A Donut-Fueled Hike on Thunder Mountain Trail (Among Other Things)

in #storylast year (edited)

Since next week’s forecast isn’t looking great, more rain/freezing temps, so we decided to make the most of this Saturday. Normally the weekends aren’t ideal for hiking here in Sedona since the trails are extra crowded and parking is nearly impossible to find, blasted tourists, but decided to throw caution to the wind and try our luck.



You know it's a serious hike when I'm wearing my Tilley.

We began the morning at Sedonuts where we tried a lemon-glazed, maple bacon, and a plain cake donut. I'm no donut connoisseur, but these were nearly as delicious as the ones we tried from The Holy Donut last September in Portland, Maine. These divine sugar laden calorie-bombs must've given us a little bit of luck because we found a parking space at the Thunder Mountain trailhead.


The hiking was gorgeous today, sunny with temperatures in the low fifties. If you're ever in the area I would highly recommend giving this Thunder Mountain trail a try. There's a bit of elevation to this one so the views of the surrounding area are stunning.


It had been years since we hiked this one and we're glad we check it out this morning. Not only did we burn off the calories from the donuts but we satisfied our cardio for the entire day with this hike. We only have two weeks left here in Sedona, I really hope our last one brings with it some nicer weather.

Enroute to Ukraine

I'm happy to report, @zirochka, that you have three autographed books headed your way. I was able to get my hands on some copies earlier than expected. I'll be dropping them off in the mail at the beginning of next week. I hope these books bring you joy and help open the door for a wonderful, peaceful, and prosperous next year of your life (we wish you a very early Happy Birthday)!

A Fish Fry, Created by AI (ChatGPT)

@bozz's post the other day featuring a mouth-watering photo of fish and chips inspired me to harness the power of AI to do something I've never done before in my life...fry haddock in an air fryer!

Since we're no spring chickens anymore, we try our best to eat healthy (unless we're having donuts) so we swapped out the chips for roasted Brussels sprouts, parsnips, carrots, and potatoes.

We tossed them with good olive oil and roasted them until they were well done. I have to say I enjoyed them even more than the fish.

I followed the AI chef's recipe closely, popped the filets into the air fryer and I have to say it rivaled some of best fish I've ever tasted and was definitely the best I've made at home.

The fish was crispy on the outside, moist on the inside, and very flavorful. We don't have an air fryer at home but that might be changing soon after we get home to St. Paul.

Here's the recipe ChatGPT created if you'd like to try it for yourself:

Ingredients:

  • 2 large potatoes, peeled and cut into thick chips
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 pieces of white fish (such as cod or haddock), about 6 oz each
  • 1/2 cup of flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon of paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon of black pepper
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup of milk
  • 1 cup of breadcrumbs

Instructions:
Preheat the air fryer to 400°F (200°C).
In a large bowl, toss the potato chips with olive oil, salt, and pepper.

Place the potato chips in the air fryer basket and cook for 15-20 minutes, shaking the basket occasionally to ensure even cooking, until the chips are crispy and golden brown.

While the chips are cooking, prepare the fish. In a shallow dish, mix together the flour, paprika, garlic powder, salt, and black pepper.

In another shallow dish, whisk together the egg and milk.
In a third shallow dish, place the breadcrumbs.
Dip each fish fillet in the flour mixture, then the egg mixture, and finally the breadcrumbs, pressing the breadcrumbs firmly onto the fish to ensure they stick.
Once the chips are done, remove them from the air fryer basket and place them on a serving platter. Place the breaded fish fillets in the air fryer basket and cook for 10-12 minutes, flipping the fillets halfway through cooking, until the fish is cooked through and the breadcrumbs are crispy and golden brown.

Serve the fish and chips with your favorite dipping sauce, such as tartar sauce or ketchup.

Enjoy your homemade air fryer fish and chips!

All for now. Trust your instincts, invest in you, live boldly, and take chances.

~Eric Vance Walton~


(Photos are original.)


Are you interested in joining Hive? If so, click on this link to sign-up and begin sharing your thoughts and ideas with our global community.


alt text

Poetry should move us, it should change us, it should glitch our brains, shift our moods to another frequency. Poetry should evoke feelings of melancholy, whimsy, it should remind us what it feels like to be in love, or cause us to think about something in a completely different way. I view poetry, and all art really, as a temporary and fragile bridge between our world and a more pure and refined one. This is a world we could bring into creation if enough of us believed in it. This book is ephemera, destined to end up forgotten, lingering on some dusty shelf or tucked away in a dark attic. Yet the words, they will live on in memory. I hope these words become a part of you, bubble up into your memory when you least expect them to and make you feel a little more alive.

