Now I have more than $100 HBD in savings, but maybe the sailboat is not the best plan? (2021.11.06)

in #savings2 years ago (edited)

Today I transferred 6.025 HBD into savings, and now I have $105.972 HBD in savings.

Probably you already know that I am saving this for a sailboat. I currently have (or had?) the plan of buying and living on a sailboat.

The sad news is that more and more people telling me that living on a sailboat with a total monthly income of approximately $250 USD (or approximately $470 USD with a part time job) will not going to work.

I really have high hopes for a sailboat, but if I cannot maintain financially, then it is a pointless plan.

If this is true, then my worst-case scenario is living in a car or van, but both are risky. Multiple people mentioned the van as a better option so far. Approximately one hour ago I had a discussion with @revise.spt, and he also mentioned it. I wrote down in a comment why that is risky.

But no matter what will happen, I will not want to be in rent next winter. I am so very much tired of the financial discrimination I currently live in.

Thanks to the support from a few good Hive users, I can certainly say that I have enough money for the current winter (until the March of 2022). The next winter is another story. But one thing is sure. I do not want to choose between paying rent/bills and buying food ever again.

So one way or another, I will do something very soon.

I would be very glad and very happy to hear a few (literally) life saving suggestions. What should I do with multiple disabilities living under the local minimum wage, while my only enjoyment in real life is my Harris's hawk? (And also considering/taking into account the details in the above linked discussion)

img_0.2416989904292928.jpg

Sort:  

What are people telling you about living on the boat? Is it too expensive or what?

Isn't it cheaper to have youe boat docked somewhere than paying rent?

I do not know whether this is true or not, but more and more people say that the regular maintenance of a sailboat alone is too expensive for my low income, and even other costs are being mentioned, for example mooring fees, canal license, insurance, etc. If this is true, then a sailboat is not for me. I do not want to break financially. But I do not want to starve either.

Someone with personal experience would be good. Can I maintain (and live on) a sailboat with (or rather under) $120 USD per month? The remaining $130 USD would be to feed myself and my Harris's hawk. I count with my $250 USD per month pension-like income.

My total income with my current four hours part time job is approximately $470 USD per month, but to keep that, I would have to remain within the Northern Great Plain region of Hungary. And that would mean I would have to heat in the winter, which makes additional (probably very high) costs.

Hmm okay. I honestly don't know anything a boats or living on them, so ye I don't know the cost x)

You would properly need to find someone within HU with experience in living on a boat too get a good picture of the costs and such.

If you can, you could travel to like a "local" small habour for houseboats and ask around :D

I currently do not have contact with sailors in Hungary. I do not even know if there is anyone in my country, who lives full time on a sailboat. But I will indeed try asking around. There is even a Hungarian Facebook group for sailing. Maybe I will try asking there. Hopefully they allow my questions to be displayed. If not, then I have to ask around locally and personally.

I do not even know if there is anyone in my country, who lives full time on a sailboat.

There is 100% some random dude living on a sailboat in your country :P

The facebook group might be a good place to start!

Hello dear friend @xplosive good afternoon

Do not rush to change your mind, remember that your income is in a current reality; By the time you buy the sailboat, your compensation in Hive will have grown, and the income will be different, when you have all the money saved for the sailboat, that is when you must decide what the situation really is.

Do not be discouraged, you will find the best way to live. And I have faith that it will be on the sailboat.

I wish you a wonderful Sunday

I wish that I could get enough compensation on Hive to be able to maintain a sailboat. I am trying to be active and consistent. We will see. Recently I saw a post with the title Can we prefer/choose Hive over Full Time Career ? written by @steemflow.
He wrote that "Frankly I am around here full-time since last few years but that's been a long road in itself and nothing is certain".
Seeing someone considering being active on Hive as a full time job since years is a great motivation and inspiration.

I also wish you a wonderful Sunday. Have a nice weekend.
All the best. Greetings from Hungary.

Needing the money is obviously something you have to adhere to. However, the longer you can leave the money earning while putting it to use, the better it is.

Either way, just keep active even if you have to use the money because your activity generates income and can help you refill your wallet.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Currently I do not need to use the money. I save everything I can. Literally cents by cents, if needed. I am just currently not sure whether I should buy a sailboat or not, considering the maintenance fees and every other costs with it, and my low income in real life. I am simply not sure if I could financially maintain a sailboat. More and more people say that it is expensive. I would really love to do being active on Hive as a job. If I could earn normal amount of money with Hive on the long term, then I could certainly be able to financially maintain a sailboat. Otherwise I am not sure. My income in real life is under the local minimum wage.

