The Round Flat Cake

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago


I love these round, flat cakes, stuffed with apples, or something else equally as delicious. My mom would make them for breakfast when we were growing up, but, I have used them for breakfast, lunch and dinner and sometimes, brunch. This was the first time I made them this way, so we will do it together and see how it turns out. Good or bad, you will bear witness. I am trying it out tonight, so I am making enough just for one. Surely I can find a guina pig in the house.


image (4).jpeg



Apples:

  1. Peel apples, quarter, and remove seeds.
  2. Cut apples into thin slices and mix in a splash of lemon
  3. Melt butter in pan. When finished foaming, put in brown sugar/nutmeg/cinnamon in the pan, mix into a liquid, then add apples
  4. Cook, stirring occasionally until the apples are soft and liquid from the apples has reduced to a syrup
  5. Set apples aside


image (3).jpeg


  1. Mix pancake mix/egg/vanilla/milk/sugar until lumps are gone. Add milk until batter is a thin consistency
  2. Melt ~1 tsp butter in pan


image (2).jpeg


I did two types of pancakes. One was a rolled pancake and the other was a stuffed pancake, which is basically an apple filled pancake. Do you have a preference? I have to say that the apple filled ones appeal to me a little bit more, or maybe I am just hungry.


image (1).jpeg


Rolled Pancake:

  1. Add a thin layer of batter to pan, tilt pan to help spread
  2. Once set, add a thin layer of apples and cover with a thin layer of batter

image (9).jpeg


  1. Once the edges are set, flip the pancake over and cook 1-2 minutes
  2. Put on plate, sprinkle with sugar, and roll
  3. Serve warm


image (6).jpeg


Apple-Filled Pancake:

  1. Add a thin layer of batter to pan, tilt pan to help spread
  2. Once set, add a thin layer of apples and cover completely with batter
  3. Once partially set, 1-2 minutes, flip the pancake over and cook 1-2 minutes
  4. Put on plate, lightly spread with butter, and sprinkle with sugar
  5. Serve warm


image (5).jpeg

Center Crest.png

Notes:

*I used a small pan
*The rolled version probably would have worked better if my batter did not have a raising agent in it
*Next time I would probably save the apple syrup from the bottom of the pan and drizzle it on top of the finished item (instead of putting it in the middle with the rest of the apples)
*This recipe made 1 rolled pancake and 1 pan-sized stuffed pancake, but if the batter had been thinned a bit more (which it probably should have been), it would have probably made 3 rolled pancakes or 2 stuffed pancakes


List of Ingredients

-1 apple
-splash of lemon

-1 pinch nutmeg
-sprinkle of cinnamon
-few spoonfuls brown sugar
-1-2 tbsp butter

-2 heaping spoonfuls of pancake mix
-1 egg
-splash of vanilla
-1 tsp sugar
-milk to create a thin consistency


20201009_191852.jpg


Wait! Does wine go with pancakes? I say why not? Salut! And just like that, this show is over. Come back tomorrow and we'll do it again. I hope you all have an amazing day! Hive on!

20201121_162447ab denise 2.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I -
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Robert Frost


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 1.jpg


Sort:  

These look delish! Cant go very far wrong with dough and apples. I see they are a bit thicker than crepes. I think I will be able to give these a go. Thanks much for the inspiration. I love to try new recipes!

 2 years ago  

They are thicker than crepes, which always are very delicate and delicious themselves. This is just a quick and easy and I gave it for one, in case we are ever alone and hungry. As if that will ever happen!

Thank you, and I hope you do try it out. You will have to let me know if you like it.

Good morning from here! Snow was changed to rain! Boo!

Golden Apples.png

Now this looks delicious! Wow. Mouth-watering shots :)

 2 years ago  

It was the first time I made this and it was a little bit of an experiment with the apples.

I hope all is well is always-wonderful Krakow! Have a great evening to come!

Stars - Colourful.gif

Yum ! Yum ! Didn't realize it was going to be on/in a pancake !

Make me one !

 2 years ago  

What did you think it was going to be in? I guess I would have thought maybe a pie or something like that.

Heads up! What kind can I do you? I hope you are hungry! They are really filling! Thanks for stopping over! Have a great night~

Pie crust !

