Meet My New (AI) Travel Agent

in #travellast year (edited)

You might remember me talking about our extensive travel plans for 2023 a few blog posts ago. An unbelievable amount of time goes into planning a good trip – watching scads of YouTube videos, reading travel blogs, articles, etc.

Travel, especially overseas, is expensive and you’re never quite sure if you’ll make it back to that particular destination so it’s important to make the most good memories for your buck.

Yesterday, I finally got access to the AI Chatbot everyone is talking about these days, ChatGPT. Since travel is in the forefront of my mind currently I decided this is the subject matter I’d use for my inaugural test.


I began with the prompt:

Build me a seven day itinerary for Ireland in September.

Following was ChatGPT’s response:

Sure, here's a seven day itinerary for Ireland in September:

Day 1: Dublin
Arrive in Dublin and spend the day exploring the city. Visit the famous Trinity College and see the Book of Kells. Take a stroll through St. Stephen's Green Park and have a pint of Guinness at the Guinness Storehouse.

Day 2: Wicklow Mountains and Glendalough
Take a day trip to the Wicklow Mountains and visit the stunning Glendalough, a monastic site that dates back to the 6th century. Take a hike through the beautiful mountains and enjoy the breathtaking views.

Day 3: Cork
Travel to Cork, a charming city in the south of Ireland. Visit the famous English Market and explore the narrow streets of the historic city center. Stop by the iconic St. Fin Barre's Cathedral and end the day with a pint of Murphy's Irish Stout.

Day 4: Ring of Kerry
Take a scenic drive around the Ring of Kerry, a stunning route that offers spectacular views of Ireland's rugged coastline. Visit the picturesque towns of Killarney and Kenmare, and stop at the historic Muckross House and Gardens.

Day 5: Dingle Peninsula
Explore the Dingle Peninsula, another stunning area in the southwest of Ireland. Take a boat tour to see Fungie, a resident bottlenose dolphin, and visit the ancient beehive huts at the Gallarus Oratory.

Day 6: Cliffs of Moher and Galway
Travel to the Cliffs of Moher, one of Ireland's most famous natural landmarks. Take a stroll along the cliffs and enjoy the stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean. End the day in Galway, a lively city known for its traditional music scene and colorful streets.

Day 7: Connemara
Take a day trip to Connemara, a stunning region in the west of Ireland. Visit Kylemore Abbey, a beautiful 19th-century castle, and take a walk through the rugged countryside. End the day with a pint of local beer at a traditional Irish pub.

This itinerary should give you a taste of the best of Ireland in a week. However, feel free to modify it to suit your interests and preferences. Enjoy your trip!


Having already done the research for this trip, I figured it might be a good test of the proficiency of the AI. Aside from at least one glaring error (did you find it?), ChatGPT did an amazing job of piecing together a well-balanced seven day trip to the Emerald Isle.

After this first experiment with Ireland I was hooked and had the AI create sample itineraries for a four day trip to Montreal and a ten day trip to London. I also asked for restaurant recommendations for Montreal and was equally impressed. The results get remarkably better the more specific your prompts are.

The results aren’t always perfect as the Fungie reference above illustrates (the dolphin died in October of 2020) but they’re good enough to be a competent starting point for a fabulous vacation.

If I would’ve begun planning these trips using ChatGPT it would have saved me many hours of research. I won’t make that mistake again going forward.

With as quickly as this AI is developing I wouldn’t be surprised if soon you’ll be able to type your travel dates in the prompt and the AI will find you the cheapest flights and best available accommodations as well as be able to lock in all of those reservations for you. What an amazing world we live in.

T R A V E L - T I P

Now we’re going to go from the most to the least technologically advanced travel tip you can imagine. This leather valet tray from Gustin has been my faithful travel companion all over the world these past few years. The snaps on the valet tray release so it packs perfectly flat when you’re traveling.

When you get to your travel destination you simply secure the four snaps and you instantly have a tray to empty the contents of your pockets into every night. When you’re in unfamiliar surroundings and suffering from jetlag it’s easy to lose things. The valet try is a great way to insure all of the important and valuable things you carry every day stay with you.

The valet tray is currently out of stock at Gustin but similar ones can be found elsewhere online.

All for now. Trust your instincts, invest in you, live boldly, and take chances.

~Eric Vance Walton~


(Gif sourced from Giphy.com. Photos are original.)


Are you interested in joining Hive? If so, click on this link to sign-up and begin sharing your thoughts and ideas with our global community.


alt text

Poetry should move us, it should change us, it should glitch our brains, shift our moods to another frequency. Poetry should evoke feelings of melancholy, whimsy, it should remind us what it feels like to be in love, or cause us to think about something in a completely different way. I view poetry, and all art really, as a temporary and fragile bridge between our world and a more pure and refined one. This is a world we could bring into creation if enough of us believed in it. This book is ephemera, destined to end up forgotten, lingering on some dusty shelf or tucked away in a dark attic. Yet the words, they will live on in memory. I hope these words become a part of you, bubble up into your memory when you least expect them to and make you feel a little more alive.

