The last

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago

Wide.png

Without continual growth and progress, such words as improvement, achievement, and success have no meaning.

- Benjamin Franklin -



The title sounds final doesn't it, the last, as if there is no more to be had. Quite dramatic indeed, especially considering I refer to my weekend. It's not the last however - at least as far as I know - just the last before I begin a new phase in my career and life. If it was my actual last I'd not be spending it sitting in front of my computer typing this, that's for certain. No, I'd be doing something else entirely.

The drive

As an individual I always seek continual improvement, growth and progress as Ben Franklin calls it above. It is intrinsic to the (hu)man I am. It takes various shapes and forms swinging between driving towards a growth-development-progress goal and feeding my soul with peace, solitude, solace, nature and so on. Sometimes it's quite passive and other times active; one balances the other. Either way, it occurs and I've found great and lasting value in the process.

I have a good life, or so I believe. I'm reasonably fit, strong and healthy, have the desire and ability to build lasting relationships, a history full of amazing things, humour, passion, discipline and ownership, a degree of financial security and the desire to want to grow and develop as a person; I'd call me wealthy from an all-round life perspective.

I've also been through some incredibly tough times that almost broke me, ended my life in fact, and have brought a darkness that, whilst typically stays on the periphery, occasionally closes in on me.

That's life however and I don't think it's much different for others despite the actual events and situations being specific to them. Life is full of challenges of one sort or another and we have to navigate it, and the challenges, as best we can. There's little alternative but to do so and those possible alternatives are unpalatable to me; quitting isn't in my nature. So I work hard, seek growth and progress constantly and find improvement, achievement and success commensurate to that effort and the ownership, responsibility, discipline and action I take. It's at those things I drive, the rest falls into place from there; or not. I evaluate and adjust then go again when results are poor.

The last weekend

I've been doing various things over the weekend from writing on hive, taking some photos and reading to helping a friend do some fencing at his house and having a barbeque. Sunday was lawn mowing, a trip to the mall to collect some things, a couple hours hiking and a movie - Nothing too exciting, just my life doing what it does.

I've also spent some time thinking about my new role beginning this week and how it impacts my life. Of course, that was all factored in prior to accepting it and I've carefully considered the changes. But today I was thinking clearly about the benefits to the changes that role will bring. I can't see negatives when I look at it, no matter from which angle. Rather, I see many positives and many opportunities for growth, development and progress which, as I said earlier, are vitally important to me.

Life will change from tomorrow but change is good when it brings forward progress and whilst this weekend in the last of total freedom it's not a time for disappointment; it's a time to look forward with vigour and enthusiasm and a time to embrace change. It's been a good one and I look forward to forward-motion into the future.

I hope y'all have had a great weekend so far and if you'd like to comment about the text above or own your own feelings around growth and development and what it means to you please do so below.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

The image is my own

Sort:  

You’ve got positive vibes all around you and that’s because you’ve worked hard and always looking at the best way to grow or progress in your life goals. I’m glad you’ve able to over come challenges.

I have definitely learned a lot right here.

Thank you for commenting. I have tried to apply effort over my life, show ownership and discipline and take the responsibility for my success and failures. It's been a good journey.

That’s awesome. Life isn’t a bed of roses but I hope I get the strength to overcome challenges and failures too.

Thanks for sharing your a realistic and interesting story.

Congratulations on your new phase in life :) I hope it will be everything you want, and a lot more :)

!PIZZA !ALIVE

You Are Alive and have been rewarded with 0.1 ALIVE tokens from the We Are Alive Tribe, and it's paid for by the earnings on @alive.chat, swing by our daily chat any time you want.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@wrestlingdesires(3/20) tipped @galenkp (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Life beat and broke me, but I always remained firm. I fell, but each time I got up and walked further along my path.
I know that my every day can be my last ...

Standing up and taking that first step after being knocked down is never easy, but it's critical for one to carry oneself forward. Well done.

Very nice to read your content. Sometimes, this type of blog motivates one to feel their life, time, and way of living. Keep writing good things.

Thank you, if someone finds some motivation from something I've written I feel happy; we can all learn a lot from each other right?

Yes, obviously, it's an excellent way to exchange ideas and thoughts.

I really find every of your post interesting and I learn a lot from it. Thanks for updating us on stuff like this, I really appreciate it

What doesnt kill us, does make us stronger!
If I learned anything this year since I started implementing changes in habits, food, drinks, activity.. was that those dark, hard, "bad" days allow us to get stronger, better and get it threw.

