A peak into my garden

For the amount effort I've been putting in my garden this year, it's silly that I haven't written much about it yet.

20210427_144458Crop.jpg

I've been meaning to, promised @johndoer123 I would, but so far, I haven't written about anything besides the slug murdering thing. So thanks for this little nudge @crosheille, here's a start!

This garden is new for me, so I'm in my first year of discovering everything. So far I have to say, it has been wonderful. The previous owners (or their gardener) really thought it through. When one bush finishes flowering, the other begins. My frontyard is a sea of various colors and it's filled to the brim, so there's not much weeding to be done. If there is, you won't really notice it right away inbetween all of the different flowers. So that gives me plenty of time for my backyard.

The backyard isn't filled to the brim. There's full grown red and raspberry bushes and a couple of fruit trees, but also lots of space left for us to grow some veggies. Oh, and let's not forget about the big amount of rhubarb at the edge!

20210517_110803.jpg

I've been growing spinach, arugula, lettuce and potatoes and I've sown seeds for kale, onions, spring onions and leek. Some of my tomato plants have already been planted outside, together with a cucumber plant and a pumpkin plant. Spring has been very cold though, so I still have some tomato, pumpkin and bell pepper plants safely stashed away inside. I'll probably plant them out this weekend.

It's my first time growing so many vegetables and i'm very excited to see how it goes. My first problem was the slugs, which I have been picking and stomping on for many, many mornings and evenings. To good effect it seems. I sometimes make a round through the garden now, but not often anymore. Still find the little buggers, but far from the amount we started with.

20210522_102706.jpg

So far, I've noticed a good many fruits being grown in the berry bushes and also in one of my cherry trees. The other cherry, the apple and my strawberries are flowering a lot aswell, so I have good hopes for them too!

The leafy greens are doing good. I have no picture of them and won't be taking one out in the rain right now, sorry! I've been using them to add to our dinners and my lunches.

20210427_144605.jpg

Oh and there's also the herbs! I brought my herb rack with me from our previous home:

IMG_20200518_131039_503.jpg

In this image, they were all new and everything was well. Now, after moving and a very cold winter, my rosemary seems to have died, some others haven't survived, but the thyme, mint and tarragon are still doing well! I added some herbs to my garden aswell, like a new rosemary plant, crawling thyme (testing to see if it's a good weeds deterrent), sage, oregano, mint and extra chives. There were already chives in the frontyard and I moved some to the back, but you can't ever have enough chives! They go well on anything.

20210523_080113.jpg

So far, I'm really happy with my garden and I work in it a lot. There's a lot of weeds to pick, but the garden looks amazing! I'm happy with all the places to grown food in the backyard and honestly, our frontyard is the happiest in the entire neighbourhood. Not just a boring patch of grass, but borders filled with flowers!

How about you?

  • Do you have a big garden?
  • What do you grow in your garden?

P.S.: In a couple of hours, I will be gone most of the day for the cremation of my uncle. Sad day for my family. That's why I won't reply quickly, but I will probably do so tomorrow.


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Foodblog | Redbubble shop | Vida shop |

Connect with me on:
| Pinterest | Twitter | Twitch | Steam |

These pictures are all my own.

Sort:  

Thank you for the mention...and the update. SOOO many beautiful pictures and plants!!! You must have a pretty nice camera. Surely your harvest will be wonderful and delicious!!!

I'm so sorry to hear of your families lose. I hope it is/was a beautiful service and that all who need it find comfort and love. Our family is thinking of yours, and offering up to yours our greatest most loving and emotionally healing vibrations and wish all the best as you all grieve and celebrate his life. We share all our love and if there's anything we may be able to do to help, please let us know.

Thank you so much for your kind words @johndoer123, that means a lot :-)

I love the flowers in the last picture, what are they?

If I am not mistaken, it's a type of Aquilegia, which I have a lot of in my garden in all sorts of colors. Some hang their heads, but these don't (yet).

I didn't know their names, but luckily my mum loves them, so she knew ;-)

Thank you! Google tells me that they are also called Columbines

Ha! So they are. Learn something new every day :-)

So sorry for your loss. Prayers of comfort and strength are heading your way. ♥️

You have such a beautiful garden!! I love all of the flowers framing your home. I hope all of your veggie plants do well, you have a nice variety. Good job on the slug hunting.