Ohhhh, so you are buying a sailboat to live on that to save for the rent? When you said about that, I thought you want it for traveling! Now I know. So in your country, if you have sailboat and want to live on that, where would you park the boat?

Ohhhh, so you are buying a sailboat to live on that to save for the rent?

If I would have a sailboat, and if I would live on that, then I would not have to pay rent, nor regular, monthly bills. Saving money (or rather reducing the expenses) is my goal, so I could live a proper life.

So in your country, if you have sailboat and want to live on that, where would you park the boat?

I would rather go and park the boat in a warmer place, for example somewhere around Spain, so I would not have to heat in the winters. The Hungarian winters are very cold. I would literally freeze to death without heating, and heating is obviously increasing the expenses.

Woww!!! That's cool! You dont need to settle at one place and can traveling while living around!!! Hopefully it soon comes true

Hopefully. Thank you for the support. I give you some !PIZZA.
Have a nice day and have a nice weekend. All the best. Greetings from Hungary.

HBD savings are a good way to ensure a secure passive revenue stream. To motivate me I have set a goal of $1 per day which would require me to deposit 3,650 HBD considering the 10% APY. Once I achieve that I can set higher goals, but having a stablecoin investment is a must for any crypto portfolio!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

3,650 HBD

That is a lot of money. More than my yearly/annual pension-like income, which is approximately $3000 USD. I receive this for my multiple disabilities. Nowadays I also work in a four hours per day part time job, but my total income (approximately $470 USD per month) is still less than the local minimum wage (approximately $550 USD per month). And $3650 HBD could buy literally a house for me in the countryside of Hungary.

Have a nice day and have a nice weekend.
All the best. Greetings from Hungary.

Szia! Állítólag itthon elég drága egy vitorlás fenntartása. A főnököm egyik ismerőse szeretett volna vitorlást venni a Balatonon, mert a balatoni nyaralók nagyon drágák. A probléma elsősorban nem a vitorlás ára volt, hanem a fenntartási költségek, kikötői díjak, karban tartás, műszaki vizsgáztatás. Plusz vitorlás vizsgát is kell tenni, hogy az ember kimehessen vele a kikötőből. A végén 4 család állt össze és így vettek egy vitorlást, és elosszák a költségeket. Így felváltva használják. A pontos számokat nem ismerem, csak halottam mikor nyár elején mesélték ezt a storit a főnökömnek.

Köszönöm, hogy írtál. Ezt az információt viszont szomorúan hallom. Tudsz esetleg valamit javasolni helyette, amiben élni lehet? Páran javasolták a kisteherautót és a lakóautót is, de mindkettő drága és (vezetni) rizikós is jogosítvány nèlkül. Bár lehet, hogy tényleg ezek valamelyike lesz, esetleg egy sima személyautó. Konkrétan már ilyen szinten van elegem az albérletekből. Vagyis leginkább azok áraiból a bevételemhez viszonyítva. Nem akarok azon morfondírozni többet, hogy az albérleti díjat/számlákat fizessem be, vagy élelmiszert vegyek.

Kisteherautóban, lakóautóban télen nem igazán jó aludni, mert nem tudod fűteni. Bár lakóautót lehet elektromosan fűteni, de ahhoz úgy kell leparkolni, hogy legyen 220V a közelben, vagy ha van gáz rendszere, akkor elvileg gázpalackról is fűthető a lakóautó. Csak nem tudom, hogy közterületen lehet e autóban lakni. Most nagyon drága az albérlet meg minden. Nekünk is haza kellett költözni a szüleimhez, mert már ellátásra szorulnak és egyszerre nem tudjuk az albérletet és egy segítő gondozót fizetni. Most velük lakunk és így nem kell fizetni másnak, hogy este vacsorát adjon, meg bepelenkázza mamát, megmosdassa, meg rendbe tegye a lakást. Nem könnyű, de majd talán lesz jobb. Esetleg próbálj meg egy albérlő társat keresni, ketten könnyebben tudjátok fizetni a költségeket.

I been living and sailing for over 7 years. It is the cheapest and most fun lifestyle there is. There are a lot of thinks you have to learn to take care of your boat, weather, fishing, sailing etc. It takes about two years to learn most of it. However if you do you will be free and independent. There are also many ways to make a living, like cleaning other people's boats bottom, repairing sails for other's, maintain and clean teak. There are many wealthy people who need to get work done. Oil change on the engine, fix there electronics. What ever you are good at. The more you learn the more opportunities you will have. If this is your dream don't let people talk you out of it.

