It could be good

in Reflections3 months ago

lockyclockymockygnocchilostmesocky (2).JPG

He who stops being better stops being good.

- Oliver Cromwell -



I've got a question for you: Is your life good?

I think everyone should be able to answer that one way or the other because each of us should be evaluating our lives and how they unfold with a view to improving them, in my opinion.

I'd like to say my life is good all the time but that would be a lie; it's been bad at times and probably will be again which is how it tends to go, the ebb and flow of life or the pendulum swinging I guess right? But overall I think my life has been a good one and I look back at it then evaluate the present and think to myself, yeah, you have done ok and you're still doing ok.

I've got another question for you: What are you doing to make your life better?

I believe everyone should be able to list several things here, each specific to the person and each based around reflection, evaluation and assessment of how life has been to date.

I don't just mean what a person may be doing externally like working at their job or trading crypto to earn money for their betterment of life. I don't just mean what a person may be doing to improve their physical health, relationships, looks, knowledge, understanding, social status and so on...although all of those things come into play of course. There's other aspects of a person that need to combine for those things to happen though; *the right thoughts and attitudes...and actions...

So here's another question: What are you doing to improve your thoughts, attitudes and actions to make your life better?

lockyclockymockygnocchilostmesocky (1).JPG

There's no single key to unlocking success in life, a good life, but there is a combination of things that have to align to permit a person the ability to move forward, to rise above, improve themselves and their general life and to have the ability to reflect back without regret. Bringing those things together with the view to having the right thoughts which affect one's attitudes and ultimately the actions a person takes is critical and, as we're all different, we do this in different ways and for different reasons.

I believe we all want a good life, no matter what that my look like, and unlocking the methods to work towards it is one of life's most important goals.


Have you ever thought about your life and said to yourself, it could be good? I have for sure. I've also said it could be better and, I'm pleased to say, I have often said, my life is very good. That last is important, the ticking off and acceptance of the effort that have gone into a good result.

I wonder if you have any thoughts on this topic or want to share some of the things you feel you've done well to unlock a better life and what you might have done better. Feel free to explain if you're willing to be open about it and if not feel free to comment generally.



Design and create your ideal life, tomorrow isn't promised - galenkp

[Original and AI free]
Image(s) in this post are my own

Sort:  

My life is, by many counts, excellent. I am retired. I have enough money. I have comfortable homes in lovely places, two wonderful daughters, an intact family-of-origin (those of us still living) and several very close friends. I am very healthy, healthier than anyone else I know who is my age. There is a great deal to get up every morning for.

Where I am lacking, and what I am striving to improve, is how to love a man! Yeah! That kind of love! This has been hard to do for me at younger ages (despite a 27 year marriage), because so much was at stake back then. But now, nothing is at stake, and I still find it difficult. Maybe it's old habits that won't die - fear of being found inadequate, fear of love fading, fear it's only lust, fear of being hurt, and of hurting another.

I strive, now, to live at all times with a connection to deep love, pure love. To not feel a need to pray for it or manifest it (I hate that word but there it is), because it is right here, within my grasp at all times.

It is simple. But like all very simple things, it is difficult to understand. I wish I could love all beings as much as I love my daughters, and my dog. Dogs are simple! Humans are so complex! Or are we? Maybe if I could feel this pure love, humans would become purely simple. Thank you for listening to my freewrite on your question. It's a good one.

On a more practical note, tomorrow I'm gonna get off my duff and finally trade some bitcoin for monero.

I'd have been surprised had your opening paragraph read differently, the opposite I mean; I think you've worked at it and so you have a good life, excellent, in your own words.

Now, the rest...I appreciate you opening up about this in a comment on my post, it's a good thing I think, to be open and forthright and to face head on those things we feel require some work. You're not asking for answers, just thinking out loud, and that's cool because I don't have them...but I know that the answers you seek are there inside you, maybe you just need to move some stuff around a little so you can find them. When you do...that's when magic happens.

You say, within your grasp, and it is...you just proved it.

Thanks for your comment, as I said, I appreciate personality and abhor fakeness and PC answers that show no passion...Good work. Also, if you have any BTC to spare send it on to me, I know someone who could use it...might be me. 😆

lol. I just might.

That person would put it to good use. (Still might be me.)

I think it's so important to focus on improving our thoughts, attitudes, and actions. Small changes can make a big difference in creating a good life

Continually improving won't always mean we attain or goals, but it'll certainly bring us closer to them and make the journey there more enjoyable.

I think my life is in a good place right now. I worked hard and saved in the early parts of my working career and I have a few passive income that work for me. I am currently trying to add more to hopefully make my parent's lives better. I need to exercise more, and maybe have a better mental attitude, but I think my life is objectively good.

Passive income is a great way to move life from average to good, of course it takes some effort to make it happen so well done for putting in the hard work.

My wife and I were just having a conversation about this a while ago. I have to say that I am nearly 100% content. Okay, probably not close to 100%, but although there are things that I wish differently for my life, I can't really complain about the life I have. I live in a nice house in a nice neighborhood, two nice vehicles, a nice travel trailer, and all the love from family and friends that I need. That's pretty good in my opinion!

