Giving Off A Tangible Essence In Exchange For Money

in LeoFinance2 years ago

20220915_050230_0000.png



A friend recently suggested I go into coding they felt I could do it, why? They think I have the brain. However, deep down it feels like I don't have the juice. I've been a content creator for 9 years. Back in the day as a literature teacher, you'd have to be painstakingly creative to beat off competition to keep your job.This means that there are people who are willing to take your job, the only way they don't is if, you offer "extra" a form of uniqueness that sells you comfortably. This is where the content-creating aspect came from.

As a literature teacher, I wrote over 300 literary works and I used them as a subject matter that explain literary concepts to my students, they were astonishing works that I never got to publish, (maybe I'll try very soon).

Maybe not

These days I've tried too hard to replicate the level of my content-creating abilities and I've failed woefully at it. Firstly I felt I needed a reimbursement, maybe buy a course on Udemy, go on a holiday, go back to take a professional course in literature, or just take a break for three months.But if I do all these, then how do I get to pay the bills? Someone might say "oh you can multitask" but the thing is, multitasking is what got me here.

I felt I'm getting to suffer the repercussions of being overly creative for far too long at the expense of working for money. I've had to kill some dreams I could have pursued in my life because they weren't lucrative enough.


The Most Lucrative Choice

There was a time I had the opportunity to assist an architect and learn through the ropes, the man had seen my sketching skills and felt I'd make a great architect, he was a man who was comfortably doing well for himself, but he felt I could do better than him. At the end of the day, I had to give up that dream because another potential dream.

I come from a place where your hustling/learning process needs to be instantaneously monetized irrespective of your age, your development, or mental readiness. It's been learning and earning for me from age 17 at the same time because I didn't have that luxury. It's been like that for almost 12 years now.


20220915_050505_0000.png


Being In The Loop Or Losing Your Essence?

Why The damn not?

I've had to go through stages of development while thinking of food, shelter, clothing, and being a provider at the same time. I'd give up anything not to have lead. Recently, I think I've gotten to that peak in my life where I try to push for something extra, but I keep hitting walls when I try. For example, I've tried to come up with a business plan with my potential business partner who I've been planning to set up a business with within the summer of next year, but I cannot.

It's been eventful and sometimes I ask myself if I've pushed myself too much. I live in a country where your chances of survival are based on the skills you have and the people you know and not the degrees you've bagged.


The bitter reality

It's either you are a self-made rich business person or you're made rich because of the people you know who happen to know another set of people, who now gets you a job. The people who are neither of these are the ones who find it difficult to get traction especially when they compete too hard and run out of juice because their hustle isn't tethered to anything tangible.

But because people want to make money, they give off their mental health, they compromise their moral principles their happiness, or even comfort to secure a job. This is because we see "need and want" as the biggest challenge in life.


The Disparity We all Loathe

Health is often underrated and this is why people die in jobs, get maimed, or even lose their lives trying too hard to get to the pinnacle of success. I often do not blame these people. Even when their actions are questionable, you'd need to know their intent before you create a basis for judgment.

Some people aren't even 40, but they've been providers for close to 25 years of their lives, some are close to 40, and they've gotten everything they need in life without having to struggle for anything or anyone. Life is cruel, and the disparity it creates sometimes is unfair. Sometimes I tend to look at the worst-case scenarios in my life and the thoughts that I might have tuned out way worse are what keep me in the loop. As for now, I think I need a break, maybe off everything.




Interested in some more of my works?


The Intrinsic Propensity To Spend Money
Poverty: The Unwillingness To Spend?
A Scenic Bathroom Photoshoot
The Importance Of Having A Contingency Money Plan
Translational Value; What Is Your Worth?
Using Crypto As A Means Of Transferring Will

png_20220427_140059_0000.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @joydukeson ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Life is cruel and unfair if it is meant to fulfill desires.

By not denying financial freedom, ideally, everyone has been able to meet their needs. We do not have to starve and be threatened with death because of our difficult life.

You have been blessed with many things and have taught many things in many ways too. Out of circle?
I don't think so, balancing your good wishes a little by giving a balanced portion for rest is much better, I think.
You are a lucky person because you have been given a lot of kindness in your heart to empower others around you, Mr @josediccus.

Thanks for the comment, yes, at the end of the day, we all need that rest in our lives to completely empower us. I think taking a break is good enough as well, this is why I'll try to transition a bit to know how to get tne adequate rest I desire.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You sounded frustrated and tired today. When we are over worked for a long time, we do face such feelings. Break is something we often do not give much importance to. In our attempt to do more and more it so happens that we lose the joy of doing what we do.

You said that you might need a break of 3 months. It made me smile. The way I have seen your activity on Hive, it depicts how much you are addicted to work. Staying away from working would be like a punishment for you. However, if you are feeling exhausted you need break but it wouldn’t be for 3 months. You would get your energies back within a couple of week. I am pretty sure of it.

When there is a call for break, we must take break before we break 🤞

Haha well, I must say my inability to create is why I feel I need a break. I have been unable to participate in real life and be productive for myself and my future, and inasmuch as consistency is great, it burns deep into the soul of a person and take away the ability to create. I just feel like I cannot do more than I've challenged myself to do over the years. But I'll try and find a solution. Thanks a million

Posted using LeoFinance Mobile

Consistency burns deeper, I understand. That's why you need to attend to the calls for the break. Attend to them asap.