Pick up a copy of Ephemera today on Amazon.



alt text

Most of us have experienced a moment of perfect peace at least once in our lives. In these moments we lose ourselves and feel connected to everything. I call these mindful moments. Words can’t describe how complete they make us feel.

These moments are usually fragile, evaporating in seconds. What if there was a way to train your mind to experience more of them? It’s deceptively easy and requires nothing more than a subtle shift in mindset. My new book, Mindful Moments, will teach you to be much more content despite the chaos and imperfect circumstances continuing to unfold around you. Upgrade your life experience today for only $15.99 on Amazon.com.



Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

Sort:  

So you are happy or sad about the upcoming rain and freezing cold weather ? the place you have visited today is really amazing, Specially the Earth color, it is reddish and looks very old place. I don't know why but i just love watching it. The air frayer is really helpful to keep you healthy and fry things with out oil. I have it also. You both are look great.

Sad, for sure. Rain is typically scarce here this time of the year and the temperatures are typically 20 degrees warmer. The rain makes the hiking trails impassible but, thankfully, there are other things to do here. Thanks!

Got ya, I hope the upcoming rain will not cause any problems for you and your family.

As we all know that if the rain becomes too fast, then it creates many problems for the human being, the water gets stagnant in some places due to which if the human being has to go to work somewhere. He has trouble. One must visit such hilly areas once a month because all the tension of life which is not running in one's mind gets over and one enjoys a lot in such places as We see that you are having a lot of fun with your wife. Natural sights are very beautiful to the human heart and give a lot of peace to the human mind. You two look so cute together. I really enjoy your trip. Thanks for sharing.

The photos of the landscape invite you to walk those rocky trails and the photos of the food (donuts, vegetables, fish) whet your appetite. hahaha. It's always good to go back to places we visited long ago: that can help us see how much we've changed or how places have changed. After these two weeks, what is the next plan? Are you going back home or moving on to another city? I hope the weather will be kind to you this coming week and that you can continue to enjoy and get to know. Best regards and take care, Eric.

I've definitely changed a lot more than the hiking trail had changed in the past decade. : ) Life was way different back then for me. I have a few months in Minnesota after we travel on from Arizona and then I'm off to Montreal for a little while. I'd like to make it back to Ohio to see my Mom before the Montreal trip. Thank you Nancy! I hope you enjoy what's left of your weekend! I saw the YouTuber Bald and Bankrupt (Benjamin) visited Venezuela. I haven't watched the episode yet but plan to.

Oh, that's great, Eric. Sounds good and interesting. Visiting your mom will always be an excellent plan and I'm sure she will know how to thank you for it. As our parents get older, every day we are with them is a gift to them and to us. I'll keep an eye out for those photos. A peaceful Sunday to you. Hugs

Lucky @zirochka, that's so generous of you Eric.
I treasure my set, sit next to my bed, out of harm's way though. Don't want any coffee spils there!
Well, an air fryer is on my wishlist as my friend @artywink has also been raving about hers. You've just convinced me more!
Enjoy the holidays Eric🤗

It's my pleasure! I'm glad you're still enjoying your set, that makes me very happy. We're shopping for an air-fryer for home. There are so many options on the market it's tough to choose. Thank you my friend! Your trip is getting closer! : )

It should be before you climb, you have to fill up on energy first. I think a piece of donut can be a good source of calories. You really enjoyed your day, Eric. God bless u.

That is very true! It was a great day. Bless you as well my friend. Enjoy your weekend!

My first autographed books 😍 As the titles suggest, they are what I need now, and I so much appreciate it!
Wish you great weather for the rest of the vacation! I can't wait for you to try Ukrainian donuts 😉
!LUV
!BEER

You are very welcome! I hope they make it there okay. Thank you, this week isn't going to be great weather-wise but we'll make the most of it. Ukrainian donuts? I'm going to have to Google that now to see what they're all about. Have a good week and take care!

We have traditional donuts (they were my favorite festive food in my childhood) and American-style donuts.

My goodness that meal looks soooo good! If you eat that healthily, I say you are allowed all the donuts you want.

And did I hear you right - you only have two weeks left in Sedona?! You had fabulous weather and light for you hike it seems to me. I love the shot of the rock - all those colors in a slab of rock.

If you eat that healthily, I say you are allowed all the donuts you want.

Thanks! It was pretty tasty. The air fryer opens up a whole new world. I can imagine you could do all kinds of things with this.

Yes! We've been here since late February and all but one week has been unseasonably cold and wet. It's the storms coming in from the Pacific via Cali. We're hoping the last week we're here will be sunny though because they're forecasting a "super bloom", it's like a once in a generation event here in the desert but we need to have a few days of dry, warm, and sunny weather for it to happen. Fingers are crossed. : ) The lichen almost made that slab of rock look like camouflage. I wish the camera captured how it really looked.

