Smith & Wesson

in Outdoors and more4 years ago

Hi fellow Hiveians,

I’ve been meaning to dust off and share my firearm for a while now and I finally got a chance to do it today!

Dusting it off

So I got all the proper safety mechanisms employed. I have it locked in it’s own additionally locked case, separated from the ammunition which is required in my state. No need to do anything risky so I keep it legal.

036B33422D7A47BCB59B7255F2985389.jpeg

It’s been about a year since I cracked open the case, felt good to undo the little padlock! Got my trigger lock set up there. I like the through the chamber and clip housing nature of it. Some of the trigger locks go on the trigger itself but I didn’t think they were sturdy enough. As you can see if you zoom in it’s a Smith & Wesson model 908. I learned that the company was in my home state so that was pretty cool!

5274176A433E422DB45C928EAC49AF74.jpeg

I was intending to clean it but I ran into two issues. I ran out of time since I got some emails that needed immediate attention. I also couldn’t remember how to properly dismantle it so I could clean it!

7A76EF7B86BD4F14BBCCD7B87475BF23.jpeg

It felt good to hold it. It’s got some decent weight to it. Some handguns have too little weight to it so I think I remember a bit more recoil than ones that had heft to it.

4EC508870AEE4FFD8A718816AC7321A6.jpeg

I of course take all the proper precautions. Most don’t even know I own one. There’s no need to flaunt it, that’s foolish and inconsiderate to those who dislike them. I personally feel they are quite important to own and practice rightful and safe operation. One of these generations will never know what this is like to own and that’s sad.

Need to Clean

Hoping that the next post I do for this community will be me cleaning it. I haven’t fired it in a few years due to competing priorities but I’m really hoping to get an opportunity to do that soon this summer. I will have to look up a video on how to do that first! It’s been about 3 years since I’ve cleaned it! It didn’t get massive use so I’m not worried there’s corrosion or buildup but I like to be familiar in it’s assembly.

Connect with me!
Did you enjoy this post or my other posts? Please consider following me for more! @cmplxty

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 1,365 PRE tokens, with a market value of $37.93. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


peak.JPG

Still using hive.blog? Upgrade! PeakD is a much better user-interface, gives loads more information at your fingertips and has some of the best developers behind it. Give it a try, go to www.peakd.com and see how much easier it is. You just need to use Hivesigner or Peaklock some of the most secure ways to log into other Hive frontends.

Sort:  

This is so cool. I have never handled a gun in my life. I have never seen a gun up close. I really want to have this feel of holding and owning a gun. The gun looks nice too.

Thanks for checking my post out!

Owning and operating a firearm is really great but like anything with that much ability, it’s absolutely needed to take very seriously. There’s no jokes when it comes to it, even unloaded.

Firing them is intimidating at first because you don’t know what to expect. We see movies and video games doing it all the time but until you hold one in your hand, you don’t quite realize it.

I have added owning a firearm into my bucket list and i think i am pretty much a careful person

Please do it legally is all I can say lol.

I will .. thank you

Rob's AR big.jpg

One of many

😉

Lol nice! Is that an AR? My dads got a really nice Colt AR-15. Thing was so much fun to use at the range!

Nice Firenze shirt, is that in reference to Italy or something else? hehe

Firenze = Florence, my daughter spent a semester there in '13 and that was my souvenir! So yes, Italy. That is as AR15, my first and it was the second iteration. MagPul PRSS (stock), cheapo used Simmons scope on top, R-Guns upper receiver, Delaware Machinery lower, and quad rail. Mil-Spec LPK (trigger and lower assembly innards) and the rest is mil-spec. Assembled by a former Army Ranger, my USMC son was quite impressed, especially considering the price! It was a very late 2012 rifle, in fact I got it out right after Sandy Hook...

Very nice, I spent a summer in Siena back in 2014, if you ask her about it, she’s hopefully been there. Very beautiful Italian city! We went to Florence for a day, it was pretty nice. Ponte Vecchio, the old bridge, was the coolest place for me I think in Florence.

Not familiar with those particular gun components yet but I do know that my dads friend built a custom AR and absolutely loved it. I’ll have to ask my dad if he’s got any stuff on it, I think he’s got some customization to it.

I should do a "BUILD PARTY" series, it would be COOL!

