You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 24: Passions [Get paid for yours]

I didn't know what a Hilux was until skipping outta the country @galenkp. Those things are everywhere except here.

Wouldn't want a durable, 4 wheel drive that runs on diesel I guess when you can have the same truck body running a not-so-durable gas engine.

No money in that

Sort:  

I remember when the Hilux first came to this country. It wasn't long and it was a pickup, but there were some badged Hilux back in the day. I'd love to have one. Or a Nissan Patrol would do, too.

When was this Tom? First time I ever saw one was Central America.

Late 60s maybe very early 70s. I had a neighbor in a teeny town in E Washington that had a Hilux. It seemed perfect to me for a retired farmer. It was still a pickup but got 30 mpg when mine got 10. I'm trying to remember who the dealer was in Spokane at the time. I think it was Precision Auto but I could be mistaken. I bought an MGB from them in '71 and they had Honda cars. I think they dropped the English and brought in Toyota right after but I'm just not sure.

The pickups were a lot more popular than the cars in my part of the world.

Ah--before my time.

They don't have the typical Toyota trucks we see in the states with the 2 wheel drive, 4x4, same body the other places we've been. They're all that Hilux model with a diesel.

Lot, lotta diesels most everywhere compared to here actually

Can you mount light antiaircraft cannon in the back of one? Somehow I don't see a Ford making for a very good technical...

Depends where you're at, colonel, each state er county er city has specific regs.

If Gaddafi could do it with a Toyota, dammit we ought to be able to!

Gaddafi had Amazon though.

He also sent the IRA several freighter loads of Soviet military hardware so they could make their own technicals

Another one of those leader guys who wants to rule the world.

Yes you can, I've done it or so I am told.

Awesome! Perchance, were you told if it was a 20/23mm or could it handle a Bofors gun?

Well, I installed the bofors gun was what they told me...Apparently it was the right gun for the job at hand.

 3 years ago (edited) 

I've only ever had diesel 4x4's and a couple of them have been Hilux's. Until only quite recently big American trucks were reasonably rare here, and the size of them renders them almost useless on bush tracks etc. I love them though, and we get the Ford, Chevrolet, Toyota and Dodge variants here, all of which I'd be happy to own.

I currently have a 200 Series Landcruiser (Toyota) which is a big wagon 4x4...I love it, but would be happy with a big pick up as well. I think I'll buy another pickup next as I miss the flexibility of the bed.

I'll be in the market for something like that a hell of a lot sooner than anything here. 🤫

Cheers to the weekend.

Did you see what Boris Johnson announced in the UK? All electric cars, no exception within ten years. Let's see how that goes Boris. If they said that here I'd hate to be the one to prise me out of my diesel. Lol.

I just did, thanks. It says Branson is on board and named a few other rich people. I heard something like that about here but all I could find is by 2040 1/2 the vehicles will be electric.

That's gonna piss off the oil guys.

I'm not against electric, but in a vast country like Australia, with not much in between towns and cities for thousands of miles, it is problematic. If they can produce off-roaders that have the range then all good, if not, it dino-fuels for me. :)

Knock it off. I already haven't been able to shut up about diving GBR for two weeks.

Lol...

This is how they do it over there...

It's the same here. Big spaces between places. A 300 mile range (480 km) is enough here on the road, the charging infrastructure is catching up, but off road? Better pull a trailer with solar panels on top and a generator inside :)

Yeah, it's the lack of range, and cost of infrastructure to put in stations, that's the problem. My LandCruiser has 1100km driving range from a single tank (highway cycle and towing my camper), so I'd want that sort of range from an electric off roader. I think they will do it. I like electric and support it, but they have to get real with range and charging time.

He's not going to pry you out of your diesel. That's new cars only.

He is, however, going to make it just stupid damn expensive to pour any diesel fuel in your tank.

UK is perfect for EVs. Not overly large and already with restrictive speed limits.

 3 years ago (edited) 

He's a scruffy bastard, old Boris Johnson I mean. Lol. Brush your hair you bell-end!

I haven't heard the parameters of the concept - I don't watch the news. And considering it's in the UK and not here it won't matter to me. We'll be a long time away from all electric here in Australia and I'll be dead by then so it's all good. We'd like to buy full electric for our next town car though, but I also need a rig that's going to off-road, haul loads and is capable of running 1000km without stopping so I can travel this big-ass land of ours. I think they'll make it happen.

And he was born in New York.

Boris the rag-arse? I didn't know that.

I'd like an electric 'town car' too. But...

There is a Chinese import now available in California that sells for $12,000 USD. It's really tinny and cheap but the price is LOW.

We were talking about it today and about the costs actually. You know, the cheapest all electric vehicle here is around $45,000AUD so pretty costly. My town car, current Ford Escape, only cost me $28,000 so it's a big jump. That's why more don't do it.

$12,000 sounds cheap. $16,450AUD.

And I'm wanting the 'closed car' to make an overlander. I've slept in plenty of pickup beds but the thought of being out of the weather makes me a happy man.

I've slept in a few trees, I wouldn't recommend it... Pickup beds are much more preferable. 🙄

I've never slept in a tree. Under, lots but never in.

Tree-sleeping isn't fun.