Steve Harvey has some great quotes, one of them is "You have to have dirt on you to grow into what God has for you"

Thank you for being such a positive, motivating person and definitely one of the hardest dudes I follow in this amazing community
Stay awesome, happy, strong & healthy my friend!

There's so many motivational people and quotes out there and if we listen to some of them I think we can all improve a little, find some more understanding and have better lives.

Good job dear friend @galenkp

Thanks.

You are welcome @galenkp

Your post always motivate me and encourage me to write more till my good is better @galenkp soon I will be coming up with my write-ups for the weekend wait for it dear friend

Thanks mate, I'm glad you find something to like in the words I write.

This is indeed a good improvement @galenkp

So. I started reading this and started hearing "Last Time" by the Rolling Stones. I'm now listening to sound from the actual speakers... Musically I'd guess I'm in the rabbit hole for the day. :)

Your 'taste of retirement' is ending right about now as I've got it figured-It's cool to start a new path.

With some, I'd worry about changing paths. You, however, are one of THOSE people that handle change well. You know how to dance with your fears. Hell, I'm guessing you've licked fear's ear a time or two.

So, I hope you enjoyed the last. I know you'll attack the attached first. Enjoy!

Thanks a lot Tom, it's going to be an interesting journey; a steep learning curve for me and the ability to make a difference to an already good operation..it's a but exciting and I'll do what I can to make it a success.

Cross roads along the road appear, some we fear some we embrace, wishing you well with the change which has led to this point in life for you.

Yes making decisions as to which is most suitable does not come easy, I know this type of decision making will be upon me again soon, life continuously changes, we need to adapt and make change too!

Thanks Joan, and yes, decisions are not not always easy to make but once made we need to follow through and make the best of them.

Follow your gut, if it feels right go for it, if in doubt leave well alone. Once decision is made give it your best shot! Enjoy the new week 😉

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 45000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 46000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The new HiveFest⁶ attendee badge is waiting for you
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day

You'll smash it, mate.

Thanks mate, I hope so.

Hope tomorrow starts the day with bringing you to the place that your heart desires. Thanks for all you have done for the HIVE community - we appreciate you brother.

Thanks mate, I appreciate the sentiment. 😊

Whatever comes up for you tomorrow, I wish you well 🤗 . I admit that I have probably missed you writing about it, so I'm not 100% aware of what's going on but I read new job and I have no doubt that you will perform to your standards 😉 .

 3 years ago (edited) 

Thanks Anna. I'm just getting ready to start my first day at the new company and am looking forward to it. It feels a bit odd after two months off but I'll make it work and try not to cry too much. Lol.

https://peakd.com/hive-166408/@galenkp/horizons

Read and up to date now. Sounds great Galen. I'm sure you'll find your way around and if you need to cry tomorrow, you have my number 😂 . I'm happy for you, that you were able to really enjoy your time off and to get this job.

I'll give you a call if I have to have a cry. 😊

I'm still backpedaling trying to get somewhere near remotely caught up. How do people do it? How do YOU do it? I am not that slow. Well, maybe I am. :)

I will read the above posts, but, for the moment, I want to feel what you are feeling walking towards your new life. I don't feel any trepidation or even apprehension, which I didn't expect as you wouldn't walk into that.

Good luck to you. I thought about you on your Monday.

I'm not sure how I do it but going back to work this week has been an inhibitor for sure. There's so much to learn and I'm working pretty hard so when I get home I'm not really in the mood. It'll level out though I guess.

All going well though, getting stuff done. 😬

Despite how you sound, I am sure it has been awesome and you are on top of everything. Going back to work is a shock to the system, I 'm sure. The cafe misses you!

Oh yeah, the cafe might go broke without me. I actually saw a report last week from my bank about spending habits. It was a bit of a shock to the system to see my annual spend there. Lol, they'll get by though. I miss the coffee!

I have work under control largely; trying not to stress about it as that'll be unproductive. It'll all make sense at some stage.

I rue the day the banks started coming out with those. It made it all real, as in really real. The biggest shock for me was how much I spent at the post office.

It is really expensive to far live away from your siblings.

Yeah the banks do it to help us manage our money. I guess it's probably required these days as most don't know how to budget.

I think my Bank has been doing it for over 20 years. The first time is a shocker. You know it, but now they know it too.

Stressing less is an artform.

Yep it is and I think I mostly succeed. Mostly.

Well, just sweep the rest under the carpet.