Most of the parts are pretty standard, Mil-Spec is as common as dirt, obvs. The main difference on my pictured AR is that the stock is not standard. That configuration was temporary, the R-Guns upper was traded, I wanted a Smith & Wesson slick side upper for a lightweight build. So I traded with a friend who wanted the fully dressed one with the dust cover and forward assist. Both military issue parts, added for Viet-Nam conditions. It is extremely hard to beat the function and reliability of mil-spec parts, what the 'builder' is usually trying to do is customize to the shooter's expectations.
MagPul PRSS stands for Precision Rifle Sniper Stock. You can find similar stock setups on precision long range rifles like a Remington 700 and such. Adjustable cheek pad, adjustable length of pull, (LOP) and the aforementioned unipod. That was an extra cost item. I'm glad I got some of the parts used, it's crazy to have the cost of an econo AR-15 in your stock arrangement alone!!! I did much better LOL 😂

I build AR's now, I bought the tools that 99% of the "assemblers" will never buy... I can install, take off or change barrels. And I don't have the crappy "upper receiver" shells, I bought the actual tool that keys into the chamber so you can't accidentally break the upper receiver with those clam-shell deals.

i like this😀

Does d ting go skrrrrr papapa? Unload the clip till d ting go clank? lol I think its only stiff drink time in the US, still a few more months before Smith and Wesson time but always good to be prepared

Lol it’s always good to be prepared. Each person who lawfully owns a gun is one more person the system is afraid of. Why do you think they push gun control so hard to try and get rid of them? Firearms are the only thing preventing worse tyranny than what’s already happening.

Funny enough, I haven’t held it like a thug yet when I’m at the range lol a friend of mine did.

Ain’t that the truth you’re the final Malicia standing between them! Why you think the media is always so hard on when a gun crime happens as if the US military is not gunning down people on the regular for “freedom” elsewhere

Guns and Bitcoin, I see it more as the nuclear codes like having it gives us the power to negotiate!

@chekohler
I'd like your outsider view on "S&W TIME" in the US,
Do you have Discord? I think you are correct, it's just
stiff drink time LOL 🥃🥃🥃

Lol sure I am on discord same UN and #8066

we must not share a discord, I cannot find you

Join this, if you want... it's a dead discord for the most part
https://discord.gg/Q73sqqm

Thanks for the invite link and I’ll join up with you shortly

Hey mate, nice shooter! Tell me please, do you also need to keep it in a safe, or just locked in the plastic case. Here, we have to keep firearms and ammo separately, but have to have the firearms locked in an appropriate safe. I say appropriate as there are different categories of safe depending on the type and number of firearms. I have to have the highest category due to what I have. The safe also has to be fixed to the building unless it weighs more than 150kg. I guess maybe you just have to have it locked in that case right?

So, I'm looking forward to the cleaning post, but not as much as the shooting post!

Thanks for posting in the Pew. The first of many I hope.

Thanks man! I will have to familiarize myself with the law again but I think it’s ideally in a safe. I do have a safe to store it which then I put this all into. It may be overkill but they are very aggressive at trying to find ways to fault people sometimes. My safe isn’t very big though, it’s just big enough to put the case in it, it won’t fit other items plus the case outside of some papers and stuff. The ammunition has to be stored separately so that’s in a little drawer safe. I think bolting it to the floor is desired when possible but that’s not always possible, especially living in a condo like we do so I don’t do that. I am now curious since it’s been 7 years since I took the safety course, some of those details are foggy!

I’m really hoping to hit the range with my dad but the family front is iffy with my mom being a pain in my ass, my dad doesn’t want to get in the middle. I’ll probably end up going solo but it’s better than not going!

Thanks for checking it out man! I certainly plan on hopping in here more, I like that there’s a few great posts from my quick browsing of it! I think my wife’s uncle is into shooting so maybe I’ll get to go with him to one of the local clubs. The one I can go to without a membership is 40 minutes away. Not terrible but lame when there’s one in my town but have to jump though hoops to stay a member.

It sounds like your storage laws are similar to ours. They check here though, the Firearms Branch. The turn up unannounced and we have to let them in to check off the firearms we posses, the serial numbers etc. Having a firearms license is a warrant for their entry and it cannot be denied.

I'm a member at a coupe of ranges these days although they have been closed lately, due to the virus. Both have reopened now though, so I'll be shooting handguns more. There's no real hoops to jump here, just pay membership and that's it. Of course, we get checked out when joining, but once in it's all good. Hopefully you get to shoot soon!

!ENGAGE 25

Thanks, so I remember my method was appropriate for what the law is.

State law:

The law requires guns to be stored in a specific manner. All guns, when not in use, with the exception of primitive firearms, must be stored or kept “secured in a locked container or equipped with a tamper-resistant mechanical lock or other safety device,” to prevent unauthorized use. Penalties are assessed even if no underage person obtains access.