A rustic fruit tart or rustic fruit gallette if you like it french....:) oh oh oh yummy ! Pic crust on cookie sheet, fruit filing of your choice in the center, with the edges of the pie crust folded up over the edges only and baked.

I'm up for anything fruit filling that doesn't include blueberries... :)

 2 years ago  

Ah! Apple blueberry it is!!

I see what you are doing, you are making sure I won't eat any and you can have the whole thing to yourself. Meanie !! 😊

 2 years ago  

Too late!! Someone came in before you and ran away with it!

What time is tea time? What a fabulous recipe! I bet they are delicious cold ..... if they last long enough to be refrigerated. Oh and I love the red wine idea with a sweet treat. Maybe I should make gluhwein and pop over?

 2 years ago  

They are delicious cold! I do need to triple the recipe and see if it works as well. I was just playing around with the ingredients and just got to the single serving, good only for a single person. :)

What time is tea time? 2 PM! Be ready! Cheesy biscuits and a selection of fruit. I used to make a marshmallow and sunflower seed brittle, but, too much sugar and karo! I need to figure out a way to make it.

Gluhwein and thou? Yes, please. Although, I am a lightweight. Anything more than one and a half glasses and I am toasted! What can I tell you!? I am such a cheap date! I prefer to think of myself as an easy keep. :)

Thanks for stopping by and leaving your lovely comment! Have a wonderful evening!

Heart On A Course (L).png

Cheap date? I don't think so. Quite the contrary ... I too only manage one glass. Then I need to go and sleep. So you and I would be having teeny sips and plenty snacking. Although I may have to pass on the gluhwein and have a glass of dry white with a LOT of ice. We're day four in a heat wave. I'm not on the laptop because we've been running around - well crawling around from shady spot to shady spot - having an almost crisis here. We have to keep the livestock from free ranging as it could be fatal. Hoping for a break in the terrible heat and some of that life giving rain

I remember my childhood. I need to make these pancakes. I just went to the market and bought apples but I realize I forgot to buy eggs. I read your recipe well but my memory failed me. I have to go out now to buy eggs too, look, Denise, what your post makes of me! Not only a cook but also a traveler. When I saw the photo of the apples in the pan I instantly smelled them mixed with cinnamon. Lovely. Thank you!

 2 years ago  

Haha! I am glad I could be of service! Actually, I didn't use the sugar on top for me, but, one of my girls. I don't like the sugar on top but one of them does, the other likes to drizzle the apple juice from the pan over hers. :)

My mother always made pancakes with something in them. I never did when my kids were growing up. I have no idea why. I put fruit on top of them, aside of them, but, never in them.

I hope it comes out well for you. I did a single serving trying it out. I need to try to double and triple it and see if it works as well. I should have don't that.

Hi, Dan! @bluemoon I hope you are having a great evening!

Golden Flower.png

It's normal that in a big house there are many tastes. In my house we don't eat it with sugar on top either, we even avoid sugar for high blood sugar reasons.
I made pancakes once, a long time ago, with apples incorporated. Otherwise just with jam or cheese.
I love it when you show us how you cook, and now you've been motivating for me and hopefully others.
I think you've given me inspiration for the next "market".
Thank you, Denise!

 2 years ago  

Wow! Thank you! If I can motivate in any way, that makes me happy! I know that I actually don't eat sugar if I can help it, I never have, even as a kid. I am a more savory eater, I go right for the main course and could skip dessert. It always looks good, and it even tastes good and I enjoy it, but, I don't crave it. So, I really never think about it. :) Oh, yes. High blood sugar and diabetes. Need to keep an eye on the carbohydrate intake. Pancakes are filling and make a great breakfast. lunch or dinner. It is rare to eat them for anything but breakfast, but, on occasion, breakfast for dinner works well and it is a little fun to do that. Thanks so much, Dan!

Yummy !Love all desserts containing apple

 2 years ago  

Oh! A girl after my own heart! I love apple too! Actually, all fruit, but, I probably ate more apples when I was growing up. We had a small apple orchard! :)

Good morning from here!