Get involved in those things that you have left for a long time. The break would be refreshing and productive simulation. You would feel better, I am sure.

Good luck, boy!

Hahaha thanks a lot, I might have to take time to think of how I'll achieve it. It's easier said than done though.

Posted using LeoFinance Mobile

Lol. I know that it is easier said than done. People like us need to be courageous to take breaks. Break makes us feel guilty, doesn’t it?

I totally can relate to what you are saying, some people had it fair in life , while we that had it rough look for ways to climb up the ladder, even to the point of overworking, and still yet, it won't be like you are putting your best in it. I understand how you feel writing this, it's how I feel sometimes, but all we pray for is grace to scale through.

Yeah we all pray for grace to scale through. Sometimes I feel I didn't entirely lose. When we try to compare the lives of people who had it easy, it's difficult for them to value the productivity of hardwork or relish the joy that comes with it. However it's what it is. Life's continuously teaching us.

Posted using LeoFinance Mobile

Hmmm, that's true ,I agree with you.
I hope life reaches us well and not in the hard way

I always tell myself and people around me same statement.
The good news about the challenge is that there is always a great joy in long run.

Life is unfair and I don't blame you for wanting a break. I even want a break right now because work is taking up most of my own time and I envy the people who have that free time.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, sometimes, we all want a break from everything. It can be difficult and challenging. Everyone can't the same though. People who have have all that time are lucky.

Posted using LeoFinance Mobile

I've had to kill some dreams I could have pursued in my life because they weren't lucrative enough.

This, I can totally relate too. It's sad really.

It's been eventful and sometimes I ask myself if I've pushed myself too much. I live in a country where your chances of survival are based on the skills you have and the people you know and not the degrees you've bagged.

Tell me about it Joe. I have a degree and a professional license in another field yet I'm still unable to gain the access I need because I di not have the right connections.

You said something about the need to take a break. Here's what I'd tell you. If you feel the need to take a break, then please take a break. Your body needs it and so does your mind. Sending you loads of virtual hugs 🫂 🤗.

Well, I think one way or another, Nigeria totally limits how far one can go, no matter how much we try, it seems it's not working. But, we'd keep grinding, trying to get the opportunity to do better.
As for needing a break, a lot has happened in my life and mehn, one's just hanging by the thread and trying to survive. I'll take that break soon enough. Thanks for coming through.

Posted using LeoFinance Mobile

You're most welcome dear 😘

Multi-tasking is what keeps people making money and trying to add to this equation we must be willing to let go of the less rewarding ones. Health is wealth and na person wey dey alive dey look for money

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hahaha, nice one, my boss. We just have to let go of the ones that are less rewarding like you've said. Omo, thanks a lot. Health is wealth indeed..

Posted using LeoFinance Mobile

But because people want to make money, they give off their mental health, they compromise their moral principles their happiness, or even comfort to secure a job. This is because we see "need and want" as the biggest challenge in life.

This is very accurate. People now do a lot of immoral things just to get that wealth. They forget that all of these have repercussions

You know what? Like me, I think you're a high-level achiever. Doing things half-assed isn't our style. Thus we become known for the quality of our work and getting things done, and next thing you know...

Someone told me years ago that I needed to start loving myself more and "doing me" instaed of always being "on" for everybody else.

They were right.

And now I've struck a balance that leaves space for my creative endeavors, while still allowing me to "pay the rent" for living in this beautiful world.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

"Coming into money" is one of three things IMO.

  1. You either work really hard together with intelligence.
  2. You are born into it.
  3. Nepotism!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Life is indeed not fair.
I can relate to what you are saying but it feels like you really need to take a break for a bit. You might be tired and stressed.
Take a walk or do some light exercises - it works for me most of the time.

!1UP

1UP-PIZZA.png

You have received a 1UP from @thecuriousfool!

The @oneup-cartel will soon upvote you with:
@leo-curator, @ctp-curator, @bee-curator, @vyb-curator, @pob-curator, @neoxag-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕.

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the Cartel on Discord.

I fear that this may be an issue I am going through; letting off dreams for something(s) lucrative. This is because I just want to be secure in this life.

I mean, I am a very ambitious guy, but I wouldn't want that to be the death of me; chasing dreams that may really not sustain me in the long run. But at the same time, I wouldn't want to come to the point where I feel I have underacheived simply because I let go of the things I wanted to also chase.

I guess in the end, it is finding purpose that all matters. Life's not fair to the majority. It is often left to us to define what we want for our lives and chase it.

I read this article with much enthusiasm and coming almost same background I know how my people mock and my writing everyday. I can't forget my elder sister asking me if I had snapped the house fly and post since I snap almost every thing around me.
To be a content creator isn't that simple here. I'm just on my second year I'm so happy because I know I have faith in what I do. Making money and coming out rich is the only language most people understand. I celebrate every content creator because it's not a job for the lazy hands.
Whatever our hands finds doing which right gets the blessings of God backing it and success is achieved.