With the numerous locks and safe it’s in, even though it’s not very big it’s enough to satisfy the state. Phew, got me a little nervous questioning my poor memory lol

I don’t think they can do checks if they want but I’ve never heard of one being done so I’m not positive. The police here were pretty nice as long as you’re a stand up person they don’t give you much hassle.

The club I was looking to join needed new members to pay dues, participate in the events they host for members and do desk duty or something once in a while. I understand they want people to participate and be a part of the little family but I’m just joining to shoot and make friends later. I don’t want to do all that crap and turn out not liking it. Turned me off but it’s the closest one, like 15 minutes away so it’s tough lol

Seems like you have met storage laws well enough.

The main range I am a member of is a military club so there's no desk-sitting, just shooting. I involve myself with working-bees and set up of competitions from time to time, but it's not a forced thing.

A 40 minute drive isn't too bad to avoid all that desk-sitting and shit. I'd be doing that I think! Lol.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Oh my, Complexity... you need to MOVE! (Massachusetts gun laws SUCK)

Nice GAT, I am unfamiliar with that Smith, but I do like the metal framed handguns much more than today's plastic POS's LOL I noticed (I think) it's a single stack magazine, which keeps the gun Nazi Massholes happy 😝 maybe

Welcome to the community, now load that up with some 9MM NATO (my 9mm ammo of choice!) and hit the range! A Smith can handle some heavy loads, maybe some Underwood? 💪😎👍

Yeah the mass laws are pretty brutal but it could be worse I suppose.

When I bought it at my local gun store (not a big box store, thankfully) the owner even said that he hasn't seen many of the ones I bought and it was a cool model. I found that out as well, struggled trying to find a video of how to dismantle the thing on GooTube! (you tube, joke that stuck from one of the guys I watch a lot of his videos)

I'm not too familiar with the NATO rounds but I got some regular range rounds but I also bought a box of hollow points to have for the scenario we never want to be in.

It is indeed a single stack mag, I eventually want to get another mag so that I don't have to sit there and unload a clip at the range, load another one. Would be nice to have two ready to go and then fire em off.

Thanks for the welcome! I have some ideas of things I want to research and then post about, more of a little learning project for me! Will be poking my head in here more often for sure.

Always feels good pulling one out of storage! I used to have a Smith 669 double stack 9mm. It was a solid shooter for mid-range price and a EDC piece for me for years. I like the after market grips you have there. I had some pachmayrs on mine.
Pew on!

Will have to get used to some of the lingo. What’s EDC? I’m guessing that’s some kind of carry?

I do like the heft to the gun. It gives you some solid weight so you’re not blowing your arm back with recoil when firing. I’m sure if I’m able to get to a range consistently it will be a pretty fun piece to use.

Funny thing is I don’t know much about them despite having my license for years. I didn’t really grow up with them the way some do. My dad had a .22 rifle but it was stored out of state since he didn’t have his license. The both of us didn’t get our licenses until I was in my 20’s so I don’t have a lot of knowledge in some regards. For example I didn’t know that was an after market grip lol it looks like it but it also fits really well with the gun so I didn’t think anything of it.

Thanks for checking it out and the great comment!

Ah, EDC = Every Day Carry. They do have a nice feel to them. I traded mine in on a nice .45. Definitely a little more accurate, but was more $$ as well. .22's are great for cheap practice, learning muscle memory in addition to plinking or hunting small game and pests. Even though I have several bigger, I still enjoy shooting them. I pretty much got rid of my smaller than .45 center fire pistols when I moved to Colorado, just didn't feel comfortable with 9mm when there are bears and mountain lions about. I did cave last year and bought the Sig P365 9mm and that definitely has become my go to carry gun when in the city. I still pack larger when going into the woods, but that's a fine city gun like the Smith.

Yeah that's what I've heard is a solid philosphy. Do what you need to do to learn with a .22 since the bullets are dirt cheap. Carry something like a 9 or .45. For me, hearing the 9 or .223 or .445 (is that the higher caliber for AR-15's? My dads got one and one bullet was a lot more powerful than the other) is cooler than shooting the .22 but I haven't done them as much so it's still an experience for me.

An old coworker of mine had a collectors license from the ATF or something (not too familiar with the different types of state vs. federal licenses, she could've been BS'ing me) so she had the ability to get more weapons than most. One of her most requested to see or shoot was a Desert Eagle but she said it was a pain in the ass because the bullets were so expensive.