Stars - Colourful.gif

Those look delicious. I think I would have went with the filled ones as well. They just have a more hearty feel to them I think. Either way I am sure they both tasted great. Starting with butter never hurts!

 2 years ago  

Starting and ending with it! Yes! :)

That is how I feel. The filled ones seemed more hearty to me also. Also, the recipe is for single-serving as I was trying it out. I need to try to double or triple it to see if the ingredients work as well when multiplied.

Occasionally they don't and I didn't even think of that.

Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving your words~

Golden Apples.png

Starting and ending with it! Yes! :)

touche'

 2 years ago  

One can never get enough of a good thing~!!

Those look and sound really good. I probably would have said that I would prefer the rolled pancake but I always go with the chefs judgment so I'd take a mixed pancake if I could.

 2 years ago  

Well, I had both! I give you both! Sometimes you feel like a nut, sometimes you don't. :) Both are good, although these shots were taken with one of the kid's phones, as mine froze. Should have just got the camera out, but, didn't. Next time, next time. It is too late once it is done.

Chef's judgment is an excellent idea. I will have to do that next time.

Hello! Good morning! (Golden apples! LOL)

Golden Apples.png

This looks yummy! Tomorrow I'll make sure to buy some apples or maybe some pears to make some rolled pancakes. Thanks for sharing and the inspiration. :)

 2 years ago  

Thank you! I have to admit it was pretty delicious! I liked the stuffed one best probably, but the rolled was delicious too.

I hope you let me know how it came out!! I look forward to it! A golden apple for you!

Golden Apples.png

I will do the stuffed one too, but I have done some stuffed pancakes in the past. And I'm so curious to try the rolled one. I will take some pics when I try. Thank you for the golden apple. Cheers!

 2 years ago  

The rolled up ones are good too!! Yay! I'm excited if some makes them!

 2 years ago  

The rolled up ones are good too!! Yay! I'm excited if someone makes them!

My grandma used to make something similar but we called them Fried Apple Pies! She would cook them in a cast iron pan and they would have this wonderful crisp crust. The whole house smelled like heaven with the fragrance of apple, butter, and cinnamon floating in the air. They never lasted long and no matter how many she made it was never enough!!!!

 2 years ago  

Sounds like heaven!! That is a recipe i would love!!

Thanks for stopping by!

Wine goes with anything!!!
Hahaha.

 2 years ago  

My kind of friend!! Cheers!

Very tasty, thanks for the recipe I will try one day.

 2 years ago  

Hi @almi !! Thank you for the words, and I hope you do try it one day! You will have to let me know what you think!

Good morning from here! I hope you are having a great day!
Coffee Heart (L).png

That looks real good I may have to try it sometime

 2 years ago  

I hope you do. You will be surprised at how good and easy they are. Of course, this is a recipe for one, Thanks so much for stopping by and I hope you are having a great day!

Rain here instead of snow. Boo.

Leafy Vine (L).png

Rain here also it’s trying to snow but mainly sleet just now

 2 years ago  

I just looked again. 89% chance of snow tomorrow.

Le sigh.

Of course, probably during commuting time.

Always seem the worse snowfall is during commute times

We have a dusting for Saturday and happy if it stays that way

Wow it looks so delicious, you drowned my heart in this cake 🍰🍰
Yummy...

 2 years ago  

:) Pancakes. They mockingly call them Round Flat Cakes sometimes. Thanks for stopping by, I hope you have a great day!

I like every one of your food. The special fast food item that you make is very interesting and delicious.

 2 years ago  

I never post food! :)

Oh this looks very delicious. Can I come and visit you haha. I also will make it one day. Think my son wil also enjoy that. He loves apples 🍎

 2 years ago  

Haha! Of course! :) It actually was quite good and the recipe is for one, so it should make it easy. Unless of course, he is a big eater! :)

Thank you for stopping by and leaving your words!

Stars - Black & White.png

I just wish that this pancake is egg-free and dairy-free I could've been a great guinea pig. ehhehehehhe. Looks delicious!

 2 years ago  

Sorry about that! Do you eat pancakes?

Its okay. No worries at all. I do. As long as its dairy and egg free. Eheheheh

looks so good, i want that now :)

 2 years ago  

Hehe! Yes! I don't blame you!