Pick up a copy of Ephemera today on Amazon.



alt text

Most of us have experienced a moment of perfect peace at least once in our lives. In these moments we lose ourselves and feel connected to everything. I call these mindful moments. Words can’t describe how complete they make us feel.

These moments are usually fragile, evaporating in seconds. What if there was a way to train your mind to experience more of them? It’s deceptively easy and requires nothing more than a subtle shift in mindset. My new book, Mindful Moments, will teach you to be much more content despite the chaos and imperfect circumstances continuing to unfold around you. Upgrade your life experience today for only $15.99 on Amazon.com.



Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1636105040724107265 twitter metadata:MjI0NzcxMDEwOHx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8yMjQ3NzEwMTA4L3N0YXR1cy8xNjM2MTA1MDQwNzI0MTA3MjY1fA== ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @itwithsm, @videoaddiction ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

What a very accurate itinerary. I hope your trip will be successful and enjoyable. Have a nice day, Eric.

Thank you Eliana! We can't wait to see Ireland! Enjoy your weekend my friend.

Aside from at least one glaring error (did you find it?)

It told you to have a pint of Guinness. If you have just one Guinness in Dublin, you’re doing something very wrong.

Ha-ha. You've uncovered another glaring error! Is Guinness really that much better in Ireland? I plan on doing extensive research myself.

Everywhere I see talk these days is artificial intelligence and ChatGPT, there is no doubt that this is a wonderful thing and the way the world is advancing today is exactly the same and going forward these machines will replace humans. I am not saying ChatGPT is wrong at all, I'm just saying it's faster than we'd hoped and everything has its pros and cons. As we know its benefits are many and it helps us in many things like you have used it for your trip as well many other people in the world are using it for their own needs. So I think it's too early to say anything about it but for now we can say that he has taken the whole world surprised.

It's insane how quickly it's evolved. ChatGPT-4 can already work with images as well as text.

Yes ChatGPT-4 shocked the world and today in university it was our hot topic we discussed it with our professors they are shocked too and one of my teacher said it is good enough we can't even imagine and after some years the map of the world will change as almost some years ago this world was changed when the internet came into existence. In simple words, my teacher said evolution of AI will be bigger than evolution of internet.

I totally agree. AI will bring advancements to the human race that we can't even imagine. It'll also bring unimaginable problems as well.

Holy fuck… this is so damn cool. I’ll have to try this the next time I plan a trip.

It's amazing. What's equally as interesting to me is how people are deciding to use it. For now, I think a good starting question to ask is, "how can ChatGPT save me time?" and from that point you can decide how best to use it for specific applications. As this gets better and better I see some serious implications with it though mainly the spreading of disinformation and false narratives.

There are many good and bad things that can come from it. You did inspire me to do a similar post to this one about my hometown. I’m working on it now and will post it sometime next week.

For sure! The convenience factor of it is huge. I want to rush in and use it for everything I can think of now because I just know they're going to monetize, even the basic version, at some point. Awesome! I'll be looking forward to your post.

Ugh I dread when it costs money. I don’t really use any of the AI art apps anymore since I’ve already spent all of my free credits. I hate that it doesn’t stay free to use.

For now, there are no limitations on the "basic" version but they say you can be denied access if there's high usage. The "pro" version is $20 per month. I'm using the hell out of it and cutting and pasting results into Google Docs for now.

I’ve had the “too busy” notification before. When that happens I just switch over to my phone and it usually works. Must not be too busy. I wouldn’t care about having to pay for subscriptions if crypto would just reach new ATHs already.

How wonderful! I have been impressed. Even the more thorough the questions, I'm sure the more accurate the answers will be. For example what food to eat according to your tastes, what places to see according to your interests. I think it's amazing! Although I have to confess that I once tried to make a travel itinerary and I was exhausted and with an inner desire of not having done what I wanted to do. It turns out that I once took a trip to Colombia and we went to an island called San Andres which is beautiful. Although we all wanted to stay, we had to leave because something else was scheduled the next day. I was never able to go back to San Andres again. Anyway, while it is true that planning can save us headaches, it is also true that sometimes it can be a "straitjacket". Sometimes the smells and the spaces make the roads. As the Spanish poet Machado said: "Walker there is no path, paths are made by walking". An excellent Wednesday to you. Hugs

San Andres island sounds like a place worthy of visiting! Although I agree with what the Spanish poet says the best method of travel I've found for me is a balance of planning and spontaneity. The ChatGPT itinerary packed more into a day than I'd like but I'd use those suggestions as a starting point and then tailor the trip more to my liking. The planning provides the "framework" for the magic of spontaneity to happen. : ) Enjoy your day my friend!

I am seriously going to have to check this out~ That would probably make my life a whole lot easier~

It's FUN to play with. It took me a few months to gain access after getting on a waitlist. I'm not sure if there's a waitlist anymore.

