What Vegan Protein Should You Get? Advice From A 10-Year Bodybuilder

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

I've stopped taking Whey protein (because of digestion issues, acne, etc.) but what vegan protein is good?

I can't have soy, I can't have artificial sweeteners or coloring, gluten, etc.

I want it to actually taste good on its own. I want it to mix quickly and I want it to blend well into smoothies.

My name is Brian Turner and I've been here on Steemit for a few months (since December or so) and I run a YouTube channel (http://www.youtube.com/HumerusFitness) with over 240k subscribers and one of the questions I get the most is from people looking to change into a vegan diet OR from people who have acne or IBS and are looking to stop taking whey protein (which is TERRIBLE on acne and digestion) but most people don't know where to start with vegan protein as a lot of them taste like sawdust (brown rice protein is one of the worst) or have soy in them (which a lot of people have allergies to).

transformation.png
My transformation through the years of lifting

Firstly, I want to mention that you can get your protein in from whole foods on a vegan diet you just have to know where to look and what to eat.

A lot of people just jump into a vegan diet thinking you can only eat rice and bananas but you can get 100-200 grams of protein fairly easily if you do a small amount of research. Luckily I've been vegan for 3 years and have found a LOT of meals that pack protein in, I make a full day of eating (showing every meal I eat in a single day) for the last year or so - my last video covers a really great few meals that you can have to pack some protein in:

I personally like to have a Vegan protein powder around because firstly, I make a smoothie every morning to get lots of carbs and fruits (vitamins, etc.) in all in one and it makes my smoothie thicker and more delicious. It's also great for days when you don't have a lot of time to cook or haven't gotten to whatever your protein goal is for the day and you can just throw a scoop in water or almond milk and chug it.

This is what this post is all about, I wanted to let those of you who are interested in on my favorite vegan protein (which, full disclosure I've now seeked out a sponsorship with because I love it) and it's called

VivoLife Protein (here's a comparison to the other main Vegan proteins)

Some huge benefits are that it is tested for heavy metals (those who have been bodybuilding for a while remember when almost all the main protein brands were busted for heavy metals from cheap protein sourcing) it also has no soy, grains, artificial colors or sweeteners and is raw which helps with digestibility. On top of that they use some really niche ingredients like reishi mushrooms which are a superfood that have been used for 1000's of years to improve mental focus, metabolism, immune function, etc. (google into it) as well as sprouted pea protein and cracked cell wall hemp protein. Other proteins are really gritty and grainy and taste like grass, but this taste f***in' bomb to be blunt with it! Try it once and then call me a liar if you don't like it, I guarantee it'll be the only brand you buy from after.

If it sounds like I'm pitching it to you, it's because frankly, I am. I truly believe in this brand and have gone through about 6 bags now, using about 1-2 servings every single day. They continue to reformulate to improve the blends smoothness, flavor, etc. and I know that people will fall in love once they try it - but just like me, everybody needs to a push to pony up and try it.

My offer to Steemit

I know that buying protein takes a bit of money but again I guarantee you'll love it. I want you to try it so I'm going to make a little offer here to motivate you to do something awesome for yourself while also getting something back from it.

Firstly, you have to use my link which gives me commission: http://bit.ly/VivoLifeBrian from there choose the flag in the top left corner for either UK or USA (yup, I'm sorry this is only available for these two countries for now). Then choose ANY product (doesn't have to be the protein, it can be the greens, BCAA's, maca or matcha).

Purchase using code BRIAN10 to take 10% off

Then post here in this thread or send me message on Discord (or any other way) with your receipt, after checking to confirm your purchase I will send you 5 SBD or Steem and will upvote 3 of your posts with 100% voting power (around 0.25 - 0.35 SBD at the moment)


So basically you will get 10% off the order in the first place then you'll get 5 SBD which is worth ~ $10 USD at the moment based off market price AND you'll get three 100% upvotes which will be around 0.75-1 SBD more, basically getting $15 total off and returned to you.

