Ask Hive: What Brings More Reward, Audience Or Content?

in Ask the Hive4 years ago (edited)

PicsArt_02-29-09.20.20-02.jpeg

Image owned & taken by me


One of the biggest conflicts I faced many months ago was asking myself if I should target and bring what my audience wants or better still stay focused on what I was good at and hope the community or my followers will get to see the quality of my intended niche. However I feel this question will keep lingering and remain unanswered but I guess it's time I push it to yo the ask hive community as a question

The truth is that, many have felt that since steem is a social media based platform the intractability of an individual would matter a lot in making a person understand what people wants and giving it to them would have fufilled the essence of blogging. This makes me wonder do we blog because we have an audience that determines what our reward would be like? Or to just develop the innate abilities we have thereby focusing on a niche Irrespective of what audience we have?

When you look well now, the most curated kind of content is photography and art, pencil and well other format of art, now I see more and more people abandoning their original niches to become photographers or artists, now does this means we have art related audience more? Does this proves that satisfying an audience is what brings the desired rewards or actually perfecting one's skills and niche that does it better?

There is heterogeneity when it comes to consumership of content on hive. Since engagement is the one true way to determine what an audience wants. Would it feel right for a person to switch over to other niches that seems rewardable? Would this be called evolving of a content creator or is it just a blogger being driven by greed to make more money? If s person decides to chose audience over niche does this make hive truly decentralized and rewarding based on quality irrespective of niche?

This has been a sort of a conflict, now audience are meant to be the sole reason why there's content in the first place and for a chain as hive, people should also see a reason beyond the money; and that's of course having the satisfaction of consuming contents based on what they love. Is this right? Should we blog because our audience wants it or because we want to enjoy what we do?

So should satisfying audience serve a superior purpose more than concentrating on niche or is this mere greed to get more reward?

I'll like a reply from the community




Interested in some more of my works?

The Dangers And Futility Of Being Driven By Vengeance As A Purpose
Preventing The Self From Hitting The Ultimate Boredom Of "Over-Accomplishment"
The Bridge Between "Economic And Politics" In Any Political System Of Governance
The Distinctive Nature Of Man And How It Aligns With His Ever Changing Universe.
Infant Lapsing In The East. (An Original Prose + Poetry)
Why Do People Blame Their Flaws For Unacceptance Or Disapproval?
The Malady Of Being Driven Excessively By Dreams And Ambitions


PicsArt_03-21-07.26.22.jpg


My name is @Josediccus, a young Nigerian student who is a Dtuber, 📷 Psychologist, Poet And Sports Writer/Analyst. I'm using my contents as a process to create shared meaning as well as create expressions through which people on/off hive can relate. I believe content is a process to be enjoyed and relished and I'm up for any collaborations in my field stated above. Cheers


@Josediccus, your brother in pen and video 📷


I'm hoping to reach more people who are broken at heart and spirit, so share on any platform or rehive


My Twitter handle✓

Sort:  

Great post and very thought provoking

Should we blog because our audience wants it or because we want to enjoy what we do?

I say a little bit of both. But regardless of anything the latter should be your true calling. I do think you can take what you enjoy and present the Content in a way that is not only consumable by an audience but is fervently so !!

It's a matter of keeping a good balance. Easy ?? Nope ! But possible?? Absolutely !! :)

For instance, I love sociology. And I love to blog about YT videos that have to do with societal issues. But I just do not copy and paste a YT video and put it in GEMS. I actually give some Commentary and propose questions concerning the said video that stimulate my audience's thinking. And provides some though provoking notions.

Definitely I kinda feel that balance might Just be the answer we need, however I was fazed with this challenge in my life and I couldn't maintain a balance, I wasn't really earning for what I loved doing and I had to diversify and also sought to well tilt towards my content. Nowadays it feels good to do so and I'm glad I found the answer.

Thanks for your thought provoking reply. It means a whole lot to me.

I had to just determine what my audience engaged with the most and well I decided to find love doing this. That's why I have the best of psychology contents. When I started writing it my audience loved it.

Hey bro..that is already a short post, well written and thoughtful👍...There is a hidden writer within those goatee face..😉

I have seen your post and the concern raised...also saw them good support too....but I notice that all the time the support comes from a single account...doesn't that means it's the repo that counts...??

For someone who does so much blogging on being balanced, kind, and at peace, an immediate unfollow seconds after I chose to unfollow your account seems a bit against your image.

I don't really understand, if you are talking about my psychology posts you must know that I educate as well as educate and inform myself in return. But you could elaborate on what you mean.

I think, as I might have said earlier, content is king though it is up to me what I would like to post on my blog. If it would have been a website I could have posted about any particular niche, but since we have so many users who has so many interests, I really think that you should post whatever you want.

Yes you should not do shit posts every time, but once in a while going away from your regular content is ok for me

Hmmmm a wise stance there, thanks for you comment. Content is of course king like you said and sometimes the freedom to post anything can be bliss

Yes freedom should be there but again since its a blockchain you might get Down vote if people don't like your content. We have to live with that I guess

I belive in most cases the repo that one create around the community and among different users. Even the shit one get good reward

However, looking at the bigger picture the content does matter a lot.

Reputation is another thing definitely I can see a whole lot this in the community and how many people get popular through this. In essence hive seems to be different a bit it was more terrible during the Steem days

I see that...that why on bigger picture content does matter...but in case of good repo, even a single picture can get good support while if a new user post 100 of good quality picture he/she just get disheartened.

I think working on the quality of your content is the way to go. While art may be the most curated widely, the trending page is not ruled by art. So it's better to improve the quality of the content you create and form a circle of like minded people!

Quality of content? Well that I can also agree. A circle? Would you say a circle of people who only engage with you and reward you? Do

There are people whom I follow because I love their content and upvote almost every post I see from them, there are people who do the same for me too, I can always count on them as friends I have made here to give me honest feedback and rewards on my posts. That's my circle.

Lovely it is!!!

Sadly, Hive does not have a very large user base. Even worse, since the payout is based on HIVE POWER, one's success here depends on one's ability to please curators, while not provoking downvoters.

That means it is a hostile place for independently minded content creators.

I think that, to really understand the community, one needs to flip their thinking around and see the platform from the perspective of the curator. People buy HIVE because they want to influence things.

Content creators who fail to bend to the influence are unlikely to receive any HIVE. Fortunately, there are curators with different motives on the platform; so content creators have some flexibility. Still is it better for an author to bend to the curators on HIVE than to try and play curators off each other.

Both things are vital but let me add two more. Content = 25%, Promoting on discord/well use of communities=25%, Audience=25%, platform loyalty and high REP=25%.

Tale care!

I think it is more of doing what you love and wait patiently for people to start embracing it. It takes a whole lot of time but it is rewarding on the long run.

You did mentioned something about artists are getting more rewards but believe me it is not the way it seems. A lot of artists who make good art are struggling to gain ground, get noticed and/or get much rewards as well. Some end up giving up on the way. If they had exercised more patience, add more effort and engaged, they might succeed.

I think also it is better off doing what you love than just engaging on what you don't love just to get rewards. You might end up getting bored or tired of it.

Yeah, I understand, however In the past, people hardly earned for what they loved doing, hive has definitely changed that my friend but in the past sometimes people felt they go no reward because their contents really weren't good enough by all means. Thanks for the wonderful comment. I'll be adding you to my little auto vote

Yeah, hive has been doing great things since inception which is commendable. I even see people who left the other platform since coming back to hive share what they used to do before that wasn't much rewarding. I hope they continue.
Nice to be added to your auto vote list👍🤒.