I'll let you know when I get around to doing it. Soonish!

Can't wait to hear your thoughts on it. Everyone is going to find unique uses for it once they dip their toes into the pool. It also creates recipes! I'm going to have it create an air fryer fish and chip recipe for our dinner tomorrow night. I'm trying my hand at making mushy peas for the first time.

Recipes!? I'm in! With fresh fish? I only eat fresh fish and have never found a good rcipe for it with the air fryer. (fish and chips)

Loading...

Really very convenient and saves a lot of time. Have a nice holiday

Personally, the biggest issue I have with the AI is more egregious than a deceased dolphin... No trip to the Jameson or RedBreast distilleries? Unacceptable! :) My sister in law went over there a while ago and visited Donegal and Arranmore. They have relatives there I think. She is from Beaver Island in the middle of Lake Michigan which has a lot of Irish ties. Since you have been to Montreal before, that would be a good test of how good of a job it does. I haven't even bothered getting an account for ChatGPT. I might have to try for our upcoming trip though. The valet is pretty cool!

You are so right! I've heard the Jameson tour is probably the best alcohol-related tour in the entire city, I think it costs 28 Euro. ChatGPT did an amazing job with Montreal. It even grouped the different days' recommendations into close geographical distances. The tech is fun to play around with. I only spent an hour or so with it yesterday. I wish I had relatives to visit over there, I have VERY distant cousins in the Cork County area but I just found them through 23andMe. Thanks! The valet really gives me peace of mind because all of things I carry every day are in one place.

I second @bozz on the Jameson/Red Breast tour. It was fantastic. My wife doesn't drink and she also loved it. (Bonus for me as I got her free drinks at the end).

I prefer Red Breast to Jameson's. With Green Spot a close second.

https://www.irishdistillers.ie/

I may have tried at least one dram of each of these the first time I was over.

image.png

slainte!

'hic .... now what were you saying about AI? :)

Very cool! If you haven't already, you should check out the whiskey/whisky community we have here on Hive. We need more members posting!

Excellent idea. I've just subscribed.

Awesome!

Awesome! I like Red Breast too. I think @bozz recommended it to me at some point and I tried it. Thanks for the link!

I third @bozz on the Jameson tour!! They might have gone up, I thought it was 25 Euros. Oh, you will love the Grain to Glass lesson. Then the taste test. :)

FYI - It doesn't matter where you find your Irish roots! Get in touch with them and let them know you are curious about your roots. They take relations seriously.

It sounds like the Jameson tour is a solid win. I hope we have enough time in Dublin to do it. We're driving to the West coast right after we land and then won't be back to Dublin until the night before we fly out. You know, I might just reach out to a few cousins on 23andMe. The nice thing about the platform is it does allow you to message others. Meeting up with locals has always been the best part of any of our overseas trips.

The thing about 23andMe? So few people do it that once you contact the few cousins, you will show up and have 300 relatives to meet. They will most likely even have you over for dinner. Honestly, they are some of the kindest warm-hearted people I know.

They can also drink me under the table. Jameson tour! You won't be sorry!

Okay, now I'm really excited about reaching out. That would be so much fun. When I was in England one of my goals was to visit some of the distant Walton relatives in Oxfordshire. Life was so crazy back then (2018) that we never made plans beforehand. We landed at Heathrow and before we knew it the trip was over. London just swept us away. Next time I'll set things up before we leave so it's planned. I found the English to be warm and friendly too but I've heard the Irish take it to a different level. Oh, I'm a lightweight now that I've gotten older. More than four drams and I'll be making a fool of myself. Lol.

My sister in law did the tour of Jameson I think. They have a special distillers select bottle that you can only get over there. It was so smooth! If I get access before we head to Louisville, I will try to get an itinerary.

I haven't used it yet, but as far as I have understood from your and other posts, what's different than a search engine? I think if you write what to do in Ireland, you will get a similar result from Google, also for tickets from skyscanner 🙄

It's like a search engine on steroids. It compiles a cohesive answer compiled from info scrubbed from the entire internet based on your prompts in seconds. What I posted in in the blog was exactly what it gave me. What is SkyScanner? I've never heard of that.

https://www.skyscanner.net/

It is a popular web-site for searching cheap flight tickets.

Ah, cool. Thanks for the link!

ChatGPT is truly changing many aspects of our life. I'm just amazed by the result it produces for you. If you have heard about GPT4, you must try it too, it a advance version of Chatgpt and gives you splendid result. I haven't tried it, but watched demo videos that Shocked me how AI is changing our life. I wish you best of luck with your trip mate.

Thanks! Yeah, I've heard GPT4 handles pictures as well. I haven't tried it yet.

The beauty of AI in my opinion

Thank you for holding virtualgrowth token. You have been included in today's post.


namaste

hopefully the journey in success always. I hope that apart from going to Ireland one day I can visit Aceh very soon. 😁👍