I have a lot of knowledge in the fitness and supplements industry and I wouldn't put my weight behind a supplement if I didn't believe it was the best in the market. I post tons of fitness information on my steemit here and on my youtube channel so if you are thinking about getting more fit and trying to find out what to eat, what to do to lift, etc. you can find a lot of that information just by browsing my content OR if you have any questions ask them and I'll do my best to help or direct you the right way especially if you're supporting by picking up some of this protein.

Thanks for checking out my post here and showing support on my all of my posts my friends, I'll see you guys in the comment section!
Sort:  

Going vegan is the best way to get rid of all kind of diseases mental and physical both, people will lead a very healthy life

Majority of my Vegan buddys are agressive veg cultists. Ill empericaly bet your statement.

What is the obsession with protein anyways, thats 400-800 additional calories (or 300-600, being the hardest of the macronutrients to digest with 20-30% energy loss) :) Actually what I experienced on my own body is that I loose muscles when I take too much protein because of the added calories. When I restrict my intake to ~1500 Calories with intermittent fasting I gain muscles because of human grow hormone secretion. I dare to say that 0.5g/kg bodyweight is enough for me. That being said, I don't want to apply one standard to all, there are people who respond well to protein and others who are better served with carbs.

Well to each his own, it sounds like you aren't trying to build big muscles but for people who are and are trying to find a protein powder this is it! Like I wrote first and foremost the primary way to get protein should be food

I do a lot of bodyweight strength, but true for big muscles I would have to cut a lot of my muscular endurance trainings. Thats is why more protein does not do anything for me, it makes me more sluggish and my regeneration worsens so I can't train that hard and often. To set things into perspective, Patrik Baboumian, a vegan Strongmen, supplements 200g protein, and Phil Heat consumes 400g protein. The majority does not train that hard and there are examples that you can build big muscles with only 0.5g protein/kg bodyweight if you are disciplined enough, like Dr. Amen-Ra:
http://www.amentaeliteathlete.com/personal-training.html
What the majority lacks is not protein but RHT, that is really hard training and I'm sure you agree with me on that :)

I'm all for supplementing with protein, for me it is in small doses of ~30g a day with Soy protein isolate, including fermented BCAA's and different AA's because of the benefits of a low caloric footprint and I know this isn't for everyone as I don't believe that one formula fits all people.
I also use turmeric, albeit at a different time, and this protein powder sounds great and having been on a raw diet for half a year and knowing the benefits this is a great protein powder, I might even try to ditch the soy protein and go full raw intermittent caloric restricted fasting, you just inspired me with this protein powder :)

Hallo there. My father was pentathlon champion at the last Empire games in 52. Photos of that time will show he had a sufficiency of muscles. 54" expanded chest, 19" waist, 15" biceps. He took nil additives, but worked out on the rings and in the swimming pool. His diet was eggs, meat and potatoes with a great deal of fish. And he carried a caber up and down a heartbreak hill. For this reason, among others, I don't work out particularly hard, nor worry too much about additives, but just stick to a balanced diet and regular workout. I am not 'ripped' but when younger did sufficient lifting and heavy work to be considered extremely fit. The balance, carbs to protein, is wholly dependent upon your use of your 'ripped-ness'. If walking a catwalk and posing for camera it is wholly different than debusing trucks and helicopters in motion, and slugging through rainforest with 70lbs on your back. Or even working, lifting and rings in games, while staying fast enough for the boxing ring. 😇
By additives, I don't mean food chemicals, but supplements. His supplements were, ''Another fish please dear.''
Keep on keeping on. 😇

My grandfather was vice national champion in weight lifting and he used to drink a big bowl of clarified butter my father told me. He was very ripped, I suppose it was some kind of ketogenic diet back in those days.

Well dad was always telling stories of the diet of the 30's in which butter and other spreads were in short supply or Home-Made, and he basically only had varieties of lard dripping. But as to these new words like ketogenic, they were coined by rich people with abundant choices. I'm pretty sure that although dad became a senior master at a comprehensive school, he would never have heard or used such a word. I remember saying kinesic and he told me off, and said to say body-language, and to keep new words for university papers. 😆

Sadly I never spoke to my grandfather, I don't even know If I ever met him because I was a toddler when visiting. I wonder how it was communicated back in those days, go easy on the khubz and figs and if it melts, indulge in it? :)

I am naturally muscular. Everyone thinks I workout but I don't. If I did more consistently I would be a monster like you!

