Sewing again.

Drop it all to be able to start new.

The last few weeks I was stuck in a sewing desert.

No sewing no writing about it, with a lot of poor attempts to do so. Writing words, I didn’t even want to read myself. And therefore deleting them right away. Taking photos of irrelevant little sewing jobs, not even worth mentioning. (Such as taking of the embroidered tag on a top, in long hours of work, just to get rid of the shirt a few days later, lol)

I missed all of it, and I am glad I took a break.

At times I have the tendencies to be dramatic, so I was questioning whether I am still interested in sewing at all, or if it was just another phase. A long and intense one, that came to an end.

What should I do then? What next?

Emptiness.

While I cycle up a mountain sweating and thinking, I realize it is time to take a break.
Two steps backwards to be able to look at it from another angle. Because the things you really need to do, the things that truly resonate, they always come back.

It feels weird to let the weeks pass and not write. Not sew and try not to think about it.

Soon there are plenty of other thoughts coming across, so it only feels weird on Mondays to not be sharing thoughts and ideas.

After being sick for a few days, I wake up one morning and everything seems clear again.

I am doing the right thing.

I get lost in research about upcycling, patterns and ways to deal with fashion in a more sustainable way. There is no end to the flow of my ideas.

There is space to evolve, create something new, keep on what I am doing. Without losing the playfulness in it.

Being consistent about something doesn’t justify any stress. When you don’t enjoy it anymore once or twice is fine, but everything else is going to burn you out.

Seeing someone else, wear and appreciate something I made, changed a good part of my perception too.


Photos by @alt3r from her post linked above.

She (@alt3r) was already inspiring me with the photos of her beautiful garden and the aesthetics in her kitchen. Seeing her wearing something I made, was wonderful.

It feels like one of my garments found the story I made up for it, instead of laying in a box of finished projects, that are waiting for me to play dressing up once in a blue moon. Taking my aprons and dresses for a walk in the fields.

I can keep on sewing now, my inspiration is back! It wasn’t just a phase, I am glad. Just my sewing machine is missing for now… is it?

Thank you all for stopping by and reading through my thoughts once again, have a lovely week!

All photos (except the two, mentioned) and words are mine, written and taken by me.

Sort:  

It's always great to take breaks to reminisce and start again with new found inspiration and motivations, welcome back🥰🥰

Indeed it is😊

It is important to take a break sometimes, clear your mind and return more creative. I am having a break from sewing for more than an month now cause I had to finish all the garments for my first collection and I din't have time to sew nothing for myself. I really miss all this beautiful process of inspiration and creation of garment that will make me feel nice.😌

I felt in love with this amazing garment you send to that woman, it is a beautiful piece. Thank you for inspiring me with your projects and your thoughts, I am glad you are feeling better and you are back😊

Yes I have been missing you around here! Sewing all the pieces for your collection? Sounds like you are super busy!! But very exciting as well, how is it going? Will you share your collection with us?(I would love to see🙃)
Thank you for your lovely words😘❤️ That is really nice to hear, well and I am looking forward to read from you again, when you decide that your break will be over😊

Yeah this journey had many ups and downs I can say, many difficulties but I enjoyed every aspect and every detail of it!😍
It is going really good, people actually are so supportive with new small brands and this gave me a lot of motivation and faith. I totally miss sharing my thoughts and creations with the community, now that I am starting to organise some important things for my collection better and handle my time I will post more. Of course I am gonna share my first collection with all of you and I am looking forward to hear community's feedback.😊

Awesome!!😊
I bet it is a lot of work and a bit of chaos... Are you going to build up a physical store or you working on mainly online set up?

For now I am just selling online through social media platforms only here in Greece and also display my collection at a friend's physical store. I am not sure if I would like to create a physical store for my brand someday or just display my clothing on different stores but for sure a next step for me is to build a nice online site to sell from there. If I had to own a store it would propably be more like an atelier or a showroom.😊😀

Awesome!!😊
...yes I get it, I always imagine a physical store a lot of waiting and a lot more effort for I dont see much more.
Instagram?

Yeah right, that's how I see it too!
The instagram page is "zeroF_streetwear", I would love to hear your feedback for my brand if you check the page😁
Using social media platforms like instagram/facebook for so many hour per day and uploading stuff on brand's profiles is actually the hardest part for me, huge brain damage😅

Now when you are finally back, inspiration loaded and refreshed "grab the threads!"

Even though no matter how much you love your job or hobby, over time, satiation will come, that famous list of questions "am I still in this or has it just become a habit" will appear, but luckily it's mostly just a phase.

Today, we easily get lost in the abundance of everything we could do, but would that something new keep us long enough until we ask ourselves again "is this for me?"

Beside clean clothes beneath the Apron :D, would never guess that will also bring many, many great things and people to me (:

Yes, yes, yes! 🧶
I guess that is part of the curse and the blessing if your hobby is becoming a lifestyle or a job...:)

True again, there are so many choices, it's horrible! I guess thats where we also have to accept that not everything needs to be tried and surely not everything is for yourself. Even if someone else makes it look easy and beautiful:)
🧡

There is this meme online of an Indian guru (maybe it is all made up, but nonetheless) saying something of the following: if you are having a bad day give up. It sounds very negative and bad, but some days things just don't work out and it is okay. It is all fine to just rest for a while. We all need the rest. We artistic types also struggle with that burnout wall that always looms in the shadows.

I am glad that you could manage to do something despite these speedbumps being in the way. We should do the things we love to do but sometimes it helps to rest just a little.

I have heard something similar recently something like: if it works do it as much as you can and if it doesn't keep on trying different things until you find one that works...
...and valuing rest (or giving up) is something not really promoted at all in this society, sometimes its a really nice thing to remember!

So true. Sometimes you deserve to just do "nothing". I recently read an academic paper in which (all philosophical jargon removed now) time spent "effectively" has been linked to morality. So if you do not spend time "effectively" (that is, by doing something that either makes you money or someone else) you are in essence being "lazy". But this is so wrong. We need to spend time reading books and cooking food and enjoying relationships with others. We need this time off from the buzz of modern life. (Haha sorry for the long essay comment.)

I completely Agree!!
...otherwise what would be the point if we couldn't?

Exactly. It is merely "making time" to take off some time. We are so bad at that skill, yet it is so important.

 last year (edited) 

Being refreshed brings out the best ideas in us all. The many times I have taken breaks away from what I love have been the best moments of rest. When I get back to it it’s hard to shut down my thoughts and ideas of what I want to do next. I can’t tell you the last time I crocheted until two weeks ago (it has been months). When I picked up my hook it was hard to put it back down again. 😊

I can imagine how amazing it was to see that beautiful post by @alt3r modeling her lovely apron made by your hands. I loved the photos and through them you can see how much she loved her garment. She and I recently met here on Hive and I really adored reading one of her gardening posts. I look forward to reading more from her.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts ~ 💗

When I get back to it it’s hard to shut down my thoughts and ideas of what I want to do next.

Exactly!!😊 Especially the things we love... because we love them we forget, that a break is still a thing needed from time to time, I think.

Oh that is lovely you met her!! I enjoy her garden a lot too🙃

As always a pleasure to have you stopping by, reading your words💜

🥰🤗

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Congratulations @kesityu.fashion! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 35000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 40000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2023

@kesityu.fashion, thank you for supporting the HiveBuzz project by voting for our witness.

Here Is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your board.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the June edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Unveiling the Exclusive Web3 Berlin Conference Badge. HiveBuzz Adds a Touch of Excitement!
Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2023

You are most welcome🐝😊

Thank you for your support @kesityu.fashion, much appreciated!