It sounds pretty legit to me and I'm not surprised you say it as you've worked hard for it as far as I can tell.

I don't think there's anything wrong with being content, it also doesn't mean one doesn't seek more, new experiences and such, just that one is satisfied and I think that's a good way to be.

Is my life good right now? It kinda is, but it won't be like this for long. Because life is about 90% of problems and 10% of solutions. Also, as the quote goes, "life is 10% what happens to you, and 90% how you react to it."

Yet, is my life better than yesterday? HELL YEAH! And as long as I'm doing better than yesterday, living better than I did in the past, then that alone is good enough for me.

You've got a good handle on it I think, the continual improvement ethos, and that's what helps a person step forward little by little...the ultimate goal gets closer and one benefits all the way towards it.

I hope so! I'm taking the slow route this time. Thanks to the quick, easy, and ignorant route, I've lost a lot of time, and a fair bit of capital, during my late teens and early 20s.

But, it's not like that anymore. Now, I see it all falling into place, slow and steady. It's just a matter of time now.

The experiences we have, if lessons are learned, help us move forward better, you just explained that perfectly...so early you learned, evaluated and moved forward differently; that's what it takes.

Hopefully so, man! Hopefull so... 🙏

These are good questions to ask .... my life is good? Yes, not quite, but yes, it could be better, of course. But you know I work a lot on the subject of thoughts and the first step for that is to detect the bad ones, once that's done... generate the practice of avoiding them and the ones you can't reverse them.... because you can do that.

That is what I work on the most because everything depends on it. I still need to improve, especially in terms of certain projects that I want to start. I'm working on it... and another thing to improve is more organisation, even more... it sounds crazy what I'm saying, but that's the way it is. I want to do a lot of things and for that I have to organise them well, diversify.

My life before was not good at all, but nothing, and I took the decision to turn it 180 degrees, I was fed up and I didn't want to be like that anymore, that's why I changed country.

Starting from scratch and alone is not easy, it's like being born again with nothing, but it's worth it, peace is worth it.

The good thing about starting from scratch is that you can make it your own; I think that's worth something.

That's worth everything! I was born again and with my rules, I am free and that is priceless. Freedom for me is to be awake and aware. Freedom and peace.

Oh, that was a good question, I never ask to myself that "Is my life good?" "Is it really good?" Well of course it is not totally good, because life is full of challenges, problems, and circumstances that we need to face and conquer. That's what life is, there's no surrendering just fight, fight, and fight💪. But there are some people who make my life good and that is my love ones. So blessed to have them❤️

It's nice that you have some people around that support you and add value to your life, I think that makes all the difference in what can be a very complicated thing, life I mean.

Hmm, in short, I would like to say my life is good. Contrary to what some people think, I am not living in a big house or have huge amounts of cash to splurge on first class flights. I think I am contented with what I have and what matters more is having a relatively good health, and having loved ones and friends around me. As for finances, I am happy to lead an average/middle class life.

I think life is constantly a work in progress - we all try to be better versions of ourselves. I have learnt to enjoy the journey and be grateful and thankful for what I have - rather than to chase what I don't.

Material items don't make a better life, I know many people who have a lot of things, big houses and all, who are no happier than me. I'm not saying material items are bad, they can enhance life greatly, only that, as you say, a person can be happy and content without all those things.

Like you have pointed out, it's best to think about and be grateful for what one has, to find enjoyment and happiness...from that position it's easier to find improvement where required.

Yeah I agree, material items aren't bad for sure. I do know of friends who see these stuff as motivation to work harder in their careers, and that's their lifestyle choice.

Hi Galen, to improve my inner life I have used a tool: psychotherapy. My first contact was at the age of 26, I made the decision that if I wanted to help people I first had to be able to ask for help and also to know first hand what a psychotherapy is. After that, I have again asked for help from colleagues in my profession whom I trust. This has been one path. When I was 28 years old I met a person, you could say he was a shaman, and the path of "psychotherapy" based on traditional knowledge has been my other path. To follow these two paths demands the same requirement: to be sincere with oneself. As you will see, I have not used the name psychology, I am a trained and qualified psychologist and I do not believe in it. Now I can say that I am happy, I would say quite happy. A big hug

It's interesting you've combined two approaches that may typically not be used together and you've achieved a good result. It goes to show there's often more than one way to achieve a good result.

Thanks for sharing, I appreciate it.

I think that being careful with traditional medicine, there is a lot of fraud, scientific and traditional knowledge are totally complementary. All knowledge is not only in science. Best regards

Life is good so far because my parents take good care of me. I am studying hard to make it even more beautiful when parents will not be around.

Ups and downs are a part of life but collectively it is good and I enjoy living it.

Time will tell what dividends your efforts will bring I guess. Good luck.

For my part, a day remains intertwined with various sensations of well-being and punctuated by uncomfortable moments. These moments of discomfort mainly find their source in the discourteous behavior of certain people towards others. Now I can say that I am doing well, even if life has not always been kind. I maintain serenity and a positive attitude. I acquired the ability to not tolerate negative aspects and to remain optimistic, which allowed me to flourish fully.

Seems like you're on the right track.