You should absolutely start lifting my friend!

Yeah, I feel the same way.

Great Post! I've heard so many good things about vivolife :)

They are really killing the game!

I've heard so much good about the VivoLife proteins, both for the taste and the content. It's just too bad that they aren't shipping worldwide (yet?) 😞

Yah I wish they were but I'm sure they'll get to it! They've been growing faster than they expected and are working hard to keep expanding :)

Hello, it is true that they are not distributed all over the world yet, although an excellent way to acquire protein, decreasing the intake of beverages and maintaining a vegetarian diet is adding beans to your menu. They are a rich source of lean protein, which when combined with rice are an extremely nutritious food. Also depending on your diet, it is recommendable to eat yogurt as a snack. Regards

i didn't know whey protein is terrible for acne!! thanks for the advice :D

Glad to help out, whey was a HUGE cause of my acne originally!

Cottage cheese, but thats not for a vegan i guess...

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

#### I want it to actually taste good on it's own.
It should be its own instead of it's own.

And you confused the language, this is English, not German.

You got a 14.05% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @brianturner!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This post has received a 14.95 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @brianturner.

I like to eat tomatoes, onions, lettuce and garlic everyday. Will that help me grow body mass?

Hello, an excellent way to acquire protein, without expensive drinks and maintaining a vegetarian diet is to add beans to your menu. They are a rich source of lean protein, which when combined with rice are an extremely nutritious food. I hope it helps you, good luck.

That's great for the vitamin content! You will need to eat some protein, check out my full days of eating videos

I like gym and wanna try to be vegan gymer. Great post.

Good article! Most people say that whey protein has no side effects. Is it true? Yes, but only in the short term.
In the long term, it has many side effects like saggy muscles, decreased lifespan, and a risk of acquiring diseases.
Take an example of the Okinawan people, they all are vegan, lives healthy lifestyle up to 80 years old.
So forget about fast results, and become a vegan

Really good recipe bro !! I just saw it and already tried it ! because I feel the pain on my muscles of the yesterday workout, I will follow you and try your recipes more often ! have you tried to upload your videos to d.tube ? instead of youtube because i think you can get paid more there than in youtube, hope you continue making good content for the vegan community ! have a great day

30176771_10213382417889736_847272310_o.jpg

Check out this 14 day diet plan to lose weight fast: http://bit.ly/2qrXxlb

When people ask vegans where they get they protein from the best answer is were do herbivores like gorillas and cows get their protein from? Plants!

We do not need to eat animals to get enough protein in our diets, most people are consume way too much protein which is really bad for peoples health especially when its from animal based sources.

I get my protein as a vegan from vegan plant based protein powder, beans, nuts, seeds, leafy greens etc and its easy to get more than enough protein when you eat sufficient calories as a vegan and i have never personally had any issues gaining muscle mass on a vegan diet even with eating just one meal a day.

Really useful article especially for my boyfriend and his circle of friends who regularly work out and are hoping to become vegan :-)

Hi there, I am not vegan usually as I've not until recently ever had the time to even think about food, let alone choose ingredients. I've eaten everything from worms and grubs to eye-fillet. Neither am I allergic to anything, and although I have at times had digestive difficulty, it has always been found to have been some poison or other and not the food or additives except occasionally dirty preparation habits. I've been extremely lucky in my life having extreme immunity levels from all flu's and astro complaints. A gf once had me eating vegan, but when she and I split up, I could not remember the sizes of shopping and couldn't afford the waste, so quickly reverted to the known recipes my mum had drilled me in for a balanced diet. As I am now older and retired and have a bit more time I shall be looking further into this recipe for living you adhere to. The Dr is telling me I need to be taking more protein and less carbs now, so.
Thank-you. Resteemed.
Keep on keeping on. 😇

 6 years ago (edited) Reveal Comment