You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 44: See || Hear || Feel - Win HIVE

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago (edited)

Hi. This is my first time on THE WEEKEND. If I were forced to give up one, the person forcing me to give up one sense would have to choose as it would be too difficult for me.
Giving away one sense for any reason does’nt appear very sensible. As you rightly said sight is too important to just give it away like that. The ability to hear 👂 is pretty up there in the ranking as well. And touch is so important in giving and receiving affection. I would never make that choice ...but ...if I absolutely had no choice then in the end, I’d probably choose to give up my sense of touch as well.😎

Sort:  

First timer, huh???

Awesome to have you here man 😎

Whoa! another vote for touch huh? it's true, the choice is a difficult one for sure but that ripple of electricity when touching that special person. Holding my baby Daughters as new-borns, hard to give that up

But yeah, like ya say, none of the options can be decided on quickly or with certainty. If you come back next weekend and take part in your second weekend engagement topic, I think Galen may give us all our senses back again 😂

!ENGAGE 15

Oh no!!! I should have read this comment before making my choice! Actually edesde from where we look at it it's a tough choice. We have been brought a difficult decision this weekend.

I know right! However we choose we lose.

A beautiful Sunrise or smile from a loved one - Sight is the wrong choice.
A kind, comforting word when we need it or a beautiful song - Hearing is the wrong choice.
A hug when you feel down - Touch is the wrong choice.

Oh come on!!! 😂

🤣🤣 En realidad es así, no hay elección correcta.

I like the idea of @galenkp holding a magic wand or maybe a boomerang to give people back their lost ability. I agree the choice is difficult: > Holding my baby Daughters as new-borns, hard to give that up These are some good reason to stay with touch in your skillset.

My friend. That is absolutely the heartbreaking kind of thing I just could not give up. Touch could play a big part in making up for one or the other senses.

As for the idea of G-dog giving us back our senses at the end of the weekend, I don't care if it's a wand or a boomerang...

As long as he is wearing a pink, frilly, sparkly fairy dress with matching crown

Oh damn I would pay good money to see that!😂

You and me both, my friend 🤣

Anyways, I have seen people giving touch away without considering that without touch you can hurt yourself and lose the ability to feel it. And that means a lot of trouble. Even getting sick would be tricky. Imagine going to a doctor because you look ill and telling this person you don't feel anything 😅

Welcome @bearmol. You'll love it here. I'm fairly new and believe me, I look forward to the WEEKEND. Right now I’m still trying to figure out which sense I’d lose. Good luck on losing your sense of touch. Lol!

Not only that but I can always count on Galen notifying me when it's Friday. When I see the topic in my feed, 'Friday!' And this, I can just drop comments at random, some looo0OOong ones and some not so long.

Haha!!You’re right. A great way to ring in FriYAY. I love the little thrill of anticipating “the next topic”. I won’t comment on your not so short comments. Oops! I meant your sometimes loooong, sometimes not so long comments. 😜untitled.gif

Thanks for telling me about this community @fruityfruitz

No prob man. You probably just need to reconsider losing that sense of touch. 😂😂

Welcome man! These are the fun/ philosophical questions @galenkp asks on a Friday 😂.

Affection is important, but I just the the communication part of hearing and seeing (body language) plays to big of roll.

On the other hand, does losing the sense of touch also mean losing taste? Cause technically your taste buds use that touch right? I have all these questions! 🤣

Jeez! Stop trying to take even more of our senses away dude!!! 😂🤷‍♂️🤦‍♂️😂

!ENGAGE 15

Thank God @galenkp did not throw smell in the mix...

I mean how would you know if..?

untitled.gif

Juss' Sayin'

Lol this could actually be a bonus in my house, lol we regularly stink each other out of the room so I wouldn't mind losing that so much in that regard hahaha

Haha my God, how terrible, losing your sense of smell would be great for you then haha.

I am really wishing He @galenkp would have given us another option also.

As the three to chose would all render me unable to do what pays my mortgage. (survival)

untitled.gif

Hi Krazzy. Yes a difficult one. Have you read his post he wrote about it? I think this was a good exercise in gratitude.

Nahh...

I just look at the pictures.

Heheheh.

Juss' Kiddin'

Gotta have fun with it.

untitled.gif

Very funny! 😂 I think losing sense of smell is a good thing! Some farts are like an aroma 🚶‍♀️

But it is only sight, hearing and feeling...

Seems like an impossible choice to me right now.

untitled.gif

Haha! @krazzytrukker It took me a while to decide too. I gave up hearing. Looks like the guy in your GIF just lost that sense. Now I'm reconsidering my decision.

