, and the #promo-steem tag. Each are large more specific communities.

Using the photography tag or steemit tag doesn't quite cut it. Community tags. I've mention to you to become active in the #dtube, #dtubedaily, and #openmic tags. Also, #dlive and #dsound when posting from those platforms. These are tags for you in specific that will growing your account.

You should refer to @drkent, @kevinli, @coruscate's growth and activity. Amazing content and great people.

I’m so mad I’m JUST seeing this... thanks for the info man. The crazy thing is, I just researched so much of that today and here it is in a comment from 10 days ago lol!

Thanks for the intro tips! Definitely going to book mark this and look over it for a bit.

I'm so glad you're on the platform my friend. There well definitely be more of these. I thinking of putting out tips weekly or on the fortnite/biweekly for you all.

Thanks! Tons of things for me to think about and digest. I understand there is another method of acquiring STEEM other than coinbase? If you know of it I am interested to take the next step with my involvement in the community! I resteemed this so i know where i can read it again!

Coinbase does not host Steem. I use Coinbase is an exchange. I use it to turn my FIAT USD into Ethereum, then I got to Blocktrades.us to convert my Ether into Steem, Steem Power, or SBD.

In terms of exchanges Steem in on Bittrex, but I just prefer Blocktrades. Hope this helped.

Thanks so much for the reply. Yes, i get the part about having to buy BTC or ETH and then convert to steem, but I had heard there was something starting that had steem, front line, so the exchange didnt have to happen and was wondering if you knew about it. I think maybe a month old, tops. I will check out blocktrades. Thanks again!

interesting information :) I will try to use it better. Thanks and good luck

Glad it helped. Safe journeys.

Tags are also very important and I would advise you to change your tags but you can be downvoted by the bots of Steemit.com

Yea there are bots of all types.
My tags are fine, but thanks for considering.
photofeed - to contribiute to the community via my photo edits.
Steemit - because these are Steemit tips for New Steemit Users
promo-steem - because I'm promoting steem in my first picture at an event with a steem shirt while giving out the same time to people I wrote here.
life - because this is my life and I studied user experience and technology
marcophotography - because my kingfisher bird from my archive is a Macro shot.

Thanks bro but I as a reader think that your posts should first fall into the category of steemit and steem and then if you want to use other tags, it is up to you.

No prob. That's your preference. I don't want my post to go directly into the Steemit tag first. I more favor and am apart of the Photofeed community then what ever else. As long as my original photos are in the post I'll use Photofeed. The main reason is that it has better visibility and I think the tag is better filtered.

Steemit tag is to generic to be honest and people post whatever they want into it. This doesn't make it a better tag but rather a noisy one, so it doesn't take priority.

I will consider for future posts, but from everything I've seen the Steemit/Steem doesn't improve SEO that well.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 03:44:46
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 175.05/200.00
Total Photos: 26
Total comments: 22
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

So your account was created 2 months ago, but you were not on Steemit for 2 months 🤔😩
That's impossible 😂

How much did you invest?
And I think you rarely earn as much with bid bots as in your example.

My account was created Jan 4 and I have been Steemit and the blockchain daily since then. Feel free to check my wallet activity yourself.

I invested what I could.

But initially you wrote "I have NOT been on Steemit 2 months now "
But you noticed this typo and edited your post 😀

I initially wrote a typo that said "I have been on Steemit not for 2 months now."
"not" should have been the word "now" but their were 2 in the sentence so I deleted it as I was rereading a 3rd time.

Also, all you have to do is look at my profile btw. Every profile has a join date.
I kind of feel you're just being a smartalec at this point. You can easily double check. Also, you're focusing on the wrong thing. That is not that value this post.

You're comments don't contribute anything.

Well I just try to make a joke about the the typo, but I guess it was a bad one.
My questions however were very serious.

I also used the paid upvoting bots. And after curation I earned factor 1.22. And I even had my posts upvoted within 10 minutes. So how on earth can I earn factor 1.65?

Give more or get a better bot.
https://steembottracker.com

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 04:13:05
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 180.10/200.00
Total Photos: 27
Total comments: 22
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.26 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You have received an upvote from @nicestbot. I am an automated curation bot trying to make minnows happy.