That's kind of how we feel too about our diet. If you do well most of the time you can splurge every now and then and not feel guilty about it. Donuts from mainstream places like Dunkin' or Krispy Kreme tear me up though, instant acid reflux. I think it's the oil they use. I was fine with these though, not a hint of indigestion!

I'm sure those donuts tasted better too. Good luck with the weather! That super bloom sounds dreamy.

They were pretty good. Yes, I hope we get to witness it!

A nice hike is always good, nothing like some great views and enjoy getting away from technology and the inside world, at times!
Makes me wish I could go on one, though I am so unfit and have no time to do one haha.
At least it sounds like a great day was had, overall!

Thanks, it was a wonderful day. We will definitely sleep well tonight.

That looks like an awesome walk and your can't fail by fuelling up on good donuts!!!

Donuts, the breakfast of champions! Seriously though, I remember back in the 1970's when donuts and coffee were breakfast for a lot of people. That was probably healthier than the cereals that they marketed to us kids.

Yeah, have you seen the sugar in those cereals!!! It's insane, a donut, rather ridiculously is probably ridiculously better!!!

It's a miracle that we don't all have diabetes. I think I read that some boxed cereals had like 30-40mg of sugar per serving back then. Our saving grace probably was it was cane sugar and not high fructose corn syrup.

Yeah, that high fructose corn syrup is just plain evil. I cant think of a genuine good thing about it

It turned out very appetizing. You can not replace fish with meat. Fish is the number one product for the perfect functioning of the heart, blood vessels and brain, I love fish. I often cook fish in foil on coals in my yard, it is also very tasty.

There's nothing better than grilled fish. What kind of fish is available where you are?

Now the pike bites well

The mountain looks so geographocal that I would like to hike as well. However, I think it would be very difficult in summer time :)

The daytime highs are above 100 degrees (F) here from June through August. I can't even imagine hiking in that kind of heat.

Nice food, you both looking so cute together.
God blees you

Thank you! Bless you as well.

Looking at your pictures it looks like you had a great tour. The food you ate was very beneficial for health and the places where you guys are walking around are very beautiful places.

Thanks, it was a wonderful hike.

You live in Sedona? I really didn't know that. So awesome. I've always heard that it is such a special place.
I love the name Sedonuts. I grew up calling donuts nee-naws 🤣🍩
Your photos make me want to experience the desert sometime in my life.

No, we just spend a month or two down here in the winter to escape Minnesota. Man, it's magical here. If you can make it here I highly suggest it. Nee naws! I grew up in Ohio and there were some regional names for certain things too.

I see. Well, that's still a great deal of time, I'm sure you both love and probably wouldn't mind living there. I'm sure I'll visit one day, not sure when that'll be.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @videoaddiction ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

We love our air fryer. It has been so game changing for a lot of the cooking that we do. Definitely worth the counter space it takes up. The fish looks delicious. I had some perch myself on Friday night. It was taken out from a bar though, so it was fried the old fashioned way. My wife and I love Brussels sprouts and we often mix roasted radishes in with our potatoes to even then out and lighten them up.

We have limited counter space at home so we've always been hesitant to get an air fryer because the toaster oven just seems so much more versatile but we make have to make room. I really like perch, I bet that was delicious. This haddock we made was wild-caught/frozen from Whole Foods and, unfortunately, was brined (even though it didn't say that on the label). It still ended up being good. I never thought of roasting radishes! I love them fresh so I might try that. Roasting Brussels sprouts make them taste 10x better than any other cooking method.

I totally agree with you on the brussels sprouts thing. We actually upgraded from our original air fryer to one that is a regular oven, an air fryer, a toster oven, a broiler and a bunc of other stuff. I wouldnt recommend rhe one we bought but Ninja makes one that might be good. Having multiple uses like that helps justify it.

I had no idea they had the all-in-one appliances. We'll definitely be reading up on that!

It would be so nice to give it a trial and have a lovely taste of it.

Rock formation enough to get me climbing, that looks so interesting must be plenty to explore in the region.

Breakfast sounded a treat, air frying I have never tried. My electric oven has a fan which gives good results using minimal oils when cooking similar to Mediterranean style.

What a fun way to burn off those donuts 🙌

At first I thought you said hair dryer instead of air fryer 🤣 Yeah, I've been on the PC for too long 😂

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

What a fun way to burn off those donuts 🙌

At first I thought you said hair dryer instead of air fryer 🤣 Yeah, I've been on the PC for too long 😂

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

What a fun way to burn off those donuts 🙌

At first I thought you said hair dryer instead of air fryer 🤣 Yeah, I've been on the PC for too long 😂

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project