I’ve been wanting to grow herbs right inside our home but the little space I would have for it doesn’t get enough sun. I didn’t think about an herb rack, I love yours!

Thanks for taking the nudge and showing us your lovely garden space. I look forward to seeing more as it flourishes.

Oh and about those weeds, it’s time for me to get out here and take care of ours. Weeds grow like weeds! 😂

So sorry for your loss. Prayers of comfort and strength are heading your way.

Thank you, that is very kind of you <3

Yeah, I'm quite happy with my herb rack! It's looks good and it's very easy to have the herbs right next to the back door. Bonus: I haven't found any slugs or snails in them yet ;-)

Oh and about those weeds, it’s time for me to get out here and take care of ours. Weeds grow like weeds!

Haha, yeah, they do seem to do that! Good luck on the weed pulling. It is a nice way to relax the brain!

You’re welcome ~

Oh yes that is a bonus. I think I’m going to look into getting one :)

Lol thanks!! I read that putting boiling water on them also helps rid them. I tried this on the ones that are not close to our plants. We’ll see how well it works.

I read that putting boiling water on them also helps rid them.

Well, the plants I hit with boiling water while drowning ants didn't fare so well, so that might actually help indeed!

I tried it out and it seemed to wilt them a little and it tarnished their color but I still had to pick them. It helped better in some areas but it seems just picking them would be my best option.

Could they maybe become easier to pick, with roots getting destroyed? Or haven't you noticed much difference?

Oh yes that’s right! I was going to mention this when I posted about it and I’m so glad you reminded me.

I did notice it was WAY easier picking them from the roots. The boiling water did weaken them for sure!

That's a lovely garden you have there! Looks like you'll have a lot of cherries.

"Slug hunting" has been a major part of how we have kept ours very healthy. We keep a big 20L bucket in the garden with soapy water; just pick up the slugs and dump them in there... at just before sunset we could often find 40-50 of them... a year later we find maybe one a week.

Thanks @denmarkguy!

Looks like you'll have a lot of cherries.

If the birds don't get to them first :D
The slugs thing is so frustrating. I don't want to kill them, but I also don't want my entire garden to be eaten. I think I've made a real dent in their population in the backyard by now though, so less killing is required :-)

Wow! Sign me up for dinner at your place. Doesn't get any fresher or better than this. My mother used to always have a nice garden. When I had my house in Florida I always had a small garden. Even here in Thailand I now have got some wheat grass growing, even if I only stay here for a few months, it's very nice to have.

Sorry about the loss of your Uncle, losing a family member is never easy.

On another note. Thank you so much for your support of my blog here and the other platform. I know I had you on the other auto voter, but I just added you to my hive voter as well to help you along and show my appreciation.

Keep up the great blog!

It is great to be able to grow your own food, no matter how big or small your garden is. I started off small with just strawberries and berry bushes, then added the herbs, but now I'm very excited to see how the vegetable thing is going to go this year!

Thanks for adding me to your auto voter, I really appreciate the support! I had one going on Steemit while I was away, but I hasn't worked for a while now. For now, I'm back, so I'm sticking to manual voting. I do like your content, so you definitely get a lot of votes from me :-)

You are so sweet! Thank you for taking the time to reply with such a nice message; and of course thank you very much for the support of my blog as well. I'm happy you enjoy my content :) On another note, my mom used to have about a dozen blueberry bushes. Wow were they good. For about two months each summer it was an all you can blueberry buffet. So healthy, so good for you! Enjoy your garden and I'm sure your new veggies are going to be great this year! Have an awesome day!

Ooh I love blueberries! I keep planting new, young blueberry bushes in my gardens, but then I move... so I've never seen more than a couple of berries on them and the birds notice them too. I've got three small bushes here now, so I hope I get to see them grow and produce many, tasty berries :-)

Have a good day!

That would be great. Hope your blueberries are bountiful! Have a good day too! :)

This will be a harvest. Enjoy.