They have a silly gif image for everything it seems.

untitled.gif

Be a man and just do it!!!

Ahhh who the hell am I kidding? I am like this about which pizza toppings to choose.

But then we would have to consider hearing as well. Some can be loud. I don't want to hear it either. 😂😂

Hahah her pleased face gets me. Some think it's weird but the wife and I don't share in the ass ripping behaviors when we are in the same room. I've had previous relationships where it went down and it was a little gross for my tastes, sometimes literally.

This girl was over the top on that shart though hahaha

😂😂I agree @stevenwood. Let's leave the other senses alone.

Mmhmmm! As if we haven't suffered enough already, making this difficult and traumatic choice! Galen hates us this week!!! 😂

😂 We don’t want to think about giving up anything else. I finally decided on giving up hearing. Just woke up and first checked to make sure I can hear.
Whew! untitled.gif

Hahha fine, we'll keep taste... But it is something to think about!

It is. 😃

Thanks for the welcome 🙏. Interesting questions to propel us to think about the importance of each sense. Making it even harder to choose to lose a sense.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

😆Please don't go there @gvkanten. The decision is tough enough. We're not bringing loss of taste into this unless it's a "timed" one where we give up a sense for just a minute. I wouldn't do it on "The Weekend' either. Not even for a minute. 😂😂

Hhahah no wait hear me out! Technically we might lose taste but... but!!! wouldn't that make it a lot easier for us to live healthy? I mean, no more fatting, sugary stuff, we'd just be happy with the nutrients we need... What do you think?

Haha!! I like your take on it but I feel like I'd be the one to eat them still. I'd probably have lots of ice-cream to see how many cones could bring my sense of taste back. 😂untitled.gif

I think I eat with my eyes too though... It's like I see it... I want it!

Maybe I should've given up sight!

Ah! You too chose the sense of touch? So you would give up receiving and giving affection? Woow, that's costly 😄

@kemmyb 😀lol. I agree it would be costly. As I said, Of course I’m only choosing under duress. In a real sense it would be hard to choose to give up one of my senses as it would be kind of ”senseless”. But if I had no choice then touch would be it. Not because it’s not important but the other senses are of greater importance to survive comfortably in our world.

I understand your choice but still, I believe touch is important. Then you can feel things. It's what makes us humans - we FEEL.

If we lose the sense of touch, it will be rough! 😄

Receiving and giving affection is a beautiful thing, but remember it works differently for some people. Affection is can be felt in the warmth of a gaze or in the softness of a voice, in the little things you do for someone. As a person who has traits of the autism spectrum I know about lots of people that don't understand the purpose of touch, kiss and hug and still show great level of affection.

Hi @brutalisti, you say -

... I know about lots of people that don't understand the purpose of touch, kiss and hug and still show great level of affection.

This response is enlightening for me. I'm curious, how do they show this affection? Like, do they understand their 'actions' of affection? I don't know if you understand what I am trying to ask.

Of course they do, They just express it in different individual manner, that often can be invisible for most people. Imagine you are dating a boy on the spectrum, so you understand it more personal. He can show you affection by sending you an e-mail with the exact names of people, the place and the time of a surprise birthday party, some friend are secretly preparing for you. He can reorder the colors in your make up box, he can watch at you finger tips in a romantic moment. He may panic if you gently brush his skin, but he may love experience skin pressure that is painful for people with low pain tolerance. It is always different and need attention and love to find it. It is like talking different language. Good thing is he can learn your language and you can learn his, still it is not an easy task.

I see you went with the sense of touch as well @bearmol
In this case, it seems the majority are making that pick with prior reasons.

Yeah @zanoz I’m sticking with my choice. Even though the opposition appears to have made some valid points, the negative effects of not being able to see or hear far outway the effects of losing our sense of touch.

Yes you do have a point and I am sticking with mine too lol

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Welcome to the weekend @bearmol, it's a very cool engagement group and if you read some of the previous weekend posts, you'll definitely get a few (or more) chuckles out of the responses. Have a good weekend ☺️

Thanks @andrastia. Looking forward to many more chuckles 😃. Have a great weekend.

Oh yes, there will be many more fo' sho'
Enjoy it bud :)

Welcome to the weekend community! This is one of the more serious topics but it's still a lot of fun! There's so many awesome people here, you'll have no troubles finding something to talk about!

Thank you @cmplxty. I’m glad I have my eyesight so I can read your kind welcome message.