Wow. Honestly, I do not really have any skills. I do not even have any experience with sailboats at the moment. I live with multiple disabilities, and I receive low a pension-like income, which is approximately only $250 USD per month (can I sail with such a low income like this?).

Nowadays I also work in a four hours per day part time job, and my total income is approximately only $470 USD per month, while the local minimum wage is approximately $550 USD per month. And the rent and the regular, monthly bills are very high. The tax (27%) also. The highest in the whole EU. This is Hungary. The land of the financial discrimination.

Thank you for the supporting and motivating comment. Actually your comment is one of the best motivations I received recently.

I give you some !PIZZA.

Have a nice day and have a nice weekend.
All the best. Greetings from Hungary.

I met a man from Russia once, maybe 5 years ago on a small sailboat in the Caribbean. He was retired and his pension was $100.
He had sailed from Russia, and his plan was to do the whole world.
He didn't even have a dinghy, and often had to swim to shore.
But I never met a person more proud and happy then him in my life.
You need a good boat, and some extras like solar panels. You need a good guide, like a book that tells you where to sail and when. You can go anywhere as long as you know when to sail. For example you need to cross the Atlantic to the Caribbean in November or December and you will have very nice weather.

Now I don't know what your disability is. You need to judge for you self if you can do this. Nobody knows you better then your self. But you can learn anything you need there is a lot of info on the internet.

There are many cheap places in the world where $250 is a lot of money. Like I was in Guatemala at the Dulce River once and a beer there costs about $0.30
You can go to a restaurant and eat for $2 a burrito.
You save money at the cheap places so you have more when you are somewhere more expensive.

You can also find great info here:
https://www.noonsite.com/
But remember not to believe everything, like when I read about Belize I was scared to go there because it sounded very expensive. However after talking to some people I learn that it can be very cheap if you just know a coupe of tricks. It was one of the best places I have been. So don't believe everything you read.

I wish you good luck.
By the way I am from Turkey.

I met a man from Russia once, maybe 5 years ago on a small sailboat in the Caribbean. He was retired and his pension was $100.
He had sailed from Russia, and his plan was to do the whole world.

This is beautiful. My pension-like income is approximately $250 USD per month. I would have approximately $120 USD per month for the sailboat after buy food for myself and for my Harris's hawk.

If someone can do it with a $100 USD per month pension, then I can certainly do it with an approximately $250 USD per month pension-like income.

Now I don't know what your disability is. You need to judge for you self if you can do this.

I live with multiple disabilities, but can do this physically. I am visually impaired (short-sightedness, visual field deffect, disorder of color vision), and I live with autism spectrum disorder.

Thank you so much for the detailed reply. I will keep saving money to buy and live on a sailboat.

Have a nice day and have a nice weekend.
All the best. Greetings from Hungary.

.

Passive income. If you put your HBD into savings, then you earn interest. I received $0.01 HBD so far. That may not sound much, but this was shortly after transferring $78 HBD into savings 8 days (2021.10.29). The current current interest rate for the HBD savings is 10% APR (annual percentage rate).

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@xplosive(2/10) tipped @robotamer (x1)
xplosive tipped hknauy (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Congratulations @xplosive! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 3000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The new HiveFest⁶ attendee badge is waiting for you
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I just started my HBD savings plan today. Saving up for something nice.

I like this idea and I would say, go for your dream. I wish you good luck.

120$/month maintenance costs for a boat docked in a harbor seems way too low. I am not an expert, but depending on where it lays, those dock dues can be quite hefty. Of course also depends on the size of your boat, but if you want to have it heated in winter, I guess it needs to have a minimum size and comfort standards.

Some people suggested that I should find a place, where I could park the boat for free. Maybe that could work, but the safety is another question (my personal things and other valuable things on the sailboat, not to mention the sailboat itself). There are indeed many things to consider/take into account/think about.

After saving a bit more, try to Keep some HBD on your wallet to buy hive in the internal market every time hive pumps at binance. I’ve been paying my bills doing that and if you don’t believe just Check my wallet & transactions. Have a great day my friend, I hope you are fine . Cheers

I have done something similar, but years ago on the Steem blockchain. And only with very little amounts (from a few cents up to a few dollars). I bought Steem, when it went down, and I sold Steem, when it went up. I earned a few cents with it. I will probably try to do the same with Hive in the near future. In addition to the profits, it is an exciting thing to do, even with very small amounts.

Thank you for the suggestion.

Have a nice day and have a nice weekend.
All the best. Greetings from Hungary.