Those are insane! My mouth is watering. I wish I were a better cook. I will try these nonetheless!

 2 years ago  

You don't have to be a great cook with these! You will have to try them out~ Good luck!

The most delicious cakes are made at home. The cakes are much more delicious and nutritious than the cakes of the market. My daughter loves cakes and I make them at home Be happy and share the joy

 2 years ago  

I agree, for the most part. There are some that I cannot possibly make, beyond my skill level! Thank you so much for the words.

Have a nice day.

hello dear @dswigle !!! After a long absence from this wonderful house the blockchain I'm back and as always your publications continue to be beautiful, aesthetic and very creative!

A pleasure to read you again!

That big apple pancake looks really delicious!

I send you a big hug!

 2 years ago  

Thank you! I see that you have been gone for two months. I am glad to see you back! Of course, it is such a nice place, who could resist! :)Thank you for the words and I hope you have a great day!

Hello I’m new to hive, these look lovely! I love cooking and baking! Definitely will have to give these a go! Yummy, thank you for sharing!

 2 years ago  

Welcome to Hive! So glad you stopped by and I hope you check out all the different communities!

Have a wonderful day!

Do you have a preference?

Any edible food will do. This is how I think, and considering my background, I think that this is completely understandable.

Wait! Does wine go with pancakes? I say why not? Salut!

I very rarely drink alcohol, but occasionally (1-2 times per year) it is acceptable. Some people say that it is even healthy. I do not know whether this is true or not.

I give you some !PIZZA and some !LUV.

Have a nice day. All the best. Greetings and much love from Hungary.

 2 years ago  

I dont know whether its true or not! But lets pretend it is! Thetecwould be lots of happy people out there!

I will eat nearly everything! So basically! Im easy.

Hi @xplosive! I hope you are having a great morning!


@xplosive(1/4) gave you LUV. H-E tools | connect | <><

 2 years ago  

Thanks for the Luv!

@dswigle

Oh my goodness!! More than a thoughtful post! A "Make Me Hungry" post!!

"I love these round, flat cakes, stuffed with apples, or something else equally as delicious. My mom would make them for breakfast when we were growing up, but, I have used them for breakfast, lunch and dinner and sometimes, brunch. This was the first time I made them this way, so we will do it together and see how it turns out. Good or bad, you will bear witness. I am trying it out tonight, so I am making enough just for one. Surely I can find a guina pig in the house."

You can always mail leftover samples! Though, may not be quite as good upon delivery! But wait! That's why you wrote down the recipe! I would like to bring this post some attention by informing my dear friend @sirenahippie and the wonderful folks at #foodies! This certainly qualifies a post to this awesome community. I would ask what you had for dessert, but that would seem silly. now wouldn't it?! Thank you for such a delicious #thoughtfuldailypost!

k75bsZMwYNu2L3iBMXq5y7xeiy1isFJsZxnMZSXuXEsxe4ee1cUkGyPyfEF6xffwkdtNDL1ETjujF9B1sDnYsu8s6KduFqoBrAShnoEyrgmL6TXU8yEuajDJa7axTpZonEaGdTm7n96gDa3JWa56r29Nxa5GRGRdg.pngWes...

!LUV !WINE !giphy Cake

Note: Our parents truly live on, through us... don't they! Whether a recipe, memory, or just any old thing we would do. Love this!


Congratulations, @wesphilbin You Successfully Shared 0.800 WINEX With @dswigle.
You Earned 0.800 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 4/5 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.505


Hey @dswigle, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

 2 years ago  

Thanks! Pix!

 2 years ago  

Thanks @pixresteemer!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@xplosive(1/5) tipped @dswigle (x1)

Join us in Discord!

 2 years ago  

Thanks for the pizza @xplosive

It looks delicious!

 2 years ago  

Thank you very much!

 2 years ago  

Oh yummmm Denise, I love stewed apples or anything with apples, this is a must-try recipe! Sure it must bring up wonderful memories!
Nothing wrong with having this with wine😉

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 89 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
11

 2 years ago  

Thank you for the repost @pixresteemer! Much appreciated by me!